Hungary Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 379


Dwayne B.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The excursion cycling around Budapest was very memorable and our tour guide was excellent! The park on the island was definitely the highlight. We made some wonderful new English speaking friends and really enjoyed meal times with them.

The final night's celebration party was super fun and everyone enjoyed the 70's theme. Dinner on the upper deck was amazing! The restaurant manger was so kind and helpful at every meal. He made the dining experience top notch. Hopefully, the air-conditioning in the dining room is fixed for next time.

Another suggestion would be to streamline the briefings for the cycling routes by using prerecorded media and then allow Leslie to answer questions in person at a later time.

Leslie the cruise director was awesome. He was always at the ready to help out with any questions or problems.

Everything on the boat was great except the smoking policies were not enforced. People smoked everywhere on the top deck and took away from the experience. No one stopped them and as a result my wife's asthma was triggered.

Paige W.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part: The extensive bike trails along the river and in the larger cities

Julie T.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip was special because I was celebrating my 65th birthday and the anniversary of my husband's passing. I wanted it it to be something that I would always remember and it certainly will be!! My husband was scheduled to join us on this trip -- I'm sure he would have loved it as much as I did. The accommodations were wonderful, the food was great and the biking routes were fun, scenic and easy to follow. But what really added to the experience was the staff. Leslie is an outstanding tour director - he makes sure that everyone is taken care of down to the last want or need of every passenger. I want to give a special shout out to Cristian the bar tender who always kept us laughing and to Milos (from Montenegro) who made sure our group of thirsty Americans always had lots of ice cubes and cold water. There is no question that we will be booking another trip very soon!!

Bruce E.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We boarded the Primadonna on Friday & started our biking the following day. It was a little hectic & we didn't get any tips about the e-bike since we hadn't ridden one before. We got a briefing the night before about where to go but we had to wait until the German was completed before the English started. We were all very tired by then from traveling. The first day of biking went well as we got used to the e-bike. The second day we began our ride from Tulin to Vienna. The bike trail was crowded today and as we were coming up to a curve I had to move out of the way for on- coming traffic & I hit the gravel and crashed to the ground. My husband was behind me & had to stop fast so he also tipped over on his bike. I hit my face & landed on my left knee & my knee was bleeding heavily. My husband had multiple abrasions on his arms & legs. We continued our ride back to the boat so we could figure out what to do next. I checked my knee & I Read More

Yanil T.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

If you seek an active vacation with fabulous landscapes, a safe environment, and good $ value, this trip should be on top of the list. Besides great value, good pace on the activities, good people, and a lot of fun. This was our second bike tour and the most enjoyable one. The group of 13 had similar skill levels in cycling, 10 - 12 mph, and a mindset of enjoying the cities, towns, and panoramas. The e-bikes were top quality and a breeze to use; we never felt discomfort. The crew was very hospitable, modest, clean cabins; dinner was the best meal of the day.

Of the 168 passengers, 140 were biking, and 13 were on a guided tour. The passengers at Fortuna will benefit from watching a video on bike etiquette, whether riding solo or as a group. Before taking off on the first tour, reinforce group riding behavior for safety for all.

Lynn P.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was amazing biking through the country side of Hungary and Austria. It is not your typical USA tourist destination but I am so glad we were able to experience it.

Bill B.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through the amazing Wachau alley wine region of Austria was a highlight, but the lesser-known towns of Krems and Melk were amazing, too. I just wish there had been more time to explore, but the 7-day tour needs to keep moving, so we understand. Great crew, if obviously overworked (7 days per week for 21 weeks straight?!), made the trip.

Jules W.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a fabulous trip down the Danube on the Fortuna. The staff was excellent-attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The biking was amazing, I am so glad I signed up for an e-bike, it made a big difference.
The one thing that I would caution to future bikers is that the time to get from drop-off to pickup is often tight and it can be difficult to get too far off the designated path to explore (which is something I expected more of).
My group of 10 all had an excellent time and I highly recommend this tour group and boat.

Karen G.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My favorite ride was through the Wachau Valley in Austria. We really enjoyed all the rides, but riding between the Danube and the vineyards, seeing the small towns speckled along the way, tasting wine and ending at the Abbey in Melk was the ultimate.

Javier C.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Easy and Wonderful. Amazing destinations on a comfortable ship. There is no need to think. The staff does all the thinking for you so you can enjoy your visits and bike rides. The bike routes are well planned and explained, both in the guidebook and by the cruise director in his daily briefings. I highly recommend downloading the route for google maps so that you can trace your progress and find your location easily on your phone. The distances are reasonable and the sights beautiful. I rented a standard bike from the boat, and felt comfortable and secure. My travel companions rented an e-bike from a private vendor in Passau, and loved them (the ship ran out of e-bike rentals). Dinner was delicious. The ship clearly had a first-rate chef on board. The air conditioner in the suite worked very well (we like our rooms to get very cool at night)--so we loved the temperature in the room. The organized shore excursions were great, especially the city tours by bike. We had a Read More

Margaret S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We loved our boat/bike tour but the absolute highlight was the day cycling in the Wachau valley. We just wish the day had started and ended later so we could have sampled more wine!

The boat staff were fantastic - they really went out of their way to make our trip easy, fun and memorable.

Lawrence D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most memorable part: Waking up to different cities. Tour director Leslie was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Denis L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was all memorable--the scenery from the boat, the biking in Austria, the cities of Vienna and Budapest. The staff and crew were outstanding, especially the tour director. Our only complaint was that a vegan menu option was promised and the kitchen struggled to deliver the quality and variety we expected.

The Doeys
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our first bike and barge and we are already looking forward to many more. We are two 60 yr old couple who all love the outdoors, adventure and travel. Our cabins were on the top deck of the Carissma, roomy enough, turn down service each night and big picture windows. Excellent food, especially the dinners. Albert was the tour guide on board and he was organized, knowledgeable and patient! No problems with the bikes or directions - we were self guiding, 21 speed bikes. Easy terrain. We highly recommend the city bike tour of Budapest and Vienna as you otherwise may miss great hidden gems, interesting stories and local guides. We stayed at Hotel Residenz in Passau for one night before departure and highly recommend the visit to this beautiful port city and the hotel! We could not recommend trying this style of vacation more. The staff on the Carissma did everything to make the week comfortable, easy and well organized. Wonderful way to see cities in 4 countries in a week.

Dennis E.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I really enjoyed the cycling outsy of the cities. Cycling in the cities was not so great.

The food on board was excellent. Everything about the ship was great.

Dennis ft Collins Colorado

Dennis E.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Not the cities but the cycling outside of the cities. Perhaps cycling the Wachau Valley was our favorite but we enjoyed all of the pre-planned cycle routes.

There were no complications due to COVID-related issues on the tour. The only frustrating steps were the Denver to Frankfurt flight and the return. We never seemed to have the right forms and in the end, no one ever checked the forms except at the airplane check-in.

Jodi A.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed the diversity on the ship. English was definitely the second language, but people did their best to be welcoming and accommodating. It’s important that people understand and are willing to go with the flow! The paths weren’t always as clear as they were supposed to be, so be prepared. We were thankful that all paths eventually went to the Danube!

Farida B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was biking with new friends we made on this trip, also the 80s dance night was very very fun. I would suggest to not include every lunch in the package as usually we are out no need for sandwiches, and give the option to have dinner out when we dock in a city. The organization was great, the self biking part very easy as the cruise director was amazing. We felt safe and taking care off very well. I would recommend a longer time in Vienna.

David W.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I understand the latitudes taken in promotion and advertising. That being said, I highly resent being intentionally deceived. We were “warned” prior to leaving that there might be last minute changes in where the ship docked in Passau. Sure enough, 2 days prior to boarding we were informed of the change “due to construction.” There was no construction around the docks. We walked by there several times each day, and ships were docking all the time. No, this had to do with not wanting to dock in Germany where COVID restrictions were tighter for the ship to set sail.

What we were left with instead was a vague set of instructions that led us to the wrong place and a group of suspected fellow passengers (none spoke English) also waiting in several places for the bus. We tried your 800 number. No one answered. We tried the local “help line”. The person who answered did not speak English. There was no one at the presumed site to board the Read More

Waltrud K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Barge and Ride tour of the Danube was outstanding. Providing more detailed directions to the demarcation point in Passat would have helped. The staff were excellent as were the meals and the scenery.

Leo Dennis R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Please do not consider this a review of your company, but a review of the cruse company. First, this garbage of moving the dock location from Passau to a small town in Austria was a total sham. They said that was done because of dock construction in Passau. This was a Trump type of Lie! There was no dock in the city of Passau being worked on. Total BS!
Secondly, the bus pickup at the train station in Passau was a real mess up. No one was there to help direct or at least tell people there were in the correct place. You could not talk to anyone to make sure you were in the correct place because there were at least four different languages being spoken. Then the bus was about an hour late - not helpful to already lost and confused people.
Other than the above, I enjoyed the trip. I really want to express my thoughts about the staff on the boat. In all my travels, I have NEVER seem a staff who worked so hard, friendly, and helpful. Them never ran from work or being Read More

Troy w.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fortuna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was fantastic. The tour guide was amazing and really connected with you so much that he would bike with you and converse with you on each bike excursion. the scenery was so beautiful and was the best trip experience we have every had hands down!

Gay K.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Cycling in Austria was my favourite part of the trip. I rented an e-bike for the entire eight days and was very glad that I did—for the hills and for the long distances. I would certainly rent an e-bike again on future bike and barge tours. The food on the barge was outstanding and the buffets plentiful. Lots of different lunch foods for the sac lunch, to choose from. Looking forward to booking another bike and barge tour in Europe!

Gonny M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My most memorable moment of the trip was when we ended up in a small Hungarian village. We looked around for somewhere to have our morning coffee. We found a small local establishment with their regular customers.
We went inside to see if they had coffee. The young woman inside could only speak Hungarian (which we could not).
At the end of the encounter we had our coffee the way we wanted and smiling faces all around.

Rosemary P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.

Tom M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking was just ok, could have been more challenging but I knew going into this tour the biking was rated easy. The towns and villages are beautiful. The breakfast was good but the lunches they gave you for the tour during the day were horrible, thankfully there were places to eat along the way. The dinners were also poor quality, many dinners were a repeat of the day before presented differently ,especially the fish dinners. There also seem to be a discontent among the staff they could’ve been a little bit more accommodating and friendly. The rooms are basically neat and clean and comfortable the bikes were also good and the mechanics that maintain them were readily available to assist anyone in the morning before the ride. My main concern was the constant smell of sewage that was present throughout the boat and especially in the main lobby ,they often kept the sliding glass doors on both sides of the ship open to alleviate the smell. This was an obvious problem they Read More

Beth T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arlene II Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I loved cycling through the Wachau valley. The boat staff was so attentive and everything ran smoothly, in spite of a few minor hiccups. The scenery and the daily stops were great. I loved spending time in the big notable cities.

Charlott H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Traveling on the Danube was the most beautiful and fun experience we’ve ever had as a couple. Starting the day biking and being active, having great food, meeting lots of interesting people and seeing amazing countries and the culture was Incredible. I hope I can travel on Tripsite again for another bike and boat tour soon!!

Jessica R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was amazing, the biking was very scenic and not difficult at all. The boat staff was very friendly and very upbeat. The food was to die for. I would recommend doing this trip you will really enjoy it.

Ann R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery was wonderful and the biking very enjoyable. It was a nice balance between biking and being about to see the sights. Especially loved the day in Vienna. It was all lovely.