Hungary Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 46

 


George R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike & Wine in Hungary
Hungary

The guides Gabor and A'kos were great and were very prompt and knowledgeable about the area. All meals, accommodations and the wine were amazing. All the places we visited were very interesting and fun was had by all in our group. We really lucked out with the weather. Bikes worked well and Gabor was efficient in changing my wife's flat tire in no time. This was our highlight of our trip to Eastern Europe. We would recommend this trip to those who like wine and biking.

Lois H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike & Wine in Hungary
Hungary

The whole trip from start to finish was FABULOUS. The food, wine, scenery, historical sites and the accommodation were all top notch. Our guide Gabor and support driver Askus were knowledgeable, adaptable and just looked after our every need not to leave out that they were super fun as well. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to experience good food, great wine, and a relaxed exploration of the beautiful Balaton region of Hungary.

Mary B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The fall weather made for a beautiful ride along the Danube. The GPS was excellent at guiding us down the bike lanes and thru the lovely villages and cities. The route has impressive paved off road trails most of the way with occasional packed gravel trails. The hotels were excellent and our bags were always awaiting are arrival. We have taken other trips with Tripsite and they have all been well organized and fun.

Ken C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The biking was perfect - equipment worked well and was as promised

Kimberly R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Bike pathways through Austria were in fantastic condition, well marked and easy to follow making for a relaxing ride. Some of the paths in Hungary were not suitable for a road bike (no pavement and loose rocky terrain). Some warning about this before selecting a bike or alternative route would have been helpful. Our bags were always at the hotel when we arrived which was very nice after a long ride.
The hotels were nice. Most offered a nice relaxing outdoor space. The breakfast options were all comparable to each other and provided a good start to the day.
The bike “fitting” was a bit disappointing, the bikes were dropped off and only after a lot of hunting around was the staff able to provide a tool to adjust the seat height. There was no tool kit provided and when we asked the kit was not suitable for the bike we had. I would have preferred a stop in Linz rather than the small city before it. There would be more things to do in Linz in the evening.
Overall I was pleased with the trip and I would recommend it, especially the Germany to Vienna section.

Gabriela C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The tour was so well-thought and prepared I only had to cycle and enjoy the ride. Since I was on my own, I joined other groups which made it all the easier and funnier. The towns we stayed were all breathtaking and Im back for more.

Sylvia M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The whole experience was memorable.

My suggestion to others would be that they do not rent a Touring bike for the 10 day - sportiv - version of the trip.

Joel k.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We did the entire Great Danube bike trail from Passau to Budapest. It was actually 2 trips Passau to Vienna and Vienna to Budapest. The first one Passau to Vienna was on a very well defined bike path that followed the Danube River. There were many bikes on this route. The second trip Vienna to Budapest, was on a combination of paved and gravel bike trails and roads. Certainly for the more adventurous rider. Personally we would dont think we would do 2 weeks of straight biking, one week would have been plenty. Highlights were Vienna and Budapest each would have been better with longer stays as there was so much to do.

Barbara T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

For the most part, the trail was paved and easy to ride. It was a great trail to do. The Iron curtain monument on the way to Bratislava by Devin Castle was moving and should not be missed. Take some time to visit Budapest at the end if you have never been there, it is a beautiful city.
There was one glitch: one of our hotels from the final list that we had gotten from Tripsite changed shortly before we left. The representative never mentioned this when he gave us our package the night before we started. On the fifth cyclin day, we were supposed to stay in Esztergom but had to stay in Visegrad that night which meant we had to take two trains that day. The tickets for the first train were in our package, but not for the second train. We had to called about this. The tickets were supposed to be with our luggage one day and they weren’t which meant another call. The tickets did come the day before. Suggestion-when you get your package carefully look at the list of hotels and compare it to the list you had received. It would have been better and we wouldn’t have had to waste time calling when we wanted to sightsee.

Rockwood R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Your representative for the initial orientation meeting was a No Show. This became problematic when we received train tickets in the packet- with no clear guidance. Your travel app and book were well coordinated but the app didn’t always work on the trail.
If you’re providing train tickets it would be helpful to have directions to the train station. Hotel locations, near the bike route and points of interest, were excellent. Quality and experiences varied. Overall pleased.

Pete H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The overnights were great. I would recommend you arrive early as the overnight towns were all great to visit.

Maggie M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Easy to follow direction, mostly, cycling on designated bike paths so no worries about traffic. Great scenery.

Tracy W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Biking through the countryside of Austria, Slovakia, and Hungary offers an experience you can get no other way. Our group experienced an "insider's view" of these countries, towns and cities you can't get by car. If you want an immersive experience that leaves you fulfilled at the end of the day, biking is the way to go.

John G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The trip organisation was excellent. The hotels were comfortable and interestingly varied; everything from a pleasant boutique hotel in the centre of an Old Town to a rural hotel with tables and umbrellas on a riverbank in an idyllic setting.
Some of the towns/cities were buzzy and some very sleepy. Additional time - perhaps an additional day - in Vienna and Bratislava would be great, providing rest days and opportunities to explore - and perhaps avoiding some of the quieter destinations.
The cycle trails were, by and large, excellent; some long drags with somewhat uninteresting scenery, but balanced by superb tracks in beautiful countryside.
The bikes were sturdy but heavy and very solid, and this marred the cycling experience somewhat, the most disappointing part of the trip.
Overall definitely four stars.

Anna-Karin B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We had a lovely trip Vienna to Budapest! The organisation with bicycles, maps, app, and really great hotels were outstanding! We had extra nights in Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest and that was good to get rest days and also more time for cultural things. Luckily we brought swimsuits and towels in the saddlebags - Danube has great beaches and calm fresh water to cool down in. Hungary was a great positive surprise. The small towns Mosonmagyaróvár, Györ, and Esztergom was as taken out of a fairytale. Great food to good prices.
We had three days in Budapest and with the bikes we could easily discover all corners of the city. Magical evenings along the river in Budapest. The bustransfer back to Vienna went as smooth as everything else. We will surely come back!

Jennifer G.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The trip was great but we were disappointed our room configuration requests were not included in our hotel bookings. When we followed up after the first night the Tripsite employee suggested we follow this up. We didn't think this was very good customer service.

Nancy A.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Budapest
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Austria

We had long been looking forward to this Prague to Budapest cycling tour and it did not disappoint. The routes were well-chosen for ease of travel and for beautiful scenery and interesting touring. Our contact in Prague was on time for the briefing and gave us a good overview of the program; when we had questions, he responded quickly and helpfully. We added an extra day in each of Telc, Vienna, and Bratislava, which worked out really well to really absorb some of what those cities had to offer. The ride from Mikulov to Misselbach was a particularly busy, touristy day with lots to see and beautiful paths to connect them. The instructions we received for the second half of the tour were in a different format that took more work to review and absorb; unfortunately, this meant that we missed at least one site that we had been anticipating.

Jeffrey O.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The lodging and breakfasts were terrific, especially in Vienna, Bratislava, Gyor and Budapest. The bikes were very good; in excellent condition with good features. We have biked all over Europe along the main rivers, including the Danube. We expected to ride along the Danube more on this trip, but realize that Eurovelo does not have bike paths close to the river, for most of the trip from Vienna to Budapest. We did the Athletic tour which was good for us, but we did have challenging weather (rain, wind, cool temperatures) on one day.

Eitan G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The magical moments were riding in avenues of trees along the Danube, on paths in the villages in northern Hungary, the old city In the stunning giyor and in all of Hungary it is a complete surprise in the landscapes and the historical cities.

Habib R.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Great trip. I was hurt on the first day and had to ride to my destinations with my luggage in the van. The van drivers were kind and helpful. I appreciate Tripsite making this possible for me.

One suggestion: travelers are required to pay the city tax when they check out. If would be good if this were included in the cost of the trip.

Terry h.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The challenge of finding our way and doing it successfully despite the guide books being almost useless. The guide book for the Passau to Vienna book was slightly better but that was mostly because the paths were self evident. The book for the Vienna to Budapest leg was quite useless.

James R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Hi….really a great trip and well organized, thank you so much ! The only confusion was day 7, you list the ride is 51 miles, yet maybe clarify that the ride is only 34 miles and the ferry ride from Szentendre to Budapest in 15 miles for then a total distance of 51 miles, with 34 miles of riding. Is there an option for a better bike ? Look forward to riding again with Tripsite, Good Luck ! Jim Ruble.

Hugonette M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Biking along the Danube river is very beautiful and visiting all the small towns we never heard of before is very special.

Juan Pablo B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Excellent bikes maps and coordination including luggage transfers

Ed D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

Paula P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We very much enjoyed this trip but it was a real adventure. At times I felt we were filming an episode for the Amazing Race! The maps we were provided with were very confusing. For example, we were not made aware that we had to make a detour as portions of the National Park were closed. Google Maps wasn't much help as they do not provide bicycle routes for Slovakia and Hungary. Fortunately, other cyclists told us to download the MAPS.ME app and this was a real life saver. I would advise anyone doing this trip to use this app or have some sort of GPS. We encountered other cyclists that were travelling with other companies that were provided with far more detailed maps, yet they too had difficulty. A GPS is a must.

We were dismayed that on a couple of occasions our luggage left unattended in the lobby area of hotels. I feel the luggage should always be stored in a secure area.

Phil C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

Patrice W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

Heather H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Slovenia
Austria, Hungary, Slovenia

From the US it was very difficult, time consuming and costly to get to Radenci, Slovenia and from Lendava back to the airport. Except Lendava, the villages had little to offer for additional tourism and places to eat. The Mineral Spas were mainly full of elderly and some families. Not really an exciting place for 30-40 year olds without kids. The countryside was pretty but in my opinion not worth the extensive travel. I would like to go back to Slovenia but to the west side of the country.

Jim S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Slovenia
Austria, Hungary, Slovenia

The support and coordination by tripsite was awful. The directions they provided were more like Escape Room Clues rather than directions. Tripsite directs us to a ferry across the river Muir which was closed which no alternative route. I would never use Tripsite again