Netherlands Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 1448


Richard B.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The entire trip was just so wonderful, the food, the accommodations, the guide, the staff and the places visited. The food was probably the biggest surprise. Each and everyday we had a delectable 3 course dinner. Everything was fresh and tasty. The beds were very comfortable and each stop was so peaceful and quiet, it was easy to get a good night's rest. We opted for e-bikes, more so for the wind than hills. We were fortunate to have only one ride with extreme rain (so have good rain gear or opt to stay on the boat if you know the weather is going to be really bad). After the trip, we have put this vacation as our best ever!

Ashley M.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Heart of Holland
Netherlands

The staff on the barge, Gandalf, were friendly and accommodating, Meals were exceptional; kudos to Chef Hans!
I thoroughly enjoyed the Green Belt biking of Holland, the fields, forests and windmill areas!
Our tour leader, Patrick, did an excellent job of leading and managing the group.
However, I do feel the local partner fell short; by not having an extra staff member biking in back of the group, as the “Sweep”.
Patrick asked for someone to volunteer, each day, to be the Sweep and I don’t feel we paid for this tour to have this job and responsibility.

Stephanie Anne C.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Magnifique III was great. It is a barge, so don’t expect The Ritz, but for instance, It’s much nicer than most chartered Catamarans in the British Virgin Isles.
Meals were delicious and plentiful. The chef did an amazing job feeding us a great variety of tasty meals.
Most importantly, the guides were great. They had a great sense of humor and managed the various personalities, skill levels, expectations and behaviors diplomatically and graciously.

Sharon M.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Willemstad North Holland Tour
Netherlands

Having issues with the battery while bicycling in Friesland where it was very windy was the most memorable part of our trip! We had to ride our e-bikes with no power assist for approximately 10 kilometres. The food was good, the option of the drink package was really nice. The staff were well trained, they were courteous and friendly. When I had an issue with my bike, it was replaced the next day. This was a self guided trip, the guides who reviewed the route for the next day failed to inform us that there was a route detour, some of the guests became lost and had trouble finding their way back to the boat. All guests should have a Sim or eSIM card on their phone ( Canadian and Americans) or cell phone coverage (Europeans) so they have access to Google Maps when there is an issue with navigation. The App was very good, but it did not assist when there is a route detour.

Barbara C.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The barge was super deluxe with an excellent chef and our Bicycle guides were spectacular explaining historic sites and interesting cultural info.

Letitia K.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The crew was amazing. The boat very comfortable. The scenery outstanding. The food excellent. Even the weather behaved. Our Guides Andre and Franklin provided historic information in addition to keeping us all safe. It was great to be on a trip with people of the same interests. One suggestion would be if you are sensitive to insect bites bring repellant!
A great experience overall. So glad we checked it off of our to do list!

Leonard D.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

It was well organized. Ari was excellent as were the rest of the staff. We really enjoyed cycling in the outskirts of cities and stopping for coffee in small villages

Margaret D.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved this trip! The boat is lovely and the state rooms were a good size with excellent storage, a comfortable bed and nice private bathroom. The crew was very friendly, extremely attentive and accommodating. The Captain was very fun. The food was solid and plentiful with a good amount of choices. The dining room was lovely and comfortable. We did think it odd that we had to pay for water at dinner but other than that we felt it was a very good value.

The biking is absolutely beautiful! I can't say enough about how lovely the scenery was. We used regular bikes but would recommend e-bikes to future customers because of the high winds that you can experience. The bikes were in good shape and had 7 gears which was enough since the majority of the trip is flat biking. The e-bikes can be shut off and used as a regular bike if you want more exercise, but can be turned on to go up hills and fight the wind. I borrowed and e- bike for a while and found it easy to ride when the Read More

Daniel E.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

Holland is a beautiful country and a cyclist's dream with all the bike trails. We loved the vibe of the trip and our group on the Gandalf became a family. The food was excellent and the hospitality of Hans and his team aboard the Gandalf were fabulous and fun. The barge had to adapt to several canal locks being closed, and change the route for us. The tour guide was great considering all the changes in the route he had to accommodate. And the evening tour of the towns was really fun and well thought out. And it was my 60th birthday aboard the ship and everyone celebrated with me.

Anthony Y.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We enjoyed our trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. The Magnifique IV was very comfortable. The food and service was terrific.

Our tour guides (Corrie and Mariah) lead us through the countryside and small towns. The gave us history lessons and local insight on our rides and after dinner walks, making the journey much more enjoyable.

Over the week we rode each date for a total of 278km. There was very little elevation change and we were fortunate to have the wind at our backs for much of the trip. Be sure to pack a raincoat. The weather conditions were variable, affected by the proximity to the ocean.

We can't wait until we do this again.

Gregory G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Tour leaders were great.
Always very helpful and knowledgeable.
They knew the territory and landscape and brought us to the most beautiful sights.

Paul N.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

We have done many biking trips in Europe, most self guided. We did find the pace a little slow, but got into the groove with the group on the very good hybrid bikes-thanks Coene. Cristina's hospitality and food was wonderful and both her and Coene are very good hosts. Their staff were also extremely good.
The boat was very comfortable, cabins big enough to not feel claustrophobic, beds comfy, appreciated the heated towel rail to dry washing.
For us the best part of a trip is seeing the countryside, smelling the roses and taking time to look at the scenery.

Robin F.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Our bicycle tours led us through beautiful countryside, small seaside towns, farm land, medieval fortified towns, and city centers, all on designated bicycle paths. I loved the custom, belt-driven bikes, the cultural tours, the scenery, and back on the boat, the food was amazing! Co-captain and chef extraordinaire Christina fed us a wide variety of gourmet dinners, complete with a reasonably-sized, fabulous dessert. People with birthdays received whole, hand-made cakes to share. I felt thoroughly well-taken care of at all times. Also, the new bathrooms were quite nice— and the entire ship was cleaned to a fastidious degree every day!

Diane T.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Heart of Holland
Netherlands

I really enjoyed rolling through the countryside and stopping at small towns and villages. The city tours were an enriching cultural experience.

Donna
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We just got off the Magnifique III today. What a wonderful trip despite some inclimate weather. Our biking guides Peter and Edith were fun, knowledgeable, encouraging and brought us to some very interesting local places on our very scenic ride through countryside, fields, forests and towns. We had very full days eating breakfast at 8, on the road by 9:30 and back on the boat by 5 ish, depending on how many miles were covered , or if you took the long or short routes offered. The meals cooked by Chef Steven were magnificent-steak, seafood, fish and lots of veggie option- way beyond what I expected. Meike and Annika kept us very happy on board and took care of rooms and provisions. Captain Hank and first mate Jarre were experts at what they do, made themselves available for questions and occasional tours of the boat and kept us informed of our routes and sights along the way.
We had morning and nightly briefings, and Peter gave lots of history, tours and background info.
I Read More

Paul N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Loved the Merlijn boat , Coen & Cristina were wonderful hosts , Cristina was a fabulous cook & hostess, so accomodating. Coen very knowledgeable & helpful.
Might be helpful to have 2 cycling guides as we found the pace very slow at times , even though we were on the hybrid bikes. Francine did let us go ahead at times. Bedrooms were very comfortable, heated towel rails great for drying biking shorts overnight.
We would consider going again but probably a week trip.

RICHARD E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

A note and not a review. Some colleagues returned to the Fluvius a few minutes after midnight and the sliding glass doors on either side of the main deck were locked. These doors were locked with a key on both the outside and the inside. My concern is that if there were an emergency and crew were not available, passengers could not open the sliding glass doors from the inside. I think this is a safety issue and those doors should have an emergency inside lock that can be opened by any passenger or crew without a key or without specific training.

Overall, a great trip. Excellent meals - thanks to Mirka and her staff. Carla and Laura were great tour guides and I hope Carla recovers from her accident soon.

Another suggestion - review mirrors on the bikes would make keeping groups together a bit easier.

Betty G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We were on the boat "Sailing Home" and we went from Bruges to Amsterdam. We've never done a Bike & Barge trip before and this trip far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we stepped on board, there was a warm welcome from the 5 fantastic crew members. These 5 could not do enough for you to make your trip a trip to remember. There were 22 travelers on board and having breakfast and dinners with them was so much fun. The food was 5 star every night, the captain was awesome with our boat... smooth and easy travel. Our bike guide was outstanding. We went to so many different places, learned about the history in the villages, she personalized the trip by taking us to a cheese farm and was calm under pressure! The biking was incredible... it was so beautiful everywhere! The rooms were cozy and it was so nice having a bathroom in each room! I highly recommend this trip. It was spectacular!

Cindy B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The staff aboard the Magnifique IV were fabulous. We had great bike tour guides. The people we met on the ship were from all over the world and we all became friends. I would highly recommend this tour and we will be doing this again

Laurel J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Nassau Authentic Holland
Netherlands

We really liked exploring the old towns in the NL while biking but wished there was more time to do so as there were so many interesting things to see. Having some additional information on each was nice.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we enjoyed their kindness and willingness to serve & make our trip comfortable & enjoyable. (Thanks to Jeremal, Christina, John, Stani and the other deck hands.) The beds and rooms were comfortable and the dining room/bar were well appointed. The food at dinner was excellent but the quantity was not enough for the ‘bigger’ eaters in our group.

We found the distance to bike on some days was more than we wanted and had hoped we could have options to go off or on the boat part way. (Though having the opportunity to change to an ebike helped…thank you John!.)
We were disappointed that we could not purchase any snacks in the evening and that the only ones provided during teatime were sweets. Then Read More

Marie W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Nassau Authentic Holland
Netherlands

Cycling through the farms and along the rivers and canals was beautiful. The villages were historic and lovely. More recommendations of sights along the way would have been helpful.

Barbara L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Authentic Holland
Netherlands

The entire trip was memorable in every way. There was really nothing that I could improve upon other than perhaps the weather, which is not controllable. The staff the boat and the itinerary were incredible. I particularly liked the Museum visit to the Kröller-Müller Museum which is otherwise not very accessible on the regular tourist itinerary.

Deborah B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Cochem
Netherlands, Germany

Visiting the Dome and biking along the river. The food was excellent and the boat was beautiful.

Deborah D.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Another biking trip of a lifetime and this time on the beautiful Magnifique III. What a beautiful ship, terrific crew, great chef and awesome bike guides. Biking from Bruges, Belgium to Amsterdam was just fantastic.

Vic K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Although the guided tour had its frustrations and the rainy - windy weather didn’t help, the experience was worth the trip. However, it was frustrating that more attention/instruction was not given to novice bikers. Firstly, they needed to understand the e-bike, specifically to understand the function of gearing down and powering up when needed. Secondly novice bikers didn’t understand NOT to crowd other bikers and to keep a safe distance. Also your marketing should be clear state that they shoukd be experienced bikers. Some areas were highly trafficked - bike auto and train - therefore novice bikers are at great risk. The guides were unfamiliar with the trail and particularly in the first days were getting lost. Your selection for lunch stops were poor. We ate our sandwiches (which got really boring after the second day) outside in the rain. Suggest you add some lunch stops at some local sheltered restaurants with enough time to enjoy and experience the local fare.

Kevin F.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

My most memorable part of the trip was the barge and crew. It was a pleasure to be on the barge.

Wendy S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The countryside was extremely beautiful. The meals were extremely delicious and the dinners were exceptional. The boat was clean and updated with very attentive and positive staff. The bikes were in very good repair and we found the directions to each site/city and the boat generally very clear.

Communication from bike tour leaders was not great. Also, we had major engine problems on Day 1-3 necessitating us to miss 1 day of riding. The communication around the mechanical problems was very poor and initially we found out about this by accident. Once rectified the tour continued as promised.

Rejane S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Hello. The trip is nice, beautiful ride! The only thing makes me very upset is the way the chef treat me, his rude. Never in my life, someone talk to me that way. His name is Emilio! All other stafs is so nice.

colette s.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The cycling through beautiful trails, seeing the country in a way you would not by car or train. Meeting the lovely people on Board geeting to know them, and also our tour Guide Albert, He was so good and kind. Our Chef Marcel and the crew.
Looking forward to doing another trip next May with more friends.

Helen B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Super Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Seeing windmills close up was great, but touring Keukenhof gardens was fabulous! We were there for 1.5 hours and could have stayed longer. The tulips and other flowers were spectacular! A lovely surprise was the three course gourmet meals we were served every night by a creative chef.
My husband is an avid bicycle rider, but I'm not. Having an electric assist bicycle took all the effort out of trying to keep up with the group. With this modern technology, everybody can participate and have fun!