Germany Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 275


Kathryn A.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Vienna
Germany, Austria

We really enjoyed cycling along the Danube. The nine days went by quickly and some of the overnight stay locations were in such interesting towns that we explored in the evening. Although it is rated "Easy", be prepared for some days of cycling into strong headwinds and a few days of 65-70 km of cycling. Accommodations were very good and the breakfasts provided set us up for the ride. The GPX tracks were sometimes out of sync with the printed tour book on the portion of the trip in Germany. In a few locations the tracks shown did not exist, or were out-of-date due to new construction. This tour would benefit from an option to stay an extra day in one of the towns to provide a cycling break as well as an opportunity to explore, e.g. Linz.

Larry A.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
Germany

I loved the trip, but I would make sure that the tour group meets you prior to the take off...They left the bikes and we never saw anybody to help us get started. We were three hours trying to get the ebikes moving, turned out it was the connection between the control and the bike. If we had, had some help that frusteration would have been resolved quickley. Didnt feel like we were helped at all. We did love the trip, we feel like we are stronger because we overcame so many obsticals. The maps were in german, and the road instructions were in a seperate book, it was hard to coordinate the 2.

Doc

Denise V.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

The scenic views were the most beautiful I experienced in our 5 bike trips.
The hotels were great as well as breakfast.
In my opinion this ride was more challenging then lead on to believe. The hills were steep.
We had a oroblem day one with hotel.
Left 2 hours late dud nit have the combination to the bike. Did kit have any maps, any welcome package.nothing.
Also we had mostly rain , would have needed a map peotector for our bikes. The maps were useless in the rain.

Sally H.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

Great hotels which were distinct from each other. Quality bikes with comfortable seats and smooth gear changing.
The bikes were all locked when we arrived. It took far too long for someone to find the lock codes. There were no welcome packets/route maps and general information for the group of 12 and little help from the hotel who had apparently, all the information we needed. Unfortunate and unprofessional. The local people were apologetic but it should never have happened.

David W.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance - Highlights & Hinterland
Germany, Austria, Switzerland

This was a good tour , the hotels selections were great, but we had a terrible start as there was no one on site to provide maps and to unlock the bikes . Very frustrating. Our weather was wet, for 2.5 days, so check out the rainy season. Also there were no front panniers for the bikes to hold the maps, a problem especially in wet weather.we finally received our maps on day 3 of 5. Poor planning on Tripsites behalf.
It’s a good thing some of us had the electronic maps or we would have been totally lost.

Margrit D.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
Germany

The 3 day tour was a great introduction to bicycle touring. Day 3 was the most memorable day as most of the path was next to the river riding into Passau. Next time I would consider an E bike to make sure I had enough energy for sightseeing at the end of the day.
Hotel stays were comfortable and the breakfasts were tasty.

Denilson Donizete L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

O roteiro é espetacular. Um trecho mais lindo que o outro. Os percursos são razoavelmente curtos e com baixo nível de dificuldade. Portanto, não é necessário ser um atleta ou dispor de grande preparo físico para essa aventura. Você não precisa sair cedo do hotel e vai chegar ao local de destino ainda cedo, para poder apreciar as belezas de cada lugar. No que se refere à organização, registro que, tanto a TRIPSITE quanto o seu parceiro RADWEG, de Constança, fizeram uma organização excepcional. Não deixaram nada a desejar. Pelo contrário, foram maravilhosos. Parabéns!

Marcia Cristina W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Baltic Sea
Germany

I really liked the first city, Lubeck, and also the contact with nature along the way, passing through parks on the sea coast.

Laurence M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Staying at the Renaissance Raffelsberger Hof was amazing. Hearing about the history of the home turned hotel was interesting. The other memory is of an Austrian band playing in the restaurant at Gasthof zur Traube in Grein. Lastly, the Hotel Widhof left a lot to be desired!! The “sister hotel” Hotel Nibelungenhof looked much nicer and more convenient.

David J.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Countries of Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

The Four Countries of Lake Constance was my tenth trip with Tripsite. Since 2017 I have done four bike and barge trips and five self-guided trips.

The partner company that runs this trip for Tripsite was excellent. With my wife in 2018 I did a 10 day circle eight trip around Lake Constance with the same partner. Therefore, I was already familiar with them.

They have beautiful modern bike place in Constance. The electric bikes they supplied my friend and myself were excellent, far better than the bikes supplied by vendors in other nations. Radweg’s employees were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Their printed materials, maps and BikeGPX routes were also excellent.

My friend and I were very excited about our trip, but suddenly he fell ill with COVID-19. Therefore, all I can write about is the first day’s ride from Constance to Schaffhausen. It was a beautiful ride with interesting historic places to stop. However, by the time we arrived at Schaffhausen Read More

Catherine G.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This trip was so well planned. All services, hotels, transportation were excellent.
Bike trails were great. Attractions were great. A good time was had by all.

Yves B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The scenery was spectacular, especially between Passau and Linz and later through the wine region. Flat bike path almost all the way from Passau to Vienna. The booklet with directions that was given to us at orientation was extremely well organized, very clear, and useful. We enjoyed very much the freedom of the self-guided tour, stopping in villages for a cappuccino and pastries. Our luggage was always there when we arrived at our hotel. The hotels were nice, except for the one in Linz, (Shwarzer Bar) which was right above a noisy bar, and with poor service. I would recommend a different hotel. A major highlight of the trip was Hotel Kirchenwirt in the lovely village of Weissenkichen, in the one region. In fact, I would recommend staying two nights there to enjoy the spectacular biking through the vineyards and resting bit in the middle of the trip. The two 70+km days were a bit long but very doable. Overall a memorable vacation, very well organized by Tripsite.

Ann A.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Overall, this is a lovely trip, with beautiful sites and numerous delightful stops along the way. We chose category A hotels, modified the 7 day trip by adding a 2nd night in Lindau, and spent the last 2 nights in Arbon, where we ended the trip, without returning to Konstanz (this is our 9th trip, about 50% bike and barge). It appears the daily destinations change depending on the length of trip and availability(or best rate for booking company??).
Pros: Lots to do in Konstanz, including swimming in the lake. Enjoyed Hotel Halm very much - central location, nice rooms and good breakfasts. We adored Hotel Rheingold - rooms were new, with patio or deck, and restaurant was delicious, with a gorgeous hilltop view. Lindau was the perfect 2 night stop with lots to see and quaint restaurants. The upgraded Bayerischer in Lindau was super with much appreciated sauna and two wonderful pools, delicious breakfast - highly recommend the A+ upgrade. Parkhotel in Uberlingen also had Read More

Gavin O.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Biking along the river with the beautiful scenery and riding through the villages on the cobblestone streets was very memorable. Also loved being in a forest and riding next to farm lands and vineyards with the Cathedrals and Castles on the hill tops. Everyone at all the hotels were very friendly and helpful! The route was exceedingly well marked and there was no threat of getting lost!

Tips: Make sure you have sunscreen, snacks, cash and your ID's with you during the ride

Clare S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Everything was great! Accommodations were clean and comfortable, luggage arrives onsite each day. Everything was well organized.
We had a wonderful Ed smoky trip, the memories will last a lifetime! I’ve already shared your website with quite a few people! Highly recommend!

theresa h.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The small towns and inns we stayed in were lovely. The people we met in these areas were warm and friendly. Not everyone accepted credit cards or cashless payment so it is necessary to bring cash along to these areas. The bike path was very well marked and easy to ride. The company in Austria that facilitated the ride was less than helpful. We used there app but it was not setup with our exact ride so finding hotels and restaurants was a challenge. We also did not get a proper first night introduction about our itinerary and therefore we were missing critical train tickets and boat information.

Kimberly R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Bike pathways through Austria were in fantastic condition, well marked and easy to follow making for a relaxing ride. Some of the paths in Hungary were not suitable for a road bike (no pavement and loose rocky terrain). Some warning about this before selecting a bike or alternative route would have been helpful. Our bags were always at the hotel when we arrived which was very nice after a long ride.
The hotels were nice. Most offered a nice relaxing outdoor space. The breakfast options were all comparable to each other and provided a good start to the day.
The bike “fitting” was a bit disappointing, the bikes were dropped off and only after a lot of hunting around was the staff able to provide a tool to adjust the seat height. There was no tool kit provided and when we asked the kit was not suitable for the bike we had. I would have preferred a stop in Linz rather than the small city before it. There would be more things to do in Linz in the evening.
Overall I was pleased with the trip and I would recommend it, especially the Germany to Vienna section.

MARJORIE S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The trip was amazing and we loved seeing all the towns and the countryside. I would rate it as easy-moderate as there were some pretty challenging hills. Also, the directions could be confusing at times.

Taylor R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved cycling through the small towns the first 2 days. The buildings were so cute and the flowers were gorgeous! Highly recommend a gel seat pad. We used the wee-hoos for our 2 girls and they were great, however if you are short there are some challenges getting them attached to the bike. The bike shop was great working with us to make it happen, but it took some creative adjustments.

Sylvia M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The whole experience was memorable.

My suggestion to others would be that they do not rent a Touring bike for the 10 day - sportiv - version of the trip.

Nikki B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Amazing scenery and wonderfully organized. We were extremely fortunate with the weather for our 5day tour. Being late September, it was harvest season and we watched them unloading, weighing and processing grapes at the winery in the centre of Meersburg, as well as cycling through orchards of apples and pears at the peak of harvest.
On the weekend there were multiple events around the Untersee, including a rally car event, Porsche event, and moped event. Travelled through picturesque towns, as well as agriculture fields with cows and sheep with the iconic sound of their traditional bells. Most of the ride we were on trails designated for bikes exclusively, and where the bike trails were shared , with either traffic or pedestrians, priority and respect was given to cyclists. This route had very few hills. The hotels were well organized for bike storage

di wilkinson
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We really enjoyed this well set up tour through beautiful countryside with a carefully planned route. The maps and suggestions left time to explore and Lukas' team were easy to contact when a glitch occurred and was rapidly fixed. The accommodation was delightful and the bikes were perfect for the route (light enough frame to lift over kerbs, good range of gears). The route was mixed but mostly countryside. After the first day hill the route was mostly flat and presented no problems for us (we are 70/72) and we spent lots of time stopping for flowers, photographs and beer. We have used Tripsite before but this is now my favourite tour.

Joel k.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We did the entire Great Danube bike trail from Passau to Budapest. It was actually 2 trips Passau to Vienna and Vienna to Budapest. The first one Passau to Vienna was on a very well defined bike path that followed the Danube River. There were many bikes on this route. The second trip Vienna to Budapest, was on a combination of paved and gravel bike trails and roads. Certainly for the more adventurous rider. Personally we would dont think we would do 2 weeks of straight biking, one week would have been plenty. Highlights were Vienna and Budapest each would have been better with longer stays as there was so much to do.

Donna M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

This was our 2nd extended family biking vacation. We had such a wonderful time, I think we may being making this a yearly event with Tripsite! Our guides were such nice thoughtful people, we enjoyed talking with them and the time we spent together riding through the countryside and during our dinners.

Rockwood R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Your representative for the initial orientation meeting was a No Show. This became problematic when we received train tickets in the packet- with no clear guidance. Your travel app and book were well coordinated but the app didn’t always work on the trail.
If you’re providing train tickets it would be helpful to have directions to the train station. Hotel locations, near the bike route and points of interest, were excellent. Quality and experiences varied. Overall pleased.

Paul G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

Cycling the Danube is memorable and the accommodation was excellent. Melk and the Wachau Valley were high points. The bicycles were a disappointment: Heavy & Clunky. We were expecting 24 gear Hybrids. The directions for Linz and the last day in Vienna need work. Perhaps you could a more detailed map for each city that show the route in street map detail. These would be separate from the daily cycling maps. There was confusion regarding where stayed : Ardagger Shift and not Grein! The daily cycling map suggested that we end the day in Grein.

Doris S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

A family/friends group of 14 plus 2 other riders, made this a large group to manage. Jan, Martin and Rodik did a great job. Excellent choices regarding lodging and restaurants.

Ellen L.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Lovely trip, beautiful scenery. There is construction which has made some of the paths change. Some signage a bit difficult to follow.

José M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The places visited was memorable, both: towns and hills.

Gilberto M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
Germany, Austria

The whole course along the Danube (Donau radweg) is amazing! ! One suggestion would be for the GPS to include more tips about the towns! In one occasion (ariving in Grein) the distance did not match becouse our hotel was quite far (around 8km) from the City (route destination) . The overall experience was great as all the three previous tours we did!