France Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 148


Kym F.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

A fantastic tour, that provides great diversity from the rich river flats of the Dordogne to hills & valleys that the river snakes through on the journey, and the food, wine & sites are extraordinary. The last day is a loop ride to La Roque Gageac, hard to imagine a more picturesque town. Recommend e-bikes to anyone other than a serious cyclist, & recommend an extra night in Bergerac to break the trip up with plenty to see in the fascinating city.

Carmem d.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

The people at Tripsite gave all information before the decision. (Claudia) and made our decision very easy
The cities were very well chosen
The hotels are very good
The local agency we needed twice, first because we did not received the GPS routes and the girls were very nice and competente. The next day we needed some more information, but there were no one speaking English. So Claudia helped us

Claudio A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Lakes of the French Alps
Switzerland, France

Tudo perfeito. Paisagens incríveis. Organização nota 10. Recomendo muito. Melhor viagem da vida.

Lazaro N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The amazing part of the trip was the visit on the castles. The Chambord castle is incredible, and so the Chenonceaux. But the parks and vineyards are memorable. Beyond this, you could visit the Da Vinci’s house, in Amboise. We did a wine degustation right on the vineyard. It was memorable!

SANTIAGO R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The trip was very well organized. There were no glitches and the people we were in contact with were very friendly.
On the other hand, I totally recommend the route, on the banks of the Loire river, with wonderful landscapes and very picturesque villages, all complemented by good French gastronomy.
In short: totally recommended.

Laura G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

All the trip was memorable

lais helena o.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Our first trip was canceled, frustating all group. The other was good because Mosel River is beautiful. The route description was awful and terrible for guide. We were lost sometimes because Tripsite don’t indicate a confiable app for route cycling . My bike was blocked with a different locker from others. The combination was written in a paper separately. We are so diappointed with Tripsite

ana maria c.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

HE ENVIADO EL MAIL CON TODOS LOS PROBLEMAS QUE TUVE Y NO FUERON RESUELTOS, ADEMAS DE HABER ENVIADO UN MAIL PIDIENDO EL 50% de lo pagado ya que el viaje en la primera mitad del mismo, si bien tenia problemas la bciicleta que teniamos , la segunda parte del viaje fue una odisea, nos perdimos he hicimos el 3 dia 20 km de mas, ya que las indicaciones eran desastrosas, y el ultima dia 10 km mas....a si que no puedo recomendar el viaje que hice, no es el tour habitual ya que la primera parte estaba perfectmente indicado con carteles y la seguna parte era con las indicaciones de un papel qu e nos dieron, al perdernos el google maps si bien le indicabamos que queriamos rutas con bicicleta, nos enviaba por rutas muy peligrosas...nos pusieron en peligro . mala experiencia

Cathy J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Orléans to Tours
France

My husband and I have taken six trips with TRIPSite, mostly self-guided bicycle tours. We continue to appreciate the outstanding value we receive from TRIPSite and their vendors. Whether we ask for customized routes, additional layovers, comfortable accommodations or wayfinding/GPS materials, TRIPSite delivers every time. The regular bikes (not eBikes) we choose are high quality, the distances are manageable for two +70 year old cyclists, and the new GPS app worked beautifully. Our luggage was always delivered to our destination in a timely manner, our rooms were always ready when we arrived (really important when we craved a shower) and the included breakfasts were hearty and substantial prior to a day of cycling. Sixty percent of the two Loire Valley tours were on spectacular roads and picturesque trails without cars, a huge advantage for us for safety considerations.

We discovered that when we cycled through the vineyards, countrysides and forests, it was often difficult to Read More

Bonita S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

Everything about the Famous Villages of Provence was memorable; the views, the wine, the food and especially the accommodations. The staff at the hotels were so friendly and helpful. We were thankful that we upgraded to ebikes as some of the climbs would have been challenging. There is a learning cure when using the GPS, but it is very accurate and we truly enjoyed riding along the country lanes through apple and olive orchards.

Ann H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Wine, good food and laughter with good friends at the end of the day each day. I loved the City of Trier, the hotel we stayed in in Piesport- Wiengut Lehnert-Veit, and the Eltz Castle outside of Trier.

Ann A.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

4.5 stars. If the gorgeous scenery, quaint towns, and efficiency of bag transfer were only being rated, it would be 5 stars. We’ve done 1 other European bike trip, and 6 bike and barge trips. We prefer the bike and barge for primarily 2 reasons: 1. You can drop your bags, unpack and call the boat home for the duration. 2. Great meals and camaraderie with boat mates is fun! Packing and unpacking is no fun. The Mosel was gorgeous, hotels were good, other than a few exceptions, and Tripsite always makes booking easy with friendly staff and good communication ;)

Alden G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

I felt strongly the pull of the Mosel River as it flows across 2,000 years of history, spanning the Roman Empire, centuries of struggle between France and Germany culminating in World War II, and the formation of the European Union in 1985. From the bike saddle, we observe workers pruning vines and collecting grapes, children attending school and residents running daily errands. The experience unfolding before our eyes is enhanced by knowing a bit of that local history -- imagining Roman life here from 2,000 years ago, contemplating daily life in a medieval castle in the 16th century, and understanding World War 2 and postwar efforts to establish the European Union and the Euro common currency. All these historical events shaped life along this river; the evidence surrounds you, from Roman ruins, to castles, farms, footpaths, commercial barge traffic, and agriculture. Part of this journey is taking note of the layering of the modern world over deep historical foundations.

Sally S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Riding along the river the entire time with beautiful scenery and good bicycling surfaces.

Donald M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Corsica E-Bike Tour
France

The route and scenery exceeded my expectations.

Marilyn K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Our trip along the Moselle River from Metz France, through Luxemburg, to Koblenz Germany was a fantastic adventure! The route was easy to follow, especially with the GPS coordinates we were provided along with the detailed description of the towns. Our group of four travelled along the river following the mostly paved trail through fields and forests, vineyards, and city trails. The September air was crisp and cool and the vines were rich with clusters of grapes. Traveling comfortably an average of 35 miles on well-maintained e-bikes, we arrived at our destinations with plenty of time for exploration and discovery. Each town had its own charming character. Trier, one of the oldest cities of Germany was an incredible architectural experience with Romanesque arches, palaces and cathedrals. We discovered outdoor markets and enjoyed local Luxemburg cuisine as we learned about the creation of the Schengen agreement which led to the EEU. Old Roman castles dotted the terraced mountains and Read More

Keith D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The scenery along the route is amazing. Rolling vineyards and hills are gorgeous. The chateaux were stunning with Chenonceaux the most spectacular (pro tip, GET THERE WHEN IT OPENS at 9am. You must reserve your time to visit online before you go. Also, get the audio guides whenever you can; really adds to the visit). We also took the canoe tour along the Cher river and saw Chenonceaux from the water; HIGHLY recommend doing this.
The chateau in Blois and Chaumont-Sur-Loire were gorgeous, as was Chambord. Cheverny was a treat with the hound pen and Tin Tin exhibit.
We found a winery on the route from Amboise to Vouvray (Caves Cathelineau in Chancay). We did a tour and then a tasting and it was one of the highlights of our trip
The route is rated Easy to Moderate. My wife and I are both experienced recreational cyclists and we opted for E-bikes. There ARE numerous hilly sections and wind; unless you truly love riding up hills, would strongly recommend an E-bike for this Read More

Matthew L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Normandy
France

Highlights was wonderful riding on French country roads with mostly minimal traffic. The official route takes a lot of twists and turns. We improvised (e.g. following marked bike paths in the general direction we wanted to go in, and at times a slightly busier road) and it went well.

Michael R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amboise in the Loire Valley
France

Bicycling to Chenonceau, going through vineyards, stopping to taste wines at a small private chateau with terraced gardens.

Randy R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Burgundy
France

Burgundy is a wonderful place for a bike tour. Dijon and Beaune have nice tourist sites, and we ate well and had excellent wine throughout. We especially liked the restaurant at Hotel Le Dracy.
The routes were nice, highlighted by the bike path along the canal between Beaune and Dracy. The hybrid bicycles were good, if a little heavy for those of us used to road bikes. We had no mechanical issues.

Randy R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Geneva to Lyon
Switzerland, France

Nice route, much of it on dedicated bicycle paths. The gravel bikes we rented were good - no mechanical issues of any kind. The biggest problem was that when we arrived at Perouges, a beautifully preserved medieval town, we found that ALL of the restaurants in town were closed that (Wednesday) night,. The tour required a Sunday start, thereby guaranteeing a frustrating visit to Perouges on Wednesday.
One other suggestion. It was pretty hot and it would have been nice if there had been 2 bottle cages on each bike.
We did enjoy this tour.

Victoria F.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amboise in the Loire Valley
France

Pedaling through the fields of France was magnificent. Loved hooping off for a quick wine tasting or a leisurely tour through a chateau.

Pam M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Heart of the Tarn River Valley
France

This trip is and will be for a long time the most memorable trip I ever had. Our hotel was fantastic. Great rooms, great food. The bikes were top notch, couldn't have had a better bike. The owner of the hotel was very knowledgeable about the roads we took each day, and the road in the Tarn Valley are so smooth and well kept.

Jacinta M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
France

The cycling trip is most enjoyable amid stunning scenery and charming towns.
Please be transparent about your costs. I booked the chateau experience and paid more than I expected for the trip only to discover the Tripsite did not include the chateau experience in my vouchers. I received several emails in response to my queries re cost only to be given different answers re bank charges, currency conversion and hidden credit card charges, despite the fact I paid with a debit card. This is an American company that uses the dollar to suit it figures. I urge anyone using this company to get a detailed invoice before starting out. We were over charged for our trip but the company was not willing to accept this.

George T.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
France

On the whole it was a great trip and I would like to do something like this again. But as with most things in life it could be improved. I would leave out Azay le Rideau. It was not much of a town and the hotel was below par. I would include “rest days”. For example I would have loved to spend more time in Chinon. So cycling all the way to chinon on day one then a rest there. And so on… For mid summer I would include an option not to have a hotel breakfast. On the really hot days (40c) we tried to get away at 6am to avoid the heat and have our cycling mostly done by lunch. It also means less traffic on the road. We had some good hotels and some rally poor ones. I think tripsite needs to work on consistency.

DOROTHY D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Corsica, Isle of Beauty
France

This tour takes you through spectacular landscapes and beautiful villages.

Richard S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Luxury Castles of the Loire
France

This was a self guided tour and the directions provided were terrible. Spent a lot of time lost

Nicolaas v.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Discover the Dordogne E-Bike tour
France

This was a fantastic bike trip! The weather forecast for our trip was not favorable but we had only 1 rainy day and we were prepared with rain gear. The route was beautiful and very safe. French drivers are very aware and respectful of cyclists. So many beautiful places to see! We highly recommend on the 5th day to visit the gardens and Benac castle. There is a choice to visit 2 other castles that day but the gardens include lots of walking as does exploring the castle. The optional ride in Sarlat is well worth it but don’t miss the canoe on the Dordogne. We did both. We stayed an extra day in Sarlat in June because high season is July so it was not mobbed. A lovely experience! If you do not speak French just try a few words and you will be well received. If you expect a non English speaking French person if they speak English they will say no and not attempt to help you.

Anne C.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amboise in the Loire Valley
France

The most memorable part was the quality of the bikes. Negatively memorable. They were very heavy. Definitely not of the same quality we had on the barge. I recommend a different supplier. Otherwise enjoyed the area and the hotel.

Alix L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amboise in the Loire Valley
France

Beautiful countryside, wonderful chateau’s. We stayed at the Hotel la Breche which is 2 blocks from the train in a quiet residential area and a short 10 minute walk to town. Included was an unbelievable 8 course meal. It was very fancy and fun to try French cuisine. Breakfasts were wonderful also. Hosts are very hospitable. We enjoyed sitting in the gardens when not in use for the restaurant.
The bike routes were great in that we were mostly on bike trails. It was great to have a focus for the days ride. We found the directions co fusing and had a hard time figuring out which voucher for chateaus went with which day tour. The bikes were also very cumbersome. They had a deep V and there was no room between the V and the water bottle so it was hard to get on and off and to stand. Once on them they did work well.