Austria Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 613


Lynn R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our second bike/ barge trip booked through tripsite did not disappoint! The ship was perfect, clean and clearly updated.The crew was hospitable and helpful.Our language ( english) was not a barrier on the trip, everyone was very accommodating! The food was excellent and choices were good.Leslie the tour director was superb.

The bike route was well mapped and we downloaded the app which worked well.Sites were amazing, weather which you can’t control good most days.Loved the small ferry rides, Austrian hills, the well appointed stops along the route.E bikes were a good choice for us and easy to manage

Perfect! Don’t hesitate to book this trip!

Rob K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Soon after we stepped on the Swiss Crown, we knew it was going to be a great trip. The room was spacious, the boat was luxurious and comfortable, and the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our e-bikes were suitable and in good condition. We thoroughly enjoyed the rides along the Danube that went through small villages, farmland, and forests. We toured 4 country capital cities and couldn’t stop taking pictures of the amazing architecture. We made friends with many guests and our guide Axel was outstanding in his hospitality, humour, and knowledge of the areas and their history. It was a vacation we will never forget!

Marc C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

This tour exceeded all of our expectations. From the elegant and comfortable boat with a friendly, accommodating crew to the fantastic guide who took us on all of the rides and offered great stories and info.
We can’t wait to book our next trip (maybe Greek Islands) and would recommend trip site.com without reservations.

Holly H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Every day held something new along our way. Landscapes changed, cities and towns were vastly different, crops varied, castles and palaces were different. Enjoy it all.

At the time we were on the trip the boat assigned a dining table and you had to sit with the same people every meal every day. We were a single couple and were put at a table with one other couple who were thankfully a lovely couple. It would have been nice however to be able to sit with others at least for breakfast and lunch.

Karin S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The Danube River and scenery around it was spectacular. Seeing it from the bike paths, or on board the ship was very special. My husband didn’t cycle, but was well taken care of by the wonderful staff aboard the Swiss Crown, and enjoyed the trip as much as we did on the bikes.
Food, accommodations and service was first class.

Heidi A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We enjoyed biking off the route to visit some small towns. Google maps worked great to get us back on track to meet the boat. Really appreciated the knowledgeable guides on the Vienna and Budapest bus tours.

Sandra S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Tripsite gives you an opportunity to explore a new region by bicycle, meet new people who share the same goals, a chance to be physically active, and have lots of fun.

John S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We enjoyed the bike and barge. This was our first time. Staff on board were magnificent. Very well run. Ship was older and showing its age. Could use some refurbishment. Biking was good for easy riders. Bikes were excellent although shock absorbers would have been a bonus. All in all a great time.

John S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great effort by ship crew, and we felt like superb value for the whole trip! Thanks TripSite!

Brenda C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a wonderful adventure on this trip and got to see some stunning cities along the way. Cycling was wonderful the bikes and e-bikes were in excellent condition. The boat was beautiful and staff were attentive and courteous. Briefings were informative and routes easy to follow on self guided tours. Would and have recommended to friends.

Gunnlaugur B H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The spectacle surrounding along the river, the cycling part, the good service on board.

Tips : It could be a good idea to arrange some stops for tasting visits, local wine, other local indigence, in the cycling tour.

Michael K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was an amazing trip, only issue was getting an e-bike as a tall person. I was able to get one from a local bike shop in town who were great, but if It was something that caused a little more work on my part and considerable worry that it would be there.

Teresa H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What a wonderful trip! This was our 4th bike and boat trip and our favourite. The accommodations on the boat are excellent and the cycling route was great. The stop in Budapest was a highlight for me for sure!

Thomas T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Internet sucks. Needs to be available throughout the ship, not just in the bar. Also we were not told how to use our electric bikes. And some parts of the bike route were hazardous, e.g., loose gravel, fast auro traffic. 3 of 4 of our group wiped out at least once.

Michael K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything was amazing. Great trip. If you need to rent a bike in Passau for taller ebike riders the shops in passau are great.

timothy c.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Good trip. I knew of 2 people who complained of having a "cold" toward the end of the tour. 3 days after returning home I tested positive for covid having minor symptoms. Not the fault of Tripsite but I think you should be aware.

Deborah D.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The scenery along the Danube River was just spectacular. The little villages along the way were so beautiful to photograph. Traveling on the Merlijn is like being in a 5 star hotel. The ship is just beautiful and the food is downright amazing and delicious. The crew members are like your family. Love the Merlijn!

Kathryn V.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is the BEST Vacation!!
I’ve had a lot of great adventures-but the Bike & Barge 4 Countries Tour topped the list.
Riding everyday was my favypart o

Cara A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Fabulous bike trip! Everyday we received a very thorough briefing including a map for our daily ride. Leslie took great care of us along with the rest of the crew! Bring a Tupperware dish to make a salad in for the lunch that you can make to take on your ride. The lunch bag will come with the bike.

BARRY S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sitting on the Deck eating dinner in Budapest and watching the city lights. Bratislava was also excellent. We did not have enough time in Vienna though.

Heidi L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best parts were the scenic rides on the first and last day. The ride through wine country was particularly beautiful . I also loved the day in Budapest.
People definitely need to train for the biking part. Although not difficult , time on the seat is important. I would highly recommend bringing a gel seat cover.

Juliet S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The scenery through which we biked. The landscape was ever-changing. It was flat which made for easy biking.
The route was beautifully labelled, which removed all stress of getting lost. It was also away from busy car routes.

Anne C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Biking thru the small villages of Austria, enjoying their beautiful, clean lifestyle and the magnificent Danube was memorable. Our guide was quite capable and knowledgeable adding to the experience. Would recommend this trip highly!

Mark S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The crew and our guide were very friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great time biking through beautiful countryside and learned alot about local culture and history. The food was great.

theodore s.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The crew was absolutly great the bikes were of good quality the food was also. We had a great time. The reason I gave a 4 was the fact that you couldn't drink the tap water and they charged you for bottled water. Water is a basic necessity and should be free.

Marilyn K.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

10/5 stars! The wonderful crew members , the rides, the quality of the rooms were outstanding!
I have already shared this trip with new and old connections. Thank you so very much!
We made so many wonderful new friends that we will connect with again!

GRACE M V.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The stars at night from the boat sun deck were spectacular. The bike path along the river had beautiful views and occasionally wonder into small towns. Docked in Budapest across from Parliament which was a special sight at night. Reccommend bike tours of Vienna and Budapest and also eat at lovely restaurants

Shirley Donna S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Shirley Donna S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Prinzessin Katharina Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The route and itinerary were perfect. It was a great balance of visiting small villages and seeing highlights of Vienna and Linz. The crew on PK were very friendly and helpful. The buffet Bfast had plentiful selection and dinner options were delicious. The Chef met my gluten free and lactose free requirements

the Route Maps were Very good but confusing for day 7. daily programs very informative and kept everyone on schedule

PK had a lot of charm and although dated it was clean, functional and great floor plan.
PK did not provide free water and Coffee n Tea. It was very hot during our week so buying water on board got expensive. Or buying on shore very cumbersome and not easy to carry after long day cycling.

Overall excellent trip. Highly recommend it.

Helen C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Bicycling along the Danube cycling trail was such a great experience! The route maps were good for following our daily ride.