Greece Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 37


Susan G.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

We liked the feel of the rustic boat, the Panagiota. Although far from luxurious, we found it comfortable. The cook, Nondas, along with the engineer and grill master, Makis, offered healthy and delicious creations for each lunch and dinner served on board. Dimitris and Alexandros were excellent guides, always attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. We couldn't have had better weather and each swim stop proved rewarding. The waters of the Ionian sea were breathtakingly clear and blue. The diverse set of fellow travelers also added exponentially to our adventure, with a special mention to Martin from Germany, who graced us with guitar and song our last evening on board. As our tour was the final one of the season, we also enjoyed the more quiet side of the many roads, ports and attractions we encountered.

Susan & Neal

Lynne D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

This was our first bike tour & wont be the last! It was fantastic. The trip was well planned & everything worked smoothly. The guides, Demitris & Alex were the best, keeping us informed of the days activities, & always willing to answer our questions. The boat ride, scenery, plus informative facts about the area were excellent. Meals were outstanding, as well as the camaraderie between the guests. Our tour had only 13 guests, so we got lots of personalized attention! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience the Ionian Islands up close & personal by bike rather than from the seat of a tour bus!!!

Lorrie C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands
Greece

Fantastic tour guides who selected awesome bike routes.

Jan R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands
Greece

Well organized trip, knowledgeable and friendly tour guides. Our cycling group was a wonderful mix of personalities. The food on the boat was outstanding!

Ted F.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands
Greece

Biking on Spetses and walking around the village on Hydra. The dinner seaside at the port in Methana.
The crew and guides really had to step up there game when the chef had to depart due to a family emergency. They were able to make arrangements in each port for the meals we were supposed to have on board and did a great job at that.

Ronald G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands
Greece

The tour guides were extremely flexible and able to adapt to an unfortunate situation and provide a remarkable dining experience after the trip's cook left due to a family emergency. The guides arranged for outstanding meals at local restaurants and we were able to experience a wide variety of excellent Greek cuisine. The dinner on the beach will remain a memorable experience. The daily bike rides along the "undulating" roads and ever changing sea views were also a great experience.

Boyd M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands
Greece

The place is just stunning. It is ridiculous that water is that blue. Each town was a postcard. Every evening the eat ashore meal was a chance to dine in an outdoor restaurant with the breeze wafting through. Big recommendation is to opt for the ebikes. I ride regularly and was on a normal geared bike and found the going tough. Make sure you climb up to the fort. Make sure you swim when the boat pulls up for a swim break- it is a must. Take a book to fall asleep reading on the rear deck cushions, they are so comfy.

Michael. A.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands
Greece

There were several memorable moments for us . Katerina our guide and organiser supported by Jahnesses the second guide were excellent ..The boat and crew including the Chef with great meals made it run so smoothly.We had a mix of families,singles and nationality’s that became quite close as the trip progressed.We both used E bikes that for us were essential as there were some challenging hills.The Islands are spectacular with the coastal roads well selected to give us optimal views. SUGGESTIONS The boat meals are huge with often three courses ,per haps for the main course,rather than bringing out individual plates they offer offer a large dish that each person can decide their own quantity .The mix of ages especially with children there seemed some waste. For us there were no negatives,I have already sent a review of our trip

Bonnie G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Love Boat South Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

The captain backing up the ship to fit into a small space at the dock.

Joe S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

Biking the various islands is always a delight. The views can be magnificent and the riding a lot of fun.
The boat, however left a lot to be desired. Their was a significant amount of black mold in our bathroom. Several of the cabins leaked in the rain. There is no reason for this except for poor maintenance. Wood requires varnish and that was sorely lacking on this boat. On other trips (4) that we have been on the crew was always busy working on the boat. Not so with this boat. The crew sat around and did not do a good job of looking after the customers. I would never recommend this boat to anyone.
On the other hand, the two bike staff members were outstanding. They were able to react quickly to changing weather conditions and provided an outstanding experience.

Patrick B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

The bike rides and touring the cities where we docked the boat. Some of the hills were steep and tiring and more e-bikes would be great.

Victoria A.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

Two weeks before our departure, we were notified that a negative Covid test was required to board the boat. This was after the date for cancelation. Two of the members in our party tested positive and could not board the boat. Neither one was symptomatic.
We experienced rain on the second night of the trip and two cabins leaked… a lot. Beds and clothes were soaked. No one offered to clean the clothes or dry them, and the leak was patched. It leaked again the next night.
The trip was cut short due to weather and we were loaded onto a bus and sent back to Corfu.
There were def opportunities to continue with some biking, but it was not a consideration.
Disappointed to say the least

Cindy C.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

The guys in the itineraries were awesome! It was a beautiful trip even though we got delayed with rain. They always had something interesting for us to do. My only constructive criticism would be the actual crew members on board the boat. They usually were just sitting around, smoking or reading on their phones. They should’ve been wiping down tables and chairs on the deck after a rainstorm so that we could sit outside. This was never done. We had to ask them for water to drink and or towels to wipe down I feel for the money they should’ve been coming up to us and asking us if they could get us anything or do anything for us. My roommate and I were also in a cabin that leaked on the bed every time it rains!. This should’ve been remedied long before the boat left off! The captain was great he did a good job! It really was a fun adventure. Thank you!

Judy P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Love Boat South Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

Beautiful scenery on some of the islands.

Andrew F.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

When on a trip that has many destinations, especially where travel includes boats and water, anything can happen to change the trip and require you to alter our expectations. I had one thing in my minds eye while the sea and the boat had another. This trip was a test of the adage "go with the flow". Even though we didn't get to visit all of the islands in the itinerary, because the group of people on the tour and the guides and crew, they made the best of it. Substituting a bike ride in the rain for a visit to an olive oil museum and winery. Swapping a long rolling boat ride for a bus and ferry that included a tour of a beautiful cave and folk museum.

The boat was old. You can look at this two ways, unique or in disrepair. I chose to look at it as unique, but others on the trip were forced to live with the disrepair issues. Be prepared to have your patience tested with some of the "features" in the cabins.

These are memories that, along Read More

Renee B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Cyclades Islands
Greece

A.
The Thalassa, the boat on which we traveled needs immediate repairs to the holding tank/sewage system. The smells emanated into our cabin day and night. To resolve the only thing we could do was open the portholes, run the air-conditioning, and leave our cabin door open all at the same time. We left the boat one night early due to the smell. Two other couples did the same. We were told from day one of the cruise the smell would improve once we began sailing but that was not the case. Our room smelled of sewage fumes the entire trip. Additionally the smell of diesel fumes while in port was excessive. While the captain, crew, and tour guides were good, this boat is not ready for taking people on vacation.
Suggestions:
1. Rework venting systems for ship
2. Leave port the day of embarkation. No need to stay in port and smell diesel fumes from the boats (including the Thalassa) until the next day.

B. The e-bikes we used for this trip were tired and in Read More

Maura R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

The entire experience was wonderful aboard the boat and biking the islands. The crew ensured we were fed healthy delicious food and we safe biking the hilly terrain.
The only bad experience was poor communication prior to the trip about COVID requirements.

Judith M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Cyclades Islands
Greece

I loved the Cyclades Islands. It was wonderful. I enjoyed everything about it. But the pre extension tour in Athens would have been a total misstep on Tripsite’s part if not for our own initiative. We received no information on times for the activities or where they were. No map indicating how close or far our hotel was from any of the activities. Once we found the bike shop for the Athens bike tour - we were told we had missed the 9:30 start. But were given no time we were to be there. We paid extra money to have a guide do the tour with us at a later time. We made it to the Acropolis with the vouchers, but were just given vouchers with no directions or opening or closing times. We found a Food Tour on our own that we paid for. No directions or times were given for the restaurant, just a name. When we finally found it, they had no reservations for us but in the end accommodated us. It was like we were dumped in a foreign City with absolutely no directions or plans. I have Read More

ROBERT P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Cyclades Islands
Greece

Biking is not moderate as listed. Fun but lots of hills.
The towns and villages visited were very nice. Two of the islands dry with not much vegetation. The other three were beautiful.
The main problem with this trip was the ship which smelled of diesel and sewage fumes in some state rooms. The second problem was that the bikes were not in the best shape.
We have been on three other trips site bike and boat trips and have been pleased. This trip did not live up to our expectations.

Richard A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

The scenery was fantastic, especially from the high points and we were fortunate to have dry sunny weather all week.
The guides and crew were great and once you had adjusted to the compact cabins it was thoroughly enjoyable.

Outright tip: the e-bikes really take the sting out of the challenging climbs

Michael. Acocks
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Thalassa Peloponnese & Saronic Islands
Greece

My wife and I have just recently finished this trip and we can highly recommend it.We have done three boat and bike tours and this has been the best. The Thalassa is well appointed for such a trip,from the adequate cabins with AC ,lots of space to relax,frequent stops where the Captain would drop the anchor for swims,friendly crew and excellent meals.The two guides Catarine and Johanese made this run so smoothly.Catarine s background in Archeology most informative for us. The group on board were a mix of families and single travellers twelve in total . The bikes were of good quality,made in Germany.I am seventy years of age and we chose E bikes which I recommend as there are some challenging hills on the islands. The islands and coast lines are stunning. For us it ticked all the boxes.

Timothy B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

The guides were fantastic—could not have been better. Rides were beautiful with little traffic, and food was great.

Dawnetta A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

This was a trip of a lifetime! What a way to see the Ionian islands. We are bike riders but opted for the e-bikes, just in case. It was perfect- and if you wanted to push yourself- you could turn off your bikes. Which maybe necessary with the unbelievable food served on the boat! Our guides and crew were incredible- sleeping below deck was a little warm, but they have an air conditioner- but If you could bring a battery operated fan to fasten on the curtain rod of porthole- it would make a difference- but this minor suggestion is not a complaint by any means! Highly recommend the trip and trip site made it that much easier! I look forward to the next adventure!

Cindy D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Ionian Islands
Greece

We felt like we were stars in a movie. People came to stare at our boat and see what all the Fun was about. Our swim stops in coves and bays were magical. The bicycling was a blast. Our guides we like friends we had known for years The food was better than excellent. We really didn’t want to leave.

Delfina
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ionian Islands
Greece

Encantador tour por bellas islas con paisajes increíbles y un mar fantástico ... cálido y tan transparente que su color encandila...grupo de compañeros de viaje solidarios y con un plus de ensueño... Ferdinand un pequeño de 9 años ,nos deleitaba todas las tardes con su práctica de violín y navegando.. se puede pedir más?.Nuestros guías Catherine e Yannis unos schnuckiputzis adorables ..

David C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elara 1 Central Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

Most Memorable Part? Bicycling to the monastery on Patmos

Julie B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Love Boat Central Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

Best Part? Getting to know new awesome people on the trip!

Ruth Ann M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Panagiota Cyclades Islands
Greece

As we biked on the Cyclade islands of Greece, it was the amazing views across the Aegean and the myths and stories told to us by our guides that was the most memorable. The Greek food on the boat was also fantastic!

Annette K.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Love Boat Central Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

An amazing experience with great friends

Kimberly H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Love Boat Central Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

Loved the various opportunities to swim in the sea, off the boat and at the beach. It was interesting to learn the unique history of each island we visited.