Italy Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 328

 

 Country: Italy • REMOVE

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Beverly V. 2 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Back on the boat with all of the new friends you had made during the bike ride watching photographs on the big screen of the day you had just experienced.
    Our guide, Michaela, made us a cohesive group from the very first night when she said that we must mix and mingle throughout the trip and meet everyone on the barge. She also challenged us to find a secret word somewhere during the day and record it on film

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Puglia - Heel of Italy
    by Marisa C. 2 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were really astonished about all the scenery we found along the way. The sea views were spectacular, the trails were peaceful and picturesque and the Italians in this part of the country were so kind, relaxed and helpful that they made us feel very comfortable and safe. The organization of this tour was excellent. We didn't encounter any type of issue. The hotels were great. No complaints at all. This was our second bike tour with Tripsite and we will definitely go for many more. We highly recommend this tour. We would do it again!

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Poreč
    by Diane Z. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This self guided bike trip was a great way to see the countryside. We biked through vineyards and along the coast for most of the trip. The written directions and maps given to us were very accurate and made navigating so much fun. My suggestion for others is to start early so you can make the most of each day. I'm so glad we did!

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Tina C. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I truly enjoyed this tour that included daily rides through the picturesque Italian countryside. Each day we biked through a variety of landscapes, stopping in small towns along the way for cappuccino breaks, lunch and local tours. The bike tour staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The boat crew was equally as wonderful, preparing wonderful meals each evening and serving them with a smile. Everyone bent over backwards to make this a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
    As for suggestions, I think the last leg from Pellestrina Island to Venice could be improved. The morning was wasted in a small town that was not really open for business. Why not take an earlier Ferry to Lido and spend more time there before heading to Venice?

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gillian C. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole 7 day bike/barge trip exceeded expectations in EVERY way! Very professional, helpful and friendly crew; great bikes and accommodation plus simply incredible food. A truly fantastic experience

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Gill and Martin C. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I travelled around the world from New Zealand to participate in this bike/barge trip - and that long journey was well worth it! EVERYTHING about the experience was first class and could not be faulted; the tour leader and cooking staff, the on board catering, the accommodation on the Vita Pugna, the e-bikes and the scenery were fabulous - and the two extra aspects to the trip (the weather and our fellow guests!) were also the best!
    As a result of the comments above, we will be thoroughly recommending this trip, through Tripsite, to anyone interested in this type of holiday......

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Rita W. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The warm companionship of the trip leader and staff on the boat was outstanding as well as the fabulous meals taken from local/seasonal sources. Bikes were kept in top working condition, the trails and tours followed scenic and cultural experiences, and the leader's interaction with the local people made for a most genuine and memorable trip.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Puglia - Heel of Italy
    by Deborah L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was all amazing. The food, the wine, the hotels, the route. we all had a lot of fun.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Matthew B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Crew on the boat (Captain Eduardo, Sylvia, & Barb) and our biking guide Antonella were all PHENOMENAL. The service and the food are first class.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Kimberly N. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the staff, Sylvia and Barbara and the delicious dinners! They were so cute and fun. Loved the cheese factory, and Antonella was a wonderful tour guide.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Denise O. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? Too many to decide! I really enjoyed the small, historic towns, the variety of landscapes, the excellent accommodation and the friendship within the group. Our bikes were excellent, the people from Good Place really helpful - would really recommend this trip to others.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Umbria - Gastronomy Bike Tour
    by Jane F. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every minute of the trip was amazing.

    Countries: Italy

  • Umbria
    by Catherine T. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We did the five day/four night tour and it was the highlight of our European holiday. Tripsite were easy and efficient to deal with throughout the booking process, and the team on the ground were also helpful and instructions were easy to follow and detailed. Most of the riding was on country roads, some quite busy, however drivers were generally considerate. Would definitely recommend doing the additional side excursions to towns even if it means an uphill climb. And for that reason would also recommend an e-bike unless you're a regular cyclist.

    Countries: Italy

  • Puglia - Heel of Italy
    by Richard r. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This tour was not my first choice, but I am happy I did it. The ride was along the beautiful Adriatic coast, the accommodations were great, the food was terrific. To make the package complete the guide, who is a part owner of the tour company, was outstanding. One of the best tours I have done.

    Countries: Italy

  • Puglia - Heel of Italy
    by Joni M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the trip despite the fact that a cyclist in another self guided trip was killed in a motor vehicle accident on the day prior to the start of our self guided bike tour. We were very cautious at all intersections as a result of the accident. It would be a good idea to include in the instructions that you provide to the cyclists that they should exercise caution at all intersections. The GPS was easy to follow although on at least 10 occasions it directed us to go the wrong way on a one way street. I was not comfortable riding the wrong way on one way streets and this should be corrected. On the whole the trip was great and I would highly recommend it and I plan to book another cycling trip with trip site again.

    Countries: Italy

  • Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, and Baroque Villages
    by Maria Luiza L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cities of Noto, Syracuse, and Modica. The architecture, atmosphere, and food...

    Countries: Italy

  • Venice to Florence - old version
    by Neil M. 2 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    We loved the small roads and bike paths often used to take us in to the villages. The accommodations were well placed in the towns with easy access to restaurants.
    Most memorable was the last day (finding the climb quite the challenge ) but the exhilarating run down worth it .

    To mention more signage in busy areas would be appreciated to put one at ease.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Donna 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Thank you for this very helpful review. We have only done one tripsite vacation which was fabulous.
    Were you using an ebike.

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Rogan T. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Bike with friends.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Barbara E. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to choose just one memorable part of the trip. Each day was filled with a new exciting adventure! Even riding a bike in an unexpected downpour was a fun experience when shared with cycling comrades. Seeking out a delicious gelato in a town square was a favorite activity. Exploring and discovering Italy while biking and barging aboard the Ave Maria was a truly delightful experience. Our crew was very helpful and eager to show us how proud they were of their country and all it has to offer. Pumpkin tortellini eaten at an outdoor restaurant was such an enjoyable eating experience! Grazie Mille for a truly amazing cycling adventure!!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Donald B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Especially loved the area of the Dolomite Mountains, from Bolzano to Lake Gardia, for the beauty and then arriving in Venice.
    Trip was extremely well organized; wonderful crew, special tour guides in Mantova and Venice, good food...and bravo to Vivian and Sonya, excellent guides
    The cyclists really got along well so that was an added bonus.
    First trip that was guided for us and I was pleasantly surprised. Other trips were self-guided and so was the first part of the trip, from Bolzano to Mantova.
    Lack of toilets on the way...

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Rachel F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was the first three days self-guided tour near the Dolomites on our 10 day tour.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ilene W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Mantova to Venice bike and barge on the Ava Maria! The crew, the ship, the food and our guides were outstanding! Also all the guides we had in the cities and venues were fabulous!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Terry W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As professional as the staff were and as delicious the food, the most memorable part of the trip was interacting with fellow travelers. Since the boat can only berth around 40, I was able to get to know almost everyone and learn about their countries and personal histories.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Dolomites to Venice
    by Alicia F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister, brother-in-law, and I highly recommend this tour. The views were stunning and the accommodations superb. Dobbiaco was our favorite stop with spectacular views of snow cap mountains, rivers, and UNESCO sites. A breathtaking experience!

    Countries: Italy

  • Heel of Italy
    by Dara W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guide book and route map for the heel of Italy tour were very detailed and informative. Each day there were highlights picked out and sites to see and additional loops to cycle that added interest
    The routes picked were along lovely rural roads as much as possible yet brought us through lovely towns and villages and we started in Materea the European city of culture this year
    Overall a very enjoyable holiday that was well organized by Tripsite and I would highly recommend these holidays

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Avace W. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were amazing. They worked hard to make sure all guests mingled with guests from other countries. Games played encouraged teams working together and finding new information about the villages we visited. Always extra surprises..like visiting the mussel fishermen, panoramic vista of Venice from rooftop. Training on how to use ferry system in Venice invaluable. I didn't think we could get a better tour than our 2018 trip, but this one exceeded all expectations. From snow in the mts. near Bolzano to swimming in the Adriatic, the differences in scenery was dramatic and thrilling. Bikes...so comfortable and fit perfectly. Didn't even need to wear my bike padding! Plenty of time to look around when we went thru villages. What can I say. This tour was the best!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Sandy H. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous trip. Filled with adventure. Highlights included guide, staff, food and overall camaraderie developed with a great group of people!

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Gorge M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Menu and food prep. much better than other bike and barge/cruises we've been on.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Connie M. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Venice to Mantua tour was excellent. We particularly enjoyed the stops for cultural and natural sites of interest. The food was wonderful and the staff very helpful.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

PWPC