Austria Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 200


David J.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The Four Countries of Lake Constance was my tenth trip with Tripsite. Since 2017 I have done four bike and barge trips and five self-guided trips.

The partner company that runs this trip for Tripsite was excellent. With my wife in 2018 I did a 10 day circle eight trip around Lake Constance with the same partner. Therefore, I was already familiar with them.

They have beautiful modern bike place in Constance. The electric bikes they supplied my friend and myself were excellent, far better than the bikes supplied by vendors in other nations. Radweg’s employees were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Their printed materials, maps and BikeGPX routes were also excellent.

My friend and I were very excited about our trip, but suddenly he fell ill with COVID-19. Therefore, all I can write about is the first day’s ride from Constance to Schaffhausen. It was a beautiful ride with interesting historic places to stop. However, by the time we arrived at Schaffhausen Read More

Maite Gabriela B.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

The trip was wonderful, we enjoyed every part of it . Thank landscape was amazing . The little towns that we visit were beautiful and the food in every hotel was great . The persons from tripsite were amazing , and they take care of us all the time .. they were nice and all the time traiying to answers the things that we asked for … I will definitely travel with them again.

Alejandra I.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

Great trip! Love the landscape and all the beautiful places and sites.
Trip site helped us whenever we need assistance.

Justin Good
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Vienna
Austria, Czech Republic

I did the Prague-Vienna Greenways 7-day guided tour with a group of 30 friends. We were on a variety of bikes (road, hybrid, & e-bikes). Vitek and his team made this adventure go as smoothly as possible. They were extremely accommodating, helpful, and fun. They offered much more than I was expecting, including meal option planning, hotel check-in, en route snacks/drinks, and language interpretation when needed. All of that made things much more streamlined for us, given the large group size. The route was wonderful, with a wide variety of scenery and riding surfaces. Vitek is very knowledgeable about the culture and history of Czech, so we were able to learn a lot while enjoying the ride. This was such an amazing trip, and I would highly recommend it to anybody wanting to do an adventure like this.

Catherine G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This trip was so well planned. All services, hotels, transportation were excellent.
Bike trails were great. Attractions were great. A good time was had by all.

Yves B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The scenery was spectacular, especially between Passau and Linz and later through the wine region. Flat bike path almost all the way from Passau to Vienna. The booklet with directions that was given to us at orientation was extremely well organized, very clear, and useful. We enjoyed very much the freedom of the self-guided tour, stopping in villages for a cappuccino and pastries. Our luggage was always there when we arrived at our hotel. The hotels were nice, except for the one in Linz, (Shwarzer Bar) which was right above a noisy bar, and with poor service. I would recommend a different hotel. A major highlight of the trip was Hotel Kirchenwirt in the lovely village of Weissenkichen, in the one region. In fact, I would recommend staying two nights there to enjoy the spectacular biking through the vineyards and resting bit in the middle of the trip. The two 70+km days were a bit long but very doable. Overall a memorable vacation, very well organized by Tripsite.

Mary B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The fall weather made for a beautiful ride along the Danube. The GPS was excellent at guiding us down the bike lanes and thru the lovely villages and cities. The route has impressive paved off road trails most of the way with occasional packed gravel trails. The hotels were excellent and our bags were always awaiting are arrival. We have taken other trips with Tripsite and they have all been well organized and fun.

Ann A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Overall, this is a lovely trip, with beautiful sites and numerous delightful stops along the way. We chose category A hotels, modified the 7 day trip by adding a 2nd night in Lindau, and spent the last 2 nights in Arbon, where we ended the trip, without returning to Konstanz (this is our 9th trip, about 50% bike and barge). It appears the daily destinations change depending on the length of trip and availability(or best rate for booking company??).
Pros: Lots to do in Konstanz, including swimming in the lake. Enjoyed Hotel Halm very much - central location, nice rooms and good breakfasts. We adored Hotel Rheingold - rooms were new, with patio or deck, and restaurant was delicious, with a gorgeous hilltop view. Lindau was the perfect 2 night stop with lots to see and quaint restaurants. The upgraded Bayerischer in Lindau was super with much appreciated sauna and two wonderful pools, delicious breakfast - highly recommend the A+ upgrade. Parkhotel in Uberlingen also had Read More

Ken C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The biking was perfect - equipment worked well and was as promised

Gavin O.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Biking along the river with the beautiful scenery and riding through the villages on the cobblestone streets was very memorable. Also loved being in a forest and riding next to farm lands and vineyards with the Cathedrals and Castles on the hill tops. Everyone at all the hotels were very friendly and helpful! The route was exceedingly well marked and there was no threat of getting lost!

Tips: Make sure you have sunscreen, snacks, cash and your ID's with you during the ride

Clare S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Everything was great! Accommodations were clean and comfortable, luggage arrives onsite each day. Everything was well organized.
We had a wonderful Ed smoky trip, the memories will last a lifetime! I’ve already shared your website with quite a few people! Highly recommend!

Kimberly R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Bike pathways through Austria were in fantastic condition, well marked and easy to follow making for a relaxing ride. Some of the paths in Hungary were not suitable for a road bike (no pavement and loose rocky terrain). Some warning about this before selecting a bike or alternative route would have been helpful. Our bags were always at the hotel when we arrived which was very nice after a long ride.
The hotels were nice. Most offered a nice relaxing outdoor space. The breakfast options were all comparable to each other and provided a good start to the day.
The bike “fitting” was a bit disappointing, the bikes were dropped off and only after a lot of hunting around was the staff able to provide a tool to adjust the seat height. There was no tool kit provided and when we asked the kit was not suitable for the bike we had. I would have preferred a stop in Linz rather than the small city before it. There would be more things to do in Linz in the evening.
Overall I was pleased with the trip and I would recommend it, especially the Germany to Vienna section.

MARJORIE S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The trip was amazing and we loved seeing all the towns and the countryside. I would rate it as easy-moderate as there were some pretty challenging hills. Also, the directions could be confusing at times.

Taylor R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved cycling through the small towns the first 2 days. The buildings were so cute and the flowers were gorgeous! Highly recommend a gel seat pad. We used the wee-hoos for our 2 girls and they were great, however if you are short there are some challenges getting them attached to the bike. The bike shop was great working with us to make it happen, but it took some creative adjustments.

Gabriela C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The tour was so well-thought and prepared I only had to cycle and enjoy the ride. Since I was on my own, I joined other groups which made it all the easier and funnier. The towns we stayed were all breathtaking and Im back for more.

Sylvia M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The whole experience was memorable.

My suggestion to others would be that they do not rent a Touring bike for the 10 day - sportiv - version of the trip.

Nikki B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Amazing scenery and wonderfully organized. We were extremely fortunate with the weather for our 5day tour. Being late September, it was harvest season and we watched them unloading, weighing and processing grapes at the winery in the centre of Meersburg, as well as cycling through orchards of apples and pears at the peak of harvest.
On the weekend there were multiple events around the Untersee, including a rally car event, Porsche event, and moped event. Travelled through picturesque towns, as well as agriculture fields with cows and sheep with the iconic sound of their traditional bells. Most of the ride we were on trails designated for bikes exclusively, and where the bike trails were shared , with either traffic or pedestrians, priority and respect was given to cyclists. This route had very few hills. The hotels were well organized for bike storage

Joel k.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We did the entire Great Danube bike trail from Passau to Budapest. It was actually 2 trips Passau to Vienna and Vienna to Budapest. The first one Passau to Vienna was on a very well defined bike path that followed the Danube River. There were many bikes on this route. The second trip Vienna to Budapest, was on a combination of paved and gravel bike trails and roads. Certainly for the more adventurous rider. Personally we would dont think we would do 2 weeks of straight biking, one week would have been plenty. Highlights were Vienna and Budapest each would have been better with longer stays as there was so much to do.

Barbara T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

For the most part, the trail was paved and easy to ride. It was a great trail to do. The Iron curtain monument on the way to Bratislava by Devin Castle was moving and should not be missed. Take some time to visit Budapest at the end if you have never been there, it is a beautiful city.
There was one glitch: one of our hotels from the final list that we had gotten from Tripsite changed shortly before we left. The representative never mentioned this when he gave us our package the night before we started. On the fifth cyclin day, we were supposed to stay in Esztergom but had to stay in Visegrad that night which meant we had to take two trains that day. The tickets for the first train were in our package, but not for the second train. We had to called about this. The tickets were supposed to be with our luggage one day and they weren’t which meant another call. The tickets did come the day before. Suggestion-when you get your package carefully look at the list of hotels and compare it to the list you had received. It would have been better and we wouldn’t have had to waste time calling when we wanted to sightsee.

Rockwood R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Your representative for the initial orientation meeting was a No Show. This became problematic when we received train tickets in the packet- with no clear guidance. Your travel app and book were well coordinated but the app didn’t always work on the trail.
If you’re providing train tickets it would be helpful to have directions to the train station. Hotel locations, near the bike route and points of interest, were excellent. Quality and experiences varied. Overall pleased.

Pete H.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The overnights were great. I would recommend you arrive early as the overnight towns were all great to visit.

Paul G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Cycling the Danube is memorable and the accommodation was excellent. Melk and the Wachau Valley were high points. The bicycles were a disappointment: Heavy & Clunky. We were expecting 24 gear Hybrids. The directions for Linz and the last day in Vienna need work. Perhaps you could a more detailed map for each city that show the route in street map detail. These would be separate from the daily cycling maps. There was confusion regarding where stayed : Ardagger Shift and not Grein! The daily cycling map suggested that we end the day in Grein.

Cheryl Smith
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Saint Moritz to Lake Garda E-Bike Tour
Switzerland, Austria, Italy

This is my 6 th European cycle tour in two years. Overpriced and overbooked. Avoid this shameless money grab at all costs. An enormous motor coach with limited access to parking lots and some tour stops replaced the advertised support van. Thus, Zero ability to stop during an accident or transport an injured rider—- which happened twice. There were no picnic lunches provided. We were handed a cheese/cured meat sandwich with optional banana/apple and choice of energy bars every morning. Meals provided were high-carb, low cost— as sub standard as the accommodations. Our last hotel provided rooms with, I kid you not, two flights of stairs within the room. At least it had an elevator. Many of the places we stayed did not. At first, we were expected to transfer our own luggage to/from the bus and back. As well as our e-bike batteries and chargers. The last few nights our luggage was actually taken to our rooms— a huge relief. When heavy rains set in and I asked Read More

Maggie M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Easy to follow direction, mostly, cycling on designated bike paths so no worries about traffic. Great scenery.

Tracy W.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Biking through the countryside of Austria, Slovakia, and Hungary offers an experience you can get no other way. Our group experienced an "insider's view" of these countries, towns and cities you can't get by car. If you want an immersive experience that leaves you fulfilled at the end of the day, biking is the way to go.

Ellen L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Lovely trip, beautiful scenery. There is construction which has made some of the paths change. Some signage a bit difficult to follow.

José M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The places visited was memorable, both: towns and hills.

Gilberto M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The whole course along the Danube (Donau radweg) is amazing! ! One suggestion would be for the GPS to include more tips about the towns! In one occasion (ariving in Grein) the distance did not match becouse our hotel was quite far (around 8km) from the City (route destination) . The overall experience was great as all the three previous tours we did!

John G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The trip organisation was excellent. The hotels were comfortable and interestingly varied; everything from a pleasant boutique hotel in the centre of an Old Town to a rural hotel with tables and umbrellas on a riverbank in an idyllic setting.
Some of the towns/cities were buzzy and some very sleepy. Additional time - perhaps an additional day - in Vienna and Bratislava would be great, providing rest days and opportunities to explore - and perhaps avoiding some of the quieter destinations.
The cycle trails were, by and large, excellent; some long drags with somewhat uninteresting scenery, but balanced by superb tracks in beautiful countryside.
The bikes were sturdy but heavy and very solid, and this marred the cycling experience somewhat, the most disappointing part of the trip.
Overall definitely four stars.

Kathleen F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The scenery was so beautiful and all the hotels were very nice. The signage around the lake was confusing at times. There should be an option, for an extra fee, to have quality helmets provided along with having bikes delivered and picked up at hotels at beginning and end of tour.