Liza Marleen boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 34

4.8 out of 5

 


Linda B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Great trip. The captain, guide, chef, and crew were wonderful. They made me feel very welcome and safe. While meals could be served earlier (breakfast at 8 and then heading out to ride at 9) and (dinner at 6:30 which lasted until about 8) the meals were very tasty. One thing I wish were different, we had our destination "tour" after dinner when everything was closed and often walking around in the dark. We didn't therefore get to really experience the lovely towns we were docked in because we left at 9 each morning and had little time to explore. It would be great to have a timeline and not just the riding itinerary because we could have gone faster through the open fields and farmland if we knew the plan for the day and seeing the towns, cities, villages. Our guide was very fun and made the days throughly enjoyable.

Tricia M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We had a fantastic time! We met wonderful people from all walks of life, biked and cruised through amazing countryside and towns, learned the fascinating history of Belgium and The Netherlands, and ate delicious food! Sietsa, was the kindest, most energetic and enthusiastic gentleman and bike guide one could ask for. He truly went above and beyond! The captain Frank was not only beyond capable but fun and knowledgable. The chef Craig blew us away with the most delicious meals and kept us well fed. Marcel the host had all of our needs met and was incredibly easy going. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in biking and cruising.
I really hate to point this out because the trip was one of a lifetime but the air conditioning was not functioning and we had 90 degree days. That was very uncomfortable but beyond that we truly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.

Ray C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It was a amazing trip, the crew of Liza Marleen was a great crew. The guide for our trip (Sietse) was the main reason that the trip was exceptional for us all as he was a very hard working member that tour with us all day and then led a tour each evening ashore. His knowledge of the Netherlands was very informative and entertaining. Each day he always had a plan of the day on where we were going and plans of what we would visit.

If you are looking to do a biking trip of the Netherlands, look no further than the Amsterdam to Brugge you will thoroughly enjoy the whole trip and have a wonderful time

Kathleen P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Biking in the Netherlands is any cyclist's dream. There are numerous paths that are in excellent condition and well marked. Plan to bring layers to adjust to the climate. The few motorists in the countryside are respectful of cyclists which makes for safe and fun ride.

Ronda v.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Dutch Villages of Friesland
Netherlands

Definitely the sites but more so the wonderful people I met as well. The staff and crew were amazing. The other passengers made this whole experience so enjoyable and I have made so lifelong friends. Thanks again and I would definitely book again and tell all my friends to go for sure.

Gary H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen North Holland Tour
Netherlands

We just finished our Guided North Holland tour. What we loved the most was the time the guide took to show us the hidden gems of Holland. If we had done our own tour, we would not have got the true flavour of the Netherlands. For example, we were able to go into working windmills the pumped water as well a windmill that made paper that is still in use today. The country is full of history and heart ache, our experience on our tour was excellent and highly recommend it.

Darlene M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

The country side was breathtaking. The history of the country from the Middle Ages to post WW2 was fascinating.

Janet M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

This tour had so many highlights that it’s hard to pick just one. I fell in love with the Netherlands ! The variety of bike paths that our guide took us on was astounding. The history and the wonderful compassionate people were a huge highlight . The staff on the boat were fantastic, hard working but always found time to help us and answer all our many questions. One of the advantages of being on a small vessel is that you get to know the people that are working their and their personalities.
I also highly recommend an e-bike for those that aren’t big bike riders . We rode over 100 miles and I fell in love with my very comfortable and speedy 5 speed !!

Patricia B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Riding through the countryside and seeing all the baby animals and, of course, the tulips! The Keukenhof Gardens was absolutely spectacular. There is so much to see in Amsterdam, I'd suggest spending a few extra days there either before or after the barge trip-you just might want to avoid Kings Day! I also recommend using an electric assist bike-more enjoyable and less stressful.

Darlene M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

The countryside was breathtaking and our guide Ed Kimmel was so knowledgeable about his country and so proud to be Dutch.

My suggestions are:
For people 5’2” or shorter need a better bike fit. The seat and handlebars must be adjusted so you can reach the seat with your foot on the ground.

Suggestion for peddlers to ride together and electric bikes together but all in the same group. The peddlers need momentum the e bikes do not so it’s difficult when the riders are mixed.

Jane W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

The most memorable part of the trip was the vast beauty of the country: fields and fields of tulips, beautiful European architecture, and nature at its best with baby animals grazing in the fields. I was a bit anxious prior to the trip having never traveled much, but my advice is to relax and enjoy the new experience! I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Ronnie L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Our guide Ed was exceptional. His love of Holland and it’s rich history was evident. He took every opportunity to point out landmarks and explain their relevancy today and across the globe. Each evening after dinner he took us in walking tours of the cities we were docked in. His grasp and expertise of Hollands history added much dimension and interest overall to the cycling tour.

Karen Melby T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Loved the great bike paths

Brittany M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

This is hands down, the best way to see Holland. Our guide Piet and the crew were amazing. My husband, brother and I (in our 30’s) as well as my parents (in their 60’s) all had the best time. The rides were relaxed and gave us a chance to really take in the incredible views. I would not hesitate to suggest this trip to anyone.

Elaine S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Super Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Our tour guide on the Liza Marleen, was Marjan. She was an amazing guide. So knowledgeable, kind, fun, patient. she made the trip wonderful. she went out of her way to find interesting, fun side trips that she filled with great stories, history, fun facts, etc. she is a treasure!!!!
the food on the barge was spectacular. Our chef, Craig, and his assistant, Zander were so professional and nice. They went out of their way to accommodate all dietary needs.
our captain was Jourome. He was a master at maneuvering the canals, bridges, and locks.
I hope the company that employs these amazing individuals knows what an asset they have.

Deborah G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Super Tulip Tour
Netherlands

The best part of this trip was riding through fields of tulips and taking the time to stop and enjoy the views. Those views included nesting swans, blue herons and numerous other birds as well as windmills and canals. Would recommend this trip to anyone who likes to travel.

Jill S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Overall the trip was good and we enjoyed our time. However, we did have some things that could be improved -
firstly the e-bikes that we rented had several problems with them and were unreliable
secondly I found the choice of food strange for being on a tour in Europe - we had Mexican food, followed by Asian food & sushi. What was wrong with french or belgium or even North American (seeing that we were all from NA). There was no flexibility or accommodation of other types of food.
The group leader should have allowed some of us to go ahead with maps rather than keep us in a long line of 20 people strung out with the slowest members behind the leader. We are all adults and professional people and do not wish to be treated like children.

Gilberto M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Unforgetable trip becouse this country is amazing! The boat crew and bike guide were also very nice! Thank you!

Tracy v.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This was a retirement celebration for my husband. We were a total of 8 family members. The Liza Marleen was a great boat- food was marvelous and our tour guide superb. Out 16 mo old grandson was accommodated for and I must say our fellow passengers were the kindest bunch we could have hoped for. It’s hard traveling with babies-but we could not imagine the vacation without him

Helen W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen North Holland Tour
Netherlands

Scenery was great, bring a camel back if you like to drink water while riding, most bikes did not have a cage for the water bottle, instead you kept it in the pannier. Our guide, Eduaro, did not seem to know where we could stop to take a break or use a bathroom, he said everythng was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, this was a problem for the women in the group, it was hot and we needed to keep hydrated.
The captain, chef and assistant Vera were wonderful and did all they could to make us comfortable.

Yi L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Super Tulip Tour
Netherlands

My family and I had a wonderful experience aboard the Liza Marleen for the super tulip tour this April. It was a perfect time of the year to visit the Netherlands, and this is the perfect way to do it. We are a family of four, with two young children (a four year old and a 11 month old). The tour group and the crew made every accommodation we needed, from child bike seats to brand new bike trailers. While we are out riding, the guide (Frans) also made sure that we have enough time to take care of our children's needs.

The scenery was wonderful. We were also impressed with the variety of places we visited, from the flower auction to the sand dunes. The tour offered us a beautiful view of the Netherlands and an appreciation of its diversity.

And the food on the boat was absolutely scrumptious. We ate very well.

My son had his fourth birthday on the boat, and he was feted with a special seat decorated with balloons and dutch birthday song. I know the whole Read More

Daniella from Tripsite
6 years ago

Tripsite Staff

  Liza Marleen South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This tour is incredible. It is all in one: beaches, dunes, historic towns, beautiful scenery, taste richness. Idyllic rides crossing the countryside passing by dreamy little towns while enjoying the caring of a dedicate and welcoming boat crew which felt like family. Getting up in the morning was a blessing. Every pedal took us to a new horizon of beauty, iconic landscapes and charming quarters which involved us in a good state of mind and body. Your whole self responds to this amazing atmosphere of enjoyment. History and culture just embraces you for the whole time. Meals are delicious; trying the local cheese, fruits, street food, or just finding a picturesque corner for a coffee is priceless. Getting back to our boat (Liza Marleen) was like arriving at home after an exciting and rewarding adventure. The captain and her crew knew exactly what we needed to replenish our energy while making every meal a pleasure. We were also lucky to get warm and long days, so as an extra, we got to Read More

Paul Alper
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen North Holland Tour
Netherlands

On the Liza Marleen there were 6 of us from our family ranging in age from 82 to less than 2 years of age. The staff on the ship was superb, especially the cook who was particularly considerate regarding the granddaughters who roamed the dining area. She was quite creative with her menus and happy to socialize with the participants. Moreover, because it was my daughter's birthday (birthdays are Big Deals in the Netherlands) on the last night of the trip, the cook ignored my request for one cupcake with a candle and instead presented gorgeous cakes for the entire ship. Her English assistant was equally kind; the skipper turned out to be a first-class guitar player and had the entire ship singing along.

It was a wonderful and successful excursion and I am very grateful to the staff on board the Liza Marleen for everything they did to accommodate us and make it a memorable 50th wedding anniversary.

Maria C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I enjoyed the countryside trails most. The trip was really totally good. As a biker whose biking skills are a bit rusty, it was a challenge, and I am glad I could do it!

Michel D.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We were very happy with the biking experience, the food, the scenery, our new biking friends, our wonderful guide and the rest of the employees on the boat. We were disappointed at the end of the trip when we were advised that we had possibly been exposed to bed bugs. Adding to the disappointment, ship staff blamed us for having brought the bed bugs aboard the ship.

Other than this issue, we had a wonderful trip!

Cheryl T.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Absolutely fabulous trip, even though we didn't see much sun. It seemed the rain always held off until we were sheltered. The clouds added to the beauty of the gorgeous countryside. Our guide, Mike, did not coddle us, so we were able to cycle in our individual comfort zones. The "Dutch Mountains" (head winds) challenged us on a few days, but only added to the flavour of the trip. Mike introduced us to some lovely spots for our coffee/lunch breaks to re-energise.
Staff on board the Lisa Marleen were delightful & helpful too. Many good memories, but the one that stands out was in the last day when we had, more then usual, rain squalls & intermittent sunshine. This, of course, resulted in rainbows. At least 4! We deemed it "rainbow day". It was a Rainbow of a trip.

Karen K.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most memorable Part: The crew on the boat, dinners and the tour on canals throughout the Netherlands and Belgium. The cheese shop was the best and also the small cafe's.

Eileen C.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The Southern Tour from Amsterdam in the Netherlands is a wonderful trip. It was my first time on a cycling tour and I felt that I received all the information that I needed in order to prepare and to make a wonderful experience. The route had nice a diversity between cycling and stopping in Dutch cities. The crew was very helpful and friendly, and the food was great. My bicycle couldn't have been more comfortable. I highly recommend this trip.

J. Post
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The wifi on the barge needs to be upgraded. It was inadequate and inconsistent.This is really the only criticism I have - the rest was great. But it is important to travelers these days.

W. Flink
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This is our third bike and barge trip and we would come back to do another. We had a great time! The boat, the Liza Marleen, was very nice, the crew very friendly, and our bike guide informative, interesting, and a lot of fun. It was very nice going on a small size boat and the crew created a family-like atmosphere which made the trip very enjoyable. One one particularly warm and longer day, the crew handed out delicious popsicles as we climbed back aboard at the end of the day. We appreciated the all the small details like this. We tell many friends that they should do one of these Bike and Barge trips. We'll be back.