Sweden Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 35

 


Daphne H.
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

Nice countryside.
The regular Trek bike was good. Those who needed an e bike had a lot of challenges.

Anne S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

This tour was very well organized, and out of at least 6 self-guided bike trips that we've taken, the only one that didn't have mistakes/errors in the maps and/or GPX tracks. Every hotel was expecting us and we didn't have to sort out a booking made under someone else's name (also a first). The scenery was lovely, and the second day of biking was among the top two I've ever had. The last day of biking within Stockholm itself was the highlight of the trip for the other members of the party (I missed it due to a headache). We went several days early and enjoyed spending time in Stockholm itself - a beautiful, clean city, well set up for bikes. Many thanks to Carmen who did a wonderful job and covered every detail.

David J.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

Denmark is beautiful! Magical! Historical! It offers something for everyone—dedicated cycling trails along the North Sea, single track paths through lush forests, medieval forts and palaces, world-class museums along with cosmopolitan cities where you can feel perfectly safe riding a bike. This was our 8th self-guided excursion arranged through TripSite and it was well-organized and executed, as always.

Our e-bikes were reliable and durable, enabling us to cover many miles easily with loaded saddlebags. All the inns/hotels had dedicated parking for guests’ bikes. Breakfast buffets were outstanding with generous offerings to get us started for a day of cycling. BikeGPX was extremely useful in providing turn-by-turn guidance in real time. Our local bicycle/luggage transfer person was prompt, knowledgeable and courteous about scheduled meetings and bike drop-off/ delivery of our luggage every afternoon.

We would return again to Denmark in August in a heartbeat! Read More

Mary W.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The trip was wonderful. Riding along the coast line of Denmark was full of spectacular views. The one day in Sweden was beautiful. The bikes were very comfortable and rode well. The pick up and drop off of our luggage was great. The luggage was always at our hotels when we arrived. The hotels were great and the breakfasts were good. We really enjoyed this trip and the opportunity to see different parts of Denmark and Sweden.

Phyllis M.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The gps worked well, but it would be nice to have attractions or sites on the gps as well. Would have been nice to stay on paved roads, because trails were muddy and wer (weather did not cooperate for us). My bike was a coaster bike with very poor brakes. Very unhappy with. The other bikes in our group of 5 were ok, but brakes needed to be adjusted.

Melodie C.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

This was an absolutely beautiful way to explore Sweden. This route was very peaceful and pastoral. We loaded the GPX files onto our Garmin devices which made navigating very straightforward. It was wonderful to be so immersed in nature with all of the forests and lakes. Riding through farms and being able to explore so many castles was also a highlight! Wonderful food, accommodations and people. We would highly recommend this trip and we can’t wait to come back to explore some more!

Rick H.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The accommodations were very good in each case.

The GPS for the 3 of us had problems and others riding with us from Hong Kong (They may not have been trip site) had GPS problems also.

Rick H.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The TripSite trip could not be improved upon!
I have made a trip like this to Europe 15 times and this one was the best!

Dorit B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

The Perfect bike tour...blue sky blue lakes green hills and great hotels.
Local swedish agent- Carmen from Nordic trails was always available to answer all our questions and rescue us when we needed ..
We highly recomend this tour!!

Kathryn A.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

We had a fantastic time! Cycling along the coast in both Denmark and Sweden (just for the day) was beautiful. We also really loved cycling through the small towns and through lush forests; it gave us a chance to see the rural life after being in the bustling city of Copenhagen. The variety of the route was perfect. A suggestion...at Kokkedal Slot on the outskirts of Horsholm, the nearby golf club restaurant was a great place for dinner with tasty food and a relaxing atmosphere.

Oscar M.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

This was a fantastic trip. The biking was pretty easy and the days were set up so we could do a lot of site-seeing and explore a little "off map" if we wanted. The bikes and gear were really good for this type of tour, and the local reps were quick to help with any issues. My (adult) children arrived a day late due to travel delays, but the local reps made sure all their gear made it to that day's stop and we were able to head out the next day with no issues. All the hotels were great, there is a lot to do and see on each leg of the route. It's a beautiful, friendly place and I can't recommend it enough.

We had a few places that weren't necessarily on the map, but worth mentioning -
- During the Sweden loop, just before Sofeiro Slott is a lovely farm bakery, Brödkultur. Definitely worth the stop.
- On the Helsingør to Hillerød ride, near Havreholm is a zip-line and disc golf course, Til-Tops. The zip-lines Read More

Kripa H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

The cycling is varied and great fun. Trosa and Mariefred are a good choice to see towns / villages of Sweden. Enjoyed the whole experience. The cycling is challenging and fun.

Margaret W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

My son and I loved our bike tour of northern Denmark. The hotels were great - especially the breakfasts. Christian set us up with the bikes and moved our luggage to the next hotel. He seemed committed to making sure we had a good trip. I highly recommend this tour.

Van C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

Could not have been better. Everthying about it was superb.

Lori C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The Highlights of Northern Zealand trip was great. The lodgings were good, especially the palace (Kokkadal). The breakfasts were all excellent with both variety and quality. The scenery and the sights are as seen on tripsite. Denmark is truly a biker's dream. Christian from Ruby Rejser was very helpful and kind. The only problem with this tour was the GPS. I have never used one before so I do not know if there are better ones but what we were given did not work well. They were tiny and difficult to read and they kept freezing. As well, the maps that we were given were not detailed enough. We met a couple from France who shared the app given to them by their travel agent and it worked quite well. There were two days that we used it when our GPS froze. I do believe that Ruby Rejser is obligated to provide equipment that works.

Martha
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

My husband and I enjoyed our week long Lakes and Castles cycling tour of rural Sweden and Stockholm. Carmen of Nordic Trails organized a great trip to include a visit to Stendörren nature reserve, Tullgarn Royal Castle, lake swimming, wild blueberry picking, a two-night stay in beautiful Trosa and a return to Stockholm from Mariefred with its historic Gripsholm Castle by steamboat. The tour was mostly on lightly travelled roads and bike trails. We enjoyed our hotel stays in modest inns with friendly staffs. While we travelled with another couple, the trip would also be suitable for families with older children. Carmen's riding instructions and maps were excellent and she also offered helpful GPS routes.
Note: We brought our own road tandem equipped with 32x700 road tires, and we were able to handle the varied surfaces reasonably well. (No flats!)

Stephen M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The bike riding was generally flat to rolling country roads. Mostly on designated bike routes. The Hotels were excellent. riding along the coast beach towns was very scenic. One thing we found a bit troublesome was the written route notes and small scale maps which we found difficult to use. The larger map with bike routes was more useful. On Day two we departed from the designated route and followed Google maps bike routes along a beautiful lake on quiet roads with almost no traffic. From then on we just Google mapped the bike route to the next town and found it very easy. For the last several years we have always been provided GPS with various route options on our bike trips (Ireland, Cotswolds') we found extremely easy to use. Dinner was on our own, only breakfast was included (OK with us, we knew this when we signed up).

Phyllis C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip in Denmark. Cycling through villages and towns along the coast north of Copenhagen, the chance to visit museums and historical sites, and the excellent hotels were part of the pleasure. The route was thoughtfully planned to include some of the major tourist sites in the city before venturing out to the coast. One of the highlights of the tour was the chance to visit the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art. The bikes were fine, and my partner said his e-bike was better than the one he rented last year on the Danube. We chose the standard option, but the hotels exceeded our expectations of “standard.” Kokkedal Slot was a historic castle, and the Marienlyst had an excellent beachfront location literally on the sand. The tour would have been even better if there had been paper directions and a detailed route map. The included GPS was not easy to figure out. We, and other participants, all rode some extra kilometers trying to find the correct Read More

David S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

Fantastic bike trip with exceptional accommodations along the way. We noticed that we were given some of the best rooms at the hotels as the bike trippers are repeat customers of the hotels and the hotels strive to keep the bikers happy. We also noticed that we could check into the hotel upon arrival no matter what time we arrive while others had to wait until 3 or 4 pm which was the normal check in times at some of the hotels. Each of the breakfasts were outstanding with many many choices of hot and cold foods including some special diet selections at some.. We loved the freedom to choose our own location for lunch and dinner and to set are own start and finish times without the pressure of a group. That said, we did meet up with people in our group along the way and at breakfast that was nice. The GPS systems worked very well, accurately leading us down often hidden bike and dirt roads near but not on the main roads. We were rarely IN the same street as the cars travel. I am 73 and my wife is 60 with some but not a lot of biking experience.

John H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

This is a different type of tour, in that while others are on the same tour, you may or may not see them. Very independent tour. Go at your own pace, stop when you want to stop, and see what you want to see. Go from point A to point B at your own pace. Accommodations were very good at each stop. Only drawback was meal choices were not always convenient. Two on site restaurants were closed due to vacations thus food choices were up to 1.5 miles away. Minor inconvenience that was really not a big deal. Tour support was very good and only a phone call away, if needed.

Nancy U.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

All of the scenery, the quiet roads, Trosa, and the adventure and weather on the roads were all magnificent.

The routes probably could use some updating. We were lost on a few occasions, but were able to double back when we realized this. Some of the signage and actual directions needed re-working. I would suggest that the company go out there and check it out. The single accommodation in Mariefred was not up to standards. I had to ask to be moved from the first room as the window was right at street level and did not feel safe, nor could I keep the shades open so the room was very dark. The second room I moved into was nicer, but it also faced a parking lot where people could look in, but felt safer on the second floor. The location was superb otherwise.

The breakfasts at all of the hotels were yummy and the staff friendly.

Yael B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

The scenery is beautiful. Some of the hotels -2- were super. We had problems with our bicycles and it took time to have a solution. We enjoyed.

Elizabeth J.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

High Summer in Sweden
Sweden

Our trip, "High Summer in Sweden" was perfectly planned and carried out with two terrific guides and a wonderful group of bikers. Scenery, especially in Stockholm, was absolutely awesome...a combination of land and water, castles, museums, and history. Food was gourmet, hotels were pure Sweden, and we loved it all. Would go again in a minute!!

Judee W.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

High Summer in Sweden
Sweden

The Rotalis Biking experience is one in a million. We were treated as honored guests! Everything was taken care of with smiles and style. It was a terrific experience with the best of everything.

Marlene Z.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

Riding back into Copenhagen from the country, through the suburbs, and then entering the urban center with all the excitement of a big city, yet being so comfortable with the bike I have been riding for a week was very cool.

Ruth P.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

Great trip with wonderful memories and weather. This trip could easily be extended by 1-2 days of more cycling! I was disappointed that we only had 5 days of cycling, though it was advertised as a one week trip!
Also, the information packet sent was not consistent with the descriptions of where we actually cycled to and where we stayed. The route directions provided were very difficult to follow. I suggest that each cyclist is provided with a detailed cycling map of the whole Island of Zealand, not just the north. We found better cycling maps in Sweden!

Elyse B.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Stockholm - Land of Lakes & Castles
Sweden

Most memorable-spending time in Trosa.
Carmen was very friendly and great to have the owner of the company do the introduction and drive to starting point. Materials were very well organized and detailed. Be sure bikes and equipment are properly serviced before trip and equipment in good working order.

Kazi Ahsan S.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Oslo Fjord
Norway, Sweden

The tour itinerary was very well coordinated. Very easy to follow the routes. Would like similar tours in the Northern part of Norway eg, Lofoten Islands.

Janet A.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

We loved our 'Best of Northern Zealand' tour. The hotels and breakfasts were amazing! A real treat. A must-stop is the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art at Humlebaek - fabulous. Also Sophiero palace in Helsingborg with impressive gardens.. would recommend this trip.

James L.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Highlights of Northern Zealand
Denmark, Sweden

The scenery was excellent. The 4th leg from Helsinger to Hillerod was a very demanding trail, off beaten paths, steep hills, and the markings and mileages in the booklet directions were not accurate. Several of the bikers we talked with had the same problem. We biked as a group of 7, with 5 of us being on our third Tripsite European bike trip. If not for this leg, the rating would have been higher.
Also, at the assignment of equipment, there was a lack of organization, no checklists as to who requested what equipment, and at the end, there was also no checking.