France Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 115


Lawrence F.
1 day ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
France

We actually combined two Loire Valley segments - Tours to Angers, and Angers to St. Brevin les Pins, adding an extra day in the middle, in Angers. The Loire Valley is a wonderful cycling experience - spectacular scenery, countless fascinating historical sites, charming inns, excellent food and wine. The cycling was definitely on the easy side - mostly flat, reasonable distances each day, the trails well-marked, the paths mostly paved and separated from the roads. The bikes (Scott Sport 20) were steady and comfortable. The weather during our trip (mid-June) was near-perfect, except for a bit of unusual heat the last few days. Highly recommended for every aspect of the cycling experience.

James C R.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

The route was well planned and paced, the hotels perfectly fine and the sights were tremendous. What beautiful scenery! A few tricky spots, but some must be expected on a bike tour. Highly suggest using the app, suppled by Tripsite, for each day's itinerary; would not have wanted to follow the route using paper maps. A word to the wise on e-bikes: the last three days were very hilly, so care must be taken to conserve the battery when possible. Even being cautious, I ran out of juice on two days. It was not fun peddling these heavy bikes the last 4-5 miles. On the whole, highly recommend this particular tour, the third one we've taken with Tripsite.

Jonathan H.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The garden festival at Chaumont-Sur-Loire was probably the nicest surprise visit for us all tho there were lots of high points and each person of our group would have slightly different takes different.
Quality of routes and ease of following was wonderful.
Canoe and wine experiences could have been better.
Better indications of facilities for coffees and sandwiches en route would have been helpful as well as advising impact if weekends and bank holidays.
Hotels quite variable - one excellent, two good albeit rooms not great, one disappointing - I had to generalise in giving rating below but Amboise for example would be very satisfied on all and Cheverny ‘neither’ apart from food which would be ‘satisfies’
All in all a great trip

Diego Z.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

Great Trip,
All the places were very nice.
The service was very good
It will better if yousay who little town is worth to go inside (if you have time) and which is better for lunch, etc

In the hotels.
The Hotels Mais d Agret in Les Baux is really very COMPLETE and GOOD
The Hotel du poete is good but need Manteinance, pinting, etc
The Hotel Ibis in Avignon os maybe the less..

Thanks for everything,

Pablo Adrian V.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

The coverage of the company is excellent. They fulfilled everything they offered. The bikes are new and of very good quality. Le Baux de Provence is a beautiful place

Brian O.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

French Riviera
France

The weather was perfect and the food out of this world. Just be aware that off season means just that. While not a huge issue but some of the restaurants etc were on reduced hours.

Anni H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Cycling along the river, the journey

Jennifer B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Avignon to Cassis
France

The whole trip was fantastic. The variety of terrain was great. The GPS was invaluable and steered us just right. I would suggest stopping at a market before leaving for the day to get lunch to take on the ride and then stopping at patisseries or glaciers in the towns for treats.

Keith R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Châteaux Country (based in one hotel)
France

This was an excellent trip. Our first trip in almost two years. The hotel was lovely, excellent service and restaurant. The bike riding itself was also very good. The routes were well organized and on very quiet roads and bike paths. We had zero issues with traffic. The terrain is relatively flat with only the climb and descent to the Loire river posing any kind of difficulty. The area was relatively quiet due to the pandemic however most restaurants were open as well as the various chateau. We were able to create the pass sanitaire with our Canadian vaccine certificates so entry into restaurants and attractions was a non-issue. They do scan at most restaurants and often times on the train.

Lawrence F.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Southern France Canal du Midi Bike Tour
France

The Canal du Midi tour is a wonderful cycling experience - generally easy riding along a lovely tree-lined waterway and across gorgeous countryside. The daily distances were about right, 30 - 40 kms, and allowed us to arrive at our destinations not all all tired and with enough time to explore and relax when we got there. I would think this would be a perfect first tour for uncertain, inexperienced riders and even for families. The stops were all excellent and varied - some rural, some more urban, most with historical significance (especially Carcassonne and Narbonne!), and the canal itself becomes a big part of the tour as you learn about its history and its many innovative engineering achievements. The food, of course, was also a highlight of the tour, and I would definitely recommend including the additional meals, as the restaurants selected were all first class, served exquisite local fare, and were in excellent locations. The hotels and inns were also all excellent choices. We Read More

Laura H.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

We loved the Bed and Breakfasts Tripsite set us up with! Very charming with delicious breakfast food

David and Anne S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

This was the best bike trip of our lives. We took it in early June, 2019 with e-bikes and upgraded accommodations. Unless you're a strong cyclist, e-bikes are the way to go for this trip. First, the hotels were amazing and in each one after the first the specific rooms reserved were wonderful. The first hotel in Avignon was simply awful. Not only because the air conditioning was out, but the room was tacky, in bad repair, and was musty. The tour needs to have this changed. The common areas were just fine, it was only our room. Another thing to change would be the route on the first day through Avignon - heavy traffic, a lot of road construction, and then cycling on a road with a narrow shoulder, semi trucks, and 30 mph winds. This was still a five-star trip. I hadn't done much research ahead of time, and so Les Baux de Provence and Fontaine de Vaucluse each came as a complete and wonderful surprise - I had not even imagined places of such beauty and charm. There Read More

Gary N.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Best of Burgundy
France

The hotels were great & friend

Antonina (Ena) G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
France, Germany

Beautiful scenery loved the old towns. The bikes were great

Anette Lie B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
France

The beautiful landscape in the Loire Valley and the picturesque towns of Chinon and Azay le Rideau made this trip a wonderful experience that I would warmly recommend everyone! The bikes had high quality and the hotels were all great.Everything went smoothly and everyone was very helpful. I will definitely come back some day.

John M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
France

The bikes supplied were fantastic. The maps and directions were easy to follow, and the route was spectacular. We were very happy with all of the hotels chosen by Tripsite. All in all, we had an extremely enjoyable 5 days, and we will be definitely doing another bike trip with Tripsite the next time we visit Europe.

Sheri A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

Make sure you bring layers in case of rain

Ginny S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Geneva to Lyon
Switzerland, France

It was all beautiful, but Pérouges was a real highlight. A well preserved medieval town, the accommodations and spectacular food reflected the history of this special place.

Stan and Nancy H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
France, Switzerland

This trip was fabulous, very scenic and the ebikes were perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip although we went at a time when the vineyards were mainly closed for harvest. We made our own picnic lunches along the way or stopped at local pubs and restaurants for lunch and wine. The written directional instructions were very helpful, as were the gps tracks. Julian, our local coordinator was very helpful in resolving a small glitch with our first hotel. All the hotels were great, and the restaurants and food were generally quite good, even though our dinner selections were limited to a few choices. Of the towns we stayed in, Colmar and Kayersburg were the best! The dessert in the Colmar Grand Hotel Bristol was memorably fantastic. The restaurant we were sent to in Basel was rather mediocre and disappointing given what we had pre-paid, especially the horrible cup of fruit cocktail we were given for dessert ( not even on the menu!) The vineyards ended before Mulhouse, which seemed like Read More

Michael C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Normandy
France

This was a truly outstanding tour. Excellent routes found for cycling and gave the chance to see the beaches and really understand the way the Normandy Invasion unfolded and how big the area involved in this incredible event in history was.

A seemless trip where our biggest concern was where to get our next cup of coffee as we meandered across the countryside.

Gerald M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The best memory of the trip was a spectacular meal at Auberge de la labourer in Chenonceaux. They were fully booked but set up a table in the bar and gave us the full restaurant menu. It’s a great restaurant and the extra work the staff put in added to the experience.

We had two complaints. First, neither of our odometers worked so we had no way of measuring distance. This meant constantly stopping and checking to make sure we were on the right way.

Second, the directions to get to Cour Chevigny had one massive error. When we came off the trail and onto Route 52 the directions said to turn right, go to the roundabout, and follow the sign to Route D102. There is no such sign. The only sign to Cour Chevigny is for Route 52, the road we were already on. So, thanks to some help, we turned around, followed route 52 for five kilometres and came right to our hotel. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED.

Marion L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

What a fabulous way to see Provence. The route selected took us through many memorable villages. Provence Bike did a great job with high quality bikes, good maps and well set up GPS systems. We particularly enjoyed seeing Roussilon; Gordes; Baix Aux Provence as well as the source of River Sourge. Our group of 4 decided on e-bikes which we did not regret because of the steep hills getting in and out of the villages. We particularly liked the idea of staying multiple nights in one location. A great trip!! A suggestion -- include a list of things "not to miss" that are less than a kilometer from the route or, in the villages we are going through. It is convenient to have a guide book but a few notes would be really helpful.

Louise P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amboise in the Loire Valley
France

Most Memorable Part: The bikes were top quality, delivered and picked up from hotel on time. Great itineraries- we highly recommend Tripsite!

Timothy M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Orléans to Tours
France

Amazing! We've done many organized and self supported tours, but this one by far is our favorite. We combined two 4-day (of riding) tours into one, the Orleans to Tours and Tours to Angers tours, for eight days of riding and a day on each end for coming and going. We chose the lowest level of hotels and all were fine. We don't spend much time in the room anyway, we just need a comfortable bed. The itinerary was perfect, average of 50km a day and usually one chateau visit along the way so at an easy pace we had plenty of time for a morning coffee stop, a few hours at the chateau du jour and lunch, and arrived at the hotel in time to do laundry and head to dinner. The overnight stops were a good mix of big cities (Orleans, Tours) and quaint towns. We didn't take a rest day, but if you're considering it, think about Amboise, a quaint town, rather than the midpoint Tours. Amboise was our favorite town-a good selection of restaurants, a beautiful chateau Read More

Cindy S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

London to Amsterdam
England, France, Belgium, Netherlands

London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

Ed Carroll
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

London to Amsterdam
England, France, Belgium, Netherlands

I did this "guided" bike tour from London to Amsterdam. There are many areas where improvement is needed.

We weren't given a map or App of the biking route as promised. We rode through many villages, resorts and towns from Dunkirk to Amsterdam but were not told the names of the towns, or the history of the towns - and we stopped only for "coffee breaks". When we asked what town we were in for the coffee breaks the guide was unable to tell us. We either used google maps or asked strangers where we were. Also, we biked past notable places of interest like the beach in Dunkirk where British troops were rescued during WWII - and the Dover Castle - but never stopped - even to take pictures. It was all about getting to the next hotel in time for dinner.

We weren't told the hotel we were staying in until we arrived at the hotel. We usually arrived at the hotel around 6pm and had little time to turn in our bikes for the night, get our Read More

Jeffrey A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Paris to London
France, England

Antonenella, our guide was awesome, as was our two helpers! We loved riding through the countryside of both France and England, it was so beautiful. This trip is highly recommended. Our group was made up of 16 people from different countries, so it made for a fun group. If you are not used to biking up hills, we recommend renting the e-bikes, because they really make this trip wonderful. There is time to enjoy the sites and sounds around you. Half our group wore biking shorts and the other half wore shorts and t-shirts. American tennis shoes are fine. Bring a padded seat cover and padded shorts, because it will help a lot. We all met for dinner each night, so bring a few nicer clothes. Bikers are provided with one small pack wit maps per couple, that attaches to handle bars. I put sanitizer, gum, money and my phone in the pack. Everyone is provided with a side pack to go on their bike. We put an extra bottle of water, lunch and jackets in the bags. Make sure you have a phone that works Read More

Chris B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

This was a wonderful adventure with great surprises on the journey. This is hilly territory but very rewarding for the challenge. With a spectacular wine museum, vineyards, chateaus, prehistoric cave paintings - what’s not to love.

Julie S
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Paris to London
France, England

Denne turen var helt fantastisk! De som står for service og transport av bagasje er helt supre og veldig hyggelige mennesker. Ved bruk av en egen app, går turen som en lek! I de større byene er det lett å navigere seg frem og kjempe fint landskap å sykle i. Kan anbefale denne turen til alle! :)

Mik L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The Loire was wonderful, Jon the guide was wonderful and Lunch in Adon was Magnifique!