Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Clair de Lune 1 to 30 of 31

 

 Boat/Barge: Clair de Lune • REMOVE  About Clair de Lune

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Naomi G. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through Belgium and Holland. Great bike paths, lovely scenery, good companions made for a memorable journey.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Around Paris
    by Bob M. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Around Paris tour on the Clair de Lune was a wonderful trip for us. Entering Paris by bicycle, having our barge room follow us, and being guided, fed, and hosted by Marcus and his crew was a great experience we recommend.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Carol P. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Around Paris as guests on Clair de Lune was a great trip! The scenery, the history, the visit to Fontainebleau, cycling the streets of Paris, and more! This is such a wonderful way to experience a country!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Susan S. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highlights: The kindness of the tour guide (Jan-Anne), the captain (Marco), and the chef (Sylvia); the beautiful landscape; sailing into Paris; riding through Paris.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Deidre S. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were in great hands with our captain, Marco, chef, Sylvia and guide, Rob, on the Clair de Lune! We truly enjoyed our week biking along the Seine and L’Oise. We highly recommend this barge and bike experience.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Elizabeth McCarthy 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Guides had no map, and got us lost daily. They spoke no French, so could ask no one for help. Because of the getting lost daily, we didn't get to see the towns in which we were moored for the night. Kitchen ran out of bread, so I had to buy my sandwich one day. Rooms were not cleaned except for trash being removed once. Boat was moored in Paris 1/2 hour walk away from where the captain said he would be, with not notifying guests. A complete and total DISASTER!!!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Eileen A. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable? For me the day we cycled through the city of Paris. We got to experience a very authentic side of Parisian life, zooming along the myriad of bike paths with the locals, enjoying the sights, sounds and smells and knowing we were in the capable hands of our guide. Having a guide removes all of the navigational stress and allows for the freedom to sit back and enjoy the ride.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Linda H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Sailing into Paris in the seine was spectacular, what a way to get acquainted for the first time and also enjoy how Parisiennes live and play along the river. Make sure you bring your sunscreen.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Richard O. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide, Chris, was exceptionally talented. He answered questions clearly and completely, and he offered many interesting comments about the various sites we traveled through. Our captain, Connie, was also thoroughly competent and provided additional insight about our travels, especially thru the various locks. Meals were good. Breakfast was standard European and I appreciated their encouraging us to prepare sandwiches and snacks for lunch. Be aware that the instructions for meeting the tour bus from the train station, Gare du Nord, were incomplete: You have to continue walking about 100 meters on Rue de Maubeuge beyond Rue Ambroise Pare to find the bus. Also, this bike trip was considered "easy" based on the relatively flat terrain and modest miles ridden.
    However, the paths were not always very smooth; we experienced rocky, bumpy, pitted and muddy roads for much of the trip. In general, however, this was a very memorable trip; I'd do it again!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Howard B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The attentiveness and skill of the crew was most memorable. Chris was an awesome guide, encouraging everyone and being a wealth of knowledge about the environs. Conor was personable and available to share her knowledge and experience. Kim is a great cook and quite a character. Together, they overcame the limitation of an outdated too small barge to create an environment that allowed the riders to really enjoy the countryside and each other.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Molly C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall the trip was great. Route was rated as easy, but it was a little more difficult than expected. Lots of traffic in Paris and trails and streets were often more like off-road or mountain biking. That should be made clear from the beginning.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Mary W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This tour of the Seine was delightful. The boat and crew were top notch. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the history and bike routes of the area. And the weather was c'est bon. It was the trip of a lifetime.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Ginny D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Tips: Pack light. Bring layers of clothing. People great. Barge crew and bike guide wonderful!!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Jenny D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was amazing!! It was exactly as described. There were no surprises. The bikes were very comfortable and perfect for the trip we were on. The boat and the sights were amazing. I loved the staff, the food, and the guide. If you are new to biking, I highly recommend spending some time on a bike before you go just to get used to handling it in both traffic and on dirt trails in the forest. Enjoy!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Paul W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Have forwarded the link to your website to a number of our friends as we describe the fabulous experience on our tulip tour. Most memorable was being our timing in seeing the tulips in full bloom in the fields. But, every day was memorable!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Around Paris
    by Sherry M. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guide was attentive to each rider and knowledgeable about the towns and history.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Paul D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Gourmet dining aboard the Clair de Lune was five star fabulous! The tour guide, Henry, was extremely knowledgeable about the area, and inspired the highest level of confidence in his ability to handle any situation. The Clair de Lune was very clean and in excellent condition. All the staff were wonderfully friendly, helpful and welcoming.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Virginia D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable part: Going through the locks on the barge in Paris. The kindness of our fellow bikers and staff.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Jenny D. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I just got back from the trip and had a wonderful time! The Boat, Bikes, and Food where the best that could be provided and the scenery was amazing! I found the description to be exactly as the trip experience. I felt like I was fully prepared for everything and cannot wait to do it again next year.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Laura W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    So many memorable parts it's hard to pick just one. On this trip, I'll say the warmth of the chef and captain, the meals were outstanding, and I loved meeting and cycling with people from all over!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Marty W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Marcos , captain and Kim, cook were at the helm of our trip with the Claire de Lune. They did an outstanding job; food excellent, conversation and safety of boat exceptional - we were taken care of very well. Paul, tour bike guide kept us all together on the back streets and roads, never lost and always got us back to the boat in time for relaxation time and dinner. He knew the area, well versed in the country's history and strong bicyclist and took good care of us. This trip is not for the faint at heart or easy bicycle afternoon riders. We road 30 miles almost every day - wind in our face and sometimes lucky with the wind at our backs. The riding was some back roads, some deltas and some cobble stone city riding along with traffic. Not rails to trails and no sag wagon. We saw beautiful country sides, the tulips were full aglow at the tulip fields and the windmill adventure was super. It was a good full week of adventure. The barge crew are to be commended for all that they did to make our week special.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Around Paris
    by Michael 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was our first bike/barge tour and we loved it. Riding through the French countryside was wonderful and it felt like we were in a Van Gogh painting. The boat was nice and the crew was great, with a welcoming attitude and GREAT meals! The bikes were perfect and I'm a bike snob. We made new friends from around the world. Do it, you won't regret it!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by S. Bingham 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the first Bike and Barge experience for my husband and I, and we feel very lucky to have had our initiation into this traveling experience with Marco, and the crew of Claire de Lune. What a fabulous way to see the sights so very few visitors get to see! The barge accommodations were tight, but efficient, and as advertised. Be sure to pay attention to the packing instructions sent out ahead of time! Our tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and very flexible with our small group of 7. Highlights were definitely riding through Paris, and "barging down" the tunnel under the Bastil. However, riding through the picturesque little French villages, countryside and forests were also what made this trip so special. We would highly recommend this tour, and hope to travel again on this barge, or one very much like it, on our next Bike and Barge trip.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Gary Koolhof 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff was very friendly and they made our trip outstanding!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Helen Belletti 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a great trip. There were only 3 of us on the tour so they gave us each our own private cabin which was very much appreciated. Marco, the captain was one of the best boat captains. He shared a lot of information with us and really made the trip fun and interesting. Our guide was great too, and tailored each day to our needs because our group was so small. The food was good too, and a good variety. I only rated the food as "satisfied" because I toured the year before on the Zwaan, the Mosel and Saar tour, and the chef was soooooo good, that he spoiled me for future tours! If you have any questions on my experience on any tours, please let me know. And I hope to book one of your tours again ~~

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by John Geraerdts 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall trip came up to expectations. Crew was friendly and capable. The glitches to be expected on a new boat-new tour were minimal. Daily itineraries seemed to be well planned. Highlight was riding to Eiffel Tower and on to Notre Dame. Enjoyed tunnel cruise and free day in Paris. Meals on board were very good. Small group made dining fairly intimate. Bikes good but not excellent. Mine had a shifting problem that was a minor annoyance. Cabin accommodations were fine given the nature of the bike and barge experience. While this barge was in general less luxurious than those on our prior trips, (Mantova-Venice and Avignon-Comargue) it was fairly advertised as a ""Standard"" and priced accordingly. We thought that riding to the Eiffel Tower was pretty nifty and it became our main bragging points upon our return home. This was our third bike and barge with Tripsite. We recommend this type of experience and Tripsite to all.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Lynne Newville 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had the best time and have recommended the Around Paris trip to many friends. Loved the small tour group and guides. Two nights rather than one in Paris was a bonus on our tour. We would have liked more time in Arles. Guides and staff were excellent. Tiny berths but we like each other so it worked.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Karen Picard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was the first trip of this type that we have ever done and my first time to France. It was a great way to experience the country and it was nice to see rural areas, historic small towns, castles and the big city of Paris. The crew was wonderful-- friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and thoughtful. The trip price was a great value for all that we received and experienced. It was great to get so much exercise while on vacation-- walking and biking makes it possible to see and do so much in the fresh air and to burn off the great food and wine we enjoyed. I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Lynne 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This Paris Tour exceeded our high expectations. Highlights included a madcap ride through Paris stopping at Notre Dame and the Eiffel tower and visiting Auvers with the Van Gogh sights. Professional multilingual staff, experienced tour guide and wonderful accommodating cook made us welcome. We quickly became friends with the other 14 riders who were all fun adventurous travelers. The bikes were sturdy and well designed for the changing terrain of cobblestones, gravel. dirt pack through forests, city streets and local roads. Bring layers of lightweight clothes for changing weather and bike shorts or liners for riding comfort. The ride could be challenging for inexperienced riders so it is helpful to do training of rides to 15-20 miles in preparation.Cabins are small in this canal boat but adequate especially at this price point. We loved it and look forward to our next bike barge tour.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

PWPC