Italy Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 254


Matthew H.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food, the guide and the route and biking were all great. Excellent value for a low budget trip.

Wendy V.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our crew and tour guides were fantastic. Not to mention the food onboard was outstanding.

Donna W.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was a trip of a lifetime for me. Hein and Marjolein were wonderful trip leaders and so knowledgeable about the cities we visited. They made the trip a delight and handled any glitches that arose seamlessly. It helped that they had lived in the area for several years and were familiar with the customs and history of the Veneto.
The food provided by Alberto and Daniele was superb and plentiful, and reflected the cuisine of northern Italy. And Jano was amazing at piloting the Ave Maria through the canals and lagoon. Francesco did a great job anticipating and fulfilling our requests throughout the trip.
The Ave Maria was a perfect vessel for our weeklong tour of the Po River valley of northern Italy. The staterooms were very comfortable and had ample room for two people and their belongings. It was very interesting to hear about the transition of a derelict barge into the sleek Ave Maria that was our home for a week.
I would love to do another trip with this group to explore a new area of Europe in the future.

Ric B.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The trip was awesome. Everything was 1st rate. We loved all of our staff. Each person on the staff went the extra mile to make the tour very special!

cynthia w.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was our second bike and barge with tripsite. It exceded our expectations. The room had plenty of storage, the staff was outstanding and the meals were all excellent. Our tripsite vacation was perfect.

Diane C.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Ave Maria is a beautiful comfortable well equipped boat. The staff was courteous, helpful, pleasant and efficient. The food absolutely the best! plentiful and with great variety. Our tour host Hein and Mayleine were awesome. They were well informed about the historic and local areas that we traveled thru and were humorous, kind and considerable for all the guests needs and abilities.
The tour was a well planned route thru some lovely back roads and small towns and cities. The bicycles were very good and easy to ride. It is very difficult to choose just one memorable part of the trip it was well worth the time we waited to enjoy the Boat/Barge.

Laurie H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Seeing venice on a sunny day from the roof of an historic building.
Biking through the countryside and villages.
Excellent food.

John L.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Arriving into Venice on the Ave Maria. In beautiful Lido we turned in our bikes and by the way they were terrific bikes. I even named mine. I hated to to see "Lisa Marie" go into storage but what came next was even more spectacular. To arrive in magical Venice by boat on a glorious fall day with brilliant sun glistening off the buildings and the water was breath-taking. The fact that the crew had arranged pizza and cocktails only added to the experience. And then that sunset! What a day!

Gary M.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

For me, the most memorable parts of the trip were the moments our trip guide, Hein, stopped, got us off our bikes and took time to do some interpretation of the landscape, or when he brought us to little known local places. One example was a local museum for traveling entertainers and amusements. In the states we would call this a circus museum. Hein described life for us in the walled and protected castles and the city-states of Italy before there was an Italy, and the power of the family heads in the se little kingdoms. He took us on a tour of one of those castles that is not generally open to the public. I also appreciated the 90-minute guided tours by Christina in Mantova and her counterpart in Venice. Passionate about the cities that they call home, they both really brought these special places to life for me.
Not to overlook the moderate exercise we got on bikes everyday, which was helpful because the delicious food our crew served was difficult to turn down. I would have Read More

Sharman H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food by Sylvia and Irena was delicious and the daily movies by Hugo gave us a sweet memory .

Barbara D.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Enjoying all the regions of Italy with the chefs coordinating the evening meals with regional specialities was a delight. Everything was so well executed....bikes..tours...meals....coffee stops...museum and cathedral visits...super fun.

LISA C.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was an absolute memorable trip! Our guides Sylvia and Francisco did everything possible to make sure we enjoyed. The brought on tours, day an night. The food was great food. The cooks and engineers were great. The quality of the bikes were perfect. Having 31 guests was great because it is easy to get to know everyone. I would definitely recommend

Kay B.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It isn't possible to pick out a "most memorable part." We will treasure memories of it all: the delightful and accommodating crew on the Ave Maria, the extraordinary food (where did those two men train?), the city guides that lead us around Venice and Mantua, the beautiful countryside viewed from excellent bikes, our always upbeat bicycling guides, and the terrific company of fellow bikers. It was the perfect up close and personal way to experience this part of Italy.

Ward A.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Crew was amazing. Everyone helpful. 30 person biking too big. Suggest it be split into 2 15 person groups.

Bethia W.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The boat crew, Andrea, Dani, Alberto, Francisco and the two Stefanias were such excellent hosts. They created a friendly community atmosphere that brought all of us strangers together. They worked hard to make sure we were well taken care of on board and on the bikes and taught us so much about the culture, the ecosystem of the Po Valley and history which made the trip an educational experience. The local and regional meals they serverd were culinary masterpieces as memorable as any artwork we saw. I highly recommend this trip to cyclists of all ages and abilities. I would like to do it all over again! Thanks for a fun and exciting trip.

Judith L.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Dinners on the boat. The pace of biking was not to my liking. Not enough time for pictures. I felt pressured to keep up with the group. Planned stops were longer than needed. Would have liked a slower pace with more, shorter stops. Many of the roads were rough, and roads through cities were scary with traffic.

Appreciated that all on the trip were from USA. Trip leaders and crew were very nice.

Linda N.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The most memorable part of the trip was time aboard the Ave Maria. The crew made every effort to make sure all our needs were met, suggested places to visit that you wouldn’t find in guide books, fed us the most delicious local foods prepared from ingredients found that day and recipes from their grandmothers, their creativity and their obvious joy in cooking. I can still taste the lasagna with squash flowers! The other passengers were all fascinating people as well, all very experienced travelers and bikers. The thing I want others to know is that some parts of the trip, especially leaving Chioggio and Ferrara, we’re on busy roads with cars whizzing by you and crossing roundabouts and corners, and that even on the low traffic, one lane roads, you’ll frequently hear “car up” or “car back”. There were times when you could not enjoy the scenery because you had to watch for potholes and negotiate gravel. We bike on an at least weekly basis but Read More

Margaret Jay B.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Lovely route, wonderful guides, comfortable accommodations. Absolutely superb food!

Bring your own water bottle - despite the tripsite literature, one is not provided

Sarah E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

While the touring each day was beautiful, the most memorable part of the trip were the evening meals. Chefs Sylvia and Irena delighted us all with outstanding dishes featuring local ingredients and recipes. A gourmet bike tour!

Tom B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Very well organised trip - the tour guides Silvia & Francesco were outstanding. Full of life, informative and funny.
The boat , Ave Maria, was very comfortable and well set out.
The bikes were excellent - we had electric ones.
The scenery, countryside and towns were lovely.

Dick S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food was outstanding! Great chefs. Amazing how hard our small crew worked to provide everything needed. All ran smoothly. Michaela was an outstanding leader. We were disappointed in the lack of coordination between the leader and the bikers as we ride. Corners were not posted at turns; some ended up going the wrong way, and we spent time finding them. Fortunately one person in the “lost” group was able to call our leader. There should always be arrangements for a “sweep” with phone communication to the guide.
Coming home, the pack with the trip literature was stolen. I would like to get another copy of that excellent information. How?

Lev Z.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

With the exception of the room, which could be a bit larger, and Wi-Fi, which could be stronger and steadier, everything else of the tour was outmost enjoyable: the route and rides, the equipment, the food, the guide, the people in the group.

Nancy P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food on the trip was excellent. We enjoyed the local fare, the wine pairings from the various regions .
The crew work very hard to deliver a positive experience . Helmut was a great guide offering lots of information about the different places we stopped at. We loved the cheese factory tour and tasting

Lawrence B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Seeing Italy from a closer perspective than on most tours.

Bikes worked well, and the food and tour guides were excellent

Linda C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The most memorable part of the trip for me was riding our bikes in the country between towns. We were able to see the crops in the fields, and the beautiful countryside dotted with houses and the green vegetation of spring. We were in Italy in early May and the weather was perfect - not too warm but not cold either. A particular highlight was riding along a canal and seeing the Ave Maria ahead of us. We speeded up, of course so that we could pass the boat, greeting the captain as we rode by. He responded by honking the horn and putting music on the loudspeaker for us to enjoy. The food was another highlight of the trip. We had fantastic, filling breakfasts, and delicious traditional Italian food for dinner each night. The chefs explained the courses, and where the recipes originated. We were able to nourish our minds and bodies together. Our group was immediately cohesive, and we had lively entertainment every night from card games to karaoke singing. The trip was one of the best I have ever experienced, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience biking in Europe.

Linda B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The 6 member crew of the Ava Maria was fantastic. Food was excellent and the barge accommodations were very nice. I was in a deluxe cabin with a window that opened and the cabin was very spacious and the water pressure in the shower was great and the beds were very comfy. TripSite stated we would be provided with a water bottle for our bikes but we were not which was difficult because a standard bottle of water would not fit in the bottle holder on the bike. WiFi only works in the main dining room which was OK. Bikes are in great condition and the bike guides (Helmut and Alex) were great. There is a fair amount of street riding with some traffic but the guides keep you safe. No diet coke on the boat but they allowed us to bring on our own soda.

Charles M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Biking out of Venice was unforgettable.

Laurie H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

What a wonderful mix of larger cities and small villages and towns that we would never have been able to locate on our own . An opportunity to enjoy both Venice and all its treasures while staying on the barge in beautiful, quiet Giudecca with it's charm of churches and artisan craftmanship . The biking along the Po River nature reserve was beautiful and a reminder of how important it is to care for our environment. Mantova along with other stops were charming with guides who shared their expertise of cities. The guides and staff on the Ava Maria did an admirable job of following the itinerary and keeping everyone safe, The chefs and dining staff served Italian local dinners that were the best I have eaten and a breakfast that appealed to all. Despite Italy being in a heat wave we were still able to enjoy the beauty of Italy.

Karen S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Biking along the river and the built in tours of the trip.

Jean M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We enjoyed everything about the tour! Our group was very international representative of Italy, New Zealand, USA, Canada, Switzerland, UK, and Germany. Our guide was Giorgio. He was knowledgeable about the area and it’s history and took us on many side trips including a gastronomic experience at a local cheese factory.
After biking all day we returned to a fresh snack and of course an outstanding meal at dinner made by our exceptional cook who greeted us every evening with a heartfelt Buona sera! We felt the crew did an outstanding job and were always willing to help with any given situation. Great job everybody!
Thank you all!
Jean and Brian Mearon