Iris boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 51

5 out of 5

 


Niemiec R.
16 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

When thinking about the trip, the biking is what I thought about most. Once the trip began, I realized the "extra" aspects of the trip were the most meaningful:
- visiting a cheese farm to learn about
- walking through the cities with our guides learning about their history
- fabulous meals on board
- friendly and talented staff

Kimberly J.
18 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

This trip had it all great cycling through gorgeous and historic NL with some fun informative guides, delicious meals prepared by chef Ellen, spending time with great friends and meeting new people. Highly recommend this trip. Lenny is an excellent host.

Charles B.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

This trip was perfect. The boat was clean, roomy and comfortable. I liked the ride and stay in Haarlem best, but wait the ride to Leiden … really loved it all! Did I mention the Chef and meals, wow.

Gloria A.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Amazing rides through the countryside, full of spring blossoms

Debra L.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Great trip, staff was very helpful ,food was wonderful. The bike trails in the Netherlands are never ending and scenic. Would highly recommend.

Joyce N.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Love the scenery. The canal with the houses and beautiful yards next to them, Keukenhof gardens snd the tulip fields were absolutely gorgeous.
If I did this tour again I would get an e bike. The wind was blowing pretty hard so I was struggling to keep up. Also it was a lot colder than I thought it would be.

Joyce N.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Love the scenery. The canal with the houses and beautiful yards next to them, Keukenhof gardens snd the tulip fields were absolutely gorgeous.
If I did this tour again I would get an e bike. The wind was blowing pretty hard so I was struggling to keep up. Also it was a lot colder than I thought it would be.

Janina D.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The staff of the Iris was great! We loved the intimacy and comfort of this barge. Biking through the Netherlands was a very immersive and great way to truly experience the various layers and beauty of their culture. We are hoping to do a Bike n Barge annually to explore other countries.

The communication from Tripsite could have been better. We were dismayed to see others in our group received Tripsite vests and gaiters. We had not. We literally received our travel documents/tips 5 days before departure.

Lisa H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Everything about this trip was excellent! Great boat, great staff, great guides, great food! What an amazing experience!

Barbara S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Most memorable was the cycling through the countryside and smelling the flowers, hearing the bird song and enjoying the fresh air. Also the friendliness of our hosts, like being with family.

Shih-Lee H K.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

A wonderful experience overall. Premium barge, excellent service and friendly staff made the trip much better.
Like the fact that we could break the group into two (fast and slow) riders.
Suggestions: a little more breaks during riding to allow time to enjoy the countryside.

Rick C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

In my opinion, the bike barge experience with the Tripsite guides is the absolute best way to see and experience any country. The guides were both informative and fun and kept to the expected schedule.

Debra B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The bike and barge trip of the Netherlands was incredible...much more than I had anticipated. Biking through the fields and canals brought us enchanting views of geese, sheep, cows, horses, swans, charming houses and villages, not to mention the tulips! The pace was perfect, and the diversity of each day well chosen. We enjoyed an excellent array of gourmet food and the laughing companionship of new friends from different countries. Our tour guides were full of information and made us feel safe on our travels. Lodging was very comfortable and private. After hearing me rave about this trip, several of my friends now want to take it too!

David M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Aschaffenburg to Stuttgart
Germany

The Iris is a well equipped and comfortable barge with a fantastic crew. Our guide, Thomas, was knowledgeable and very helpful and the Italian chefs (husband and wife) cooked delicious food and were super cute! Lenny, the owner of the Iris, was present throughout the trip and this added a special warmth to the trip. This was the first time this itinerary was offered on the Iris and it went off without a hitch. Many of the guests had E Bikes (which I recommend even though it was rated as an easy route) which made the several small hills a piece of cake! Would definitely recommend this trip on the Iris.

Arthur S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Aschaffenburg to Stuttgart
Germany

Great barge, good people, great guide and good food. The only thing missing was a good detailed map of where we were riding.

Allen A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The barge and crew were amazing as were the bike guides. I would not change a thing.

However . . . the bikes were horrid and it was a bike trip! They were dated . . . poorly maintained . . . and dangerous. I had a piece of my front fender break and get stuck between my spokes in the front tire. I could have been badly injured if not going so slow through construction. I would think a "bike" trip would offer much better bikes in the future. I would not recommend this trip to friends because of the bikes . . . everything else was top notch . . . the food, the staff, the rooms, the bar . . . too bad about the bikes not meeting expectations.

Elizabeth S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Best part? Stopping along the bike route to have a coffee or beer and seeing some of the historic and memorable sites in the quaint villages along the way!

Have an ice coffee at one of the lovely little cafes!

Dean S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The crew was second to none. Everyone took great pride in their work, especially the cook, who prepared meals to die for. We wanted to take her home with us. The guides went out of their way to make everyone happy. We really appreciated the guided tours in town each evening after dinner.

This trip was great for a wide range of abilities. Folks who were not as strong of bikers used e-bikes which were great equalizers.

My wife and I agree that this was one of the top vacations we've ever taken. We can't wait to go again.

Joseph (Joe) S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The crew of the Iris were all very knowledgeable and welcoming. By the end of the week I felt as though I knew each one personally and would welcome them all to my home should they travel my way. They made the trip more than worthwhile, especially when we had to ride in 100 plus degree weather. If I am to do another bike and barge trip it is this group of people that I would want as the crew.

Marcia F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: My banter daily with one of the guides, Harm Jung. He related well to my personality. The food, boat, and accommodations were all better than anticipated. Thank you.

Coert & Christelle J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

A once in a lifetime experience.....not at all thought bike and barge would be so nice!

Michael & Margaret G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We had a wonderful time on the barge Iris, biking through the Netherlands. The trip was well planned and the information given each day really highlighted the sights that we saw. The visits to the various venues were full of information and gave us a nice view of life in Holland. We could not have asked more from our guides, Wouter and Sarah. Each day when we rode up to the barge at its new dock site, the crew welcomed us and asked about our day. The meals were excellent with a different area of the world serving as the source for the menu each evening. Wines had been chosen to go with each serving. The rooms were as expected on a ship and very clean. they offered an easy base for our adventure. We had a very good time and we thank the guides and the crew including the chef.

Garnet T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The preparation and presentation of the meals, especially the evening meals was outstanding. And the fellowship with the other passengers was also a great highlight aided by the small number of guests.

Brenda C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We loved our trip and we enjoyed staying on the Iris. We are going to be booking again in July 2019 and specifically picked the Iris so we can be on the same boat. Looking forward to it.

Louise H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

So many things are memorable even a year after the trip. Loved the Kucken Gardens. They were a once-in-a-lifetime experience. But also the windmill tour, the tulip museum, the cheese factory, and the small town tours with the guide. What also stands out are the delicious dinners shared with all the other fascinating folks on the trip as well as the boat owner and her son who were our guides. Suggestions: Just GO!

Brain F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

Leo R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Most Memorable Part? Excellent group that interacted very well from the onset.

Garnet T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The Barge Iris was outstanding to say the least. 24 guests were the perfect number, not too many, not too few, the crew was over and above terrific, the food was something we looked forward to each day and the whole experience was memorable.

JoAn R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Most Memorable Parts: Biking, local information, meals.

Rita J.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Most Memorable Part: The knowledge of our guide, Wouter, and the beautiful vineyards along the river. I loved how we were riding on a flat, easy and beautiful path, but could see and appreciate the steep mountain vineyards! This is our third Tripsite adventure and we have enjoyed each one. In fact, as we were driving home from the airport my husband was booking our next trip - Northern Holland!