Merlijn boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 177

4.5 out of 5

 


Shaunna A.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

This was our first Bike & Barge, but it won't be our last! The whole trip was fabulous, the biking, the crew, the food, the other passengers and Tripsite for organizing it all!

Ruth B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Riding the trails through the beautiful forests!

tim P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

Biking with family, romantic views from the river, the friendliness of the boat puppy and crew, wonderful dinner , and the stadt tours

Justine F.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff on the Merjlin were fantastic
The bike seats were a bit uncomfortable but overall the trip was great. The tour guides were were great unfortunately they did not explain the route prior each day

DEBORAH D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Outstanding trip. The Merlijn is a first class ship. The owners and the crew were just out of this world accommodating. The food was delicious, maybe too delicious. My bike was fantastic. Can’t say enough good things about the ship and the people that own it. Liked it so much, I’m going back on it for three weeks next year in Germany.

Julie A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn and their staff were excellent! The food was fabulous too! The only reason I am giving this trip a 4 out of 5 stars is the tulips were on somewhat dying on May 11th. We booked this trip in 2019 for April 2020 and then COVID took over all of our lives. Then we rebooked for 2021 and had to change 1 week later. Then 2021 was still not safe to travel so when booking again for 2022, we had to switch to start May 3 in Bruges with the tulip part at the end of the trip. I loved Bruges and thoroughly enjoyed biking in Belgium. I developed a cough so unfortunately I missed a lot of biking in The Netherlands. But I did enjoy the river views while on the boat and got to experience locks also. When cruising into Rotterdam, I saw one of the super yacht builders' ship yard (Oceanco) and that was exciting for me as we sell to the super yachts.

Carol S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Great meals, excellent organization.
More substantial lunches would be good.
The tulips were finished by the time we got to the fields. I don’t think the May 2 trip should be advertised as a tulip tour.

Patricia D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Great tour and fantastic boat. The Merlijn had it all - amazing food, friendly professional crew, gorgeous interior design, solid internet, spotlessly clean, and great communication. Several passengers had special diet requests that were thoughtfully accommodated. There are many small special touches - personal cabin intro, laundry folded neatly on bed, flavored cold water after biking, different table decor each night, espresso and small snacks available at all hours.

Our guide Lia was super energetic, friendly, knowledgeable and catered to the group's "wants". The first day fell into the moderate category - challenging surfaces (cobblestones, tank tracks, grassy sandy trails) and a long grunt up a hill in a field. Each day got easier with the last being an easy flat paved surface. Lia provided lots of information about the area's history, especially around WWII and its impact preunification. We visited churches, a castle, an artist's studio, and a Read More

Diane P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Going to Poland. This trip was too rural and remote. Very few stops and few points of interest. Mainly dirt paths or cobblestone paths that were very difficult to ride a bike on. The farm fields we drove our bikes through were awful, some were full of holes and quite dangerous. I do not recommend this trip for those who have back and neck problems or those who never have rode a mountain bike.

Elizabeth M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

The boat was awesome and the crew was outstanding. We didn’t bike two days because of the weather and we wanted to see Nuremberg.

Michael H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

The entire trip was a trip of a lifetime! We booked the entire barge and took a large group of friends. Everything, from the ship, to the staff, to the food, and to the incredible bike scenery was just fantastic. There was absolutely nothing that could have been better.

Linda R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

The beautiful views from the boat and from the bike trail, the amazing food, the knowledge of all the crew. Definitely would consider this type of trip again earlier in the year.

Stephen B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

very organized and well run - nice breakfast every day, great dinners - best was the individually packed lunches for the bike trips (it's the little things)

Dale Q.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

The journey was more than expected. The vessel, the food, and the friendship extended far exceeded my wildest dreams. This trip will go down as a lifetime memory that will be hard to exceed.

The good Captain, his wife, and their crew will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Jeannette B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

Such a fun way to see Germany, by bike and boat! Loved the Merlin and its' crew. Everybody was so nice and helpful.

Jill M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Würzburg to Nuremberg
Germany

All was wonderful: the barge, the crew, the food, and the guide - the biking, the beauty that surrounded us every day along the bike trails/paths, exploring the small towns, and the feeling of fulfillment at the end of each daily ride.
It is a must do trip!!

Paul B.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

Riding through beautiful countryside and picturesque towns. Guide was informative about Bavarian history.

Eric D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Cologne to Saarburg
Germany

This trip is mostly between towns and villages each day, but with the opportunity to "bookend" the cycling with visits to a number of famous large cities in the area. I stayed several days in Cologne first, and in Strasbourg and Frankfurt at the end. All are easily reachable by high speed train. On the cycle trip, I particularly enjoyed the portion out of Koblenz where we cycled right through the vineyards on the hillside slopes rather than right along the river.

This was my fifth cycle trip and by far the most luxurious boat, the Merlijn. Summer temperatures were HOT but somehow the paths along the meandering Mosel were often in the shade. One unpredictable factor for any trip is the quality of the guide. Lia was top notch. As were the bikes. And the food.

Helpful hints... I choose my trips according to what discounts are offered, as every tour has something worthwhile on offer. Germany is a beer drinking country, and I found non alcohol beer available everywhere.

Carolyn R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Cologne to Saarburg
Germany

The Moselle is a storybook beautiful valley with vineyards sloping up the river valleys and quaint towns along the way with castles on the hills. I couldn't ask for a more beautiful location. The Merlijn crew were amazing; the food was wonderful and our tour guide Leia made the trip enjoyable and informative. I really appreciated they took us to visit Berg Elze, I loved the castle. All around, this was a fabulous vacation that I would recommend to anyone who knows how to bike!

Ingrid F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The attentiveness of Christina and Koen and all the rest of the staff on the boat. The only comment i have is that with 24 riders and quite a varying degree of riding abilities, I think two guides and divide the group into two would have been better.

Brian K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn, the captain, chef, crew and guides were absolutely fantastic - our third bike and barge with Tripsite and by far the best. The most memorable part for us was riding into Ghent where we lived 15 years ago as a family for a year - spent the afternoon with the group showing off our home away from home.

Kendall P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Trying to identify the most memorable part of my trip Is really quite difficult. Initially, I thought seeing the tulips in Kuekenhof was the best. The colors were so vibrant that it was like a sensory overload. Thankfully, there are some things you can't un-see. However, bicycle riding for a week through bucolic settings, windmills, and picturesque Dutch cities was also most memorable. Finally, the time I spent on the Merlijn can't really be relegated to second place. The ship was lovely and clean. The captain and crew were warm and hospitable. The meals were expertly prepared and presented. Ultimately, the time I shared with the other 20 passengers was unforgettable. Yes, I have failed dismally to single out a single most memorable part of a fantastic trip.

Maureen B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

There were many memorable parts including the wonderful people on the boat, the boat crew, the comfort of the boat, fabulous food and of course the beautiful scenery we biked through. The tulip fields were spectacular! Our tour guide was a gem! My only complaint was not having enough time in each port but our cruise was only 7 days and if you take a longer tour there is more for relaxation.

Louise W.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

It was so smooth. The small size of the group, the fact that the owners of the barge live on board and their love for the vessel is shown on every part. This barge is loved and the people running it and working on it care about what they do and have welcomed you into their home as guests (an over-used word in the hospitality industry but accurate in this case). The Merlijn is comfortable and lovely. The meals were hearty and good. The bikes were in great shape and Thomas, who lead our tour, was engaging and very knowledgeable (and patient with the less keen cyclists and fanatics alike). He knows his way around the paths and he is very knowledgeable about the Netherlands and every town, village and city we stopped in. He adjusted the route when needed and even made excellent suggestions for after the tour. The beauty of the Netherlands and the Tulips is documented in millions of photos and paintings but to actually cycle through it, day after day revealing something new and seeing the beauty of each new town and field was marvellous.

Coral C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

There were two main memorable parts of this trip. First, the Dutch countryside and cycling infrastructure are amazing. We were fortunate to have clear weather and lovely, cool riding temperatures for our trip through the Green Heart of the country. The route planning was excellent, giving us opportunities to see farmland, cities, beautiful small communities, polders, and of course, picturesque windmills. Second, the Merlijn is a memorable ship: beautiful, comfortable, hospitable, and first class, no one could ask for a better barge/cruise experience.

Joyce F.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

We had a wonderful trip. No down time to relax but this trip was about biking and seeing the sights. The trip is rated easy and I am a healthy 65 year old woman and in pretty decent shape and the rides challenged me every day. The guide was incredible and so was the boat and staff.

Maureen M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Our trip was fantastic!
Our guide Hugo was the highlight of the trip!!
The food was excellent ..
The drinks were reasonable priced..
The crew was so nice!!
Can’t say enough great things about our trip!!

Cindy B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

The crew members were outstanding hosts. They never got tired of answering questions or making suggestions to make it a great week....even though the weather was awful. Cold/ windy/dreary. I missed a couple of days on the bike and the cruising part of the trip was wonderful.

Nancy L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

The boat, the crew, the guide, were all fabulous. Traveling alone, I never felt alone. It was the perfect way to see the country, learning the tulip trade, about the culture and cycling in all kinds of weather made this a very memorable trip. I must say, there was more than one experience as a florist I enjoyed the flowers and learning about their farms, the windmills and how they irrigate the canals, and the windmill keeper who gave us an extensive tour of his windmill and how it operates.

Janice S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

I would recommend this trip for people of all ages. The staff on the Merlijn was wonderful. As were the scenery, biking, and the people of the Netherlands. Be aware that the weather fluctuates in the spring and come prepared. All of the water ways cause it to be windy as well. But it is well worth it!