Ionian Islands Tour Reviews — 1 to 15 of 15

Gaios village on Paxos (Paxi) Island, Ionian Islands, Greece. CC:Anemos2000

Ionian Islands

8 days from €1995

4.5 out of 5

Ionian Islands

Moderate–Difficult Bike + Boat Tour in Greece

Welcome to Greece's Ionian Islands and your bike and boat tour in paradise! The fertile and lush landscape, fragrant with olive and pine, bursting with vineyards, is the backdrop for your cycling…

4.5 out of 5

 


Susan G.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

We liked the feel of the rustic boat, the Panagiota. Although far from luxurious, we found it comfortable. The cook, Nondas, along with the engineer and grill master, Makis, offered healthy and delicious creations for each lunch and dinner served on board. Dimitris and Alexandros were excellent guides, always attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. We couldn't have had better weather and each swim stop proved rewarding. The waters of the Ionian sea were breathtakingly clear and blue. The diverse set of fellow travelers also added exponentially to our adventure, with a special mention to Martin from Germany, who graced us with guitar and song our last evening on board. As our tour was the final one of the season, we also enjoyed the more quiet side of the many roads, ports and attractions we encountered.

Susan & Neal

Lynne D.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

This was our first bike tour & wont be the last! It was fantastic. The trip was well planned & everything worked smoothly. The guides, Demitris & Alex were the best, keeping us informed of the days activities, & always willing to answer our questions. The boat ride, scenery, plus informative facts about the area were excellent. Meals were outstanding, as well as the camaraderie between the guests. Our tour had only 13 guests, so we got lots of personalized attention! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience the Ionian Islands up close & personal by bike rather than from the seat of a tour bus!!!

Joe S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking the various islands is always a delight. The views can be magnificent and the riding a lot of fun.
The boat, however left a lot to be desired. Their was a significant amount of black mold in our bathroom. Several of the cabins leaked in the rain. There is no reason for this except for poor maintenance. Wood requires varnish and that was sorely lacking on this boat. On other trips (4) that we have been on the crew was always busy working on the boat. Not so with this boat. The crew sat around and did not do a good job of looking after the customers. I would never recommend this boat to anyone.
On the other hand, the two bike staff members were outstanding. They were able to react quickly to changing weather conditions and provided an outstanding experience.

Patrick B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike rides and touring the cities where we docked the boat. Some of the hills were steep and tiring and more e-bikes would be great.

Victoria A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Two weeks before our departure, we were notified that a negative Covid test was required to board the boat. This was after the date for cancelation. Two of the members in our party tested positive and could not board the boat. Neither one was symptomatic.
We experienced rain on the second night of the trip and two cabins leaked… a lot. Beds and clothes were soaked. No one offered to clean the clothes or dry them, and the leak was patched. It leaked again the next night.
The trip was cut short due to weather and we were loaded onto a bus and sent back to Corfu.
There were def opportunities to continue with some biking, but it was not a consideration.
Disappointed to say the least

Cindy C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The guys in the itineraries were awesome! It was a beautiful trip even though we got delayed with rain. They always had something interesting for us to do. My only constructive criticism would be the actual crew members on board the boat. They usually were just sitting around, smoking or reading on their phones. They should’ve been wiping down tables and chairs on the deck after a rainstorm so that we could sit outside. This was never done. We had to ask them for water to drink and or towels to wipe down I feel for the money they should’ve been coming up to us and asking us if they could get us anything or do anything for us. My roommate and I were also in a cabin that leaked on the bed every time it rains!. This should’ve been remedied long before the boat left off! The captain was great he did a good job! It really was a fun adventure. Thank you!

Andrew F.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

When on a trip that has many destinations, especially where travel includes boats and water, anything can happen to change the trip and require you to alter our expectations. I had one thing in my minds eye while the sea and the boat had another. This trip was a test of the adage "go with the flow". Even though we didn't get to visit all of the islands in the itinerary, because the group of people on the tour and the guides and crew, they made the best of it. Substituting a bike ride in the rain for a visit to an olive oil museum and winery. Swapping a long rolling boat ride for a bus and ferry that included a tour of a beautiful cave and folk museum.

The boat was old. You can look at this two ways, unique or in disrepair. I chose to look at it as unique, but others on the trip were forced to live with the disrepair issues. Be prepared to have your patience tested with some of the "features" in the cabins.

These are memories that, along Read More

Maura R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire experience was wonderful aboard the boat and biking the islands. The crew ensured we were fed healthy delicious food and we safe biking the hilly terrain.
The only bad experience was poor communication prior to the trip about COVID requirements.

Richard A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was fantastic, especially from the high points and we were fortunate to have dry sunny weather all week.
The guides and crew were great and once you had adjusted to the compact cabins it was thoroughly enjoyable.

Outright tip: the e-bikes really take the sting out of the challenging climbs

Timothy B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides were fantastic—could not have been better. Rides were beautiful with little traffic, and food was great.

Dawnetta A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a trip of a lifetime! What a way to see the Ionian islands. We are bike riders but opted for the e-bikes, just in case. It was perfect- and if you wanted to push yourself- you could turn off your bikes. Which maybe necessary with the unbelievable food served on the boat! Our guides and crew were incredible- sleeping below deck was a little warm, but they have an air conditioner- but If you could bring a battery operated fan to fasten on the curtain rod of porthole- it would make a difference- but this minor suggestion is not a complaint by any means! Highly recommend the trip and trip site made it that much easier! I look forward to the next adventure!

Cindy D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We felt like we were stars in a movie. People came to stare at our boat and see what all the Fun was about. Our swim stops in coves and bays were magical. The bicycling was a blast. Our guides we like friends we had known for years The food was better than excellent. We really didn’t want to leave.

Delfina
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Encantador tour por bellas islas con paisajes increíbles y un mar fantástico ... cálido y tan transparente que su color encandila...grupo de compañeros de viaje solidarios y con un plus de ensueño... Ferdinand un pequeño de 9 años ,nos deleitaba todas las tardes con su práctica de violín y navegando.. se puede pedir más?.Nuestros guías Catherine e Yannis unos schnuckiputzis adorables ..

Deborah L.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great Staff and Crew and Fellow Passengers.

Judith G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable parts: Cruising on the ship, cycling, swimming, good food and service. Jumping into the sea from the ship for swimming, discovering small islands not visited before on the bigger cruises. Shopping at reasonable prices. Visiting Delphi.