Greece Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 16 of 16

 

 Country: Greece • REMOVE

  • Island of Crete
    by Lowell Snow 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We just finished this tour of Crete, and for context I should say we are both in our 70's and ride quite a bit. So, Crete: The scenery, mountains and beaches are beautiful, the people are friendly, warm and accepting, the food is out of this world, and the biking was great for us. Some thoughts about the bike tour itself:
    We were provided with new Ideal eBikes that were exceptional.
    The routes were varied and generally perfect for us.
    Routes were described adequately, but GPS directions were great.
    Total elevation gains were substantial, but ok with eBikes.
    We were driven to each daily tour starting point, generally at high elevation.
    Our driver driver was excellent and extremely helpful.
    The price of the tour was very reasonable.
    We should have upgraded the hotels - some were minimally adequate.
    Overall we give the tour a thumbs-up and are very glad we went. The operator is very competent and provided a wonderful experience.

    Countries: Greece

  • Central Greek Aegean
    by David C. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? Bicycling to the monastery on Patmos

    Boat: Elara 1

    Countries: Greece

  • Central Greek Aegean
    by Julie B. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best Part? Getting to know new awesome people on the trip!

    Boat: Love Boat (formerly BB2)

    Countries: Greece

  • Cyclades Islands
    by Ruth Ann M. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    As we biked on the Cyclade islands of Greece, it was the amazing views across the Aegean and the myths and stories told to us by our guides that was the most memorable. The Greek food on the boat was also fantastic!

    Boat: Panagiota

    Countries: Greece

  • Central Greek Aegean
    by Annette K. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    An amazing experience with great friends

    Boat: Love Boat (formerly BB2)

    Countries: Greece

  • Central Greek Aegean
    by Kimberly H. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the various opportunities to swim in the sea, off the boat and at the beach. It was interesting to learn the unique history of each island we visited.

    Boat: Love Boat (formerly BB2)

    Countries: Greece

  • Central Greek Aegean
    by Bryan L. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The rides were the most memorable, very enjoyable and scenic. However there were a few issues. Disappointed with the bikes, for example the rubber on the pedals were so worn that my shoes constantly slipped on the exposed metal of the pedals. One of the guides switched his pedals with my bike, the guides seemed aware of the problem and it was obvious this issue had been raised before. Our toilet was leaking when we first arrived on the boat and we had quite a bit of water on the floor of the bathroom. Also the generator of the boat was switched off at night making the rooms uncomfortably hot. I don't understand why shore power wasn't utilized.

    Boat: Elara 1

    Countries: Greece

  • Central Greek Aegean
    by Terrie M. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Breathtaking views on hilltops on all the Greek islands. The narrow streets of Patmos and Lesos islands were fun and charming. The guides were knowledgeable and agendas fit the the groups ability. Thank you!

    Boat: Elara 1

    Countries: Greece

  • Cyclades Islands
    by Catherine G. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat was very tired. In our room the sink tap was not connected the pipe letting water into the toilet tank fell off the wall. The porthole wouldn’t open. Very few of the lights in our room worked. There was no comfortable seats on the boat, and we did not go where the tour was supposed to go because of the boat not being able to handle the weather. The crew was great.

    Boat: Panagiota

    Countries: Greece

  • Ionian Islands
    by Deborah L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great Staff and Crew and Fellow Passengers.

    Boat: Panagiota

    Countries: Greece

  • Ionian Islands
    by Judith G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable parts: Cruising on the ship, cycling, swimming, good food and service. Jumping into the sea from the ship for swimming, discovering small islands not visited before on the bigger cruises. Shopping at reasonable prices. Visiting Delphi.

    Countries: Greece

  • The Receptive (and Responsible) Traveler
    by MaryAnn Ley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved reading your perspective and it's very inspiring. I too, vow to be a receptive traveler. One of my favorite things to do is travel and meet people and participate in the local culture. We have been on 2 bike trips and have fallen in love with this type of vacationing. Planning our next trip- Croatia!

  • The Receptive (and Responsible) Traveler
    by Terri 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would love to be a receptive traveler! I think what you are doing is wonderful!

  • Halkidiki Peninsula
    by mary 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I did this tour in April of 2015 so as to experience it first hand. Though I knew it was a supported tour vs a tour in which a guide cycles with you, I was surprised by the level of support. The guide/driver stopped frequently, at every stop and turn, to be sure we were heading in the right direction and that we were all okay. We were provided picnic lunches (at times we even got to shop for ourselves) and ate at a small family owned restaurant as well one day. The scenery is spectacular, accommodations, lovely. Guide is very informative regarding what to see and do! Bikes were not brand new by any means but certainly well maintained. Great tour!

    Countries: Greece

  • South Greek Aegean Sea
    by Rolf Lange 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most everything was perfect, especially our guide Lars for both trips. Only problem was lack of AC on boat so sleeping not easy.

    Boat: Love Boat (formerly BB2)

    Countries: Greece, Turkey

  • South Greek Aegean Sea
    by Patsy Venema 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My first time on Greek Islands and this trip was superb. Our guides, Ali and Peter, were always available on the boat or the bike route to respond to our needs(which were few beyond what was already provided). The airport transfers were very helpful facilitated with cheap internal Turkey flights; we used Atlas Air. The weather was very hot in late August but we had lovely cool swims off the boat at the end of our rides. The steep Greek island hills were tamed with electric bikes by many of the riders. All the bikes were good and well maintained. Our room on board was spacious, had lots of storage space and a large bath. The boat chef gave us delightful fresh Mediterranean cooking on board; one meal a day on shore offered local food experiences. We really enjoyed the international mix of riders. I would go with Island Hopping again without hesitation.

    Boat: Love Boat (formerly BB2)

    Countries: Greece, Turkey

PWPC