France Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 565


Shelly Z.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

My husband and I loved the trip, our first bike/barge adventure. The boat, captain, crew, chef, and tour guides were wonderful. We enjoyed the other guests as well, which included couples and singles from the USA and Europe. The miles and miles of bike trails and visited sites were beautiful and memorable. Since experiencing the biking adventure, I have the following suggestions for potential guests. Bike riders should already have good bike riding skills. There are many path twists and turns to navigate, including sometimes in metropolitan areas. Before the trip, find out how many guests have selected e-bikes. If the majority are on e-bikes, it will be hard for the average bike rider on a regular bike to keep up with the group, even when the tour level is stated as “easy.” And, "easy" does not mean there are no hills or quick elevation gains. The group stays together. The tour is not at your own pace. We look forward to booking another tour through tripsite.

Patricia (Pat) B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

RJ and the crew on the Quo Vadis were amazing. Every day Rikko and Wim would lead us through beautiful countryside and lovely towns. They shared much history of the Mosel region and educated us about the vineyards and wine production. The pace each day allowed exploring in the towns and then time to relax before dinner. The meals were delicious with attractive presentation and kept us fueled for the day's ride. Thanks to Inma, Marianne and Kim for taking care of us. It was a great vacation that I would highly recommend - physically active, beautiful scenery, history and much fun with the other riders and crew!

Julie E.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Our guide Hugo was amazing! So knowledgeable and just a great person to cycle with. We loved the history of the area and the number of things we were able to see on the trip was really great. The bicycle was great and we moved efficiently together as a group. We were fortunate to have good weather despite the forecasts. Note that cabins are very small, but that they are also very efficient with lots of storage. Food by Nadia our chef was fantastic, and overall we loved the crew on this ship.

Criddle D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

We loved the camaraderie of the fellow guests. Our tour guide Wim was knowledgeable and entertaining. The crew made every effort to ensure we were made welcome and looked after in every possible way. The food was wonderful! Our daily rides were full of great experiences and amazing scenery. Overall we loved our tour!

David M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The Magnifique III Is a wonder boat with well appointed cabins and public space. The Mossell river is one of the prettiest and easiest to ride along. Getting to Metz from Paris was an easy train ride. We did not have to rush to the boat by 2 PM. The first day you get fitted on your bike and then are free until dinner. I would recommend an E -bike as there are sudden uphill grades and it make life easier. The GPS for your phone is very easy to follow So I would recommend that if you are traveling with a group of friends that the group goes self guided because there are many quaint villages along the way that you could see. The rides each day are from 22 to 37 miles and with the guide and take about 5 hours. The guides are on a schedule to meet the boat and not arrive early. They stop every 8-10+miles and linger for 30 minutes. Lunch is in nice towns but you do not have enough time to enjoy them. Overall, it was a beautiful trip however really fast and experienced riders would be frustrated.
The crew and guides change with each sailing so we cannot comment on our experience. I will say both crew and guides were extremely competent and friendly.

Mark G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The scenery, the history, the superior quality of the staff, the appealing pace of the active elements & the great food!

Jennifer K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Bike guides fantastic, boat crew amazing. So many wonderful memories to pick out just one. Beautiful bike paths, scenery

Dolores T.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The bike tours were wonderful and the guides were very knowledgeable! The boat staff was great, they made you feel like family!

Jane Hempen H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The crew was outstanding❣️and the guides were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The food was superb

Susan H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

We had a wonder experience on our biking trip from Cochem to Metz. The Quo Vadis crew was superb. We wish RJ and family all the best on his retirement. The biking was beautiful all the way, but we especially loved the day we rode down the mountain back to Bernkastel-Kues. We loved the villages and vineyards. We would highly recommend this trip!

Silvia H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

I had a wonderful time! The crew and guide were kind, friendly and helpful. The meals onboard were excellent. The guide was patient and confident. I appreciated his willingness. Thank you.

Jan S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

What a wonderful tour that absolutely exceeded expectations. The barge was very comfortable, the bikes were great, as were the food, accommodations, staff, etc. Biking along the Moselle was incredible, I found myself repeating about the scenery, food, villages, people, "I could never tire of this!"

Loata S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

We had an amazing time. The barge was quite spacious compared to the pics we saw and very comfortable. The food was amazing, our Chef Chris was too good with a 3 course meal at every dinner and he explains in detail every course. We had some great food. Biking through the Loire Valley was just beautiful. We cycle through vineyards, farmlands, little French villages & towns, watched boats going thru locks and sailed through a canal over the Loire River. We did some wine tasting and pastries, quiches. The list goes on. We totally love it. Just a side note, there was no spare electric bike, cos one of the girls wanted to change to an Electric Bike and there was none. Other than that it was totally amazing ❤️

Ritchie D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

Amazing food, every meal!
Personable and knowledgeable staff.
Even tho it was our guide (Ed)’s first tour on the route, he managed to sleuth out some great sites, side routes and stops. He was a fun guide yet responsible.
The overall route was beautiful.
I would make one suggestion about the barge: in the cabin where we stayed there was too little storage space. This could be easily remedied by adding hooks and small shelves.

Lisa W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

Arriving in Nevers I was surprised at how difficult it was to get a taxi at 4:30 pm and no ride share companies, took well over an hour.
Was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was, Chris has a great personality and a fabulous chef. Sara, served us well and the bike/barge trip was good. It was slow season so towns we rode to were pretty but desolate.

Lorraine R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The bike and barge was amazing,
The group of 21 related well and had many happy times, riding and chatting after the day.
The ride leaders did a great job, especially with the changes necessary due to the lock closures.
Great adventure, recommend this highly.

susan o.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Loved the tour of the Reichsburg castle. To think that it is still standing intact after 100's of years is amazing!

Marci S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

This was my first bike & barge trip, any type of bicycling tour, and it definitely will not be my last! The Clair de Lune was more than comfortable, from the beds to the dining area. The food our chef Chris put out exceeded my expectations, every single dinner was plentiful and tasty. Most memorable was his Thai soup! Bicycling through all the ancient, small towns and along the canals was absolutely beautiful- a memorable trip in EVERY way. Ed, our bicycling guide, always gave us enough time to tour each area we stopped at, which was most appreciated. I am already looking to find a tour to do with my husband, as this one was a girl's trip - 13 of us!
My only recommendation would be to change the wording on the application, instead of calling the bicycle a "HYBRID" perhaps change it to "MANUAL with gears"... as I honestly thought a hybrid could do both, electric & manual.
Thank you for a wonderful trip!

Lauren H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

Everything was great! Exceeded my expectations. I would recommend a GoPro !

Lauren H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

Everything was great! Exceeded my expectations. I would recommend a GoPro !

Kimberly F.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Stella Burgundy & Provence E-Bike & Boat
France

Loved this tour. The scenery was beautiful , the historic sights amazing and our guides Sarina and Fabien were wonderful. They prepared delicious picnic lunches each day, so pretty they were worthy of a food magazine cover. The winery tour was really fun but I think my favorite part was the last days ride through the Ardeche canyon. We met up with a herd of goats who were completely unpreturbed by our presence or that of the several vehicles they blocked!

Ann L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

I thought the whole trip was fantastic, the scenery so beautiful.
The length of the rides could have been a little longer - which a few of us took advantage on a couple of occasions to ride extra kilometres..
The guide’s first on this Trip, and the bikes were not in expected condition hence my 4..

judy l.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

Crew was engaging and friendly.
Hats off to Chris the food was delicious.
Bike maintenance was sub par. My front bikes never worked. Some riders had Saddle issues, chains/derailers not shifting correctly. One of the e-bikes was broken and the guest was forced to ride hybrid bike. Another ebike should have been offered to her.
Ed, our guide did the best he could regarding the route since he was not familiar with the area. Most of the ladies were under the impression there was going to be more wine tastings along the way. I was there to cycle and easily could’ve done 60 miles a day or more. I realize there was many different cycling levels in the group. I personally own Mtn ebike and an analog mountain bike. I wasn’t too impressed with the e-bikes provided.

Sandra Z.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Bicycle riding along the Moselle was terrific. Beautiful scenery.
Guides were knowledgeable, but could have been a little more aware of riders in traffic situations.

Amy L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

EXCELLENT staff on the barge, Magnifique lll. Only tip for others: ENJOY the beautiful scenery and the lovely staff

Sandra W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Food prepared for dinners and beautiful scenery on the rides

Michele Y.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Our trip was another trip of a lifetime. Number 5 with trip site. This company is the best. There is no other that will give you this type of service for the money. We have used them five times over the last 10 years and will continue to. Each trip has surpassed the last one in regards to being another trip of a lifetime that out does the one previous. Our group has gone on two trips to Croatia want to Greece/Turkey, one to Brussels and one to Germany. I will be planning the next one soon. You are missing out if you did not take advantage of this opportunity to book with trip site for any of their biking boating trips. Germany gear grinders, Croatia crazy crew, Greece gear grinders, Belgium bike bashers, more to come.

Jim and Leslie W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Our chef was outstanding! Our stop at a winery along the way was outstanding. Wish there were more fun stops along the way.

Bonnie S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The Crew, The CHEF*****, The Views, The Guides, The people we met along the way!!

Kenneth V.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Riding through the Belgium and France country-sides on our bicycles..