Austria Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 139


James R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Hi….really a great trip and well organized, thank you so much ! The only confusion was day 7, you list the ride is 51 miles, yet maybe clarify that the ride is only 34 miles and the ferry ride from Szentendre to Budapest in 15 miles for then a total distance of 51 miles, with 34 miles of riding. Is there an option for a better bike ? Look forward to riding again with Tripsite, Good Luck ! Jim Ruble.

Victor L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The scenes along the Danube. The quality of the hotels The simplicity of the directions on the the bike route.
Suggestions for others. Pack lighter and know that you will have saddle bags on the trip.
Another tip for me. If I know that I check in by 3 then it is not necessary leave each site before 11 The next thing I would do is plan my lunch stop. Might a great idea to know where half way is for a great salad.

Jesse I.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Salzburg to Vienna
Austria

-Excellent itinerary and beautiful country
-great customer service from Anna
-excellent equipment

-poor navigation instruction compounded with misinformation when cross referencing map instruction versus navigation instructions
-poor (lack of detail) wording on some of the daily instructions on what and where to go. Anna helped tremendously with this.
-moving map wouldn't work on the entire trip causing many instances of confusion
-very poor briefing from company liaison handing off the bikes at the beginning of the trip. He seemed overwhelmed and inconvenienced.

Alex P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Salzburg to Vienna
Austria

We truly had a great time! Every day was different in the trails we rode and towns we visited. The scenery was amazing! And the distances were perfect for the average biker.

Rami H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The lake was beautiful! Pretty much flat land the whole time. Enjoy the days! Rain was pretty frequent so get your rain gear.

Jane Hartfield
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Innsbruck to Bolzano
Austria, Italy

I absolutely loved this tour! The route had everything you would want. The daily distance we rode was a perfect length for sightseeing, eating and picture taking. The hotels were nice. I would love to ride it again! Several friends and family members have taken this tour after us and all have loved it!

Lonnie Maddox
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We are two couples who rode this tour on two tandems. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire ride, which was mainly on cycle paths or on low-traffic roads. The sights, the food and the accommodations were outstanding and can’t recommend them strongly enough. Make sure to take a side trip to Mainau Island. Truly a tour any cyclist would enjoy. Just do it!

LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Brenner Pass to Venice
Austria, Italy

My wife Clara and our daughter Stephanie did this tour in the fall of 2019. Tripsite was once again outstanding in providing service and information and all the GPS files for the bike route. The hotels were all top quality and friendly service with the best ones in Innsbruck and at the hot baths of Padua. I was at first worried about the quality of the bike paths as we have done a dozen or more trips (10 through Tripsite) through the Netherlands and Germany where the paths as excellent. To my and everyone else's surprise the bike paths were well marked and of great condition with a few not-so-great patches here and there but great overall. We made good friends on the trip and we cycled alone and with others on some days and typically had meals with others in the group of 12 or 14 people. The sights are panoramic. I must note that we started on September 5th from Innsbruck at -2 degrees Celsius and snow on the very first day and ended in Venice with +30 Celsius on the last day. Read More

Bob M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read More

Wyn D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

Chris A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

Michael F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We started in Thun on the Aare Trail which ends in the city of Konstanz, where the Around Lake Konstanz tour begins. The memories I have of this trip are of how beautiful the scenery was. Also, for attractions along the way, vouchers were provided so we could visit them at no extra cost.

Hugonette M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Biking along the Danube river is very beautiful and visiting all the small towns we never heard of before is very special.

Juan Pablo B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Excellent bikes maps and coordination including luggage transfers

Barry M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Best part: Biking into Vienna

Ed D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

Paula P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We very much enjoyed this trip but it was a real adventure. At times I felt we were filming an episode for the Amazing Race! The maps we were provided with were very confusing. For example, we were not made aware that we had to make a detour as portions of the National Park were closed. Google Maps wasn't much help as they do not provide bicycle routes for Slovakia and Hungary. Fortunately, other cyclists told us to download the MAPS.ME app and this was a real life saver. I would advise anyone doing this trip to use this app or have some sort of GPS. We encountered other cyclists that were travelling with other companies that were provided with far more detailed maps, yet they too had difficulty. A GPS is a must.

We were dismayed that on a couple of occasions our luggage left unattended in the lobby area of hotels. I feel the luggage should always be stored in a secure area.

Russell S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
Overall, a great trip.

George W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

Krumlov, Telc and Znojmo are truly heritage towns, and worth more time than we had to explore them. Moravia in general is a great biking area, with more and prettier villages and squares.

Katherine G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

Every moment was memorable. From the moment Vitek appeared with my wonderful bicycle and a pile of maps..... to my arrival in Vienna - it was a great adventure from beginning to end. And I could NOT have asked for anything more.
I felt very well cared for by your staff and it was reassuring to be provided with multiple ways to handle problems along the way - although none came up.
The countryside of Bohemia and Moravia was glorious, fall is a great time of year to travel. I loved the flexibility to doing a self-guided trip. My hotels were perfect and welcoming, the route easy to comprehend with extra ideas of what to see and do at every turn.
I cannot thank you guys enough for a 'trip to remember'.
Sincerely, Kathy Greene

Leonie R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

Lovely countryside, getting lost a lot. I would strongly recommend that the company heavily promotes the trip ap, as directions often were not clear and we got lost a lot. Due to type of hybrid bike and being lost there was not time to fully explore the region - so I would recommend the use of e bikes or shorter days.
Also reminding people that nothing is open on Sundays and most small towns did not have any shops for food/drink.

Phil C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

Susan P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

Donna L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

Patrice W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

Heather H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Slovenia
Austria, Hungary, Slovenia

From the US it was very difficult, time consuming and costly to get to Radenci, Slovenia and from Lendava back to the airport. Except Lendava, the villages had little to offer for additional tourism and places to eat. The Mineral Spas were mainly full of elderly and some families. Not really an exciting place for 30-40 year olds without kids. The countryside was pretty but in my opinion not worth the extensive travel. I would like to go back to Slovenia but to the west side of the country.

Scott A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

Chris S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

Tom H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Great trip this segment of the Danube cycle path is nearly 100% paved and very smooth. It is relatively easy to follow the cycle path route markings. The GPS maps I was sent did not work for this segment. They worked fine from regensburg to passau so probably not user error. The cycle path is really popular with cyclists but never too crowded even though not everyone has good bike handling skill so you need to pay attention. Maps provided to hotels are not very good however people I talked to with other trip companies had the same issues and in several different languages people we met were helpful and anxious to provide
information. Hotels were all very pleasant and comfortable even though it was very hot and they did not have air conditioning.

Donald K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!