Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Iris 1 to 30 of 40

 

 Boat/Barge: Iris • REMOVE  About Iris

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Debra B. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge trip of the Netherlands was incredible...much more than I had anticipated. Biking through the fields and canals brought us enchanting views of geese, sheep, cows, horses, swans, charming houses and villages, not to mention the tulips! The pace was perfect, and the diversity of each day well chosen. We enjoyed an excellent array of gourmet food and the laughing companionship of new friends from different countries. Our tour guides were full of information and made us feel safe on our travels. Lodging was very comfortable and private. After hearing me rave about this trip, several of my friends now want to take it too!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Aschaffenburg to Stuttgart
    by David M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Iris is a well equipped and comfortable barge with a fantastic crew. Our guide, Thomas, was knowledgeable and very helpful and the Italian chefs (husband and wife) cooked delicious food and were super cute! Lenny, the owner of the Iris, was present throughout the trip and this added a special warmth to the trip. This was the first time this itinerary was offered on the Iris and it went off without a hitch. Many of the guests had E Bikes (which I recommend even though it was rated as an easy route) which made the several small hills a piece of cake! Would definitely recommend this trip on the Iris.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Aschaffenburg to Stuttgart
    by Arthur S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great barge, good people, great guide and good food. The only thing missing was a good detailed map of where we were riding.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Allen A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge and crew were amazing as were the bike guides. I would not change a thing.

    However . . . the bikes were horrid and it was a bike trip! They were dated . . . poorly maintained . . . and dangerous. I had a piece of my front fender break and get stuck between my spokes in the front tire. I could have been badly injured if not going so slow through construction. I would think a "bike" trip would offer much better bikes in the future. I would not recommend this trip to friends because of the bikes . . . everything else was top notch . . . the food, the staff, the rooms, the bar . . . too bad about the bikes not meeting expectations.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Elizabeth S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? Stopping along the bike route to have a coffee or beer and seeing some of the historic and memorable sites in the quaint villages along the way!

    Have an ice coffee at one of the lovely little cafes!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Dean S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew was second to none. Everyone took great pride in their work, especially the cook, who prepared meals to die for. We wanted to take her home with us. The guides went out of their way to make everyone happy. We really appreciated the guided tours in town each evening after dinner.

    This trip was great for a wide range of abilities. Folks who were not as strong of bikers used e-bikes which were great equalizers.

    My wife and I agree that this was one of the top vacations we've ever taken. We can't wait to go again.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Joseph (Joe) S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the Iris were all very knowledgeable and welcoming. By the end of the week I felt as though I knew each one personally and would welcome them all to my home should they travel my way. They made the trip more than worthwhile, especially when we had to ride in 100 plus degree weather. If I am to do another bike and barge trip it is this group of people that I would want as the crew.

    Boat: Iris

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Marcia F. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: My banter daily with one of the guides, Harm Jung. He related well to my personality. The food, boat, and accommodations were all better than anticipated. Thank you.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Coert & Christelle J. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A once in a lifetime experience.....not at all thought bike and barge would be so nice!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Michael & Margaret G. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the barge Iris, biking through the Netherlands. The trip was well planned and the information given each day really highlighted the sights that we saw. The visits to the various venues were full of information and gave us a nice view of life in Holland. We could not have asked more from our guides, Wouter and Sarah. Each day when we rode up to the barge at its new dock site, the crew welcomed us and asked about our day. The meals were excellent with a different area of the world serving as the source for the menu each evening. Wines had been chosen to go with each serving. The rooms were as expected on a ship and very clean. they offered an easy base for our adventure. We had a very good time and we thank the guides and the crew including the chef.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The preparation and presentation of the meals, especially the evening meals was outstanding. And the fellowship with the other passengers was also a great highlight aided by the small number of guests.

    Boat: Iris

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Brenda C. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our trip and we enjoyed staying on the Iris. We are going to be booking again in July 2019 and specifically picked the Iris so we can be on the same boat. Looking forward to it.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Louise H. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    So many things are memorable even a year after the trip. Loved the Kucken Gardens. They were a once-in-a-lifetime experience. But also the windmill tour, the tulip museum, the cheese factory, and the small town tours with the guide. What also stands out are the delicious dinners shared with all the other fascinating folks on the trip as well as the boat owner and her son who were our guides. Suggestions: Just GO!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Brain F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Leo R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Excellent group that interacted very well from the onset.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Barge Iris was outstanding to say the least. 24 guests were the perfect number, not too many, not too few, the crew was over and above terrific, the food was something we looked forward to each day and the whole experience was memorable.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by JoAn R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Parts: Biking, local information, meals.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Rita J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The knowledge of our guide, Wouter, and the beautiful vineyards along the river. I loved how we were riding on a flat, easy and beautiful path, but could see and appreciate the steep mountain vineyards! This is our third Tripsite adventure and we have enjoyed each one. In fact, as we were driving home from the airport my husband was booking our next trip - Northern Holland!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Art R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were on a river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest last year, and we noticed that the rivers we were on had beautiful paved and much-used bike trails, often on both banks. Then our friends from Chicago, a couple our age, learned about a barge biking trip in Europe and went on it last fall. They invited us to join them this year on a similar trip on the Moselle River, from Metz, France to Cochem, Germany. Here's the concept: at Metz, we arrived at the Iris, a small ship fitted out for 24 passengers and five crewmembers. Besides the passenger cabins, the ship had a dining room, a lounge, and an outside deck- not all the other things you associate with a cruise ship. Each day at around nine or 10 o'clock in the morning, we would get off the ship with bikes provided by the outfitter, and bicycle about 30 miles along the bike path on the river. We were led each day by Wouter, our guide, who was a history major as well as a very competent tour guide. He and the other four Read more… members of the crew were all Dutch, as was the registry of the ship.
    When registering for the trip, we included our physical measurements so that the bikes were almost perfectly fitted to us when we arrived. I was pleased that my bike was large enough for me because I am tall. Dianne had reserved an e-bike since she hadn't had a lot of experience in doing long road rides over multiple days, and because she had just had knee replacement surgery at the end of January. Five of the 24 people in our group used e-bikes, and they were all very happy with their performance. The bike does between 20 and 60% of the work (three levels—20, 40 and 60%) and you do the rest. It's not like a moped-- you still must pedal. It also has a readout that gives your speed, distance, and battery power.

    The bikes we used didn't employed derailleurs but instead had gears inside the rear hub that worked very smoothly with the two lever system on the handlebar. Most of the bikes were Gudereit hybrids, a German brand. All the bikes had front and rear lights, which turned on automatically, and were powered by a generator device inside the front hub that involved rotating magnets, so there was no friction. I was impressed with the smoothness and comfort of the bike I was given. The outfitters provided the bike, a pannier, and a helmet for each cyclist. Helmet use was not required but highly recommended.

    The nice thing about the bike paths along the Moselle River is that they were quite level, with only occasional small climbs when we needed to go up a ramp to cross a lock and dam for a bridge, and once when we made a little more of a climb to get up onto one of the tiered roadways in the vineyards. The Moselle Valley is wine country, and there were vineyards every day in every direction. Every morning we made a coffee break in a small town, and later we stopped again for the lunch we had packed that morning before leaving the ship. Each day, we’d see the Iris passing us on the river on its way to that day’s destination city, with Jacques, the captain, waving from the pilot house. On two of the days, we could opt to stay on the ship longer and join the other bicyclists enroute, or leave the ride early and “sag” on the ship. Guests also had the option to just stay on the ship all day and not bicycle if felt they needed a day off. But most biked the entire way.

    Our trip was in early September and the weather was pleasantly cool, usually in the low 60s to low 70s. We were prepared for rain, but never got any while we were bicycling. Most of the guests on the ship were American, but eight were Canadians and four were New Zealanders. Our bicycling speed was about 9 mph, with periodic stops to allow the group to stay together. Usually the stops were at places of historic or scenic interest, and we learned a lot from our guide about the influences of the Romans in Luxembourg and Germany, the ancient and modern winemaking arts, and even the formation of the Schengen Area (similar to, but not identical to the European Union) at Schengen. Schengen is the town at the juncture of France, Luxembourg, and Germany, like Dubuque’s placement at the intersection of Iowa, Wisconsin, and Illinois! We frequently crossed the Moselle from Germany to Luxembourg and back again. Dianne even got to bicycle through and explore the town of Wormeldange in Luxembourg, where her family came from several generations ago.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Rita J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: The incredible scenery and the knowledge of our guide.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jim M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts was the Saar River part of the ride, biking above the River with our guide and riding thru the vineyards. The little towns and the Roman History. Had no idea about the Roman history in this region before this trip. The Levees on the river. Just the general beauty of the area. The grapes growing on the sides of the mountains. Both our barge crew and all the people on the trip. FUN! FUN! FUN!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Leo R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The total crew got involved in the trip and were always available to assist us with any problems or questions. It helped to break the ice with other bikers and soon we were one cohesive and fun group.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Patricia B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable are the meals. The daily ports and after dinner walks. 1 issue - directions to the barge were horrible.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Wendy & Robert K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is very hard to say what was the best, as everything was so great, beautiful, and interesting. The staff and bike guide went above our expectations, we would recommend this trip to all.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Richard R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip but the weather was a bit average - no rain but lots of cloud and a bit cool.
    The food was great as were the crew, the bikes, the other passengers and the boat. We thought Wouter (the guide) needs to "loosen up" a bit and learn more of the history etc. of the region. We also found the first couple of days on the bikes a bit boring, too much forest and not enough villages etc.
    All in all very good!!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip exceeded our expectations but the barge Iris and the crew were outstanding.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A group of 8 friends from Western Canada recently completed the Metz to Cochem tour on the Iris and all of us have nothing but good things to say about the experience. The barge Iris was everything we expected and more. Immaculately clean, well equipped, comfortable rooms and beds, small but efficient bathrooms, great lounge and dining areas, outside sitting area, etc., etc. The crew was outstanding in every way from Chef Bas to guide Wouter, to crewman AJ and so on. The crew added so much to the overall experience and always with humour, local knowledge and great attention to detail. The daily rides were a feature that we looked forward to each morning and the scenery was wonderful each day. And to top it all off, the weather for the most part cooperated for the whole trip. I can't recommend the barge, the crew and the trip highly enough and as a group, we are already talking about our next barge/bike tour

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by D. Fish 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was enjoyable. Only drawback was that follow along Moselle River, some of the scenery of the vineyards became boring after a while. On previous trips we traveled more inland, seeing sights and then meeting up with barge at next destination.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by C. Morrison 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Had a wonderful time. The staff was very accommodating in making modifications due to the previous heavy rains and high water. The last day bike tour of Metz was disappointing in that it is a very difficult city to navigate on bikes with a number of people.

    Boat: Iris

    • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
      by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi C. Morrison,
      Im sorry that you were disappointed with the last day of riding. I can assure you that your safety is one of our top priorities and we try our best to ensure routes are safe and easy to navigate. In spite of the rain, I hope your overall experience was positive!

      Boat: Iris

PWPC