Belgium Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 658


Alison M.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The bike rides through small towns and villages, beautiful scenery were the highlight of the trip. On one day our guide also stopped at an unscheduled attraction at our request - this willingness to be flexible was much appreciated.
The guided rides are great, but try to take advantage of the self-guided rides as well on some days - the biking staff provide thorough directions and the app so that it is pretty hard to go off-track.
The food on the barge was outstanding, and the snacks provided for lunches were great.

Robert C.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The food on the barge was excellent, much better than I anticipated. The staff was friendly, very hard working and seemed to enjoy working together to make our trip special. The accommodations on the barge were very comfortable. We biked through the countryside, past farms, and small villages, places a tourist wouldn't normally see. Even though this tour was rated "easy" it did require a certain amount of biking skill as the terrain on the bike paths varied from cobblestones, brick, gravel, dirt, narrow and sometimes crowded with other bikers.

Cynthia W.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved the bike tour from Brugges to Amsterdam! The biking was excellent and we loved using the e-bikes! The tour guides and ship crew were helpful and very responsive! They made the trip fun and memorable. The cities were truly amazing! Bike and barge is such a fun way to see beautiful cities and lovely views!

Fredda T.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The windmills and the cheese farm were the most memorable. We found the cafeteria style dining to be at least unromantic and that the portions could have been bigger. The crew was awesome. The ship gorgeous, the weather incredible. But it was always odd on the boat - not enough camaraderie among the passengers with no encouraged social interaction outside of forced togetherness at meals which with Covid rampant was a concern. I think it was a shame that the boat didn’t include the windmill tour as part of the activity because we felt it a fabulous understanding of what we were traveling through and by. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! Fredda and Derek

Harvey L.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This trip was the most memorable we've ever been on. The boat was fantastic - clean and in pristine condition. The food was equal to anything we've had in any fine restaurant - tasty and served with elegance. The crew members were energetic and fun and always had time to answer any and all questions. The biking part of the trip was perfect - equal parts cycling and resting, with coffee and pastries! It was the best way to see another country - on your bike - so much time to take in the pristine beauty of Holland and Belgium. The accommodations were comfy and cosy and inviting. The hot tub was delightful after a day of cycling.
We would do this trip again without hesitation.
Harvey and Martha

Karen Melby T.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Loved the great bike paths

Sharon M.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Marjan kept a constant cycling pace within the condor level of all riders. Everyone stayed together and the group did not get strung out.
Sharon does not bike bit had a wonderful time on the Sailing Home just watching the beautiful scenery.
Loved taking a walk in the small villages and towns.
want to thank the chef for being creative with a creative cuisine
Also another thank you to Marjan for calling us a taxi and waiting with us to make sure we were OK.

Emily E.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The most memorable part was the biking itself. We had an E bike so the trip was very comfortable. The bikes were in great shape, it seems even the regular bikes. The route chosen was very memorable and scenic. Marjan the guide, was very capable as it was a challenge at times to keep the group all together. And some suggestions: one guide for 24 people really was not enough. Although we had a sweeper in the back this should not be a paying guest responsibility. If there have been a serious accident, not sure what the rest of us would’ve done if Marjan had to take this person to a hospital. Also the speed was very slow probably due to the fact that we had 24 people in one group. Going too slow also increases the chance of accidents. It was also challenging in towns and busy areas like Amsterdam for safety reasons. It also would it be nice to learn more along the route. Marjan gave some titbits of information but more of this would have been appreciated. We stopped at a wooden shoe Read More

joseph h.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The barge was far better then expected; the meals way above expectations; the staff excellent.

John H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

This was the trip of a lifetime for us. Part of the memory is rooted in the fact that we had no rain, which I assume could be an issue in this part of the world. But the majority of the favorable impressions came from the friendly, professional and helpful staff, tour guides, cook on the boat and other help on board. The scenery was unbelievable and we've made wonderful new friends. If you are a cyclist (even a beginner) and want to live and breath along the canals of Belgium and the Netherlands, this is your trip.

Paul F.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most memorable part: Boat staff bikes food and dancing all fantastic, we had a great time

Russell H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I organized the bike/barge trip aboard the Magnifique IV for eight couples and all of us would agree it exceeded our expectations. Bert and Hans are brilliant tour leaders, Mieke and John wonderful hosts, and Gerard a fine chef. Accommodations were first class, the boat was immaculate, the food great, and our fellow passengers were well traveled like-minded folks whom we had great time getting to know. The bike itinerary works nicely for both experienced or inexperienced riders, I strongly recommend an e-bike for the latter group. All in all, Walter the captain and boat owner runs a classy operation and offers terrific value for the price.

Robert R.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The Captain, crew, and tour guides were wonderful; and the beer was delicious!

John L.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Best way to experience the local cultures and idyllic country sides and charming villages of Holland and Belgium.

Gary H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

This was our first bike and barge tour. We travelled on the Gandalf, the captain and crew aboard are wonderful, friendly. Daily up-dates and briefing from the captain and our guide were very informative. Food AMAZING, can't say enough about that.... Our guide Ron was also amazing, friendly, very well informed and full of historic information...
Bikes worked very well. We enjoyed every minute of this tour. Travelled with a great group which made for an excellent adventure. 5 star's thanks to the crew and people.
Thank you Tripsite for all assistance navigating the pandemic.

Marie G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Seeing all the sights, travelling with friends and also meeting new ones. The crew and guides were very helpful.

Fernanda D.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Cycling from Vianen to Schoonhoven, and the walk through Bruges beautiful historic city. Bring cycling waterproof gear and be ready to take lots of pictures…

Jayne B.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We loved seeing the beautiful countryside, small quaint towns and unique places away from the usual busy tourist sites. It was so fun to get to know our fellow passengers and the staff on the ship was excellent, to include our outstanding guides!

Gregory A.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Having been home not even one full week, I am STILL at a loss of words to fully describe our tour- it was however, definitely a 'masterpiece' of a trip (if a trip can be so described!). Over the 52 years of our marriage, we have been exceedingly fortunate to have been able to travel not only all over the U.S., but to numerous other countries and places both on our own as a couple and with my husband's career. Late in life we have both discovered bicycling and had often thought we'd love to take a biking vacation. Unfortunately 3 years ago, having discovered he had Afib and needed open heart surgery resulting in a double by pass, we thought that dream would not materialize. Fortunately health improved, miles were logged in practice, and a trip optimistically booked with Tripsite. As we anticipated the trip we were apprehensive about whether Covid would sidetrack our dream, but fortunately we were able to go. The trip was everything and much more than we had Read More

Barbara G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Biking through the gorgeous country side - stopping at the cheese shoppe - the attentiveness of the staff and the camaraderie of the fellow bike riders!

Tips - do as many activities as you can - yet if that doesn't work for you - spend a lovely day on the barge- reading , writing or simply enjoying the gorgeous scenery.

Really loved the trip - biking was flat, fabulous and scenic!

Nancy W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip was fantastic! The ship itself was comfortable and offered flexibility in seating with the upper and first decks, lounge area and dining room. Cabins were nicely done with storage room and comfortable beds. The crew was wonderful making sure every need was met. Having self guided before, we loved the guided option which led us through lovely villages, to coffee shops, picnic stops, and in through larger towns and cities without a worry. It was nice to have the option of not biking, and enjoying cruising the river or even to self guide as you wanted. The bike guides were fantastic engineering safety with a bounty of beautiful sights and history and facts of the sights. Having an after dinner stroll led by the guides was an unexpected treat. Hightly recommend this beautiful, relaxing, carefree yet full of activity vacation.

Susan Q.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Wonderful trip start to finish. The Fleur was cozy and comfortable. Terrific crew. Delicious food. We biked roughly 30 miles per day through forests, small towns, the countryside. Be sure to pack bike shorts. The bikes were in great shape. We were a group of 19, at least 6 people used Ebikes. We were fortunate to have 2 terrific guides which made a group of that size much easier to navigate. If you plan to do this trip you want to be able to comfortably bike 30 miles with some hills. Not unmanageable for people who cycle. This is a great trip for those who enjoy cycling through the countryside, stopping at cafes and historical points of interest . One day I decided to stay on the barge. I cozied up with a good book and watched the world go by. So enjoyable. Sailing into Paris and seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time was pretty special too. This was our first bike and barge and we are already thinking of our next.

Debra D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The guides were wonderful, the staff on the boat was so friendly and attentive, cabin accommodations were lovely as was the boat itself, and the biking itself was fabulous! We met lots of really great people and ate lots of good food. ALL of these things made it equally memorable.

Stephen R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Intimate barge and delightful crew that quickly became friends. We loved the two week itinerary and everyone looked forward to another day on the bikes exploring. Many highlights but the riding onto the terrace above Paris and viewing the Eiffel Tower and skyline was enchanting. The entire group became one as we enjoyed each other’s company.
The Tripsite staff were a great resource; extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend beginning the vacation with them. Their guidance in choosing the right vacation was superb.

Paul A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Crew and both guides were professional, knowledgeable and very friendly throughout the trip. Our chef Wendy was superb and prepared wonderful dinners...also prepared crispy bacon and delicious scrambled eggs to start of out day. Our guides shared interesting stories and history about relevant sites we visited...all in all a great trip!!

Kenneth B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Fourteen strangers came together for 11 days of cycling, with lots of laughing, good food, and camaraderie. We learned a lot about the places we saw and by the last day we were all friends.

Mary Jane O.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

An excellent biking experience through beautiful countryside and on top of dikes allowing views of the sea and dunes. Then on to the boat for delicious food and an after dinner tour through picturesque towns and cities. It's my favorite way to visit a country.

Barbara S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We lucked out with the most gorgeous weather and didn't need to break out any of our raingear. We enjoyed meeting our fellow travelers. The meals were fabulous and our tour leaders were knowledgeable and informative. Others may find some extra comfort if they bring added bike seat cushion (memory foam or gel). The tour leaders adjusted our itinerary when changes had to be made due to high winds and we still had a good time. Most memorable was seeing Kinderdijk, swans nesting on the polder, and storks on their nests.

Diane H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was great. The evening events on board were really special - the barbecue with the toast for the 30th anniversary couple, the beer and chocolate pairing with Peter and the farewell dinner with the toast for our 50th anniversary and Hester’s wonderful oboe concert. The whole crew was terrific but our guides were outstanding. The atmosphere was always convivial and we made many new friends.

Ingrid F.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The attentiveness of Christina and Koen and all the rest of the staff on the boat. The only comment i have is that with 24 riders and quite a varying degree of riding abilities, I think two guides and divide the group into two would have been better.