Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Merlijn 1 to 30 of 139

 

 Boat/Barge: Merlijn • REMOVE  About Merlijn

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Peg H. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I always love the Merlijn and the new owners were great! However, this is the least favorite of my Tripsite tours I didn't find the stops very interesting and when we did have an interesting place to visit, our time was very limited. Fun group, great food and pleasant weather but very short days of cycling. I will do another trip next year but do suggest some changes to this itinerary.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Renee R. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Make sure you buy trip insurance. My father died unexpectedly and it reimbursed me to go home from the embarkment site before I even got on the barge.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Edward R. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Lynda A. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Relaxing cycling through vineyards, watching the grapes being harvested and visiting the villages and castles aling the way

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Ravi M. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable , all 6 days of it , right from the moment we boarded till we disembarked everything was perfect, absolutely no complaints.
    The Barge Merlijn, the owners, Coen and Christina and their entire team were par excellence ! Our guide , Lia was fantastic, with great sense of Humour and was prompt in taking care of any bike related issues . The food was exquisite, the most delectable vegetarian food we ate lovingly prepared by Christina. The bike paths thru the Vineyards and the varied landscapes were perfect along the river Saar and Mosel. It was in reality doing a leisurely tour on a bike. The hike up the mountain to view the Saar Loop was awesome , a perfect picture postcard scene . will definitely recommend this tour on the merlijn.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Joseph M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was spending time with my family. Eight of the eleven siblings went on the trip. We really enjoyed the Merlijn. The Captain and crew were excellent.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Courtney R. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners and staff were fabulous. The boat was beautiful with very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The common areas were comfortable, flexible, and nicely decorated. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the bikes weren't in very good condition, and that impacted the whole group since we stayed together with our tour guide (flat tires, locked gears, bad brakes). We had lots of rain, so we didn't see much of the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Wolfsburg to Koblenz
    by Mike C. 3 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our experience was simply exceptional! The shared experience and fellowship created new friendships. The Merlijn was an exceptional venue for seeing Germany and our hosts took great care of us. We got great value for our travel dollar and created terrific memories that will bring lasting joy.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Heart of Holland
    by Lorraine B. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Cycling the Dutch countryside

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Shawn L. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was great. The bikes were great 27 speed bikes with disc brakes, the guide showed us things you wouldn't find on your own, the barge was clean and comfortable. But the best thing was the food on the barge, especially the garlic butter. I could eat that with a spoon!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Shirley C. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the Kuekenhof gardens, I did not do the bike part as I was not able to but enjoyed my time on the barge and the food and service was great.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Molly R. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide Cornel was great with fun stories and historic information provided throughout our trip. Loved the digestive walks after dinner of the various towns we were docked at. The staff of the Merlijn couldn't have been nicer or more professional and the boat was very clean and comfortable. Food was pretty basic and could be improved, but that was not a high priority to me. Overall great trip and have already recommended it to many people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rita R. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    "It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was as each and every day brought wonderful new sights and experiences. Biking along fields filled with tulips and a stop at the Keukenhof Gardens would certainly rate as one of the highlights of the trip. The staff and bike guide definitely made the trip special as they went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied. Food was great with a plentiful breakfast buffet and a different menu each night. Our lunches were made and packed each day and boy, theses sandwiches and treats sure tasted great after putting some miles in. The dining/lounge was large and spacious and made for a great place to interact with the other guests. Bedrooms/bathrooms were nor overly spacious but were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
    This was our first trip of this kind and also our first trip to Europe and the Crew of the Merlijn made it a wonderful experience we will never forget. Thank you Coen, Cristina, Klara, Luliana, Read more… Lili and our tour guide Cornel. Memories to last forever.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rosemary SZ. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I highly recommend this trip. We were on the Merlijn. It was a charming barge with a very friendly and helpful staff. I was amazed just how comfortable the beds were and how roomy the bathrooms were.
    Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The guests, even though all so different , became friends. Leaving the barge was bittersweet. I cannot wait to go on another. The only thing I wish was a bit better, was the food. But then I consider myself a bit of a foody and so my expectations might be too high.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Jane J. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was wonderful, the digestive walks in the evening were great and the camaraderie of the group was fantastic.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Mark R. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands. Our guide Cornell was informed and professional. Captain, mates and staff provided all the conveniences of home.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Todd O. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Biking through the Dutch countryside and being exposed to the Dutch people and their wonderful culture, history, and way of life.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by James D. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Merlijn and her crew were outstanding hosts for our Tulip Tour. Our guide, Ilsa, was knowledgeable and full of energy and interesting information everywhere we toured.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Marc V. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike / boat trips are such a great way of seeing a lot of the country without the hassle of having to change accommodation venue every night! You meet great interesting people who share a love of an active holiday.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Sara B. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn & her staff are amazing. Our trek from Mainz to Metz was gorgeous & fully exceeded our expectations. We would’ve turned right around & done it again if we could!!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Lynda A. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful guide and the owners of the barge were a delight

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Ludwigsburg to Mainz
    by Vikki Z. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There is a serene, calm beauty when one is slowly boating along the Neckar River in the early fall morning, with mist rising off the water and castles nestled among the trees which are beginning to turn colour. What better way to enjoy an early cup of hot tea before having breakfast and heading out for a day's ride?

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Robert F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip was great. Each day was a new mini adventure. All the members of our group were very friendly and interacted very well together. The whole trip was very well organized.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Michael S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide and crew were the best! "The Merlijn Rocks!" Our group was so compatible...It was like traveling with family. The scenery and experiences were so beautiful and to be one with your natural surroundings while on a bike was an added bonus!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Joan S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time riding through the vineyards along the Rhine and Neckar Rivers and explore that small, picturesque towns along the way. Our tour leader made every effort to enhance our experience with interesting information and spontaneous adventures. Very much enjoyed the evening walks as extra value. Fine trip. Be aware that road surfaces vary.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Deborah G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The rides along the Rhine and Neckar rivers were beautiful. My two favorite memories are very different. The first one was riding through the vineyards during harvest. The other special memory was traveling over the bridge into Heidelberg with the castle on the hill to the left and the archway into the old city framing the the entrance to the city beyond. It was something I hope I always remember.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Vikki Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every day our biking adventure was a delight. We especially loved riding along lovely pathways through the vineyards, stopping to watch both mechanical and manual harvesting, with the fabulous aroma of ripened grapes filling our senses. Coupled with beautiful early morning sunrises while on the Neckar River....mists rising off the water, castles nestled into the forested hillsides, this entire trip was a delight.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Bamberg
    by Randy M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part was picking grapes at the community Arbor along the route. Sharing with the entire group. Our guide led us to many quant and tasty coffee, beer, wine and pastry stops...

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Bamberg
    by Bruce R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Having a cold dark stout at a hillside restaurant with the whole biking crew while overlooking the Main River and vineyards on the hillside simply beautiful.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig
    by Lisa S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were on the Merlijn from Merzig to Mainz; biking along the Mosell and Rhine Rivers. We biked through vineyards, sunflower fields and picturesque, quaint towns. This was our fifth bike and barge tour booked through Tripsite and we are looking forward to the next.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

PWPC