Along the Danube - Four Country Tour Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 337

4.6 out of 5

 


Rosemary P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I am truly amazed about quantity of 5 star reviews for this tour, as I could only give it a 2 star! And, this 2 rating is for the wonderful restaurant and housekeeping staff , as the boat crew , bike assistants were unpleasant to deal with, and the captain kept his distance. This was such a drastic difference from my very enjoyable Netherlands, and Croatia bike and boat tours. The maps and directions were inadequate and usually incorrect. The "tour guide" (who never lead a tour) Jan was unbelievably nasty, rude and impatient about any and all questions and concerns. He sent many on what was to be an easy, level ride only for it to take us over a mountain where our bikes were unsuitable and directions e completely wrong. I would not recommend neither this boat or trip to anyone.

Tom M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking was just ok, could have been more challenging but I knew going into this tour the biking was rated easy. The towns and villages are beautiful. The breakfast was good but the lunches they gave you for the tour during the day were horrible, thankfully there were places to eat along the way. The dinners were also poor quality, many dinners were a repeat of the day before presented differently ,especially the fish dinners. There also seem to be a discontent among the staff they could’ve been a little bit more accommodating and friendly. The rooms are basically neat and clean and comfortable the bikes were also good and the mechanics that maintain them were readily available to assist anyone in the morning before the ride. My main concern was the constant smell of sewage that was present throughout the boat and especially in the main lobby ,they often kept the sliding glass doors on both sides of the ship open to alleviate the smell. This was an obvious problem they Read More

Beth T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved cycling through the Wachau valley. The boat staff was so attentive and everything ran smoothly, in spite of a few minor hiccups. The scenery and the daily stops were great. I loved spending time in the big notable cities.

Charlott H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Traveling on the Danube was the most beautiful and fun experience we’ve ever had as a couple. Starting the day biking and being active, having great food, meeting lots of interesting people and seeing amazing countries and the culture was Incredible. I hope I can travel on Tripsite again for another bike and boat tour soon!!

Jessica R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was amazing, the biking was very scenic and not difficult at all. The boat staff was very friendly and very upbeat. The food was to die for. I would recommend doing this trip you will really enjoy it.

Ann R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was wonderful and the biking very enjoyable. It was a nice balance between biking and being about to see the sights. Especially loved the day in Vienna. It was all lovely.

Sandra S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was the most amazing bike tour that I have been on. We had a guide, Axel, and that made the trip so relaxing because we didn't need to worry about where to meet the boat or language issues. Axel had lots of extra information along the trip. The boat was very relaxing. Dinner was excellent with choices for entrees every night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this trip for families with children 12 or so, and seniors (an E bike can make a big difference.)

Jon B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We very much enjoyed the trip. The staff/crew were very accommodating, and the biking was great. The only drawback was the problem with the rudder system, which led to our tour being altered, and us not being able to go to Budapest.

Peggy O.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Great biking and lovely boat.

Christa M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a great time exploring Austria, Germany, Hungary and Slovakia. The boat was comfortable. The staff was super fun. Food was great. Excursions were top notch. Truly no complaints.

Donna B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was amazing...so much to see and do. Great shore excursions. Food on the Carrissima was so good!

Dawn P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Every day was beautiful and different from each other. The first day we rode through forests and plenty of shade with wildflowers such as columbine. Other days were fun with stops at hidden cafes or using unique bike ferries that crossed from one side of the river to the other. One morning I opened the curtains & we were docked under the ruins of a castle. Every day held surprises such as Hapsburg palaces, groomed gardens or rolling vineyards with stops to sample wine and brandy. Ancient monasteries beckoned. Artisan shops required our attention. After touring, we returned to the ship for perhaps a swim and cocktails before unique dinners offering a taste from local cuisine.

Diane Q.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was travelling through small Austrian villages! The bakeries and the little cafe’s were awesome!
The food on the ship was delicious and plentiful. I would suggest mentioning to participants that they must bring their own helmets. We had unfortunately assumed we could rent some onboard and were stuck scrambling at the last minute having to go to a local bike shop to purchase some.

Simone C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the trip. The crew was very attentive, the itinerary was beautiful, the meals positively surprised me, the room was well equipped and spacious. I recommend the tour.

Barb W.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was that we could ride our bikes everyday in the countryside while being guided by Liacha. Then back to the barge where the captain, chef and steward were so lovely to us. They went beyond their duties and always with a smile.

Sara W.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking along the river was absolutely beautiful. We were able to do some site seeing in Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna. Highlight was the bus trip back from the Hungarian dancers in Budapest, we went up to a beautiful view of the city with all the city lights, it was after a day fighting the rain, so the rain had let up and we could enjoy then view.

Carol M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The food was fabulous! 5 star for sure.
I would suggest either doing a cycling tour or sightseeing tour but not combining them.We had to rush to get back to the boat from cycling sometimes.
Not enough small towns/villages when we cycled on this tour. The tour guide was extremely bad.

Jill T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was amazing. It was my first time to Europe and to say now that I was in 4 countries!!
The talks that we had each night with the information on our next day trip were very helpful. We had some bad weather, (rain), but we got by. I cannot complain at all.
We did the off days on our own, walking around Vienna and Budapest. I took so many photos. It is great to have them now to look back on.
I cannot pick one thing that I really enjoyed. Everyday was better than the day before.
I am planning on doing another trip with Tripsite in 2020.

Marie R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff was fantastic, food was great, bikes were good. Met great folks there at the dinner table. Enjoyed being able to have walking tours in Vienna and Budapest, broke the week up nicely.

William M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Such varied but scenic bike riding!

Louise E.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

Darlene L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

Roxy K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the day by day review of what was to happen. On board entertainment was spectacular.

Jeffrey B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Must See: The excursion to the Clam Castle. Authentic Castle owned by the Clam family since the 1500's to the present.
If you take this excursion or the concentration camp, inexperienced riders should rent an electric bike.

Samantha C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was an amazing trip. The MS Carissima was very comfortable, the people were lovely, very helpful and friendly . The food was very varied to fit in with the countries and was always delicious . The cycle routes were leisurely and the scenery beautiful . We made life- long friends and had a wonderful time .

Kerrie G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

Ann V.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I can't really choose one memory as the whole trip was absolutely wonderful on and off the barge. The food, accommodations, and staff were absolutely top-notch, they didn't miss a beat. Loved cycling through the beautiful scenery of the rural, small-town areas, and the opportunity to visit several of the larger cities with the added excursions. I wish I had researched the area of the tour beforehand to familiarize myself with its history.
I would have liked a more detailed daily map of the route with distances between landmarks noted. We missed several turns but were able to get back on track. Also one of our bikes in our group of ten did not shift properly even after being replaced, making for a frustrating experience. All that being said we will definitely do another bike and barge trip.

Peggy B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

Deirdre E.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

Chereda B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent cruise director, wonderful bike trails with good instructions as to how to follow them, excellent food. It was a great trip.