Germany Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 205


Anni H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Cycling along the river, the journey

Victor L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The scenes along the Danube. The quality of the hotels The simplicity of the directions on the the bike route.
Suggestions for others. Pack lighter and know that you will have saddle bags on the trip.
Another tip for me. If I know that I check in by 3 then it is not necessary leave each site before 11 The next thing I would do is plan my lunch stop. Might a great idea to know where half way is for a great salad.

Samuel H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Germany, Switzerland

This is a beautiful bike ride along the Aare River and ends up biking along the Rhine River. The route is somewhat more challenging in terms of hills than we expected and much of the trail is gravel rather than paved. Nevertheless nearly all of the trail is away from busy roadways through country fields providing an interesting means to view Swiss life. The trails were not crowded and the Swiss people were appreciative of us as tourists. Constance is an ideal ending with beautiful views of the Bodensee. Our main disappointment was that in several towns the hotel was a considerable distance from the bike trail and we had some difficulty finding our accommodations.

Kenneth B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
Germany

We did the 8 day version of the Tauber Rive and Romantic Road tour, and it was just about right in terms of trip length, at least for us two, occasional bicycle riders. Riding through the various little villages, the fields of barley and sunflowers, etc was very memorable. The towns that you stay in each night are very photogenic and worth the time to walk around and take in the history and sights. The mileage on the trip itenarary is a little off, the worst case being Rothenburg to Dinkelsbuhl. This is listed as 60km and is really more like 70+. As a consequence, my wife's ebike battery died about 6 miles out of Dinkelsbuhl, and of course that is all uphill. Riding a dead, heavy ebike up hill for a few miles is no fun. Tripsite and Velotours did a great job supporting us, from the GPS track, to moving our luggage from town to town each day, to having the hotels all reserved ahead for us. I would love to do another one of these trips again in the future! One piece of advise, I would not attempt these tours without the available GPS track either loaded in Komoot on your phone, or on a GPS, or both. I used both along with the paper back up, and only got lost once.

Michael B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We took the self-guided Prague to Dresden bike tour in July 2021. The first night in Prague we had our information meeting and received our bikes and equipment from Lukas. He is terrific. Lukas also guides these trips so I imagine he does a wonderful job. I was a little anxious initially about doing the self-guided trip with my 14 year old son, but Lukas was so thorough and helpful in the prep meeting that I felt very comfortable with out choice. He provided detailed and clear maps and wisdom as to what were the key sights to see along the way. The natural beauty of the trip and the wonder of arriving into new towns and hotels each day was special. I would say the quality time I had with my son and the chance to experience all the new places together was the highlight. I highly recommend this tour. Self-guided works great for those that want to travel at their own pace and the luggage transfer to each hotel worked great. The bikes were of solid quality and Lukas included repair parts and tools in case we had flat tires.

Michael B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We took the self-guided Prague to Dresden bike tour in July 2021. The first night in Prague we had our information meeting and received our bikes and equipment from Lukas. He is terrific. Lukas also guides these trips so I imagine he does a wonderful job. I was a little anxious initially about doing the self-guided trip with my 14 year old son, but Lukas was so thorough and helpful in the prep meeting that I felt very comfortable with out choice. He provided detailed and clear maps and wisdom as to what were the key sights to see along the way. The natural beauty of the trip and the wonder of arriving into new towns and hotels each day was special. I would say the quality time I had with my son and the chance to experience all the new places together was the highlight. I highly recommend this tour. Self-guided works great for those that want to travel at their own pace and the luggage transfer to each hotel worked great. The bikes were of solid quality and Lukas included repair parts and tools in case we had flat tires.

Rami H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The lake was beautiful! Pretty much flat land the whole time. Enjoy the days! Rain was pretty frequent so get your rain gear.

Lonnie Maddox
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We are two couples who rode this tour on two tandems. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire ride, which was mainly on cycle paths or on low-traffic roads. The sights, the food and the accommodations were outstanding and can’t recommend them strongly enough. Make sure to take a side trip to Mainau Island. Truly a tour any cyclist would enjoy. Just do it!

Wyn D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Well organised, with bikes made available as required, bags portaged without incident, accommodation arranged as planned.
Overall good organisation albeit the bikes with their infinitely variable in hub gears seemed less efficient than conventional bikes.

Phil M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Well organized tour led by personable, knowledgeable, and competent guides. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Antonina (Ena) G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
France, Germany

Beautiful scenery loved the old towns. The bikes were great

Maria O.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Amazing holiday, easy cycling along the banks of the Labe/Elbe. Wonderful scenery, tasty cake and coffee stops and fabulous boutique hotels.
Everything was pre arranged by Tripsite and the local agents.
Would do this again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend.

Chris A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

Michael F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We started in Thun on the Aare Trail which ends in the city of Konstanz, where the Around Lake Konstanz tour begins. The memories I have of this trip are of how beautiful the scenery was. Also, for attractions along the way, vouchers were provided so we could visit them at no extra cost.

Brian K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
Germany

We did this trip with two friends in October, 2019. We enjoyed the route. The villages were close together. We were a little challenged to find restaurants for lunch given the day of the week or holiday. We quickly figured out to plan for some food along the way. The route was primarily on on bike paths and secondary roads. German drivers were very accommodating. The combination of markers and maps was very good. In the future we will ask for the GPS directions.

The hotels were quite comfortable and centrally located. One hotel was rather dated, but comfortable all the same.

We had previously organized our own bike trips, but found it much easier to have all the arrangements made including the bike and transportation of the bags. We will definitely do another tour with Tripsite.

Barry M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Best part: Biking into Vienna

Russell S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
Overall, a great trip.

Elizabeth T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
Germany, Netherlands

1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.
2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.
3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.

Horst K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

The tour was well organized and we were put up in great hotels. Meals were very good and the tour operators provided water and healthy snacks along the route everyday.
I was more than pleased with the whole trip and will consider another tour with this organization.

Laura D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Donaueschingen to Ulm
Germany

We loved cycling along the Donnau river cycle path. The cycle path was excellent - flat, scenic and not on roads.

Corrine G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance to Lucerne Bike Tour
Germany, Switzerland

The views and the people were fantastic! Our luggage arrived before us every time! Hotels were fantastic! Bike people were very informative!

Teresa I.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Cycling was a fantastic way to experience and travel threw the Czech Republic to Germany. A big thank you to our tour leader Vítek and his crew for taking such good care of the group.

John C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

This trip was a joy.

Our guides Vee Tex, Harvel and Jara were both enthusiatic and knowledgable about the route, the landscape and the history.

The accommodation on the trip was great, varying from a former manor house, country village hotels and more contemporary funky locations.

My fellow cyclists were companionable and talkative with people from Canada, USA , Australia and Germany.

The route was managable, and consisted of around 80-85% level/easy inclines along old toll paths or the old rail track, and usually 5-6 hours per day ranging from 25 to 50 klms per day.

Highlights for me were Prague, Litmorvice, Terezina, the mountain hike to the stone bridge - (worth every upward step!), plus I spent two nights in Dresden - and encountered striking buildings, excellent food (think pork knuckle in dark beer), easy of movement through a well organised transport system.

Would I recommend this trip? Yes, and if apprehensive about the length of the daily rides - there are e-bike available at reasonable prices, a boon for perhaps the less experienced and those allied to cycling devotees so they can join the fun.

Phil C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

My trip from Passau to Budapest was what I hoped it would be. The original information and directions were excellent. However there was almost no communication with Rad+Riesen once the trip started. This was not really a problem except for one day when my hotel was changed without notifying me until I arrived at the wrong hotel. Luggage transfer was smooth and breakfasts were good. Generally a very positive experience with a bit of adventure. The trip from Passau to Vienna was smoother than from Vienna to Budapest in all aspects, but both were memorable and enjoyable.

Susan P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

Donna L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

Scott A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

Chris S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

Tom H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Great trip this segment of the Danube cycle path is nearly 100% paved and very smooth. It is relatively easy to follow the cycle path route markings. The GPS maps I was sent did not work for this segment. They worked fine from regensburg to passau so probably not user error. The cycle path is really popular with cyclists but never too crowded even though not everyone has good bike handling skill so you need to pay attention. Maps provided to hotels are not very good however people I talked to with other trip companies had the same issues and in several different languages people we met were helpful and anxious to provide
information. Hotels were all very pleasant and comfortable even though it was very hot and they did not have air conditioning.

Donald K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!