Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 61


Norman F.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip was excellent begging to end overall. We made it a day longer as offered. If I was offering suggestions to the tour operator it would be as follows. Have somebody explain how the electric bike works, including the locking system, locks, and battery removal. We had the aid of the hotel employee who came down and helped us out. I would also highly recommend the GPS as many signs or markers are missing, especially getting in or out of Amsterdam and some of the towns along the way. All hotels were great except Vlissingen (that one was a huge let down). The breakfasts at all the hotels were good as were the staff in all of them including V. I would pay more if the all hotels were like the Zierikee location, hotel names are alluding me. The tracks chosen were excellent and we did the long route each time. Some great little towns for a beer or lunch along the way. The rides are extremely easy and relaxing. Never a busy trail. Will be booking another one ( take the better hotels if offered). The whole trip was memorable.

Vinícius G.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Country
Netherlands, Belgium, Germany

Wonderful tour ! Amazing views that changes from the flat cycle paths in Netherlands passing trough the Cousy villages in Belgium and reach the mountains in Germany! It was my first experience with TRIPSITE and I would recommend for others!
One suggestion to make this tour more incredible would be to spend a night in Monschau. That city was the most of the trip!

Cecile
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Tailor made bike tours in Holland
Netherlands

I want to thank tulip tripsite ' team for all the great organisation, nice hotels booking, great bikes and GPS assistance.
We enjoyed a lot the trip. (6 days/6 nights). Thanks also to have informed us about the things to see /do.
We enjoyed a lot the Biodiversity Centre in Leiden, we highly recommend. We also enjoyed very much the spa in Gouda, it was a great experience after a day biking. The spa should actually be recommended in the trip-advice.
Thanks to all, Cécile and family

John P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Friesland 11-City
Netherlands

Had water issues at two hotels. Nothing you could have done. Hotels were great. Anna Caspari the best service.

John W.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Friesland 11-City
Netherlands

We recall every day was an adventure the huge success was everyone enjoying riding the e-Bikes which made the trip very rewarding.
We are also very proud of the hotel stays as we were always greeted with joyful hotd and hostesses and the breakfasts were very tasty and delicious.
Upon reflection a two day stay in each of the 11 cities would have made the discovery a little more knowledgeable.the guides for the self guided trip were easy enough to follow but a quick review before entering a city is a good idea as the general direction is important. The generalization for the hotels included in the tour guide can be miss leading if you get disconcerted so make 110% you know the name of the Hotel your staying at.
Thanks for all the wonderful folks who did the research for the 11 city biking trip it was fantastic!

Sincerest regards,

John Wynia

Koba G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Slow Travel & Tulips Holland
Netherlands

The route was carefully planned to really experience the Dutch culture and natural beauty. We loved every minute!

Cecilia s.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved how beautiful and open and green the landscape we biked thru was. Picturesque towns, lovely houses farms and gardens.
The most polite people when it comes to cycling and everyone in the Netherlands does it!

Don Mankin
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland - World War II Reflections
Netherlands

Great trip! The combination of bucolic scenery, moderate activity, and poignant history makes this one of the most memorable trips I have ever taken. And Martin is one of the best guides I've ever met. He brought the history to life with personal observations and recollections. For anyone who is interested in WWII history and enjoys cycling on flat trails through beautiful countryside, this trip is a must.

Michel P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tailor made bike tours in Holland
Netherlands

Great trip. Beautiful locations and so easy to follow the route with Komoot app and the gpx files provided. Hotels also nice and overall super fun. Bikes of great quality and very comfortable to ride. Well done! Thanks.

Daniel A.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tailor made bike tours in Holland
Netherlands

This was a memorable trip and everything was organised to perfection ... well done tripsite, you surely have won me over

Nigel C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tailor made bike tours in Holland
Netherlands

We had a great time. The Netherlands is perfect for cycling. It was a perfect mix of country-side and beautiful towns. Definitely recommended

Lawrence F.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip From Amsterdam to Bruges is a wonderful cycling experience - lovely scenery, charming towns full of history, great, fresh food, and easy cycling over the flat lowland terrain that defines the Netherlands. One has to accept the wind and rain as part of the experience, but we were certainly lucky this time with the weather - mostly sunny or lightly overcast days, with occasional drizzles and gusts of wind, particularly near the coastal areas. A highly recommended tour that provides a great introduction to the region.

The only concerns/suggestions I would offer are these: a) would prefer hotels located in/close to the town center, not in the suburbs; would also prefer locally owned hotels rather than chains,2) the maps were
Generally unhelpful - they are virtually microscopic, and certainly difficult to follow on a bike - suggest getting the GPS option, or just using the GPS on your phone, and 3) if wind/rain/distances are a concern, would suggest opting for the excellent and very efficient ebikes that are so common here in the Netherlands.

Sally Fischbeck
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Barneveld Townhouse for Rent
Netherlands

Excellent location for an authentic view of the Netherlands! We never had to rent a car, only a bike. We flew into Amsterdam and took a train to Barneveld and walked the short distance to the townhouse from the station. From there we had lots of marked bike paths as well as roads to explore this beautiful farming area. We easily walked to a grocery store and various restaurants. The accommodations at the townhouse were very comfortable and clean, and it was right next to a park and an elementary school. It was so fun to see children being dropped off by parents by bike in the morning! We also used the train (loading our bikes on the train with us) to explore nearby cities and flower festivals. Easy to do, and a real European experience! We learned about the history of the area during WW II and could see the earthen works fortifications along some of the bike paths. Would recommend you get a local guide to explain more about that. I highly recommend this location. We felt immersed in the country and didn't feel like tourists, although because we wore bike helmets we did look like tourists!

Don H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The accommodations were perfect. All of the lodgings were comfortable, clean, and well appointed. They were located in the heart of the community. Our luggage was transferred from place to place in a timely manner. The bikes were comfortable and the bags easily fit everything we needed on the route.

Kim F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Every day was an adventure. The bike paths were lovely to follow and every town was beautiful. We enjoyed riding all day and walking the towns at night before selecting a restaurant for dinner. The history was endless and the daily map book provided good advise for sightseeing in each town. Generally the ride was easy until we got to the coast where the wind presented a challenge. Amsterdam and Brugges proved to be the perfect bookends for the smaller towns we visited in between.

Guilherme G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Maps must be improved.
We got lost more than one time.
The signs are very poor in many places.
Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.

The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.

The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.

Elizabeth T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
Germany, Netherlands

1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.
2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.
3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.

Debora Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

This was a great trip even though we had a far amount of rain. We enjoyed the challenge. So many memories. Going thru the Dutch country side and how clean and neat all the houses looked. Out in the middle of nowhere in a field a cow was giving birth to two calf's. My husband and I were self guided and we had fun finding all the little water crossing. Riding into Amsterdam on our last day was intense but now I feel I can ride anywhere. All our accommodations were unique and wonderful. This was our second trip with Trip site. Thank you.

Carol C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

I loved riding through all of the farm land and villages. All of the hotels we stayed in were great. They all had fantastic breakfasts. Only down fall was the GPS device, it would just stop working so we would have to rely on street signs or local people to send us in the right direction. My bike was great, but another person in the party had to put up with a seat that was falling.

Zachary S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Most memorable is simply the experience of riding through beautiful countryside and getting a feel for the landscape, towns, farms, etc. One suggestion for others/the trip planners - we loved all of it but would have enjoyed a layover day now and then to really explore a particular city or area (like Gouda). Overall, fantastic trip and well organized.

Cindy S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

London to Amsterdam
England, France, Belgium, Netherlands

London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

Marlene Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Biking through the dunes of the North Sea is incredible. The rental bike is a heavy Dutch model and it is windy so you make like an e bike. The fresh herring and fish are amazing. Also there is bus 385 that runs from train in Voorhout to Noordwijk for 2 euro 20. So you don't need that 20 euro cab.

Ed Carroll
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

London to Amsterdam
England, France, Belgium, Netherlands

I did this "guided" bike tour from London to Amsterdam. There are many areas where improvement is needed.

We weren't given a map or App of the biking route as promised. We rode through many villages, resorts and towns from Dunkirk to Amsterdam but were not told the names of the towns, or the history of the towns - and we stopped only for "coffee breaks". When we asked what town we were in for the coffee breaks the guide was unable to tell us. We either used google maps or asked strangers where we were. Also, we biked past notable places of interest like the beach in Dunkirk where British troops were rescued during WWII - and the Dover Castle - but never stopped - even to take pictures. It was all about getting to the next hotel in time for dinner.

We weren't told the hotel we were staying in until we arrived at the hotel. We usually arrived at the hotel around 6pm and had little time to turn in our bikes for the night, get our Read More

Brooks B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Enjoyed All aspects of this Bike Tour. Thank You for all the coordination and attention to detail. We chose this as a list minute add on to a long trip to Europe and Tripsite folks worked hard to make this happen for us! We will definitely book a future Biking trip with you ASAP! Thank You!!

Ann H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

It was truly wonderful to see the countryside and bike through the small towns.

Sarah L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

This was a fantastic trip. The combo of GPS and descriptions helped us get to our next stop. We saw and did things off the beaten path. It was great!

Diane K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Friesland 11-City
Netherlands

We both enjoyed the coast line part of biking. The least would have been biking through tons of farmers fields, pretty but enough. Tips would be to check your map every morning and your trail numbers. Take your time, we tended to hurry too much. Wanting to get to the next hotel before evening. The distances look long but you eat up the miles quickly on your bike. Beautiful scenery and nice people. Good food at every stop. We recommend bringing skin cream and proper biking shorts. My husband did suffer a little with skin rashes.

Jim C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Meeting the native people from the Netherlands and Belgium. Meeting other cyclists on the tour routes.

Curt K.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Our bike barge tour was fantastic, starting with the scenery and locals backed up by the staff , food and guides.

Jon T.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Middelburg was the highlight for us - the town, our hotel, and the surrounding countryside were beautiful. Overall we had a great time on our bike trip. A few details:
- I had to reschedule our trip after initially booking. Tripsite staff were super helpful and I was relieved at how easy rebooking was.
- Our bikes didn't come with waterproof panniers, GPS, or a repair kit as promised. We got the repair kit and GPS at our third hotel but were bummed we never got the panniers
- Our original itinerary had a mistake that had us riding 100km miles the first day and 10km the second day. It was fixed after we pointed out the issue.
- The route was very pleasant and well-paced.