Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Liza Marleen 1 to 15 of 15

 

 Boat/Barge: Liza Marleen • REMOVE  About Liza Marleen

  • Helen W. 5 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was great, bring a camel back if you like to drink water while riding, most bikes did not have a cage for the water bottle, instead you kept it in the pannier. Our guide, Eduaro, did not seem to know where we could stop to take a break or use a bathroom, he said everythng was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, this was a problem for the women in the group, it was hot and we needed to keep hydrated.
    The captain, chef and assistant Vera were wonderful and did all they could to make us comfortable.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Yi L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    My family and I had a wonderful experience aboard the Liza Marleen for the super tulip tour this April. It was a perfect time of the year to visit the Netherlands, and this is the perfect way to do it. We are a family of four, with two young children (a four year old and a 11 month old). The tour group and the crew made every accommodation we needed, from child bike seats to brand new bike trailers. While we are out riding, the guide (Frans) also made sure that we have enough time to take care of our children's needs.

    The scenery was wonderful. We were also impressed with the variety of places we visited, from the flower auction to the sand dunes. The tour offered us a beautiful view of the Netherlands and an appreciation of its diversity.

    And the food on the boat was absolutely scrumptious. We ate very well.

    My son had his fourth birthday on the boat, and he was feted with a special seat decorated with balloons and dutch birthday song. I know the whole Read more… experience has left an indelible impression in his young mind. On the last day of the trip, my son said: "Mom, I love this boat. I will always love this boat." I share that sentiment wholeheartedly.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Daniella from Tripsite 9 months ago     Staff

    This tour is incredible. It is all in one: beaches, dunes, historic towns, beautiful scenery, taste richness. Idyllic rides crossing the countryside passing by dreamy little towns while enjoying the caring of a dedicate and welcoming boat crew which felt like family. Getting up in the morning was a blessing. Every pedal took us to a new horizon of beauty, iconic landscapes and charming quarters which involved us in a good state of mind and body. Your whole self responds to this amazing atmosphere of enjoyment. History and culture just embraces you for the whole time. Meals are delicious; trying the local cheese, fruits, street food, or just finding a picturesque corner for a coffee is priceless. Getting back to our boat (Liza Marleen) was like arriving at home after an exciting and rewarding adventure. The captain and her crew knew exactly what we needed to replenish our energy while making every meal a pleasure. We were also lucky to get warm and long days, so as an extra, we got to Read more… jump into the inviting waters to extend a little more the incredible experience of each day. Our 7 years old daughter loved everything, even the cultural aspects of it is an invitation to all ages and tastes. I recommend this tour to every and anyone. It is definitely a bucket list top item.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Paul Alper 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    On the Liza Marleen there were 6 of us from our family ranging in age from 82 to less than 2 years of age. The staff on the ship was superb, especially the cook who was particularly considerate regarding the granddaughters who roamed the dining area. She was quite creative with her menus and happy to socialize with the participants. Moreover, because it was my daughter's birthday (birthdays are Big Deals in the Netherlands) on the last night of the trip, the cook ignored my request for one cupcake with a candle and instead presented gorgeous cakes for the entire ship. Her English assistant was equally kind; the skipper turned out to be a first-class guitar player and had the entire ship singing along.

    It was a wonderful and successful excursion and I am very grateful to the staff on board the Liza Marleen for everything they did to accommodate us and make it a memorable 50th wedding anniversary.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Maria C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the countryside trails most. The trip was really totally good. As a biker whose biking skills are a bit rusty, it was a challenge, and I am glad I could do it!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Michel D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    We were very happy with the biking experience, the food, the scenery, our new biking friends, our wonderful guide and the rest of the employees on the boat. We were disappointed at the end of the trip when we were advised that we had possibly been exposed to bed bugs. Adding to the disappointment, ship staff blamed us for having brought the bed bugs aboard the ship.

    Other than this issue, we had a wonderful trip!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Cheryl T. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely fabulous trip, even though we didn't see much sun. It seemed the rain always held off until we were sheltered. The clouds added to the beauty of the gorgeous countryside. Our guide, Mike, did not coddle us, so we were able to cycle in our individual comfort zones. The "Dutch Mountains" (head winds) challenged us on a few days, but only added to the flavour of the trip. Mike introduced us to some lovely spots for our coffee/lunch breaks to re-energise.
    Staff on board the Lisa Marleen were delightful & helpful too. Many good memories, but the one that stands out was in the last day when we had, more then usual, rain squalls & intermittent sunshine. This, of course, resulted in rainbows. At least 4! We deemed it "rainbow day". It was a Rainbow of a trip.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Karen K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable Part: The crew on the boat, dinners and the tour on canals throughout the Netherlands and Belgium. The cheese shop was the best and also the small cafe's.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Eileen C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Southern Tour from Amsterdam in the Netherlands is a wonderful trip. It was my first time on a cycling tour and I felt that I received all the information that I needed in order to prepare and to make a wonderful experience. The route had nice a diversity between cycling and stopping in Dutch cities. The crew was very helpful and friendly, and the food was great. My bicycle couldn't have been more comfortable. I highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • J. Post 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The wifi on the barge needs to be upgraded. It was inadequate and inconsistent.This is really the only criticism I have - the rest was great. But it is important to travelers these days.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • W. Flink 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is our third bike and barge trip and we would come back to do another. We had a great time! The boat, the Liza Marleen, was very nice, the crew very friendly, and our bike guide informative, interesting, and a lot of fun. It was very nice going on a small size boat and the crew created a family-like atmosphere which made the trip very enjoyable. One one particularly warm and longer day, the crew handed out delicious popsicles as we climbed back aboard at the end of the day. We appreciated the all the small details like this. We tell many friends that they should do one of these Bike and Barge trips. We'll be back.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • V. Silberstein 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fabulous trip! The best way to see the Netherlands is by boat and barge. This cruise far exceeded my expectations. The barge was homey and warm, the crew was so special. They took care of our every need, and did it in a friendly and caring manner. The chef was phenomenal! The value for your money was great. I would do this again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • P. Cass 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything exceeded our expectations. Crew made us feel like family, food was excellent and tour was perfect including the weather and the tulips.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Maureen Kulak 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I took this trip in the Fall. We are seniors and would recommend this trip. This is the third trip we have made with this organization and they do a wonderful job. Company, food, service was great!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Linda Hilliard 8 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I had talked for several years about taking this tour but didn't go until April 9th, 2011, on the Zwaan, with Ilya and Maria. This was the first tour of the season - we were afraid that the flowers would not be out - surprise! We saw jonquils, hyacinths, tulips and more. Had we been later the hyacinths and jonquils would have been gone. Hennie told us that it varies from year to year, so we were so fortunate.

    The weather was great except for one windy and chilly day. Our tour guide, Albert, adapted the ride to the level of the riders yet still taking us to the important places and showing us the best of the countryside. Our hosts could not have been more hospitable, making all of the participants feel more welcome than just paying customers. We even had a last-minute gourmet chef! And we got to help welcome the new dog on board - all the guests were dog lovers and were delighted to meet him. We recommend this trip to anyone who likes an active Read more… vacation in a beautiful setting with good food and company with similar interests.

    L. Hilliard

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC