De Amsterdam boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 19 of 19

4.5 out of 5

 


Lynn A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Although my South Holland Tour was canceled and rerouted to North Holland, it was lovely. The tour guides, captain & staff were terrific and despite weather related complications, made the trip memorable. I will definitely be doing another - hopefully the Southern route...

Lisa S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The beautiful scenery, wonderful camaraderie, and helpful guides made this a remarkable and enjoyable experience. For those not comfortable cycling who might be traveling with an experienced cycling partner, I highly recommend an e-bike. It took all of the stress away for both is us!

Lynda S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Although we enjoyed the trip, there is no one thing that stands out as the most memorable. However, there are some things that need improvement:
- The food. This was a top-rated boat but some of the food was sub-par. For instance, you do not serve vegetables from a can!
- Having electric bikes and regular bikes in the same guided groups is a mistake. The regular bikes do not have a chance and the pace keeps getting quicker and quicker, pushing the ordinary bikes aside. There should be separate guides for the two types of bikes.
- Riding through the cities was terrifying, particularly in The Netherlands where everyone rides bikes. We have been on another boat/bike tour down the Danube (with RadReisen) and our tours of the cities were by bus with riding only on the fringes. It was much safer and you saw and learned about so much more.

Juliëtte S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Finding out that using an E-bike is WONDERFUL (this was our first trip) and allowed us to bike must further and faster than we thought we were capable of. The daily tours were well set up - took us along the unbeaten (bike) paths and allowed us enjoy time with friends.

Mary Elizabeth H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

I loved the first day biking through Bruekelyn, the day in Gouda, and the day we biked the dunes and tulip fields. Tinaka, the gulf was awesome. The food was mediocre but we went into town every night and had great dinners.

Lori V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Incredible countryside! The boat was very clean and the staff was great. The evening food was a bit disappointing but the overall experience was fantastic and a great value!

Diane O.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Riding through such beautiful countryside...make sure to include a planned trip to Keukenhof when it's tulip season

Judith R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Very nice boat. We had a mildew smell problem with our room, and the boat crew acknowledged it and when they were unable to fix the problem they upgraded us to a nicer room. The crew was terrific, and the boat was very comfortable.

Diane H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

I was extremely disappointed in the quality of the bikes. I had assumed from what I read that the bikes were hybrid bikes similar to what I own: less than 30 pounds, gears, maneuverable, easy to ride. These bikes were very heavy, hard to pedal, hard to walk. No one got the bikes off the barge for us to ride or put them back on. That means I had to struggle with the bike up and down a steep and dangerous metal ramp. I was more tired from riding 30 miles on the flat on one of these bikes than I was after riding a metric century up some pretty big hills on a road bike. I do not believe that a bike and barge trip should emphasize the biking and provide such poor bikes. Electric bikes were an option, but I do not choose to ride one. I want to ride a good quality hybrid or road bike. Riding was so much work that it took away some of the pleasure of seeing the Dutch countryside. The rest of the trip was very nice, but the biking was a big part of why we went on the trip and it was a huge disappointment.

John S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Great trip, beautiful scenery, terrific bike paths, good food, fine accommodations, no complaints! I would highly recommend this itinerary!

Cheryl M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Loved the little towns, biking through them. Really nice trails. Sadly rain a couple of days but can't control the weather.

Wilf C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

In short, the South Holland boat-bike trip exceeded all my expectations. The routes, scenery and attractions were unbeatable. The boat cabins were small (akin to a university dorm room) but were extremely functional and comfortable. All of the staff did their utmost to satisfy our needs. We experienced windy days, a rainy day and lots of sun - the biking was always good. I'm typically a trip planner, so having all the logistics taken care of by the tour company made this an exceptional cycling vacation. I have already recommended the tour to many of my cycling friends.

Colleen S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

I very much enjoyed the beauty of the Netherlands countryside. Amazed by the extent to which the country is so bicycle friendly!

Ronerto R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Exciting bike and barge tour throughout Southern Holland. Definitely proclaiming a successful trip in a beautiful Holland. Safe and crew were very attentive and courteous.
Felt mislead by bike insurance offerer by Tripsite. Later found out bike staff on the barge that if the bike was damaged I would have to pay upfront the amount of damage that I caused to the bike staff and then I can put a claim to the insurance by Tripsite which I would be reimbursed at that time This was a minor snafu and I was very disappointed about the misrepresentation when I was told the insurance would cover everything upon needing the coverage for bike damages.

Donald B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

South Holland trip was beyond what we were expecting in terms of scenery, trails and dedication by the Holland tour operators.

Rachel F.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

It was the trip of a lifetime!!! This was a trip on my bucket list and could not have asked for better!! Thank you!

Martha B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Scenery was excellent, dinners on the boat were superb, and the guide (Peter) was friendly, helpful, and competent. Suggestion--let there be hot water for tea or coffee available any time--not just till 6PM. Also, supply plastic bags for packing lunches--or advise people to bring their own.

Pam W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This trip exceeded all my expectations. It is a wonderful way to see the country. The accommodations were very comfortable. We will be back. And recommend it to our friends.

Dave C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The De Amsterdam is more like a cruise ship than a barge, very nice cabin, very nice dining room.