Italy Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 218


Kathryn S.
7 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

What a fun filled, adventurous week! Our guide, was wonderful-I would highly recommend doing this trip with a guide-having someone to explain the history and the customs of the area was invaluable.

Susan P.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

The whole trip was amazing. The people, the food, the beauty of Italy. Illenia our tour guide took great care of us, along with Eunice. I am ready to do it again!!!

CARLOS Z.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

My wife and I had already taken the trip from Bolzano to Venice.
This year we invited three more couples and did the upper part of the Adige River, which was fantastic!
From Bolzano to Vernona is also a spectacle and, even passing through for the second time, neither the river nor we are the same.
Pure enjoyment, even though I cycled one day with heavy rain.
I highly recommend this tour.

Cecilia F.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

I loved the trip between Trieste and Portoroz.
The hotels were good anywhere. If I Can suggest I would prefer bicycles whit shock absorbers. The roads somethimes were very hard.

Hilton L.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The view of the enviorment !! The security of the route and the group of friends were wonderful !!

erik s.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

I enjoyed the trip very much. The first half of the trip was the best portion for the ride. The trail is mostly an elevated bike path with beautiful scenery and biergartens along the way. I took the hilly route leaving Bolzano and my thighs regretted that decision for a few days, but I got to see some amazing views on the way down.
Each of the towns along the route are great, my favorite being Verona. The Lake Guarda region in all is amazing. I am an artist and thrive on seeing art that is new to me. Most of the towns had museums, cathedrals or just buildings in general that sated my needs for visual engagement.
I made friends with a couple on the same tour and had an even better time than expected.
The weather was a bit rainy two or three days of the tour but I'd recommend just looking at weather apps and plan accordingly. There were always breaks in the weather.
The app works very well for guiding you through the lands. My new friends gave me the advice Read More

Michelle S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Loved our guide. She was very educational and kind. The farm to table eating experiences were fun.

Juan Carlos M.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Hotel & Bikes perfect. Just check the hotel ubicaciones. 2 of that can be better.

Carlos F.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

Good staff in Hotel of Portopalo, good spots to go in Syracuse and Noto, great gastronomy in every city. A great experience overall.
I have one observation, some ways in roads with a lot of traffic + cars/bus fast passing us.
I would do this tour again.

Dan S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The Lake Garda and Adige river tour was a beautiful ride almost entirely on paved trails so minimal time was spent worrying about cars on the roads. Coming off the mountain down to Lake Garda is an amazing sight and definitely a highlight of the tour. Be sure and download the GPS tracks on your phone because those are the only directions you get.

Jo-anne K.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

The scenery through the Adige River valley is fabulous. The biking is not too strenuous since most of the days are generally downhill. The climb to the view over Lake Garda is beautiful. Really fun to cycle through so many small towns along the way and interesting to cycle along the shores of Lake Garda too.

Nancy Kloack
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Tuscany Bike Tour
Italy

We ar booked for the Best of Tuscany bike tour on Sept 16,2024. Our daughter Carly booked it for my husband, myself, and her. I’m just curious how many are you up to now on that week. We are so looking forward to coming to Italy.

T James W.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Gastronomy Bike Tour
Italy

We cycled through some lovely countryside and saw some very lovely towns. Assisi was wonderful, but understandably busy given its historical importance. We had some very memorable events booked.

Stephen F.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda & the Adige River
Italy

This trip was a perfect couple tour with spectacular scenery, safe well maintained bike paths on a gently descending route and great hotels each night.

Donna C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Tuscany - Pisa & Florence
Italy

Beautiful scenery
Staying at the Silla Hotel in Florence was a highlight of the tour. I’m glad I had an extra day to spend in Florence

Richard S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce
Italy

This was our seventh bike trip with tripsite, but our first self guided bike trip on our own! We really enjoyed the experience! The Aberobello / Locorotondo area was our favourite stop on the tour, but we also really enjoyed the extra days spent in Matera and Lecce at the start and end of our tour. My wife took an E-Bike and I took a hybrid regular bike and both were great. My bike had a minor mechanical issue on day three, but a quick stop at a local bike shop arranged by our host resolved the issue completely! We thought the description of the tour in terms of difficulty was just about right, with some tougher challenges but primarily fair easy riding. Some of the gravel sections are quite rough but we did not find it difficult as we had ample time and travelled slowly throughout these areas. Great and varied scenery. Was not a fan of a few short sections on highways, as traffic was heavier due to a national holiday, but we managed. Lovely accommodations along the way.

Suzanne R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

Day One Bolzano to Trento, hilly wine route, was excellent.
All routes are ( with very few exceptions) paved and in good shape.
Most difficult was navigating into and through large cities.
The night at the Terme was wonderful!
And finally, we would have preferred to be located in 3 star hotels in more central zones of Verona and Vicenza.
We added the 2 extra nights at end of trip in Mestre, which afforded easy bus access to Venice.

Ian and Phyllis Paine
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

We booked this trip for September, 2023 and had numerous issues with this company. We are experienced cyclists both on regular and e-bikes, and have cycled in Europe previously. With Tripsite, on the first day, the bikes were delivered to us without helmets and even without a seat. On Cycling Day 1, one of the apps on our phones was blank and it took a while to get that reinstalled. Halfway through the route, we found ourselves stuck on the side of the road, as our bikes no longer had a charge. They were transported to our final destination for the day by van/shuttle. On Cycling Day 2, only one of the two chargers was working, so one bike was still dead. We used the only working charger to charge the second bike - which takes 3-4 hours. After an obviously late start, again the bikes were just not what was needed for this route. It is not "Easy-Moderate" as stated and we found ourselves pushing very heavy bikes up very steep hills. Again the bikes were not Read More

Christine M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce
Italy

Wonderful bicycling along rural roads without much traffic. The tour operator was welcoming and attentive. The accommodations were splendid! There was absolutely nothing negative about this trip!

kathleen o.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Excellent tour operator, very clear instructions, excellent communication and all of the included amenities met or were better than expected. Routes were great with minimal gravel or traffic and sites along the way well marked on the gps program . The included food was exceptional.
Highly recommend.

Josephine K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

The Sicily trip was wonderful. The route, the cities and towns, the countryside, and coast were beautiful. I loved the ancient history and architecture. Best of all we’re our two guides, Fillipio and Claudio. They know their Island and shared their knowledge and love of Sicily with us.

Mary Monahan G.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

This trip was fabulous! The organization from strt to finish was professional. The rides were challenging on the first two days. The rides along the water wee spectacular. The guides, Claudio and Filippo were outstanding. They organized fabulous experiences for our group both on the road while biking but also in the towns with tours and restaurants. I highly recommend this trip.

Louise V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

I loved our guides. They were always available and did all they could to make the trip fun, interesting and successful. They also were attentive to the groups safety. The cities we visited were unique and interesting.

Ann M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

The route was awesome and covered a wide variety of landscapes. The guides were knowledgeable, flexible and fun and scheduled many fun stops along the way. I was happy to have an e-bike but there were some very fit individuals in our group who managed with a hybrid. The accommodations were not fancy but fine and of course the food was wonderful! My favorite part was being able to swim in the Mediterranean Sea!

NADIA MARIA GIUDICE P.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Todo o percurso foi excelente. A meu ver, as rotas indicadas não foram muito claras para a localização da rota. Já fiz outros tour pela tripsite e o mapa impresso foi mais fácil de compreender.

Kimberly T.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence
Italy

This tour helped us see Italy in a different way than usual! We loved visiting the small towns and seeing some lesser traveled parts of Italy. Each city/town was unique and was worth the visit. Every detail was so well planned by Tripsite and communication was fantastic. The app we used was clear and easy to follow as we cycled. We especially loved the cooking class we took- that was a highlight of our trip!

Paul B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Gastronomy Bike Tour
Italy

Dinner/wine tasting with Luca and Roberto.

The written route directions could be made a bit clearer. I would suggest you have a native English speaker try riding the routes and make changes as (s)he goes. They were okay but there were a few places where they were difficult to follow. The GPS is definitely helpful but sometimes it lagged so the written directions are needed.

Debra L.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce
Italy

The places you suggested to go to were all great along with the vouchers … and you definitely needed someone to read the GPS correctly since it could be tricky. I would also suggest an electric bike if people are thinking about it all since there are a lot of hills but all doable and needs to be see on the trails.

Charles H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

The inland parts: more hilly and definitely a more rocky tandscape.We were disappointed with the Trpsite information we did not receive prior to arriving: no water bottles provided; use of an app on our phone that we barely managed to get to function before heading out. Again Solentobihpkes was fine. They just didn't know what Tripsite had not told us. For navigation we had no reason to not expect a freestanding Garment like device like friends on other trips had. "And, by the way, did you bring a battery pack since the phone will quickly run out of power?" Luckily the tour company had an extra pack for us. Others seemed to have been told about the navigation system and the need for battery pack. They probably books with a different agency.

Chris S
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

This was our third self-guided bike tour with Tripsite. The local operator did a great job. We had a pre-meeting about a week prior to the tour where they overviewed the tour and helped us set up the RideWithGPS app on our phones. They met us at the hotel in Muggia with our bikes, panniers, chargers (we upgraded to ebikes which I would recommend), bike locks, spare tubes, etc. The bikes were in excellent condition and the GPS navigation worked well. I purchased a handlebar phone holder on Amazon which was convenient for following the route on RideWithGPS.

Why only three stars for this review? We did not think the route along the rail trail was very interesting. Much of it was through scrubby forest and fields. Very few villages. Parts of the trail were quite rough gravel. The last couple of days up the coast were more interesting. We felt that the other two self guided bike tours we have booked through Tripsite (Around Lake Constance and Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour) were much Read More