Vivienne boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 33

5 out of 5

 


Lynn R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our second bike/ barge trip booked through tripsite did not disappoint! The ship was perfect, clean and clearly updated.The crew was hospitable and helpful.Our language ( english) was not a barrier on the trip, everyone was very accommodating! The food was excellent and choices were good.Leslie the tour director was superb.

The bike route was well mapped and we downloaded the app which worked well.Sites were amazing, weather which you can’t control good most days.Loved the small ferry rides, Austrian hills, the well appointed stops along the route.E bikes were a good choice for us and easy to manage

Perfect! Don’t hesitate to book this trip!

Holly H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Every day held something new along our way. Landscapes changed, cities and towns were vastly different, crops varied, castles and palaces were different. Enjoy it all.

At the time we were on the trip the boat assigned a dining table and you had to sit with the same people every meal every day. We were a single couple and were put at a table with one other couple who were thankfully a lovely couple. It would have been nice however to be able to sit with others at least for breakfast and lunch.

Brenda C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a wonderful adventure on this trip and got to see some stunning cities along the way. Cycling was wonderful the bikes and e-bikes were in excellent condition. The boat was beautiful and staff were attentive and courteous. Briefings were informative and routes easy to follow on self guided tours. Would and have recommended to friends.

Teresa H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What a wonderful trip! This was our 4th bike and boat trip and our favourite. The accommodations on the boat are excellent and the cycling route was great. The stop in Budapest was a highlight for me for sure!

Cara A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Fabulous bike trip! Everyday we received a very thorough briefing including a map for our daily ride. Leslie took great care of us along with the rest of the crew! Bring a Tupperware dish to make a salad in for the lunch that you can make to take on your ride. The lunch bag will come with the bike.

BARRY S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sitting on the Deck eating dinner in Budapest and watching the city lights. Bratislava was also excellent. We did not have enough time in Vienna though.

Heidi L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best parts were the scenic rides on the first and last day. The ride through wine country was particularly beautiful . I also loved the day in Budapest.
People definitely need to train for the biking part. Although not difficult , time on the seat is important. I would highly recommend bringing a gel seat cover.

Juliet S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery through which we biked. The landscape was ever-changing. It was flat which made for easy biking.
The route was beautifully labelled, which removed all stress of getting lost. It was also away from busy car routes.

Marilyn K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

10/5 stars! The wonderful crew members , the rides, the quality of the rooms were outstanding!
I have already shared this trip with new and old connections. Thank you so very much!
We made so many wonderful new friends that we will connect with again!

GRACE M V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The stars at night from the boat sun deck were spectacular. The bike path along the river had beautiful views and occasionally wonder into small towns. Docked in Budapest across from Parliament which was a special sight at night. Reccommend bike tours of Vienna and Budapest and also eat at lovely restaurants

Gillian F.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The whole trip was fantastic despite two rainy, cold bike days which we survived wearing ponchos and smiles. The boat was extremely comfortable and well-appointed. We had the cabin with proper twin beds and big sliding door windows - very nice.

The e-bikes were excellent and although not super high-powered they were perfect for the terrain we were riding. They were very comfortable to ride. Any issue with the bikes was quickly dealt with.

Meals were superb, 5-star dining every day with a good choice. The cruise director was terrific, highly organized, and very helpful and his briefings were detailed and accurate. On 2 of the days, he rode with the 133 bikers because of high river levels to make sure we were all safe.

All city visits had options of bike tour, bus tour or do your own thing. Again the information about the cities at the briefings was detailed. The cruise director really knew the area.

The service on board was, at all times excellent and friendly - Read More

Anita S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Aside from the beauty, we sell along bike rides, I was totally impressed with how organized the stuff was on the boat. This was his regards to the trip trip information, and the bike set up. The food was phenomenal, the cabin was excellent, and the staff went above and beyond providing outstanding service. The atmosphere was very friendly and jovial. I honestly do not have any tips for others. Already a few of my friends are going to book this trip in the spring and summer next year based on my recommendations.

William H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great boat, great crew. Great route. Only suggestion would be to mix dinner partners each nigh vs. sitting with the same people each meal. That way you would get to know more people.

Venise B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the scenic ride on day 1, 3 and 4
Day 2 was a good ride but not much to see much other than the farms….it was also a very hot day and no reprieve from the sun
The crew was amazing, the food delicious and plentiful, the activities on board enjoyable. Leslie is very knowledgeable and hardworking, he plans a very smooth trip! All the details of the trip are well organized
We really enjoyed our week on the Vivienne

Patrice I.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Well organized, accommodations, food and crew were all wonderful.

sara v.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Every single part of it was wonderful! Very comfortable accommodations and great nights of sleep! Absolutely delightful bike rides! Great support for bike rides with maps, GPS download, salad and sandwich bar so we could make our own picnic lunches, delicious breakfast and dinners loved getting to see parts of four different countries And really enjoyed the tour options we were given in the different cities. I Cannot recommend it highly enough!

thomas m.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The bike tour in Vienna was very good. Management did a poor job in communication. We were told conflicting information. We were surprised that the boat did not meet us in Passau and had to take an hour long buss ride. Food was from the region and Germans Austria are not as good as the Italian' s and French. Liver is not popular with us. We are spoiled with the other culture food.

Maria M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

La capacidad de la tripulación de enfrentar cualquier cambio y hacer que el viaje sea maravilloso. La ruta es muy bella y el equipo del barco es como una gran familia qué hace todo lo posible para que disfrutes toda la experiencia. Mi única sugerencia es que podrían incluir una noche de karaoke.

Peggy D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It’s very hard to pick the “most” memorable…but probably the day of cycling through the Wachau Wine valley would top the list. The scenery was just magnificent that day. But truly, every day was beautiful, whether we were directly along the river, or cycling through farmlands. We upgraded to e-bikes this time, and that was definitely the right choice for us. The terrain is mostly flat, and the daily distances are not far, but having e-bikes made it more relaxing for us. I felt like I could linger in the small towns without having to check my watch to be sure I could make it to the boat on time. About half of the 90 passengers on our tour had e-bikes. Seeing the big cities was another highlight, but of course we only got a small taste of them. The staff of the Vivienne went out of their way to make us comfortable, and I can’t say enough about the food! Five course dinners every night, and everything was delicious.

Ya Wei A C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We will always remember the ride through the beautiful scenery of the Danube river, and the chance to meet so many people from different countries and learn the different cultures. We were also impressed with the crew members skill to get the barge thru multiple locks, the smooth ride on the boat. In addition, the tour director, Leslie's attention to details, Hans, the bike master to fix and adjust bikes for us. It was a wonderful experience for us. We loved the challenge to ride and comfort to be on a boat and relaxing afterwards. The only bad thing about the experience is to allow people smoking in the back of the sundeck and it would be best to make it nonsmoking tour.

Carol J.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through small villages and seeing castles and gorgeous churches on the hillside.

Robyn P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The boat, staff and experience were exceptional, plus the food and 5 or 6 course meals were incredible. This was a memorable experience for my group of eight. We loved every moment of this amazing bicycle trip along the Danube River through small villages, into large cities and along the peaceful beautiful Danube River. Our rooms were very nice with a good sized bathroom. We had plenty of room for storing our clothes and gear, even hiding our suitcases in the provided storage cabinet under our beds. The crew has thought of everything, they even have a small store on board to buy all sorts of gear, clothing and other items. They even lent helmets to those that wanted them - we had lugged our from home.

Janet M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Wow , what a well organized trip , our bikes were out every morning just waiting for us . The staff on the boat were fantastic, they are hard working people from different parts of the world . Very friendly and willing to help in anyway . I would recommend this trip and your company to everyone. The boat was very clean ,food was great and if you didn’t like a certain food they did a great job accommodating you . We will certainly be doing another trip with your company . Very please with or service . The scenery along the route was spectacular ! Beautiful countryside. I highly recommend this trip. Janet M

Wendy H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

THIS TRIP IS AMAZNG! This was probably one of the most beautiful trips I have ever been on and I have travelled to over 40 countries! The boat director, "Leslie" and the crew of the Vivienne were bar none in their service. The food was high grade, the boat clean and elegant and the crew was OUTSTANDING. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys food, art and FUN! Even on the hot days, Leslie and crew made it memorable. Loved the 70's party! Leslie proved over 200 outfits for the guests to wear and he was attentive to every guest, even with a broken wrist. THANK YOU for a the trip of a lifetime. You can be darn certain that I will be back! Such a great time! Thank you Tripsite and Rad-Riessan Eurocyle (spelling?) for making this happen All of the venues were amazing but the last ride in the wine country of Austria was spectacular! LOVED EVERY MINUTE! THANK YOU to the professionals at Tripsite, the crew of the Vivienne and Leslie the amazing cruise director. WIth much gratitude and appreciation, Wendy.

Sharon W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Beautiful days of biking with great options for tours on the ‘rest’ days. Seeing a small part of Bratislava and Budapest was fascinating. Our cruise director Leslie offered great suggestions for unique restaurants, special tours for specific interests (historical, foodie, libraries, best photos of the area, etc. ). Onboard food was excellent with many tasty vegetarian choices.

Tim S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything went very well. The crew did an amazing job!

JAMES C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The biking was fantastic. The boat and crew made the whole adventure simply a great time.

LISA C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was outstanding! My room which was a standard was roomy. The ship was elegant. The stops were awesome so much to see. Our cruise director Leslie told us where to stop and placed arrows everywhere, making it easy to follow.

The food was delicious. We had. Choice of food. Loved the ice cream social.

The farewell party and costumes were a lot of fun! It seemed as if the crew was trying to do everything in their power to make a fun memorable trip!(which they did)

Jim U.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great way to tour the Danube River valley with a good mix of active bike riding and the opportunity to visit cities such as Brataslavia, Budapest and Vienna by having a boat that can cover long distances while you are sleeping.

Denise L.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The biking was certainly the highlight. Loved it. The boat was great, rooms good sized ,staff lovely. Food was not great but ok for price. The vegan in our party was not planned for but chief did his best. Overall certainly recommend.