Iris boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 97

4.9 out of 5

 


Thomas S.
5 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

I really enjoyed the Iris barge. First class barge with an attentive crew. The chef was amazing and created very good meals from a small onboard kitchen. The two guides were first-class. Great cycling routes in rural Netherlands. Lots of interesting stops and tulips galore. I would definitely book another tour aboard the Iris

Theresa D.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Great itinerary and biking. Often guides offered options of a short or a long bike ride. A lot of wind to contend with so an e-bike may be an added comfort for some. The Iris was exceptionally clean, apparently newly renovated during Covid. A high quality of rental bikes available and appreciated! Thanks for a great holiday!!

Donald K.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The staff on the Iris were excellent. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The passenger capacity of the Iris (24 people) was just right. It afforded us the opportunity to get to know the other travelers. Although the cabins were small, they were well laid out; comfortable; and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed cycling throughout the Netherlands with the exceptional guides on the Iris.
We would've preferred more time allocated to exploring the towns where the Iris moored daily. Most of our exploration time was limited to after dinner walks in some towns.

Thomas J.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

I really enjoyed the trip, especially being able to ride a bike throughout Holland and see all the flowers and small towns.

Katia L.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The whole trip was a beautiful experience full of memorable biking moments, new friendships and an attentive and talented staff. The best part of the trip was the attentiveness of the staff who met our various needs throughout the trip. I can't say enough about our tour guides and barge staff who always took the time to hear our concerns and or special needs and do their best to meet them. By the end of the trip, The Iris was our home and it always felt good to return back to our barge after a successfull and beautiful day of biking throughout the countryside. So with that being said, the trip is beautiful, but the staff made it special.

Cheryl S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The beauty of the countryside and beautiful homes along the canals. I especially loved learning about heirloom tulips and the interesting facts about the Dutch people and their country. I loved all beautiful the cycling but only wish we had a little more time at the end of the day to explore the little towns while the shops were still open.

Donna H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Beautiful country and biking was great unfortunately we didn't have great weather. Can’t forget the beautiful tuplips.

Maureen K.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The guides were very good. Felix and Hetty made every bit of the trip fondly memorable. The Iris offered very nice accommodations—featuring lots of room between the beds, plenty of space to store clothing, and a lovely shower and toilet room. The other staff of the Iris were very good, too, and we enjoyed excellent meals and everything went smoothly. I went on this trip to see the tulips, and they were gorgeous—not just at the Keukenhof, but also at the visit to the bulb garden and along the way just looking at private farms.

Nancy H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The trip was fantastic. Just the right amount of cycling traveling through the beautiful Netherlands. It was great to have 2 guides to split up our group of 24. Both guides were knowledgeable and fun. The captain, crew and chef were excellent. The Isis was a comfortable boat and I would definitely sail on it again. I highly recommend this trip to others.

Rosemary T.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Every aspect of the trip was memorable, from biking through quaint towns and beautiful countryside to an outstanding staff and five star cuisine. Be prepared to be amazed.

Susan L.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

It was a wonderful Trip. We rode the bikes evern though it was rainy and windy. It is amazing that you would do in that kind of weather, but we did, dressed warm and we loved it. We also had good weather days, when we saw the tulips and the gardens. It is amazing how many bikes are in the area. The roads are divided into one lane for the cars and a bike lane on each side of the road. Usually we biked on a paved path all the way. It was a great trip!!!!!

Penelope K.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Experiencing the unique geography and history of the Netherlands and getting to sample a tange of small towns and then Amsterdam. We also enjoyed the excellent range of art and historical museums and then of course since this was the tulip tour we really appreciated biking by miles of tulip beds and seeing Keukenhof garden, truly a national treasure. Tips for others biking and in April: Bring waterproof cycling gloves, a warm layer, and rain gear. We found the electric bikes were very in dealing with headwinds which of course can be strong by the sea.

Gail C.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Weather! Gale force winds, rain/hail and cold. Bring warm clothes and rain gear. Tulip fields were amazing.

andrew h.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Tulips. Would have been good to have had more time with tulips than an afternoon at Keukenoff. Maybe a visit to a tulip processor, or other gardens. After all, this was the "tulip" tour and we really only had one day of tulips.

You should alert your clients to the possibility of cold and rainy weather. Our guides did a good job of working around it, and I did have clothing to protect me, but it is an issue. Next to last day, we got into Zaandam too late to adequately visit the nearby attractions. Should have gotten there about two hours earlier.

Other than that, I think that all of the staff did an excellent job. Great food from Ellen; guides provided information and leadership. Boat was clean, spacious and comfortable.

John M.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Koehkenhoff was great as well as the guides. A small boat allowing for lots of personal attention

Mindy N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Lifelong bucket list desire and was able to ride thru fields of Tulip Farms. The crew on the Barge was truly first class (food, hospitality, and cleanliness). The two guys were knowledgeable of the region (Thomas and Rikko). Always willing to help. Suggestions: separate bike groups by e-bike and non/pedal bikes. The pace was often difficult when mixing the two into relax and very relax. Pace sometime was pushed thru very windy conditions. Also, bottle cages on bikes would be helpful. Lastly, a few of the stops/villages were 'closed' by the time we reached at the end of the tour day. This was disappointing such as Altmaar. It is lovely to walk around a bit after all day cycling. The guides were open to more frequent stops of shorter duration. When pedaling a non ebike, it is often challenges to start riding after a long break. Overall, we would recommend to tour to others and look forward to joining another adventure/journey in the future.

Carolyn W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The tulips were of course the highlight of the trip. Not really much time in most of the towns to do a lot of exploration.

I would recommend getting an ebike even though terrain is level the strong winds make for harder biking than anticipated.

Kay v.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Cycling past tulip fields and visiting Keukenhof Gardens will leave a colourful memory for us, fulfilling a long awaited bucket list item. The barge and bikes were in excellent condition. The staff were lovely, going out of there way to be helpful. All meals were delicious, although in an effort to minimise waste, quantities were sometimes on the small side. Rides were enjoyable, although the wind made some feel longer than reality. The guides had excellent cornering and sweeping systems, which added to the fun and safety of the rides. We were fortunately prepared for variable weather, every day needing a different concoction of clothing. A thoroughly enjoyable week.

Dianne D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

I would recommend this trip 100%. Everything about the experience was top notch. Our tour guides, Thomas and Rikko, were knowledgeable, kind and ALWAYS had safety of us "top of mind"! The food was excellent and the cabins and ship clean. All in all, a fantastic trip.

Hadassah K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

There were many memorable parts of the trip, all enjoyable. The barge, the guests and the crew were all great. I used an e-bike which was not great. I am barely 5’ 1” and the bike was a “small” and too big/heavy for me. It should have been an X-small. Another woman of similar size had a small and fell numerous times. I was disappointed that there was no alternative offered. I am an experienced rider and the heavy weight of the bike affected balance especially on curves. I’ve been on a number of bike trips and quality bikes and safety was a number one concern. Also there were no rear view mirrors. This was a safety concern. The answer I received was that the rear view mirrors are not used in the Netherland. This does not make sense as we got helmets and the people in the Netherlands don’t wear helmets. Why would we not be provided with rear mirrors.

Donna B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The guides and crew were all wonderful and did everything within their power to make the trip as enjoyable as possible. The Iris was a very comfortable boat. The cycling took us through varied landscapes. Helmets waterbottles and panniers are provided so no need to bring with you.

Louise C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Great trip. The guides where wonderful.

Ann M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Absolutely beautiful scenery-the best way to see this charming country is on a bike. The bike paths are very well maintained. I would suggest considering an e-bike. I did the first 4 days on a regular bike and this was fine. But after a day of rain and headwinds, I tried an e-bike-it was awesome! Our guides were great (Alice, Wolter and Timothy), were helpful, personable and really helped make the trip the incredible experience that it was. The food was fabulous-thanks to our amazing chef, Jules. Loved Reik (not sure of spelling of her name). Entire crew was great!

Marcia S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The staff and crew on the Iris did everything in their power to give us an enjoyable experience. It was obvious they all enjoyed their jobs and wanted us to share in that joy.

Nancy C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The barge and staff were fantastic! The meals were fabulous. The bicycle was much better than I anticipated. Overall it was a well organized trip. They kept us busy with biking and each night there was a walking tour. I highly recommend this trip and am planning another one on the same boat in the future.

Vickie G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

The biking guides were personable, knowledgeable, well organized. The staff on board the Iris were top rate, helpful, interactive. The itinerary/biking paths followed/led were varied and quite interesting - loved biking through the villages and countryside. Most memorable: Keukenhof, biking past all the tulip fields, past the windmills, receiving tidbits of historical info from the guides.

Wallace E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Overall, a great trip. The crew and guides on the Iris were wonderful and helped to make the trip a memorable experience. Thought the tour itinerary was a great balance of Dutch culture, historic towns and places, canals, dikes and locks, windmills, and fields of flowers. Fun seeing the Netherlands on a bike. Chef was amazing and the Food was superb. Made good friends and enjoyed everyone on the bike tour. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to experience the beauty of springtime in Holland.

Daniel C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Seeing the large tulip fields in full bloom. I liked the ship the Iris. The crew were wonderful. They sure treated the riders great. I really enjoyed our bike tour guides, Ferry and Maaike. They were very knowledgeable and did a great job of guiding us. Several times, the Iris could not get to the designated stopping point for the evening due too bridges being out for maintenance. so they had to reroute us to a different location to catch the Iris. The food on the Ship was very good. Coen, the chef, did a great job of creating meals, salads, soups, and deserts. I have one suggestion. Please have the chef create more authentic Dutch cuisine. I asked Ferry about this, and he said that there is really not much concerning Dutch cuisine. He said it was mainly poor man's food. Anyway, I would have liked more of the Dutch poor man's food. The weather did not cooperate. I know the weather can be bad, and it was. It rained a lot every day. The wind was constantly Read More

stewart h.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

This trip was amazing. The pre-planning info, the easy to follow arrival, and the overall organization made my first trip an enticement for future excursions. The crew iof the Iris and our guides were engaging and easily created a family-like experience. Every day was greeted with smiles and experiences which made all of us feel the excitement of the voyage. Thank you for the great memories!

Marilyn S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 day
Netherlands

Oh my, this is a difficult question as every part of our trip on the IRIS Tulip Tour was memorable! We loved the biking and felt totally immersed into the Dutch culture as we meandered through cute villages, lush green grazing pastures adorned with baby animals (lambs, ducks, goats, cows), by castles, windmills, and, of course, the spectacular, vibrant tulip fields! Our tour guides were, hands down, the best tour guides ever!! Genuinely, wonderful people who were so knowledgeable about their culture and history and eager to share! Each stop we made on our bikes whether it for a coffee break, lunch break, or a site to see, was unique and fabulous! We loved the different cafes (w/ to-die-for pastries and treats), lunch stop areas (an old schoolhouse; a beach on the North Sea; adorable towns), and the many Dutch experiences (castles, windmills, cheese farm, tulip fields, and the spectacular tulip gardens at the Kuekenhof)! The boat staff and meals were amazing also . . . first Read More