Italy Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 153


Teresa and Bob Biancardi
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Istria to the Adriatic Tour
We are now back from our September biking trip and wanted to take this opportunity to our wonderful guide Andrej, you, and everyone else involved in planning this tour. We had the best time and for us, it was an experience of a lifetime. While we are active boomers, we are not bike ridders and didn’t have a total idea of what to expect. The tour met and went above our expectations. When Andrej asked what the highlight of our trip had been, all I could say was that everything in the tour was a favorite and special. From biking the beautiful coast and country side, to stopping at local roadside cafes for refreshment breaks, to visiting historic and quaint medieval villages and towns, it just didn’t get better than that. Our group was small and intimate and much fun. We managed on the many different terrains, some which we found to be more challenging than others. The highway rides were scary, but all part of the adventure. The food was excellent, wine and hotel rooms, all terrific.

Continued success and again many thanks!
Teri and Robert Biancardi

Rita P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce Food & Wine
Italy

We really enjoyed the small group of 11 guided experience. The accommodations and dinners included were exceptional nice.

We found the biking experience challenging—not the number of miles, but the condition of the paths. We were often on abandoned, bumpy, poorly kept roads or busy roads. Rarely were we on a bike path.

My e-bike had structural defects that held the battery to the frame and no front shock absorbers.

Our guide Suzanna was very fun, friendly and accommodating to our group!

Jeanne D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce Food & Wine
Italy

Most memorable part was our lovely and very fun guide. We loved spending our week with Susanne! She was knowledgeable about the area and so kind and accommodating to everyone’s needs. The accommodations where amazing along with the food and activitie;, wine, cheese and local shop tastings.
I would suggest letting bikers know of the rough roads we had to bike on, not paved. It took a lot of concentration and energy to navigate the rocks and pot holes.

Aileen P.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce Food & Wine
Italy

Susanna our guide was amazing. Very good with making all feel a part of the team and informative about the region. Make sure you only bring carry on luggage. Because of the rain and mud I was very glad I ordered an E bike. The lodging and the meals were all excellent

Carlos Z.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Venice
Italy

Passeio excelente, com ciclovias bem pavimentadas e bem seguras. Um lugar mais belo que o outro. Hotéis de quatro estrelas, mas de primeira categoria.

Lázaro N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

All the trip was memorable. Starting in Pallazolo Acreid, where we saw a unique demontration of the christian faith, on the main church. The next city, Modica is a quiet village, so nice. The biking was allways on the road, with cars besides. No problem, because the traffic was ease. The two most beautiful cities are Noto and, of course, Syracuse; the Archimede’s city. Dont miss the visit to Archimedes museum and the Neapolis, the ancient city of Syracuse.

Leonardo T.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Tuscany - Pisa & Florence
Italy

The secondary roads and the fabulous landscapes

Christine B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

The Agrotourism tastings. They were with local farmers, bakers and they all greeted us with such warmth and hospitality.

ARIE L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

The old cities of Lecce, Otranto and Gallipoli impressed me the most.

In regards to hotels, the one in Lecce was Unsufficient, contrary to the rest of the hotels which were very good.

The guide was outstanding... With a lot of knowhow, patience and very friendly

Corinne l.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Making it up the hills. Make sure to pack extra water and snacks for yourself

Kerry l.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Fantastic group of riders from all over the world..ride from Lecce to Otranto was simply the best
Breakfast and dinners were very well organized
Would like to have seen more snacks during the day and more visits bt the support van
Should also consider an additional guide for the back of the group…cycling pace was very slow at times

David M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

This tour is absolutely gorgeous! Great biking all the way, beautiful scenery and tons of history. Highly recommended!

Lorne E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

The routes were good and the right length each day. I would have like to have received the route information details in advance as requested so that stops could have been planned. We received the route details only a few days prior to the trip. In addition the GSP provides was somewhat difficult to use and didn’t always provide good directions. Ended up using my cellphone GSP which provided better directions. Without the cellphone we would have wasted much more time with the GPS provided. Upgrading to a newer GPS is needed.

Steven M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Florence to Rome - Self Guided
Italy

Had a wonderful time cycling the Florence to Rome self guided tour. Stayed in beautiful little historic towns along the way with lots to see and do. The food and wines were absolutely delicious. The hotels were friendly, accommodating and provided a great breakfast to start the day. Most importantly, the navigation app was easy to use and provided worry free navigation while cycling through bike friendly routes.

Ali B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Verona
Italy

Hotels were pleasant. Well organized tour.

Ambrose M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Overall very enjoyable. There was however a big discrepancy between some of the accommodation eg Neptune Hotel was superb while the hotel in Porec didn’t have an elevator. Some of the bedrooms were very spacious and others were very very cramped.

Barry S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Most memorable part: Trip into and out of Venice

Yael N.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria
Italy

Overall the trip was a great success.
The accommodations were fine. All clean and well kept. Air conditioning did not always work properly.
Bikes were in great condition throughout the entire trip.
Suggestions: we took road bikes for the trip and followed routes for these bikes yet several locations were very uncomfortable for riding. Roads with lots of potholes and gravel not meant for road bikes.
Overall experience was very positive and the company's organiztion was great.

Tom B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Diversity of the scenery, which was beautiful. A good portion of the route is right along the Adriatic, which we jumped in several times. The Adriatic is very nice.The rest of the time we were cycling through forests, vineyards or old train tunnels on our way to mountain/hilltop villages. Stunning views from all of the hotels. The people in Slovenia and Croatia were friendly and often times very engaging.
We also took a day trip, before the start of the cycling journey, to the interior of Slovenia. Beautiful country… very clean. Ljubljana is a very cool city. Would recommend if time allows.

Pauli R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Gastronomy Bike Tour
Italy

Trip from Spoleto to San Luca was great overall, enjoyed the scenery. Visiting Montefalco was awesome. Arriving in Santa Barbara hotel with a pool waiting for us was a great surprise at the end of the day.
Tip: gpx tracks were excellent in use. I brought a box with me from home attached to a bike for the phone to follow tracks during riding. The problem was seeing track in a sunny day. I had to stop once in a while where shade was available in order to stay on the right road.
I do not know how to improve this challenge.

Kathy Feeley
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

This tour was described as having a dedicated bike path and great for families.After completing it today I have to disagree.
Long stretches (20 kms) of Parenzana path were like washed out river beds, full of deep loose gravel and rocks.Unless-you are used to this surface then it is very slow going,scary and dangerous .
My cycle buddy and I both fell off twice,and had cuts and bruises.We have cycled all over Europe and have never been on anything like this.We did cycle from Piran to Grojnan and Grojnan to Motovun and the path was really bad,a goat track in some parts.
We caught a taxi from Motovun to Porec as the Komoot map indicated 20 kms of unpaved path through the forest and no roads to turn onto if we needed to escape .
This state of this path really is atrocious and it’s the worst self guided tour I have ever done

Yael Silverberg-Urian
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce Food & Wine
Italy

Where to begin for a tour that was wonderful for the easy to moderate rides, stupendous for the foods we were given, joyous for the chance for two 60 yr old sisters to be together for our 3rd Tripsite bike adventure! The tour operator, Guilia, was kind and very prepared so we began smoothly and ended the same. In between we had some easy rides, some challenging rides (weather very hot this July!), 2 flat tires and a whole lot of smiles with breathtaking towns, juicy figs, cherries, olive trees and grapes bordering our riding paths. A cold beer or Rose was our prize at the end of each ride! We were given 4 Tastings: wine, cheese factory, Meat/Cheeses, and more wine!! And dinners to make any who love Italian cuisine salivate! We felt safe throughout our travels. Some of the paths could use some work but we are always the "cup 3/4 full" kind of people, so we plowed through everything and were so happy. We arrived in Matera a day early to enjoy its beauty and would have loved to Read More

Audur H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda
Italy

Everything is memorable

Jim P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

The scenery was incredible. The bike paths are well maintained and made for an easy trip. My only suggestion is to have the hotel in Bolzano closer to town. It was pretty far from downtown however the people were very pleasant. Luggage was late a couple of times. One was due to car trouble. Can't predict that.

savi m.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

Fantastic trip and really well looked after by the local representative

Gudrun R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

The tour was overall great! It was like biking in a painting with this beautiful senery

Amber E.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Brenner Pass to Venice
Austria, Italy

The scenery was incredible

Rosemary F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

We really loved the Venice to Poreč tour. Pedaling along the Adriatic with the wonderful views was stunning! We also enjoyed the Italian, Slovenian and Croatian countryside and extensive bike paths, most of them paved. Biking in these countries is a way of life so we felt respected by the car drivers when we were on the roads. We would suggest to future self-guided travelers that reading the extensive information on the "Ride with GPS" app enhances the trip experience and helps avoid confusion. We did not realize until after the tour was complete that scrolling past the prominent "Navigate" button each day would also give us a turn-by-turn cue sheet. We would have avoided a lot of extra km each day :-)

John-Michael P.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria
Italy

We really enjoyed exploring Assisi, Montefalco, and Bevagna on foot.

Sherry Hoerl
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

We did this tour self-guided and it was a memorable and remarkable experience. In late October, this part of Italy is nearly empty so there was very little traffic and in some of the hotels and restaurants, we were the only guests. The route is spectacular and we were very lucky to have perfect weather. There are a few long, steep climbs and some of the unpaved sections were pretty rough. It would have been significantly harder in rain or heat, but the easy-moderate rating is fairly accurate. The local tour operators were great. There were a few glitches along the way but they were always very quick to respond and worked everything out for us. Using the gps required a bit of a learning curve and was a little tricky in the towns where there were a lot a quick turns.
The hotels, meals and tastings that were included in this tour were all outstanding and very unique. Would highly recommend this adventure in a part of Italy that is definitely off the beaten path.
This was our second bike trip with tripsite and we look forward to planning our third!