Germany Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 265


David J.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The Four Countries of Lake Constance was my tenth trip with Tripsite. Since 2017 I have done four bike and barge trips and five self-guided trips.

The partner company that runs this trip for Tripsite was excellent. With my wife in 2018 I did a 10 day circle eight trip around Lake Constance with the same partner. Therefore, I was already familiar with them.

They have beautiful modern bike place in Constance. The electric bikes they supplied my friend and myself were excellent, far better than the bikes supplied by vendors in other nations. Radweg’s employees were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Their printed materials, maps and BikeGPX routes were also excellent.

My friend and I were very excited about our trip, but suddenly he fell ill with COVID-19. Therefore, all I can write about is the first day’s ride from Constance to Schaffhausen. It was a beautiful ride with interesting historic places to stop. However, by the time we arrived at Schaffhausen Read More

Catherine G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This trip was so well planned. All services, hotels, transportation were excellent.
Bike trails were great. Attractions were great. A good time was had by all.

Yves B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The scenery was spectacular, especially between Passau and Linz and later through the wine region. Flat bike path almost all the way from Passau to Vienna. The booklet with directions that was given to us at orientation was extremely well organized, very clear, and useful. We enjoyed very much the freedom of the self-guided tour, stopping in villages for a cappuccino and pastries. Our luggage was always there when we arrived at our hotel. The hotels were nice, except for the one in Linz, (Shwarzer Bar) which was right above a noisy bar, and with poor service. I would recommend a different hotel. A major highlight of the trip was Hotel Kirchenwirt in the lovely village of Weissenkichen, in the one region. In fact, I would recommend staying two nights there to enjoy the spectacular biking through the vineyards and resting bit in the middle of the trip. The two 70+km days were a bit long but very doable. Overall a memorable vacation, very well organized by Tripsite.

Ann A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Overall, this is a lovely trip, with beautiful sites and numerous delightful stops along the way. We chose category A hotels, modified the 7 day trip by adding a 2nd night in Lindau, and spent the last 2 nights in Arbon, where we ended the trip, without returning to Konstanz (this is our 9th trip, about 50% bike and barge). It appears the daily destinations change depending on the length of trip and availability(or best rate for booking company??).
Pros: Lots to do in Konstanz, including swimming in the lake. Enjoyed Hotel Halm very much - central location, nice rooms and good breakfasts. We adored Hotel Rheingold - rooms were new, with patio or deck, and restaurant was delicious, with a gorgeous hilltop view. Lindau was the perfect 2 night stop with lots to see and quaint restaurants. The upgraded Bayerischer in Lindau was super with much appreciated sauna and two wonderful pools, delicious breakfast - highly recommend the A+ upgrade. Parkhotel in Uberlingen also had Read More

Gavin O.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Biking along the river with the beautiful scenery and riding through the villages on the cobblestone streets was very memorable. Also loved being in a forest and riding next to farm lands and vineyards with the Cathedrals and Castles on the hill tops. Everyone at all the hotels were very friendly and helpful! The route was exceedingly well marked and there was no threat of getting lost!

Tips: Make sure you have sunscreen, snacks, cash and your ID's with you during the ride

Clare S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Everything was great! Accommodations were clean and comfortable, luggage arrives onsite each day. Everything was well organized.
We had a wonderful Ed smoky trip, the memories will last a lifetime! I’ve already shared your website with quite a few people! Highly recommend!

Kimberly R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Bike pathways through Austria were in fantastic condition, well marked and easy to follow making for a relaxing ride. Some of the paths in Hungary were not suitable for a road bike (no pavement and loose rocky terrain). Some warning about this before selecting a bike or alternative route would have been helpful. Our bags were always at the hotel when we arrived which was very nice after a long ride.
The hotels were nice. Most offered a nice relaxing outdoor space. The breakfast options were all comparable to each other and provided a good start to the day.
The bike “fitting” was a bit disappointing, the bikes were dropped off and only after a lot of hunting around was the staff able to provide a tool to adjust the seat height. There was no tool kit provided and when we asked the kit was not suitable for the bike we had. I would have preferred a stop in Linz rather than the small city before it. There would be more things to do in Linz in the evening.
Overall I was pleased with the trip and I would recommend it, especially the Germany to Vienna section.

MARJORIE S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The trip was amazing and we loved seeing all the towns and the countryside. I would rate it as easy-moderate as there were some pretty challenging hills. Also, the directions could be confusing at times.

Taylor R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved cycling through the small towns the first 2 days. The buildings were so cute and the flowers were gorgeous! Highly recommend a gel seat pad. We used the wee-hoos for our 2 girls and they were great, however if you are short there are some challenges getting them attached to the bike. The bike shop was great working with us to make it happen, but it took some creative adjustments.

Sylvia M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The whole experience was memorable.

My suggestion to others would be that they do not rent a Touring bike for the 10 day - sportiv - version of the trip.

Nikki B.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Amazing scenery and wonderfully organized. We were extremely fortunate with the weather for our 5day tour. Being late September, it was harvest season and we watched them unloading, weighing and processing grapes at the winery in the centre of Meersburg, as well as cycling through orchards of apples and pears at the peak of harvest.
On the weekend there were multiple events around the Untersee, including a rally car event, Porsche event, and moped event. Travelled through picturesque towns, as well as agriculture fields with cows and sheep with the iconic sound of their traditional bells. Most of the ride we were on trails designated for bikes exclusively, and where the bike trails were shared , with either traffic or pedestrians, priority and respect was given to cyclists. This route had very few hills. The hotels were well organized for bike storage

di wilkinson
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We really enjoyed this well set up tour through beautiful countryside with a carefully planned route. The maps and suggestions left time to explore and Lukas' team were easy to contact when a glitch occurred and was rapidly fixed. The accommodation was delightful and the bikes were perfect for the route (light enough frame to lift over kerbs, good range of gears). The route was mixed but mostly countryside. After the first day hill the route was mostly flat and presented no problems for us (we are 70/72) and we spent lots of time stopping for flowers, photographs and beer. We have used Tripsite before but this is now my favourite tour.

Joel k.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We did the entire Great Danube bike trail from Passau to Budapest. It was actually 2 trips Passau to Vienna and Vienna to Budapest. The first one Passau to Vienna was on a very well defined bike path that followed the Danube River. There were many bikes on this route. The second trip Vienna to Budapest, was on a combination of paved and gravel bike trails and roads. Certainly for the more adventurous rider. Personally we would dont think we would do 2 weeks of straight biking, one week would have been plenty. Highlights were Vienna and Budapest each would have been better with longer stays as there was so much to do.

Donna M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

This was our 2nd extended family biking vacation. We had such a wonderful time, I think we may being making this a yearly event with Tripsite! Our guides were such nice thoughtful people, we enjoyed talking with them and the time we spent together riding through the countryside and during our dinners.

Rockwood R.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Your representative for the initial orientation meeting was a No Show. This became problematic when we received train tickets in the packet- with no clear guidance. Your travel app and book were well coordinated but the app didn’t always work on the trail.
If you’re providing train tickets it would be helpful to have directions to the train station. Hotel locations, near the bike route and points of interest, were excellent. Quality and experiences varied. Overall pleased.

Paul G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Cycling the Danube is memorable and the accommodation was excellent. Melk and the Wachau Valley were high points. The bicycles were a disappointment: Heavy & Clunky. We were expecting 24 gear Hybrids. The directions for Linz and the last day in Vienna need work. Perhaps you could a more detailed map for each city that show the route in street map detail. These would be separate from the daily cycling maps. There was confusion regarding where stayed : Ardagger Shift and not Grein! The daily cycling map suggested that we end the day in Grein.

Doris S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

A family/friends group of 14 plus 2 other riders, made this a large group to manage. Jan, Martin and Rodik did a great job. Excellent choices regarding lodging and restaurants.

Ellen L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Lovely trip, beautiful scenery. There is construction which has made some of the paths change. Some signage a bit difficult to follow.

José M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The places visited was memorable, both: towns and hills.

Gilberto M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The whole course along the Danube (Donau radweg) is amazing! ! One suggestion would be for the GPS to include more tips about the towns! In one occasion (ariving in Grein) the distance did not match becouse our hotel was quite far (around 8km) from the City (route destination) . The overall experience was great as all the three previous tours we did!

Kathleen F.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The scenery was so beautiful and all the hotels were very nice. The signage around the lake was confusing at times. There should be an option, for an extra fee, to have quality helmets provided along with having bikes delivered and picked up at hotels at beginning and end of tour.

Tobi W.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Unfortunately ww had a lot of rain and some cold temps. However we still made it to the hotels every day!
Our hotels were wonderful and in great locations. GREAT VIEWS!
We also made a few wrong turns due to poor bike signs..
Overall..it was still a fun trip and glad we did it!

Barry D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

The chateaux at chenonceaux and chambord were very impressive. The former for its harmony with the natural setting and the latter for the sheer size and grandeur of roofs and towers.

Driekus M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

The cycle tour in Prague , just the 2 of us and our guide Ivo. Starting on Sunday morning at 8.30 am, hardly any tourists around and we cycled all around with stops for explanations and photo”s and a beer of course ! A great 3 1/2 hours !

We really enjoyed cycling to Hrensko and onto Tri prameny and walking up to Pravcicka Brana natural Bridge. although nature was scarred by the forest fires last year, it was still a great walk with amazing views.

Peter M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

The bike tour went through amazingly beautiful and various countryside. The various roads were easy to ride on with very few other bikers. Daily distances were easy to moderate. Before doing this self guided tour, review the GPX tracks using an online software program that can also be used as an app (e.g. Komoot). The initial tour provided tracks weren’t all complete and most did not end at the actual hotel. A program like Komoot was invaluable in adjusting the tour for stops and the end point.

Neal M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The first two days were very good as we cycled through farm land. After that we cycled above a river and the cycle path became much more difficult because the path sloped down toward the river and you had to work hard to keep the bike upright. I fell 3 times and ended up walking the bike. The step through bikes are very heavy and it was difficult to keep the bike upright on a sloping path. After several days of biking I requested a standard bike, not a step through. I was then charged over 200 euros for the exchange. This trip was our 3rd with with TripSite.

Marina A.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Remagen - Rhine Valley
Germany

- Update your bike tour description - there's a route that is not active since 2021 and you put it in the programme
- We received 5 day programme with no proper descriptio, additional info from the hotel did not correlate exactly with the programme
-Every route on paper, no gpx track, not even pictures. Impossible to follow.

I feel you should do much more effort of you are selling a bike route experience. We ended up going up and down the Rhine using trains and not following the routes.

Eugenio R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This incredible trip allows us to have a mix of beautiful natural views and amazing old towns. It’s not a tough biking, which is good because all the family can enjoy together.
Along the tour you will have the chance to enjoy the German and Switzerland gastronomy, which is a great point of this experience. I deeply recommend it.

Isabel Constanza C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Copenhagen
Denmark, Germany

All the views were extraordinary and the trails are excellent.

I recommend bringing with you your own gps or garmin

Carlos P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Copenhagen
Denmark, Germany

Muy buenas rutas.. bien planeadas aunque los kilómetros recorridos no coinciden con lo señalado inicialmente
Lleven su POR FAVOR SU PROPIO GPS!