Italy Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 181 to 210 of 323


Paula K.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

We loved the varied scenery and warm and friendly Italian people.
The hotel accommodations were very comfortable and more than adequate. We would have been satisfied with a less luxurious hotel in Trento. We would have liked to explore the town and find a different restaurant, but there was no time. That is one of the drawbacks of cycling so many miles between towns; not enough time to explore.
The Ave Maria and the entire crew were first rate. We want to particularly thank our tirelessly helpful and fun-loving guides, Marinella and Stephania. In addition, the food was artfully created and inspired.
Our one complaint is about the poorly written instructions on the 3-day, self-guided part of the trip, which sometimes caused stress. The instructions were not only terribly written, we also had different editions of instructions among our group of 12. The most exasperating time was at Riva del Garda when we cycled back and forth through the town at least 3 times, looking for the correct ferry dock, after asking and being misled several times.

John B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

We started out in Bolzano, going from Hotel to hotel the first three nights, and then on the barge for seven more. The scenery of the hotel to hotel was spectacular! The Ave Maria was a fantastic boat, the crew was great and very accommodating. The only negative is- I wish we could have spent more time in each town we went past. But with only ten days, squeezing anything else like more time is impossible.

Kim F.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Mantova to Venice was wonderful. Very pretty scenery with lots of unique places to stop.

Anne S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

We loved the beautiful, amazing mountain scenery (with very few hills) of the first three days. The written instructions, though, are of a badness difficult to describe. We rated the tour 4/5, and the lost star were because of the extremely poor instructions. If we hadn't had maps and stickers on sign posts, we wouldn't have been able to make it through. The frustration really distracted from the overall enjoyment of the trip - an English speaker with an accurate odometer really needs to rewrite the directions. For example, they talked about "crossing a railway" (or maybe a "railway bridge"), so we spent about 20 minutes trying to find a way to cross the railway - but really it meant to pass underneath an elevated railway crossing. Also, the symbol used to indicate a warning (I think of a turn easy to miss) is a hand pointing to the right. One not unnaturally assumes that this means a right turn. It does not.

Otherwise the barge, scenery, activities, food, and guides are all exactly what we hoped for and have experienced on earlier trips. No problems with luggage transfers, and the hotels for the first part of the trip were all great.

Art W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The food on the barge was terrific--as was our guide Fabio.
Come prepared for 5 serious days of biking as well as bringing the right/complete biking clothes.

Heather P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

A thoroughly satisfying experience in all departments!
The staff were welcoming and friendly, instructive and knowledgeable. I felt entirely safe in their hands.
Accommodation has been well designed and thought out. I shared a cabin with a friend and it was easy to find our own space within a relatively confined space.
The food was DELICIOUS! The meals exceeded expectations and were presented beautifully; the chefs having entertained us with their 'Two Ronnies' routine at the outset of each repast. I have made a batch of refreshing lemon and ginger cordial since my return, which is perfect for a hot summer day and reminds me of a very happy holiday.
The bike was a delight to ride. I'm not a regular cyclist and I found the daily trips enjoyable and, with the regular stops, entirely within my capabilities. The one day off I had, sailing along the canal, added an extra dimension as it was so restful and enjoyable to watch the wildlife and the scenery Read More

Ann W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Best part: Riding through amazing scenery and picturesque villages in Northern Italy!

David & Patsy
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Most Memorable Part? The poppy fields along the bike ride was especially beautiful. Instructions need some updating.

Stewart J.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Hein was a most engaging and entertaining guide/trip leader. The rides were well planned with interesting stops and sightseeing, beautiful scenery and it didn’t hurt that we had spectacular weather. Post ride relaxation and camaraderie on the deck was great as was the value priced bar for beer/wine! The evening dinners were wonderfully prepared meals, truly excellent and overall the trip was very affordable, an A plus value.

Elizabeth Dianne D.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Montova was a really lovely spot and I liked the cycling around there. It might be easier in the towns if the cyclists all had either jerseys or pennies to identify the group so locals see we are all together which would prevent us from getting cut off or unable to pass.

April S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Had an absolute great time on this Tour. Venice was amazing and Mantova as well. Our cook was Erica who is wonderful chef. Every meal was impressive— creative and delicious. This was my fifth bike/barge tour and she is definitely the best cook. Really enjoyed my fellow Travelers, as well.
Vita Pugna

Robert V.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Every aspect of the trip was as expected or better.

Jeanne W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Most memorable part? All of it! Fantastic! Most memorable: Hein! And Marco! The whole staff! Loved every minute. Loved the e-bike too.

Patti S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

I was so impressed with the level of service and detail on this trip. Completely exceeded all expectations from the guides and the rides to the food and the lodging. So much fun! It didn’t hurt that we had perfect weather. Hoping to do it again!

Joanne B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The best parts of the trip were the staff, the food and the camaraderie. The bike rides, the scenery and the towns visited could not have been better. It was an all around outstanding vacation!!!

Karilene M.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Every day was a new adventure, loved it all!

Ian S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Superb scenery, boat, bikes and guides. Delightful in every way.

Mary G.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Most Memorable Part: Biking with Hans as a guide and the side trips we made.

Nelson N.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy! Piano player and entertainer was a highlight.....food was fabulous.

Rita L.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Most Memorable Part: Being part of a bike family for a week with wonderful people from several countries! And our tour guide, Helmut ... Capt. Giovanni ... Crew/Chefs Sylvia and Samule, who made the week even more special! Riding through the small towns was fun!! Ready to go again!!!

Rochelle R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Most Memorable Part: Venice in the rain at midnight! Excellent food, great staff and guides.

Prosper B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

My most memorable part of these trips are always at the halfway mark when I realize they are almost over and I want them to go on and on forever. Italy is so beautiful and the ride to Montava is an extension of that beauty.

My suggestion is simple: Do it. Don't wait. Go on a big cruise ship when you are too old to walk, but as for now, if you're able to bike, you're able to bike tour. Touring is different than racing. Its relaxing and invigorating, spiritual and memorizing. Seeing Italy at ground level and at 11 mph is the only way to experience it, in my book.

Christine D.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our guide, Hein, was the absolute best. Knew everything about history, culture, architecture, food... Had a great sense of humor. Best guide in 10 bike/barge trips.

Susan E.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The trip was amazing: excellent food prepared by our 2 chefs; our guide was well-prepared, thoughtful, good-natured; the route was beautifully planned and educational, the bikes were more comfortable than my own, the weather was fortunately perfect, and we had a great group to bike with. The experience went way beyond my expectations . Can’t wait to plan the next biking adventure.

Laurie P.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Most Memorable Part: The beautiful scenery of Italy and the connections we made with the other guests!!!

Rosemary B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Most Memorable Parts: the swimming off the boat, out in the ocean after a hot bike ride, were amazing.
The historical information from our tour guides was outstanding.
The food was DELICIOUS.
Sunsets out on the water were glorious

Cynthia W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Everything was excellent! There were a limited number of available rental helmets, I highly recommend bringing one's own from home.

Rita L.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

What a wonderful week!! Excellent staff...Captain, Helmut, Silvia & Samuele! Food was 5-Star, very comfortable accommodations! Helmut was a great guide, knowledgeable and made sure we all had a good, safe time! Bike riding was so much fun and we saw many different towns and sights we would have missed in a bus! Meeting so many wonderful, fellow bikers from different countries was so enjoyable! This trip was more than I ever expected!! Loved it!! Definitely will travel with Tripsite again!!! Bike On!!!!

Patricia K.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Everyday was fabulous. So difficult to pick any one memorable part when you experience Venice, Grana Padana tour and tasting, the oldest clock in the world, a lotus flower lake and charming friendly people and staff.

Maureen B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was my third bike and barge with Tripsite, but it was not my favorite. The boat, crew and food were terrific. The route however was flat as advertised, but the night stops were not fun or interesting. Zelo had only a cemetery and an Irish pub. If I was asked by a friend which bike and barge to take for possibly a once in a lifetime trip, I would recommend Bruges to Amsterdam and the Mosul River trip first. We had a wonderful time and everyone on the boat and the guests were first rate. I would take another trip on The Ave Maria, but would want a more interesting route.