Merlijn boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 224

4.9 out of 5

 


James (Jim) S.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Outstanding ship, and the tour guide was nothing short of fantastic.

Pam I.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Every day was a new adventure along winding canals from pastures, to fruit groves, windmills, cheese farms, little towns, and past back yards with sheep, chickens and goats.

Mary S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

We got the feel of our trip from the start, when we were met at the dock by the captain, who took our luggage up to the deck. And his wife, Christina, who prepared the most delicious meals every evening explaining what we were about to feast on!!
And one of our most memorable experiences was our incredibly knowledgeable , organized and fun tour guide Japke!! The trip was amazing and the Merlijn and staff were wonderful.

Josee P.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Amazing bike and barge trip! The ship was luxurious, extremely clean and well organized. The food was delicious,and the cook was very accommodating. The bed were very comfortable and the crew so friendly. Our guide was outstanding. We biked for 5 days in various gorgeous areas and learned so much about the Netherlands, the people, the history, the tulips business, the cheese and the windmills. We had time to explore on our own and to relax on a terrace or on the deck of the ship.

Ellen H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Every day was a great day and a new memory. One day it was windmills, another tulip fields and farm, and another a cheese farm and beautiful countryside. One tip would be that if you get an ebike to make sure you can handle the weight of the bike.

Pamela F.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

The biking through the windmills and tulips was such a different experience. Also, arrangements were made to talk to the miller at the windmill with a peek into the windmill itself and to the tulip grower and the cheese maker. Fabulous!
However, all parts of the Merlijn experience were outstanding!! That is the best barge we’ve ever been on and our second time on the Merlijn. (We had been on 2 other bike/barge trips.)
You can’t do better for a bike/barge trip than the Merlijn. The staff, the accommodations, and the food are fabulous!

Sheryl C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

The biking was the best part of the trip for me. Our guide was so knowledgeable and took us through small towns so we could get a real feel for life in Amsterdam. She was great!

Dianna R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Most memorable part were the tulips. Visually, they were spectacular, but is was also interesting learning about growing them

Luanne U.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

The Merlijn boat has been beautifully redone for hosting passengers. The main salon is attractive and comfortable and the cabins are well appointed. The food was delicious and the menu was varied. All of the bikes (we rode e-bikes) were like brand new and in excellent working order. The provided helmets had a microphone system built in that allowed all 24 of us to hear everything our guide had to say! The biking tour was also excellent with extensive details and observations provided by our wonderful guide, Tamy! Last, but not least, I thought our breaks and bathroom stops were well timed. Thank you to the Captain and crew!

Laura P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Seeing the Netherlands up close from the bike was fantastic. Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable.

Darlene G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Biking under the excellent leadership of Tammy. The equipment was excellent. The pace of the trip perfect for retirement aged people

Mark P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Barge and crew were great. Plentiful and tasty food. Our guide was superior

Sandra B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Würzburg to Nuremberg
Germany

Sept 23 - 29, 2023 Nürnberg to Würzburg on the Merlijn : This was our 6th Bike & Barge trip with Tripsite (it would have been our 8th, but you know that story!), and we wouldn't dream of booking with anyone else! We'd taken a trip on the Merlijn in 2017, but since then, the interior has been renovated. Very nice! Food and accommodations were excellent, staff was friendly and helpful. Our bike guide, Thomas, prepped us each day, reviewing the routes and stops, always prioritizing our safety. The bikes were new and well maintained. The staff took the time to adjust each to personalize the fit and comfort. The hybrid bikes are Dutch and light weight, which my husband rode. This was the second trip I've taken using an e-bike and I'm hooked! The biking routes were generally level and we mostly rode on dedicated bike paths. When riding through a town, Thomas did a great job of keeping us together, advising us on how to approach intersections. Another fabulous B & B trip and we're already planning our 7th!

Nancy V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

It is hard to decide on just one memorable part of the trip. Sailing along the Rhine with a drink, seeing castle after castle along the beautiful hills, drinking “fresh wine” at the lunch stop during one of our rides along the Mosel, riding through charming town after charming town, each was highly memorable. This was my dream vacation.

The only thing I would change is that I should have ridden an e-bike. Had I not been recovering from a recent illness, it would not have been necessary, but as one can never predict one’s future health at time of booking, I would consider an e-bike an insurance policy in case one is not 100%. It would have made some days more enjoyable.

Harvey S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

My Second B&B trip on Merlijn. After my wife & I had such a great experience in Belgium & The Netherlands on the Merlijn, I pledged That I would try to reserve the entire barge and recruit 22 of our friends to join us on another trip. We did just that. We just finished our second trip - This time Mainz to Merzig in Germany.
Safe to say we all had a great experience that we will long remember.

Barbara M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

Loved having our “hotel” come along for the ride. That’s all.

Deborah D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Würzburg
Germany

Excellent itinerary with great paths and trails. Love the Merlijn and all that it has to offer. Coen and Christina along with the crew are 5star! Thomas was a terrific guide and fun to travel with.

Deborah D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Würzburg to Nuremberg
Germany

The crew and owners Coen and Christina are just so friendly and they make you feel like family. The ship is so clean and very luxurious. I did 4 weeks straight on the Merlijn and had 2 different guides. llse and Thomas were just a joy to be with. They are both exceptionally good at guiding! There are not enough words to say about this fantastic journey.

Edith S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

Everything about the trip was wonderful, the food on the Merlijn was spectacular. Our guide on the bike trip, Ilsa, was well prepared and did an outstanding job leading us. The Merlijn was well managed, clean and organized. Overall it was my best trip ever.

Gregory H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Würzburg to Nuremberg
Germany

One of the guests arrived on the barge not well. Instead of isolating himself in his cabin until he was better and or testing himself for covid he carried on. Within a few days a number of guests came down with covid.Even though the captain suggested covid is just like having a cold a number of guests were very sick , were unable to cycle, and obviously had a horrible time.

Linda C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

Our trip began in Passau which is a beautiful, scenic town in Bavaria. We were greeted on the Merlijn by the owners, Coen and Christina and our guide, Ilsa. They offered to take our suitcases to our cabins for us. I was immediately impressed. The food was excellent, and Christina made delicious sack lunches for us each day for the ride. I can’t emphasize enough how gracious they were and how well they took care of us. Additionally, the rides were through scenic towns and the quiet countryside, where Ilsa gave us brief descriptions of the towns and the areas of interest in each place. She was a terrific guide. I felt reluctant to get off the ship in Nuremberg because I enjoyed this trip so much that I would do it again in an instant. I highly recommend this trip.

Keith M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

I really liked the bicycle riding. The scenery was beautiful and it's a great way to see the German countryside. Our guide Ilsa was fantastic and the crew of the Merlijn was first rate. The chef on the boat prepared tasty cuisine for us every night.

Keith M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

I really liked the bicycle riding. The scenery was beautiful and it's a great way to see the German countryside. Our guide Ilsa was fantastic and the crew of the Merlijn was first rate. The chef on the boat prepared tasty cuisine for us every night.

Deborah D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

This tour was fantastic! To start off, you are on the most beautiful ship out there - the Merlijn. This ship is pure luxury! Also, the crew and owners are the best out there. Ilse, the guide was just awesome. She is full of energy and so much knowledge. I learned so much from her about the area we were biking in and sailing in. Don’t hesitate, book now for 2024 on the Merlijn. You won’t be sorry.

Deborah D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The scenery along the Danube River was just spectacular. The little villages along the way were so beautiful to photograph. Traveling on the Merlijn is like being in a 5 star hotel. The ship is just beautiful and the food is downright amazing and delicious. The crew members are like your family. Love the Merlijn!

Anne C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Biking thru the small villages of Austria, enjoying their beautiful, clean lifestyle and the magnificent Danube was memorable. Our guide was quite capable and knowledgeable adding to the experience. Would recommend this trip highly!

Mark S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The crew and our guide were very friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great time biking through beautiful countryside and learned alot about local culture and history. The food was great.

Cynthia D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Wolfsburg
Germany

The Berlin to Wolfsburg was an amazing experience. This was my second trip on the wonderful boat, Merlijn and it won't be my last. We already have one booked for next year! The pedaling was fun and easy and the historical sites fascinating with a great guide. I highly recommend this trip!

Peter D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Saarburg to Mainz
Germany

This was our 3rd Bike and Barge experience.
Everything about the Bike and Barge tour on Merlin was first class.
We have been fortunate enough to have enjoyed many large ship ocean cruises and rail holidays throughout Europe and can confidently say that Bike and Barge tours tops them all.
My wife, not being a cyclist hired an electric powered bike and although always being a little dubious about cycling every day finished the tour saying; " We must do this again, it's much better than the fancy cruises".
The accommodation on the barge Merlin although being tight is excellent, the food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) exceptional as were the crew and of course the scenery as we slowly cycled along the Mosel and Rhine rivers was stunning.
Thank you TripSite and particularly the good Barge "Merlin".
We highly recommend this amazing holiday experience to all those young at heart.
The 24 guests (maximum number) on board ranged from Read More

Harley C.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Cologne to Saarburg
Germany

The Merlijn is a fantastic ship. Great to be escorted by the owners themselves. Cabins were perfect and the small size ideal.