Italy Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 201


Ian and Phyllis Paine
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

We booked this trip for September, 2023 and had numerous issues with this company. We are experienced cyclists both on regular and e-bikes, and have cycled in Europe previously. With Tripsite, on the first day, the bikes were delivered to us without helmets and even without a seat. On Cycling Day 1, one of the apps on our phones was blank and it took a while to get that reinstalled. Halfway through the route, we found ourselves stuck on the side of the road, as our bikes no longer had a charge. They were transported to our final destination for the day by van/shuttle. On Cycling Day 2, only one of the two chargers was working, so one bike was still dead. We used the only working charger to charge the second bike - which takes 3-4 hours. After an obviously late start, again the bikes were just not what was needed for this route. It is not "Easy-Moderate" as stated and we found ourselves pushing very heavy bikes up very steep hills. Again the bikes were not Read More

Christine M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce
Italy

Wonderful bicycling along rural roads without much traffic. The tour operator was welcoming and attentive. The accommodations were splendid! There was absolutely nothing negative about this trip!

kathleen o.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Excellent tour operator, very clear instructions, excellent communication and all of the included amenities met or were better than expected. Routes were great with minimal gravel or traffic and sites along the way well marked on the gps program . The included food was exceptional.
Highly recommend.

Josephine K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

The Sicily trip was wonderful. The route, the cities and towns, the countryside, and coast were beautiful. I loved the ancient history and architecture. Best of all we’re our two guides, Fillipio and Claudio. They know their Island and shared their knowledge and love of Sicily with us.

Mary Monahan G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

This trip was fabulous! The organization from strt to finish was professional. The rides were challenging on the first two days. The rides along the water wee spectacular. The guides, Claudio and Filippo were outstanding. They organized fabulous experiences for our group both on the road while biking but also in the towns with tours and restaurants. I highly recommend this trip.

Louise V.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

I loved our guides. They were always available and did all they could to make the trip fun, interesting and successful. They also were attentive to the groups safety. The cities we visited were unique and interesting.

Ann M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Sicily - Syracuse, Noto Valley, & Baroque Villages
Italy

The route was awesome and covered a wide variety of landscapes. The guides were knowledgeable, flexible and fun and scheduled many fun stops along the way. I was happy to have an e-bike but there were some very fit individuals in our group who managed with a hybrid. The accommodations were not fancy but fine and of course the food was wonderful! My favorite part was being able to swim in the Mediterranean Sea!

NADIA MARIA GIUDICE P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Todo o percurso foi excelente. A meu ver, as rotas indicadas não foram muito claras para a localização da rota. Já fiz outros tour pela tripsite e o mapa impresso foi mais fácil de compreender.

Kimberly T.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence
Italy

This tour helped us see Italy in a different way than usual! We loved visiting the small towns and seeing some lesser traveled parts of Italy. Each city/town was unique and was worth the visit. Every detail was so well planned by Tripsite and communication was fantastic. The app we used was clear and easy to follow as we cycled. We especially loved the cooking class we took- that was a highlight of our trip!

Paul B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Umbria - Gastronomy Bike Tour
Italy

Dinner/wine tasting with Luca and Roberto.

The written route directions could be made a bit clearer. I would suggest you have a native English speaker try riding the routes and make changes as (s)he goes. They were okay but there were a few places where they were difficult to follow. The GPS is definitely helpful but sometimes it lagged so the written directions are needed.

Debra L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Matera to Lecce
Italy

The places you suggested to go to were all great along with the vouchers … and you definitely needed someone to read the GPS correctly since it could be tricky. I would also suggest an electric bike if people are thinking about it all since there are a lot of hills but all doable and needs to be see on the trails.

Charles H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

The inland parts: more hilly and definitely a more rocky tandscape.We were disappointed with the Trpsite information we did not receive prior to arriving: no water bottles provided; use of an app on our phone that we barely managed to get to function before heading out. Again Solentobihpkes was fine. They just didn't know what Tripsite had not told us. For navigation we had no reason to not expect a freestanding Garment like device like friends on other trips had. "And, by the way, did you bring a battery pack since the phone will quickly run out of power?" Luckily the tour company had an extra pack for us. Others seemed to have been told about the navigation system and the need for battery pack. They probably books with a different agency.

Chris S
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

This was our third self-guided bike tour with Tripsite. The local operator did a great job. We had a pre-meeting about a week prior to the tour where they overviewed the tour and helped us set up the RideWithGPS app on our phones. They met us at the hotel in Muggia with our bikes, panniers, chargers (we upgraded to ebikes which I would recommend), bike locks, spare tubes, etc. The bikes were in excellent condition and the GPS navigation worked well. I purchased a handlebar phone holder on Amazon which was convenient for following the route on RideWithGPS.

Why only three stars for this review? We did not think the route along the rail trail was very interesting. Much of it was through scrubby forest and fields. Very few villages. Parts of the trail were quite rough gravel. The last couple of days up the coast were more interesting. We felt that the other two self guided bike tours we have booked through Tripsite (Around Lake Constance and Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour) were much Read More

Alexander R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

This was the first bike tour my wife and I had done together. We intentionally chose the Puglia tour because of the moderate daily distances and relatively flat terrain. We went out of our way to choose the guided tour option departing Sep 16 but due to a monumental mistake on my part, we ended up booking our flights at a later date and switched to the Sep 23 self-guided option.

The tour was very enjoyable. We were fortunate in that the weather was clear and the temperatures mostly moderate, with only a short interlude of rain on one of the days. Some of the riding was by the coast, but much of it was slightly inland, amongst olive tree groves and small, quaint Apulian towns. The hotels were satisfactory, the reserved dinners were generally very good, and the reserved breakfasts were acceptable. The self-guided option worked out very well, the maps were easy to follow, and it would likely become our default approach in future. We did meet a number of others along the way, Read More

MARIANA S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Florence to Rome - Self Guided
Italy

The way the organization of the tour and attention to detail is remarkable. The places chosen to stay during the tour were the best. The routes are also so well planned and I really enjoyed myself on each day. It was an amazing experience, I feel very greateful and happy with the tour :)))

Please have this kind of tours in Mexico!

Brent L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Florence
Italy

Touring the beautiful countryside and visiting the pleasant towns otherwise not likely going to see was memorable.

Devon B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

The scenery was stunning! What a great way to experience a place... by bicycle! It was really nice having TripSite porter our bags for us. That left us free to explore all day as we saw fit. Tips... Bring an extra power bank battery for your phone (you'll need it!), bring a handlebar mount for your phone and above all else, don't forget your padded shorts like I did!

Norman F.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

The coastline rides, most restaurants and hotels were to our expectations. The scenery inland was not something I would do again. The landscape inland is littered with dead olive trees and and after 1 day of it, it becomes very repetitive.

Chris s.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

The local tour operator did a great job. We had our pre-trip meeting via Zoom a few days prior to our trip where Andrej overviewed the trip and answered all of our questions. The nine e-bikes for our group (we paid the small upgrade fee for e-bikes) were delivered to our hotel in Muggia on the second morning of the tour. They also provided chargers, locks, spare tubes, pumps, tire irons, and large Topeak trunk bags with expandable panniers. They were very organized and the equipment was in great condition. We had all installed RideWithGPS on our phones and downloaded the route. The logistics of the trip worked out well.
Why only three stars? The route along the Parenzana rail trail is not very interesting. It does not go through many villages and many parts of the trail consist of coarse and/or loose gravel. The last two days when we left the rail trail and rode along the coast were much more interesting. We have done two other self-guided bike tours with TripSite (Lake Constance and the Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour) and found them to be much more interesting.

Cheryl Smith
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Saint Moritz to Lake Garda E-Bike Tour
Switzerland, Austria, Italy

This is my 6 th European cycle tour in two years. Overpriced and overbooked. Avoid this shameless money grab at all costs. An enormous motor coach with limited access to parking lots and some tour stops replaced the advertised support van. Thus, Zero ability to stop during an accident or transport an injured rider—- which happened twice. There were no picnic lunches provided. We were handed a cheese/cured meat sandwich with optional banana/apple and choice of energy bars every morning. Meals provided were high-carb, low cost— as sub standard as the accommodations. Our last hotel provided rooms with, I kid you not, two flights of stairs within the room. At least it had an elevator. Many of the places we stayed did not. At first, we were expected to transfer our own luggage to/from the bus and back. As well as our e-bike batteries and chargers. The last few nights our luggage was actually taken to our rooms— a huge relief. When heavy rains set in and I asked Read More

Valerie P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tuscany - Pisa & Florence
Italy

The downhills through the vineyards. Lucca was amazing. Riding through Pinocchio country and DaVincis birth place were great. Florence and seeing Michaelangelos David. Riding was perfect . The climbs were hard but doable

Jean R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Verona
Italy

The first leg is fantastic. Savor it! Stop at all the bicycle cafes, fruit stands and waysides. Each is unique and delightful. Take a mid morning espresso! With the Dolomites cradling the cycle path, the beauty is breathtaking.

Greg C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bolzano to Verona
Italy

The cycling paths are excellent. We enjoyed the cycling culture, ie cycling cafés along the route, cycling setups at the hotels and knowledgeable hotel staffs.

The hotels were nice expect for the Hotel Dori, it was 2 star at best.

The cycling routing around Riva del Garda and Peschiera along the beach front was not good. We were on a narrow path with pedestrians , strollers, scooters and paddle boarders. This routing requires updating including riding on streets or highways. It would be safer and more efficient.

To discuss the routing issues I’d be happy to talk to you about it, either by phone or email.

Colleen Y.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

Great scenery along the water and nice hotels in the towns Really enjoyed the towns we stayed in Bikes were great and comfortable and staff was friendly Too tired to swim but saw many beautiful swimming spots. We did self guided so Got lost a bit and ended up doing 70k all days except 1. Overall fun experience and would recommend seeing Alberobello and Matera while in the south of Italy as a side trip.

Peter M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Dolomites to Venice Road Bike Tour
Italy

Scenery thru Dolomites was spectacular, mapping GPS guides were excellent, buffet breakfast at Belluno was beautiful in the Villa. Cycle climbs were challenging but rewarding. It was exactly what we had in mind, self-guided, no deadlines to arrive, nice Pinarello road bikes, we traveled 500 KM with no flat tires in either of our bikes. Each hotel was expecting us and our luggage was waiting of us at every location. Hotels were well located near restaurants and close to central town areas. Wonderful chance in a lifetime trip.

ghilaine c.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Tuscany E-Bike tour
Italy

Very good bikes, very nice roads,
Very good organisation and hotels and we the road and visit to Pisa

Trindl C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

Leaving Innsbruck on the bikes was so exciting! It was wonderful to know that our luggage would be safely transported to the next hotel and we could just enjoy the scenery. The paths were well marked and going in and out of little towns was such a joy. The route was wonderfully planned and each day was just the right amount of biking. Definitely take time to swim in the Kalterer See. It felt so wonderful after a day of biking on a hot day.

Pétur Bolli J.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Garda
Italy

Very nice hotel, Enjoy Garda Bike hotel, we recommend to stay there and the staff is so helpful and nice.
Perfect stay :)

Betty N.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

This tour was a big disappointment for me. Before you book read this review!
First of all, the itinerary: Days 1-4 are a waste of time. Don’t expect to see anything scenic or interesting for 4 days. First night/day 2 are in maestre, you may as well be in Akron Ohio. Boring, industrial, hotel is next to some car dealerships. Cycling begins with a trek through Maestre into Venice where you catch 2 ferries. BEWARE, ferry #2 takes max 4 bikes, as 28 lined up behind us to load only 4 every half hour. Some waited 3-4 hours to get on a ferry. Day 2 ends in Carole. What a dump. Cheap cheesy family destination for young families on limited budget, hotel smells of wet towels. The cycling is a grueling mix of relentless sunshine with nary a patch of shade, endless cornfields and gravel and dirt “roads”.
Did you want to see the Adriatic? You will have to wait, cornfields, and bumpy gravel roads await you. Occasionally we passed through some of the most unremarkable Read More

Valeen H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Puglia Food & Wine
Italy

We felt the whole trip was great . Our accommodation and food and wine was excellent.The e-bikes we had were awesome! The scenery was really beautiful especially from Otranto down to Santa Maria Lueca and we met some wonderful new friends that we will keep in touch with!