Slovenia Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 23 of 23

 


Teresa and Bob Biancardi
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Istria to the Adriatic Tour
We are now back from our September biking trip and wanted to take this opportunity to our wonderful guide Andrej, you, and everyone else involved in planning this tour. We had the best time and for us, it was an experience of a lifetime. While we are active boomers, we are not bike ridders and didn’t have a total idea of what to expect. The tour met and went above our expectations. When Andrej asked what the highlight of our trip had been, all I could say was that everything in the tour was a favorite and special. From biking the beautiful coast and country side, to stopping at local roadside cafes for refreshment breaks, to visiting historic and quaint medieval villages and towns, it just didn’t get better than that. Our group was small and intimate and much fun. We managed on the many different terrains, some which we found to be more challenging than others. The highway rides were scary, but all part of the adventure. The food was excellent, wine and hotel rooms, all terrific.

Continued success and again many thanks!
Teri and Robert Biancardi

David M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

This tour is absolutely gorgeous! Great biking all the way, beautiful scenery and tons of history. Highly recommended!

Ambrose M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Overall very enjoyable. There was however a big discrepancy between some of the accommodation eg Neptune Hotel was superb while the hotel in Porec didn’t have an elevator. Some of the bedrooms were very spacious and others were very very cramped.

Barry S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Most memorable part: Trip into and out of Venice

Tom B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Diversity of the scenery, which was beautiful. A good portion of the route is right along the Adriatic, which we jumped in several times. The Adriatic is very nice.The rest of the time we were cycling through forests, vineyards or old train tunnels on our way to mountain/hilltop villages. Stunning views from all of the hotels. The people in Slovenia and Croatia were friendly and often times very engaging.
We also took a day trip, before the start of the cycling journey, to the interior of Slovenia. Beautiful country… very clean. Ljubljana is a very cool city. Would recommend if time allows.

Kathy Feeley
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

This tour was described as having a dedicated bike path and great for families.After completing it today I have to disagree.
Long stretches (20 kms) of Parenzana path were like washed out river beds, full of deep loose gravel and rocks.Unless-you are used to this surface then it is very slow going,scary and dangerous .
My cycle buddy and I both fell off twice,and had cuts and bruises.We have cycled all over Europe and have never been on anything like this.We did cycle from Piran to Grojnan and Grojnan to Motovun and the path was really bad,a goat track in some parts.
We caught a taxi from Motovun to Porec as the Komoot map indicated 20 kms of unpaved path through the forest and no roads to turn onto if we needed to escape .
This state of this path really is atrocious and it’s the worst self guided tour I have ever done

Rosemary F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

We really loved the Venice to Poreč tour. Pedaling along the Adriatic with the wonderful views was stunning! We also enjoyed the Italian, Slovenian and Croatian countryside and extensive bike paths, most of them paved. Biking in these countries is a way of life so we felt respected by the car drivers when we were on the roads. We would suggest to future self-guided travelers that reading the extensive information on the "Ride with GPS" app enhances the trip experience and helps avoid confusion. We did not realize until after the tour was complete that scrolling past the prominent "Navigate" button each day would also give us a turn-by-turn cue sheet. We would have avoided a lot of extra km each day :-)

Diane Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The itinerary, written directions and maps were great. Taking the ferry out of Venice and riding through the historic town centers were definite highlights.

Diane Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

This self guided bike trip was a great way to see the countryside. We biked through vineyards and along the coast for most of the trip. The written directions and maps given to us were very accurate and made navigating so much fun. My suggestion for others is to start early so you can make the most of each day. I'm so glad we did!

Denise O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Best part? Too many to decide! I really enjoyed the small, historic towns, the variety of landscapes, the excellent accommodation and the friendship within the group. Our bikes were excellent, the people from Good Place really helpful - would really recommend this trip to others.

Heather H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Slovenia
Austria, Hungary, Slovenia

From the US it was very difficult, time consuming and costly to get to Radenci, Slovenia and from Lendava back to the airport. Except Lendava, the villages had little to offer for additional tourism and places to eat. The Mineral Spas were mainly full of elderly and some families. Not really an exciting place for 30-40 year olds without kids. The countryside was pretty but in my opinion not worth the extensive travel. I would like to go back to Slovenia but to the west side of the country.

Jim S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Slovenia
Austria, Hungary, Slovenia

The support and coordination by tripsite was awful. The directions they provided were more like Escape Room Clues rather than directions. Tripsite directs us to a ferry across the river Muir which was closed which no alternative route. I would never use Tripsite again

Ivette S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

The perfect trip for families with young adult children. We enjoyed the different kind of roads, the food, the sights, every town we stayed at. Our guide Matic was excellent. We are looking forward to a new adventure with Tripsite.

Larry H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

We were a group of eight old friends and found this trip very enjoyable. The tour organizer, Klemen Stular was very responsive to our questions and preferences, and even worked to adapt the route to accommodate our request to visit a winery! The trails had some loose gravel so it required extra caution (and muscle) on steep hills, but the off-road trails made this particular tour the most special. The equipment was well-maintained, easy to use, and reliable. The tour operator was very conscientious about making certain everything fit the rider. The scenery was glorious and the people warm and welcoming.

Yael U.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

I have traveled 2 times and looking forward to this summer's trip again. I love working with Tripsite staff and enjoyed each experience immensely.

Wes J.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Great scenery and a very good vacation. I recommend taking the boat out of Trieste to avoid the traffic.

Yael S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

The trip was beautiful and what I would describe as completely worthwhile work/play.

knut S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Most memorable: The local tour operator (Good Places) arranged a lunch and wine tasting at a small winery/restaurant. Excellent food, good wines, tour of the winery, interesting lessons about local wines in Croatia, excellent service and a welcoming atmosphere.
Suggestion: We enjoyed staying in the small hotels with atmosphere and a la carte dinners much more than the big resort hotels serving big buffet dinners. So please look for cosy, smaller hotels with atmosphere.

Michael E.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Tour route was beautiful, some costal some inland, hotels and food were excellent, I liked the smaller hotels much better than the large one as the small ones were very personal. Local wines were great. Had so much fun that I'm thinking about the next trip.

MARCOS FERRAZ
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Estamos super-satisfeitos com voces e a Giro Libero. Tudo transcorreu muito bem de forma profissional e organizada, superando ate nossas expectativas.
O material distribuido (mapas e guias) foi otimo; as bikes todas aguentaram bem sem darem qq problema, em otimo estado de manutencao e apropriadas ao trajeto; o percurso muito bem marcado; o funcionario da reuniao inicial foi pontual e nos atendeu muito bem e orientou sobre tudo; os hoteis super de acordo com o contratado, bem localizados e confortaveis; enfim, um passeio que nos alegrou em muito com paisagens lindas e repleto de experiencias culturais.

Kristine Johnson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Traveling from Venice through northeast Italy and Trieste into Slovenia and Croatia was beautiful and culturally rich.

Magdalena Cheung
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

I found the trip operator a bit disorganized. Nobody told us that the tour guides & map etc were put in our room, and we did not know until the briefing time. During the briefing we went through the material kit, but we were not offered any additional info. The options re the accessories with the bike were not chosen by us, but the operator insisted we chose it and refused to exchange reading board for bike bag.
The map and guide do not always match. We expected bike route would be traffic free and for bike only, but apparently 90% of the time it was not the case. The bike was a bit heavy for me, especially I am only slightly over 100lbs.

Al E.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

This was our 13th Tripsite Tour and as always, it was exceptional. The bike route was well marked, the bikes were new and well serviced and the Hotels were excellent. It was a very interesting ride. Thanks to Hennie and Carla for recommending the Tour.
Al and Sue