Italy Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 558

4.7 out of 5

 


ANGELA S.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

I the whole experience was memorable, but the most exceptional was the food. Danny was truly a chef who was interested in preparing the meals with a purpose. He also kept good eating habits in mind, offering a great variety of vegetables in each meal.

Kerrie P.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

We had the most delightful Guide, Ilenia. She was just beautiful and so considerate and kind. We enjoyed only having 13 riders in the group. On 3 of the days, we were treated to authentic Italian food in little villages or out of the way places. Sadly, the choice of hotel in Lecce proved to be extremely disappointing. The other places we stayed were quite good and one, in particular, at Gallipoli was outstanding. There was quite of bit of road riding at times. The scenery in the Puglia region was average - lots of dead olive trees and in the back streets there is lots of dumped rubbish. Having said that, the trip was excellent and the group we rode with was fabulous.

Dona C.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Culinary Walking Tour
Italy

We stayed in Assisi and Spello and both were amazing, but we really loved Spello - less people. A local person there said that Europeans come to Spello, Americans go to Assisi. But it was great to have both experiences. Petra met us at our hotel and outlined everything and helped with maps on our phone. There were times that we thought we were following the written instructions, only to look at the map and see that we had strayed from the route. Although, it would be difficult to get lost. The hotels were perfect and the dinners and wine tasting at Sporletti when we walked from Assisi to Spello was such a bonus. Matteo, whose family owns the winery, was so good and we learned a lot about wine and the region. We stayed an extra day and had a great bike ride from Spello on the Appennino Bike Tour route. Petra was going to deliver bikes to our hotel, but at the last minute, the weather seemed questionable, so we cancelled, but then the sun came out. It was easy to get bikes in Spello. Everything was seamless. This is our second self-guided walking tour with Tripsite - and they have both been amazing. The Umbrian countryside is spectacular.

Judy J.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The excellent Tour Guides! I felt totally safe on every outing! They were so attentive to everyone's needs and requests.
Informed us about the areas we visited.
They were very respectful at all times.

Eva B.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

I loved everything about this adventure.
My ebike was easy to understand and to ride. The whole crew were so amazing, welcoming and attentive. Our meals were delicious. We rode through the countryside and along the river. At times we were on main roads..but not for long.
I had a memorable time on the Ava Maria, a very positive experience.I would definitely do it again.

Melinda R.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

What a great trip. This is the perfect choice if you are looking for a smaller boat and small crew. We really got to know the crew well and the other passengers. I enjoyed the guided bike tour and the Italian countryside is beautiful.

Janet C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

The first few days of unguided biking Bolzano to Mantova because of the beautiful surrounding mountains.

Kathryn S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

What a fun filled, adventurous week! Our guide, was wonderful-I would highly recommend doing this trip with a guide-having someone to explain the history and the customs of the area was invaluable.

Susan P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

The whole trip was amazing. The people, the food, the beauty of Italy. Illenia our tour guide took great care of us, along with Eunice. I am ready to do it again!!!

CARLOS Z.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

My wife and I had already taken the trip from Bolzano to Venice.
This year we invited three more couples and did the upper part of the Adige River, which was fantastic!
From Bolzano to Vernona is also a spectacle and, even passing through for the second time, neither the river nor we are the same.
Pure enjoyment, even though I cycled one day with heavy rain.
I highly recommend this tour.

Cecilia F.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

I loved the trip between Trieste and Portoroz.
The hotels were good anywhere. If I Can suggest I would prefer bicycles whit shock absorbers. The roads somethimes were very hard.

Hilton L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The view of the enviorment !! The security of the route and the group of friends were wonderful !!

Lisa S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sundial The Aeolian Islands of Sicily
Italy

The whole trip was fabulous. The boat was comfortable and crew and guide were very well informed and provided a great experience. The family who owns and runs the boat are capable, competent and helpful.

erik s.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

I enjoyed the trip very much. The first half of the trip was the best portion for the ride. The trail is mostly an elevated bike path with beautiful scenery and biergartens along the way. I took the hilly route leaving Bolzano and my thighs regretted that decision for a few days, but I got to see some amazing views on the way down.
Each of the towns along the route are great, my favorite being Verona. The Lake Guarda region in all is amazing. I am an artist and thrive on seeing art that is new to me. Most of the towns had museums, cathedrals or just buildings in general that sated my needs for visual engagement.
I made friends with a couple on the same tour and had an even better time than expected.
The weather was a bit rainy two or three days of the tour but I'd recommend just looking at weather apps and plan accordingly. There were always breaks in the weather.
The app works very well for guiding you through the lands. My new friends gave me the advice Read More

Peggy M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sundial The Aeolian Islands of Sicily
Italy

Our tour aboard the Sundial was fantastic. In addition to the gorgeous setting and the wonderful boat, what really made our trip special was the crew, a family operation. They were pleasant, interactive, hard working, and professional, all while making an extra effort to make our trip smooth and enjoyable. In addition, the food was excellent, with lots of seafood prepared differently each night. With only six couples on board, it was an intimate, fun atmosphere. My only suggestion would be for Tripsite, not the crew, and that would be to more accurately represent the difficulty of the riding. For my age, I am a relatively strong cyclist so I originally selected a conventional bike. Fortunately, during the bike fitting before leaving port, Angelo, the first mate, gave us an accurate description of the rides (many kilometers of 6% grade, etc.) and encouraged us to select a bike that would make the rides enjoyable, not a torturous workout. Because of that I switched to an e-bike, and I am very glad I did— I would have been miserable and not able to enjoy the beauty of the islands.

Michelle S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Loved our guide. She was very educational and kind. The farm to table eating experiences were fun.

Juan Carlos M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Hotel & Bikes perfect. Just check the hotel ubicaciones. 2 of that can be better.

Rebeca I.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Biking through the Italian country site was fabulous. We enjoyed a day and evening walking tour of Venice, we biked through two islands, Italy's largest wetland, the delta of the Po River, and several medieval cities. Hats off to the chef, Silvia, her food was amazingly delicious. Our guide Elena was knowledgeable, very helpful, and friendly. The Captain and sous chef were amazing.

Michael D.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The guide (Hugo) was excellent and made the trip. His personality was great. Food on the boat was better than most bike and barge trips we have taken.

Arriann M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The barge crew were very helpful and friendly and the group of people on the bike trip were fantastic. The barge rooms were bad - very wet and humid. The beds were wet with humidity. All clothing were wet with humidity and the rooms smelled very badly. We turned on the A/C but it didn’t help with the humidity and smell. If we opened the portholes, condensation dripped down on the bed. 4 of us got sick and I think it was due to the bacteria in the rooms.

Carlos F.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

Good staff in Hotel of Portopalo, good spots to go in Syracuse and Noto, great gastronomy in every city. A great experience overall.
I have one observation, some ways in roads with a lot of traffic + cars/bus fast passing us.
I would do this tour again.

Dan S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The Lake Garda and Adige river tour was a beautiful ride almost entirely on paved trails so minimal time was spent worrying about cars on the roads. Coming off the mountain down to Lake Garda is an amazing sight and definitely a highlight of the tour. Be sure and download the GPS tracks on your phone because those are the only directions you get.

Jo-anne K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The scenery through the Adige River valley is fabulous. The biking is not too strenuous since most of the days are generally downhill. The climb to the view over Lake Garda is beautiful. Really fun to cycle through so many small towns along the way and interesting to cycle along the shores of Lake Garda too.

Clifford C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

The entire trip was an insightful and delightful experience, providing access to the heart and soul of everyday-life in "working Italy", versus an antiseptic highlight-reel tour of famous monuments and churches. That said, the overwhelming uniqueness and timelessness of Venice couldn't help but be a highlight. I wouldn't have minded a somewhat more strenuous cycling experience; however, that was more than offset by the enjoyment of the comaraderie of a relatively small tour group (20), forged both on the cycling paths and over fabulous gourmet meals provided by the two young chefs aboard the Vita Pugna.

Raymond L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Bolzano-Mantova-Venice
Italy

Once again, we just came back from a memorable experience with this tour. We began with the self-guided section from Balzano to Mantova which was very well laid out with our GPS, then was welcomed aboard the Vita Pugna to continue the tour all the way to Venice with the most interesting and amiable Hugo, our guide for the week. Life aboard the Vita Pugna was excellent… friendly crew and excellent food! I would not change a thing.

Nancy Kloack
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Tuscany Bike Tour
Italy

We ar booked for the Best of Tuscany bike tour on Sept 16,2024. Our daughter Carly booked it for my husband, myself, and her. I’m just curious how many are you up to now on that week. We are so looking forward to coming to Italy.

Robin L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Our tour guides, Hein and Irene made the tour so special! The chefs, Alberto and Francesco were amazing. Captain "Van Gogh" was great. The tour was a blast from start to finish!

Yvonne L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

Fabulous trip!! We did this same trip 8 years ago
and returned again this summer with friends as it was our favorite trip… it did not disappoint!
Highly recommend….from the great scenery to the fabulous meals and amazing tour guides!

Mary D.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

It’s awfully hard to pick out “the most memorable” part of the trip. The whole experience was great: the biking, the connections made with fellow riders, the crew, the food, the boat. It was all top rate. I guess I’d have to pick out the biking as the most memorable. The points of interest along the way were great. I loved the cheese factory, the glass blowing place, the carnival museum and the distillery. I probably wouldn’t have chosen to visit those places if on my own, but in the end I truly enjoyed them. The Ave Maria is a beautiful boat. The bikes were almost new and in excellent condition. The crew (and guides) made everything go smoothly. The chefs took my food intolerances seriously and made it easy for me to enjoy the food on board.

David M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

The general organization of the trip, and the great staff aboard!
Disappointed with the scenery along the routes - often quite monotonous