Spain Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 114

 


Jonathan M.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Ebro River to La Rioja
Spain

We were continuously amazed by the natural and cultural beauty of this region of Spain. We were on e-bikes, which made climbing the hills relatively easy. Most of the roads had almost no cars on them and the route was diverse and always entertaining. We were dealing with some Covid-19 infections in the group and the Iberocycle team went above and beyond to take care of us. They were great. We recommend spending a few days in Bilbao up front to see the museums - worthwhile! We've done a number of similar trips around Europe and Eastern Canada and this one ranks very high.

Karen K
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We had a wonderful time. The rides were amazing, although some were very difficult. We could tailor our days to fit us best, and it was easy to find a different way if we wanted to shorten or include less hills. The hotels were all beautiful, top notch places, in the very best locations for each city or town. Ignacio and Borja with Iberiocycle did everything within their power to make sure we were well taken care of. They communicated with us every day, fixed what needed to be fixed and got us on our way. We were a large group, 15 riders, and therefore not so easy to accommodate, but they did. The people of the northern coast were so friendly. Drivers were extremely courteous, even on the very curvy narrow mountain roads where it took a lot of patience for them to make their way around us. Because of the pandemic, we waited nearly two years to complete this trip from when it was originally planned, and we had the very best time. Thank you Ignacio and Borja from the Salty Dogs

Karen K.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We had a wonderful time. The rides were amazing, although some were very difficult. We could tailor our days to fit us best, and it was easy to find a different way if we wanted to shorten or include less hills. The hotels were all beautiful, top notch places, in the very best locations for each city or town. Ignacio and Borja with Iberiocycle did everything within their power to make sure we were well taken care of. They communicated with us every day, fixed what needed to be fixed and got us on our way. We were a large group, 15 riders, and therefore not so easy to accommodate, but they did. The people of the northern coast were so friendly. Drivers were extremely courteous, even on the very curvy narrow mountain roads where it took a lot of patience for them to make their way around us. Because of the pandemic, we waited nearly two years to complete this trip from when it was originally planned, and we had the very best time. Thank you Ignacio and Borja from the Salty Dogs

Kerry S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Best Part? Scenery and trials we traveled on and some of the accommodation we staying at.

Dennis B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

Trip was a beautiful journey through northern spain with stops in Beautiful small villages. Every hotel was the best in the town and welcomed us. A great trip. Use ebikes unless you are quite fit.

Marilyn M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Catalonian Flavors of the Mediterranean
Spain

This is a very beautiful and historic area of Spain. We were enchanted by the scenery and the antiquities. The people are very friendly and helpful. We certainly needed that friendly help several times as the information provided by Cycle Catalonia was not accurate, often mixing left and right, or direction to turn but there were two or more possible turns in that direction.

Guðbjörg Anna G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

The perfect holiday!
The route is amazing, the variety in scenery, scent and sounds - always something new to experience. It is a bit hilly but we had the combination of e-bikes and hybrids so everyone was comfortable at the end of the day. The accommodation varied a lot with the small hotel in Santillana del Mar standing out in terms of service and comfort. The support team on the way was no short of exceptional: punctual, always ready to assist with advice, bringing extra items for the bikes or picking up small things we had left behind - everything with a smile on their face.
We highly recommend this tour and the operators to anyone interested in exploring Spain.

Einar T.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

Absolutely a great trip and the service was 100%. Beautiful nature and good bikes.
Would love to go again.

Richard K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Catalonian Flavors of the Mediterranean
Spain

Beautiful beaches, great rides in the country.
Download maps.me before to help you with directions. Invaluable…

Ailsa W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The entire trip was most memorable: the scenery, the care taken of us by our guides-Sergio &Joa, the lanes & trails through town & country, the other group members , the nightly accommodations.
The trail riding on an EBike was ‘easy’ but there were some scary spots and steep climbs that added to the excitement!

Luiz Fernando Barreto P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Catalonian Flavors of the Mediterranean
Spain

O trajeto é muito bonito. A Costa Brava é maravilhosa. A descrição da rota não foi boa, tive que recorrer ao aplicativo do celular para me localizar algumas vezes.

Edna J.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The whole experience was extraordinary. Starting with the warm welcome at Porto until traveling back from Santiago de Compostela. Sergio and Juan Carlos were the best! We opted for the self-guided tour and we were equipped with all that was necessary for such an incredible adventure. The daily overview that is provided for you to read every day to understand how your next day ride will look like was great to have. It is provided both printed and also available to download in a mobile app. Hotels were amazing and well prepared to welcome bikers. Porta do Sol Hotel in Caminha, Portugal has a great SPA with pool and sauna, great to enjoy after your bike ride. My e-bike was a great differentiator to manage uphill's. Loved it! I would recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys biking with great scenery alongside the coast. We may consider to repeat this journey anytime in the coming years.

MANUEL V.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Hotel in Caldas de Reis was outstanding as wel as the last journey to Santiago de Compostela.

Our tour Guide Joao in Oporto was excellent, he was always worried how the trip was going on and ready to help us in case something went wrong

Renee C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Wonderful adventure! I challenged myself and used the mountain bike , great experience learning to navigate steep hills and pedestrian traffic in the cities. Sergio and John supported me with lots of encouragement. The churches were magnificent to see and learning the history of each town was cool. The coastline was beautiful!
Would recommend to train on hills if your not using an ebike

ANTON TOMAZIC
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

This was for the first time I took a bike trip with… But it was not just a trip, but also a pilgrimage – Camino Portuguese. Since I have chosen a »solo trip«, I could enjoy the freedom of choosing my own schedule, time, stops, food, drinks etc, but at the same time I did not have to worry about the daily accomodations, finding hotels, carrying my extra baggage etc. My bag would wait for me every afternoon in my room, prescribed by the baggage taxi. On my bike I had well prepared Garmin instructions and on my phone there was all other information tailored to my needs, contained in the application Ride with GPS. I would highly recommend the services of this company to anyone wanting a fun, relaxed, educational bike travel – they deliver!
Here are short Relive videos of my trip:
First day: Porto–Esposende
Second day: Esposende–Caminha
Third day: Caminha–Baiona
Forth day: Baiona–Pontevedra
Fifth day: Pontevedra–Caldas dos Reis
Sixth day: Caldas dos Reis–Santiago de Compostela
My photos: iCloud Photos

Lucia C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Ebro River to La Rioja
Spain

All the journey was amazing! As you follow the river, you pass for a great variety of wonderful views. My favorite day was the forth one: the perfect day in a life time!!!
But be aware: it is not so easy for beginners with some steep climbs at some points.
I would like to add that the support during the trip was perfect. Simon helped us at any time, always available.
It was my first bike tour and I just loved the experience. I intend to repeat it for sure in this same or other routes.

Martin Walsh
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

What a great trip. More challenging than advertised but still outstanding. Self guided was distracting. We would do it guided if we go again. Local support with Sergio was excellent. He reached out every day. The hotels were unusually good and the food was a foodie delight. My wife’s bike was a bit too big. She struggled all week with it.
We’ve done many trips. This was one of the best.

Winston J.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Impossible to pinpoint a favorite! It was all amazing in so many ways! Our guides were the best you could ever imagine always anticipating every need. What stands out is the time we were to have lunch in restaurant in a big city but there was construction so we chose to hang out on a street corner where there was a bench and some places we could grab a quick bite. Suddenly Sergio appeared with fresh figs, watermelon, bananas, and grapes all cleaned, sliced and ready for us to devour. John was driving our luggage in the support van with snacks and bike parts and accessories if we needed them and was a fabulous tour guide from the moment we met him.The accommodations were over the top gorgeous with outdoor pools and most often near the ocean as was the trail. Bring a bathing suit to enjoy! I wish I would have been smiling and waving to Sergio as he recorded video footage of practically the entire ride! Enjoy!!!!!!

Suzanne C.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

We had a fabulous trip - self-guided with e-bikes from Porto to Santiago. The route is perfect - so varied, beautiful and fun. And the hotels! One of them was the best hotel I've ever stayed in (and I intend to go back there). Sergio was available at all times, for any problems or questions. I highly recommend.

Lesley E.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Ebro River to La Rioja
Spain

Rolling along the Ebro Valley was fabulous. The ride had a couple of grunts on day 1 and 2, but well worth it. The accommodations were great and sunflowers amazing!

David, Anne, Ryan S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Basque Country to Asturias
Spain

We took this trip in late May, 2019, with e-bikes. It was a great trip with some amazing accommodations. Thoughts in no particular order: The first 3 hours of biking on the first day were pretty miserable, through industrial areas with no good place to ride on either the sidewalk or the road. Day 4 and Day 6 were spectacular, Day 4 was almost like a fantasy of a bike trip once we reached rural areas. The GPS was hard to read when the sun was out, and in several places we needed one person using the GPS and another the printed instructions. We've been on a number of bike trips, and the drivers in Spain were the most courteous and safe of any country - usually giving us at least 6 feet of space and never rushing us. The hotel (Organista) in Santillana del Mar was our favorite, with a wonderful host, Rafe, and an enchanting outdoor breakfast. (Note: this is right close to the Altamira cave, and we were glad we took the time to visit, even though it involved finding our own Read More

Michelle T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Valencia, Color and Contrasts
Spain

This was my first bike tour. I’m 47 and exercise regularly with a focus on cycling/spin. I travelled with a friend and we had an amazing experience. We did the tour a few weeks after the major storm and had great maps and GPS which included a personal sit down with Javier (Lazypedals) to explain the tour and bike fittings. (This did not happen on the next tour we took and were greatful we had this one first). I’m 5’11 and found the bikes to be very ergonomic. Be prepared for extra weight in the panniers for tools and bike locks. Bikes also included a light that we did not need but can see it how it could be necessary depending on your activities.
We loved the varied routes but found there to be quite a bit of hill climbing for the rating easy to moderate. In end we felt very accomplished!
The sights and smells of the countryside were amazing. i can not emphasize this enough. We had outstanding (above avg temps early oct) weather, amazing accommodation for Read More

John B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

This was our 6th European cycle trip and it was one of our favourites. Communication with Tripsite was excellent. The hotels we stayed in were very good ( a couple were exceptional!) They all served a really great breakfast ( above normal European standards).
Bike transfer between hotels was perfectly done. For the most part the bike route took us on some of the nicest bike paths we have ever experienced in Europe. Occasionally however we found ourselves on some very busy roads. For these brief times we ended up walking our bikes as we did not feel safe.
For the first time in our lives (we are in our sixties) we rented e-bikes.For most of this trip we just used to he regular gears supplied on the bikes .Occasionally however we encountered some fairly steep inclines and we were so happy we could engage the e-bikes!
Our biggest issue on this trip was the written directions provided. Many times we found them to be quite confusing. We got lost and disoriented on numerous occasions.
In fairness there were road closures due to construction. There were signs that had been knocked down.
Providing a GPS unit would have been quite helpful.

João V.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The trip was wonderful, the energy of the people all the way is fantastic. The Torres del Rio hotel impressed by its beauty and harmony with nature. Arriving at Santiago de Compostela Square crowned the tour, all the people praying and prising God, it´s very amazing trip. The tripsite agent, Sergio was very attentive.

Ermelindo R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The whole trip was memorable, but the arrival in front of the Cathedral in Santiago de Compostela was wonderful and unforgettable!

William W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Lovely and well organized trip by Sergio and Santiago from Porto to Santiago

Kathy P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

Riding in Mallorca was fantastic! We had a few issues navigating through some of the little towns, especially where there was some road construction, so I would suggest the map making folks stay current with things like that. But beyond that it was perfect! The hotels were wonderful, the routes beautiful, the riding very pleasant with mainly flat roads, very little traffic, and scenery worth stopping for! We upgraded to road bikes which we highly recommend. The mountains, the sea, the olive and almond groves, the tinkling of sheep bells, the incredible sunlight on all those amazing rock walls, and the narrow town streets all made the rides magical! I can't wait to go back and do this trip again!

Corri H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Valencia, Color and Contrasts
Spain

Riding through the area that was hit by the storm of the century. We were not advised of all the route closures, only some of them. Therefore we did a lot of backtracking! The company Lazypedals that organized the tour did not personally investigate the travel route. As a result we were left on our own with insufficient maps and GPS. Overall we enjoyed the trip and the scenery and made it to our destinations, however, this trip should not be rated as an Easy to Moderate tour, take out the word easy!!

Monique R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mallorca
Spain

The routes were wonderful and the lodging choices were excellent.

Terry C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic Basque Country
Spain

The Classic Basque Country tour was well organized with excellent support. Northern Spain presents beautiful countryside, lovely villages and cities....very pretty. We enjoyed the whole experience.
This was billed as a "moderate"tour. Many of the climbs and long daily cycles suggested (to me) the tour should be described as moderate-difficult.
We had GPS tracks; could not have easily found our way if we had to rely on paper maps.
Iberocycle ran an excellent tour.