Germany Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 920


Julie M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The boat was comfy and well appointed, the beds were very comfortable, the biking along the river was fabulous with knowledgeable and friendly guides. I also enjoyed the sumptuous dinners each night. One of the best parts of this trip was getting to know our fellow travelers and make new friends.

Ed S
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

The cycling, food, and service by ship’s staff were all great! We had the good fortune to meet some very interesting and fun people from Canada and Scotland, attended a couple very good concerts in both Vienna and Prague, and basically saw a part of Europe we never thought we’d see. Budapest, Vienna, Prague were all very interesting, and beautiful cities, and our guide, Thomas, made it all even better! Juergen, the cruise director, was very helpful, as well, finding us when we lost our group at one point and getting us back to the ship. Between Thomas and Juergen, we were able to sample a lot of good food while on the bike rides, and they provided great company at dinner, as well. I believe Thomas ate with us nearly every evening.

A couple notes: 1) I brought pick-pocket proof pants, as I’d heard that we needed to be careful. I didn’t really need them. Probably a better purchase if you’re visiting Paris and/or Barcelona. 2). The 3rd level Read More

Shaunna A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

This was our first Bike & Barge, but it won't be our last! The whole trip was fabulous, the biking, the crew, the food, the other passengers and Tripsite for organizing it all!

Kathleen R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Bicycling through the beautiful vineyards and the opportunity to visit picturesque towns.

Lawrence S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

This was my fourth bike/barge tour with Tripsite, and it was just as amazing as the other trips. Loved every moment. The ship and crew were simply outstanding. The only disappointment is that the itinerary said we would be in Metz for the evening, to even include a walking tour. We were greatly looking forward to it. However, we left Metz within an hour of boarding. It was a great topic of conversation among many passengers, who were also disappointed. So I’m not sure why we even started in Metz, to only leave right away and travel quite a distance to our first port. Other than that, it was as wonderful as each of my other Trip Site vacations.

Susan E.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The itinerary was terrific. We had fabulous guides who gave us lots of information about the sites we were visiting. The boat was very comfortable and the food was great. We had just 20 participants and everyone was very interesting and friendly. Can't wait for our next trip!

Dave H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

I worked with TripSite to plan this trip for 20 friends and family and they were fantastic to work with: flexible, friendly and professional. And the trip costs half of similar trips offered by US based bike tour operators. The Iris was a superb boat in great condition and the crew were amazing, with a special shout-out to the fantastic food! The riding was hard to believe: miles and miles of flat, scenic, history drenched wine country. Every days ride was enjoyable and had nice prizes and surprises along the way. Some of my group decided to stay on board for one or more days and got to relax and watch the castles go by, read a book, drink some great local white wine, and chat with the friendly crew. This particular tour: the Mosel between Cochem and Metz, was referred to me by a good friend who has done a dozen packaged bike tours and said this was his favorite. Now it's ours!

Derek G.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Aschaffenburg to Cochem
Germany

The biking.

Lynne P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The bikes were a problem everyday- not well maintained or just end of season but not good
The barge was very warm- esp with comforters- suggest availability of a sheet for these conditions. A soap dish is needed in the shower, the hair dryer was very inadequate. Need to have some sort of wax paper or plastic bag for the sandwiches- wrapping in napkins does not work. The barge should offer/highlight local wines!!! The whole point of this trip is particular.
Our guides Heddy and intern Micah were fabulous.

Laura H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Reik welcoming and friendly nature & Omar's cooking.

I learned never to be on the last trip of the season, the exterior of the boat was kinda 'sad' looking.

Guides should actually know where they are going and put safety of riders at the top of their concern. Paul was so careless he was dangerous.

I don't think I would've gone on this trip if I would've known that I wasn't free to ride/stop when I wanted to or even provided the route information. I've been on several trips with Backroads and this did not measure up.

Glenn S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Great scenery, great chef on the barge, nice boat, and great guides! Overall a great experience. However if I must find something that needs a bit of upgrading, it’s the bikes. They were getting pretty tired and needing tune ups. Some had bald tires and most lacked correct air pressure in the tires, on previous Boat Bike trips the bikes were much better maintained. It was the end of the season and the bikes had gone through a lot over the year was the reasoning, but I paid so I expect good bikes regardless of the time of year.

Rick C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

This trip was amazing with great scenery and a great crew and staff who were so friendly and fun. The towns we rode through were small but very interesting and loaded with history. The barge was perfect and similar to the different barge we were on with 12 cabins which we think is a great size. Our group of 11 met 8 amazing people from Canada and 2 others from the states who just made the trip so much fun with a lot of laughter. Time to start planning the trip for next year.

Linda G.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was my first bike and barge trip and it was wonderful! I plan to do more biking and cruising! It was fun traveling with 14 friends.

Johanne P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

I particularly enjoyed the beautiful scenery along the river and the little villages we stopped in.

Lauren L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Our week was the last week of the season and the ferry across the river to Luxembourg was closed. The guide saw how disappointed we were and offered us to bike an additional 14 km to be able to get to that country which was an unanimous decision by our group.

Clifford H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Traveling on the IRIS was nice. Highlights: Bike ride from the extinct volcano down to the Mosel was a great 40 mile ride (almost all down hill). The wine tasting excursion was set up by our guide Paul. Quite different than others I have been to. It was an intimate meeting with the owner of the winery that had been in his family since the 1600s. It rained (really just a mist) during 2 of our rides but with rain gear, it didn’t effect us.

Give me a call if you would like to hear some minor suggestions for improvement.

Roxanne L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Mosel & Saar
Germany

It doesn’t get any better than this !
What a fabulous time. After two years of rescheduling due to Covid we were so excited to take our trip aboard the Zwaan to cycle along the Mosel and Saar Rivers. Totally worth the wait.
The crew aboard the Zwaan was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms comfortable and clean , and always a hot shower. We enjoyed having drinks on the deck watching the sunsets. Our meals were very good and we had fun trying to guess the ingredients and urge our chef to share his recipe. The energy expended from the staff to ensure we we happy and comfortable was commendable.
The cycling path was way going and we were pleased we chose to take our trip in early October because it was the time for harvesting grapes and the process was fascinating. Our weather held out albeit a bit cool at times but it’s better than biking in the heat. The towns we visited along the way were charming. We would have welcomed more time in Read More

Ruth B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Riding the trails through the beautiful forests!

tim P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Merzig
Germany

Biking with family, romantic views from the river, the friendliness of the boat puppy and crew, wonderful dinner , and the stadt tours

Angela S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The friends we made during the trip were the highest point of the tour. We biked and hung out for drinks at the boat deck every night. The crew eas efficient, gentle and friendly. The food was exceptional. The cabins and showers were rather small.

Anieta W.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The Patria is a beautiful boat with highly motivated and cheerful staff so that every day is a party. The tour guide was very helpful and focused on making your holiday a successful one. The route is picturesque and beautiful, beautiful villages like Saarburg, Traben Trarbach, Beilstein, Trier. Places where you can drink your tea and eat the traditional cakes and have a beautiful view over the Mosel, those are the most precious moments. We have now done this tour for the second time, every day has his nice spots to see en enjoy of the river. We are already thinking about doing it again when the autumn colors are there. This is one of our favorite tours.

Cameron B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The visit to Burg Eltz was fantastic. If I could suggest, it is worth having it be the focus of an entire day, as going and coming back involves a relatively strenuous walk, as well as a ride.

Shirley Elizabeth C.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

This September my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed taking this tour for the second time (first April 2015). After taking 7 Tripsite tours this still remains our favorite due to the consistantly beautiful countrysides, lovely interesting villages, quality bike paths, and fantastic experience aboard the Patria. Not only are the port towns excellent, there are many wonderful places to investigate and enjoy along the ride every single day. We like it so much we plan to do it again in the future a bit later in fall to catch some color on route. Having taken both directions now our personal preference is Koblenz to Saarburg. We enjoy the northern villages with a hike to Berg Eltz most and feel the current routes are set up to enjoy this most fully coming from that direction. If your concern is avoiding inclines the south to north direction is your best bet since that is actually downriver. The southern villages are still outstanding, you just see more Roman influence mixed with the Bavarian half timber.

Patricia D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Great tour and fantastic boat. The Merlijn had it all - amazing food, friendly professional crew, gorgeous interior design, solid internet, spotlessly clean, and great communication. Several passengers had special diet requests that were thoughtfully accommodated. There are many small special touches - personal cabin intro, laundry folded neatly on bed, flavored cold water after biking, different table decor each night, espresso and small snacks available at all hours.

Our guide Lia was super energetic, friendly, knowledgeable and catered to the group's "wants". The first day fell into the moderate category - challenging surfaces (cobblestones, tank tracks, grassy sandy trails) and a long grunt up a hill in a field. Each day got easier with the last being an easy flat paved surface. Lia provided lots of information about the area's history, especially around WWII and its impact preunification. We visited churches, a castle, an artist's studio, and a Read More

Diane P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Going to Poland. This trip was too rural and remote. Very few stops and few points of interest. Mainly dirt paths or cobblestone paths that were very difficult to ride a bike on. The farm fields we drove our bikes through were awful, some were full of holes and quite dangerous. I do not recommend this trip for those who have back and neck problems or those who never have rode a mountain bike.

Bruce Z.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The places we biked to were wonderful....villages, river views, vineyards. The Iris was fantastic. Great crew, wonderful boat. Was very hot part of the trip and the crew did a great job adapting to the heat. Would highly recommend this trip.

Patricia G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The chance to (finally) reunite with friends made on a previous bike and barge tour! As before, we met many very nice people on our trip. The crew and guides were excellent, as were the accommodations. Iris is a lovely vessel. Ellen’s meals were superb. I can’t believe I didn’t gain weight!
The scenery along the Mosel was very nice and the biking was generally as advertised- easy. Day 2 was more challenging than expected with more hills (not steep but long). It might have been helpful to know in advance, as the description only mentioned the downhills. Strictly speaking, I’m not sure I’d classify it as an easy ride. Having said that it was a truly gorgeous ride.
I also enjoyed the ride through Trier. Rikko did an excellent job giving the historical background.
Rikko and Paul were eager for feedback on the days rides and open to suggestions during the evening briefing. As a result we often split into 2 groups, allowing riders to go Read More

Candace J.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

The captain, the crew, the beautiful and delicious meals and the lovely towns we biked through were wonderful. The entire trip was delightful except for directions from the airport and very very poor directions from Bamberg to the ship. Our taxi drivers could not find the boat with your directions and no one from tripsite would answer the phone. That was not a good start to the tour.

Arthur H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

Great time. Food excellent. Even swam in the river twice!

Carol G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Aschaffenburg to Bamberg
Germany

Absoloutely above and beyond my expectations. Crew and owner of boat gave went out of their way daily to make sure our needs were met. QUO vadis was a beautiful boat.