Magnifique III boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 30 of 56

4.9 out of 5

 


Christine L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The reservation process was so professional with no hitches along the way. The trip was amazing, the guides especially Franz were so good, informative and always present. The barge itself was quite a pleasant surprise to everyone as it was hard to imagine what it would be like, clean, modern with all modern conveniences. Our weather was perfect which was a surprise also as the prediction was rain every day!!! Food was wonderful as well as all the staff. Each tour was different with unique stops along the way and the countryside is so beautiful. Every one was pleased with their bikes, we had e-bikes which we loved.
Thank you Tripsite for an amazing trip.

Tracey L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The guides and their local knowledge really made this trip unforgettable. For other travelers - yes, your behind will hurt if you aren't used to cycling every day. It's 100% worth it. You'll see towns and places that tourists don't normally visit.

Monica M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The Magnifique III is a beautiful ship. I had a suite on the upper deck (highly recommend) and was able to sit by my open window and watch the world glide by, The large common areas are very comfortable. All the staff from the Captain, Walter, to the tour guides, Esther and Tom, were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. And the Dutch/Belgian countryside and towns are picturesque and lovely. Just do not expect long distances (our longest day was 57 km) or fast speeds (we averaged as a group under 10 mph). This trip is designed to enjoy the journey. We cycled on marvellous dedicated pathways and quiet roads where traffic was always courteous. Unfortunately, we had more rain than we all would have liked but no one can control the weather!

Fred P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Riding in our bike entourage through the scenic Flemish and Dutch countryside, from one hamlet to the next village with the beautiful backdrop of peaceful fields will be seared into our memories forever. We did encounter some blustery rain, which makes us regret not having packed better rain gear.

Cindy S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This trip exceeded our expectations. The accommodations and food on the barge were wonderful. We were so comfortable. The guides were terrific, they were so informative and made adjustments as needed to suit weather and safety. The evening tours to special places where we stopped were special. The crew was great. I can’t wait to do it again.

Loyd and Faith H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our Ship's crew was the highlight of our trip. What a wonderful collection of people! The salon staff were always on duty to see to our needs regarding meals and bar service. Both Jeanine (sp?) and Alexandra always had a smile for us at all hours. John was the hit of the ship with the excellent meals that were never the same twice. We saw him riding his bicycle laden with fresh foods and wares and marveled at how hard he worked. Sailor Michael was tending to the ship day and night and his smile never dimmed. He will be the Captain next summer. Captain Andreas was an outstanding captain and is known in the region as a training captain. He even welcomed a couple of us to the ship's bridge to see the operation of the ship. Everyone worked as a team to get our bicycles ready to ride and then our two excellent guides took charge. Guides Arnold and Maria-Jose kept us safe and dealt with a widely varied caliber of cyclists. I will truly miss each of our crew members, as they worked together to make our trip unique and enjoyable.

Jeremy S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I was very excited to be going on this bike tour of Holland/Belgium. It was a great chance for some father-son bonding, especially after a 3-year vacation drought due to the pandemic. If anything, the trip was even better than I imagined. The guides (Hans and Arnold) were fantastic, the rides were gorgeous, the accommodations were luxurious, the food was excellent—a really top-notch trip and a very affordable price. I also can't say enough good things about Walter and the crew of the Magnifique III (Corrie, Inge, Albert-first mate). If you're thinking about it, book-it you won't be disappointed. The only piece of advice would be to bring padded shorts or a gel saddle, especially if you're not used to being on a bike saddle for several hours a day. The only other piece of advice would be to wait until the 2022 summer travel chaos has subsided; and/or consider flying into/out of Brussels, instead of Amsterdam.

Susan H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our tour guide Corrie was the best!

Laura E.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Riding through the countryside, stopping for drinks at local bars and of windmills. Stopping at a local farm for cheese making tour was also memorable.

Craig B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff.

Karin S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The ease of bicycling, bicycle trails, beautiful scenery, people we meant and all of the staff made this trip memorable to us!

Debra D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The guides were wonderful, the staff on the boat was so friendly and attentive, cabin accommodations were lovely as was the boat itself, and the biking itself was fabulous! We met lots of really great people and ate lots of good food. ALL of these things made it equally memorable.

Jeremy B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I did the Bruges to Amsterdam tour on the Magnifique III. The staff was fabulous -- all of our needs were catered to -- Janneke and Anneke worked amazingly hard to take care of all of us. The boat is incredibly luxurious! The arrangements with Tripsite were seamless -- very professional. I will be traveling with Tripsite again, most definitely.

Jan V.
1 year ago

Tripsite Staff

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My friend and I took this trip in early September of this year. Everything about taking this excursion on the Magnifique III is glorious. The staff, accommodations, food, Tom (our guide), and the glorious cycling routes will not disappoint. On top of everything else, our fellow passengers were a joy ride and chat with. Pandemic travel wasn't a big deal and naturally filters for the intrepid traveler. A big shout to everyone for making this trip happen. I hope to see you all again sooner rather than later!

Margaret H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved our barge Magnifique III. The staff and food and accommodations were excellent. Of course our biking was beautiful!

Sharon D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip was wonderful. The staff on the Magnifique 3 were so helpful, friendly and service was great. Whilmie our tour guide was terrific. So pleasant, knowledgable and funny! The barge was clean and was refurbished nicely.Food was good. Highly recommend this trip !

Gerry C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We weren't expecting a luxury cruise experience, but the small crew delivered something pretty close to that - all in a very informal atmosphere.
This tour is very flat, but if you are not biking regularly, or just want an easy riding experience, you may want to consider an e-bike.
The stops in small towns and larger cities were highlights (Gent, Antwerp and of course Bruges. Give yourself an extra day or two in Bruges...

Eric N.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Fantastic value! Ship accommodations, food, bikes, tour routes exceeded our expectations. Most important crew and guides were the best!

William K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Cycling through the countryside of the Netherlands and Belgium. The biking is on level terrain but occasionally you will be traveling into the wind. Be prepared to ride 25 to 32 miles per day.
The dinners on the ship are wonderful.

Claudia B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The boat (Manifique III) was wonderful - as were the staff. I enjoyed all of the rides, however I do think an additional guide (or 2) would have been beneficial. 20 people per guide is not manageable and we did have some issues with that.

Denyse V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The most specifically memorable moment was the sighting of three sandhill cranes on a wheel on A chimney on our first day out in the spectacular countryside of Holland. But overall the memories were about the actual biking experience. The people on the trip all had an underlying purpose that provided an immediate unity on board the ship. The crew were all fabulous and food and accommodations superb. Everything was meticulously organized allowing one to be detail free, while there was also ample time to explore on ones own. We were actually 3 adults in a suite; the other spaces to relax on board assured that we had ample room to unwind after each days awesome ride. The entire trip was an A plus!

Jean B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Everything was 5 star.......from the barge accommodations, the meals, the guides, the side trips and tours which were all included! It was a wonderful trip!
We definitely want to do another trip!

Donna H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It was exciting getting on our bikes in the morning and heading out to new places each day. The GPS was super easy to follow and we had plenty of time to stop along the way. It was lovely coming back to the barge in the afternoon where the crew greeted us and ice cold water with mint/lemon/herbs and treats awaited us. We also lived heading out in the evening for walking tours of beautiful cities, and one evening got to go on a canal tour too. The food was fantastic and plentiful. The dinners were beautifully presented. Fresh orange juice and really great coffee in the morning. Loved our trip and looking forward to booking another one.

Hamilton C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The bike trips is very easy and fantastic.

Peter D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The team on the Magnifique III took such great care to make our experience outstanding!

Donna L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Being our first bike/boat tour, touring from bike paths gave us a different perspective as tourists!
The canals, the culture and beautiful people sharing their heritage was memorable!
New friendships and a marvelous boat crew !!!!
Cuisine and services were top rate!!

Jeannette D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved Bruges! Also many of the villages we visited along the way!

Paulette M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

This bike and barge trip really surprised us in such a great way. I had no idea how nice the boat was going to be and it held only 40 passengers which was a plus. The staff was fabulous and helpful in every way and the food was amazing. We had the time of our lives cycling through Brugge to Amsterdam. The scenery and bike trails were outstanding and the sites to see along the way were really fun. I will definitely use Tripsite again.

john c.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

This was the 1st tour for Jeannie and me with Tripsite. We have been on several (many) tours a of similar nature. Most of these tours were wonderful experiences. VBT was one that was particularly memorable, but in our opinion, this Bruges to Amsterdam with Tripsite was the best sofar. Our guide Tom was incredible. His knowledge and attention to detail was quite amazing. He kept us not only safe but entertained. The accommodations were extremely comfortable and the food served on board, outstanding. All in all, a "do it again" kind of experience. Thx., Jeannie and John

Mary Lee L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Magnifique III is a newer luxury barge that was very comfortable, kept immaculately clean, and managed by a most capable crew. There was plentiful food that was artfully prepared by Michael. We marveled at how he was able to pull off such cuisine daily. It is hard to mention any one crew member, though, as all were very friendly, well-trained, and efficient. Everyone worked well together like a family.

My husband's health prevented him from biking, so we opted to rent a car and meet the barge each afternoon when it docked. For those unable to bike, this proved to be an enjoyable alternative.

My tip is to secure an upper suite. While our friends were happy with accommodations on the lower level, we enjoyed the larger window and the extra space with 2 chairs.

My suggestion is that the breakfast buffet is arranged so the smaller plates of food are spread out. Because they are placed together in the corner of the counter, only 1-2 people can serve themselves at a time, which makes the line take a much longer time.