Belgium Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 73


Tom R.
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Bikes allow a good level of immersion into local culture. The Netherlands provides a great example of a prosperous, healthy and environmentally aware society. My observations are purely anecdotal but we in the US could learn a lot by following the example set by these kind and thoughtful people. I would recommend the Tripsite unguided bike tour from Bruges to Amsterdam to anyone. All arrangements and accommodations were fabulous.

Martin R.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Scenic Coastal Route from Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The tour was very well organized. Pieter was waiting for us at the Abcoude train station when we arrived and he took the time to thoroughly explain everything about the bikes, the equipment, safety rules and tips, hotels, etc. Most of the pedalling is through the country side and small and quaint villages. The scenery was beautiful and relaxing. All hotels were excellent, with well appointed rooms although a few were on the smaller side. Nevertheless, all hotels had their own unique charm and all breakfasts were excellent.

Before starting, we thought we could average around 18 km/h but in reality, we were closer to the 15-16 km/ average pretty much every day. Main reasons for that were :
1. Head winds (sometimes quite strong) more than half of the time which slow you down
2. Stopping/starting to take pictures, admire the scenery. Every time you stop, you have to get back up to speed.
3. Cycling through towns and villages, you can't go very fast as there are Read More

Willem S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The route is carefully planned to include as much rural bike paths and beautiful country side. As someone who grew up in the Netherlands, I am very impressed in the careful planning of green and agricultural area versus urbanization. The route led us via these green parts of the Netherland I hadn't experienced before. The cultural aspect in the selection of stop=over cities is also noteworthy and admirable.

All in all a great trip and highly recommendable.

Margi B.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The biking routes were excellent! The recommended paths of the self-guided tour were well chosen, easy to follow, gorgeous and fun.

Kirsten M.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The itinerary for this trip was very scenic with a good mix of countryside and small towns. The hotels were nicely located and appointed.

Route: nice combination of countryside and small towns. The GPS tracks that were provided worked great on our Garmin device. Getting into Amsterdam was a bit unnerving so not sure if there would have been a little less busy route to the hotel.

Hotels: all were located near city center and within walking distance of town sites and restaurants. The Hotel Mondragon in Zierikzee was wonderful; the host at Hotel Loskade was very helpful and accommodating. The NH Bruges was an ‘upgrade’ and while the location was very good, the hotel itself was worn and in need of maintenance and upgrade. All hotels provided nice buffet breakfasts.

Bikes : the hybrid bike was comfortable and well maintained. The e-bike was comfortable and the battery had a very long charge time. The hybrid bike came with handlebars Read More

Brenda S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Your website should warn people if they choose a tandem bike, that only one pannier is provided for two people. No handle bar bag is provided.
An additional very low cost tool that should be included in every pannier is a bike multitool. You are riding a bike in the countryside and most times not near a bike store, let alone one that is actually opened when you need it. We had parts fall off bikes (e-bikes and tandem) that were not able to be fixed unless you had a multitool. A pedal fell off while riding, and of course no town in site for miles. We happened to have a bike multitool so we could continue on our ride.
The hotel provided in Willemstad was not satisfactory. We had low angled ceilings that you can easily bump your head on when turning around. The sky light leaked. The room had a bad smell.
The tour instructions for Amsterdam could have been updated to reflect all the bike path closures in the city. These paths had been closed for a long time, so alternate instructions to maneuver around the city would have been very helpful.

Kari T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved the scenic routes through multiple towns every day. Take some time to stop and walk around in some of the along the way each day. The hotel accommodations far exceeded my expectations. They were all fantastic and in great locations. The staff at each were very helpful.

Be prepared for any weather. The weather can be unpredictable, so it's better to be prepared for anything!

David S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Great to be able to see the sites at a manageable rate and to cover a lot of ground in doing so.

Ashley D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

My husband and I chose a bike trip from Amsterdam to Bruges in September 2023 for our Honeymoon! We had an absolutely fabulous time! Each hotel was delightful, breakfasts were fantastic! We were happy with our bikes, and the bike storage that was provided was ideal. We couldn't have been happier with our route, and each town along the way. We prepared for picnics each day, and that offered a nice rest in a beautiful place, giving us the energy to head to the next stop. We felt that we had time to explore and see the sites, and also relax as we went along. Make sure to get the GPS! Highly recommend, and hope to do something again in the future.

walkiria b.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

A wonderful trip! From arrival in Amsterdam to the end of the trip, the support provided by Tripsite was perfect. Revised bicycles, comfortable hotels and a well-planned itinerary. I recommend renting a GPS, the trails are saved and it makes the trip more peaceful. If possible, go by e-bike, there are so many opportunities to stop for photos and enjoy the beautiful cities along the way that we end up spending a lot of time on the journey.

Lilach L.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Romantic Bruges
Belgium

The B& B was very comfortable, good service and in a great location, the routes were also very scenic.
The main problem was the quality of the bike that was below average. The regular bike were essentially city bikes with technical problems and uncomfortable.

James A.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

This is a tremendous bicycle tour. The coastal routes on the first two days were very nice, the small towns we stayed in were charming, and the ride from Gouda to Amsterdam on the final day was very memorable. The GPS routes were very reliable and the paper maps were helpful as well. The only negative was that the bicycles should have been in better shape.

Chris Prince
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

My wife and I booked this trip and absolutely loved it. Fell in love with the Netherlands so hard that we would move there in an instant.
This was our first trip through Tripsite since our honeymoon almost a decade ago, and I cannot say enough great things about how wonderful and easy it is to book through them. We upgraded to category A, and were extremely pleased by how nice the hotels were- well worth the slight price increase.
Highlights: Everything? The scenery is unbelievable. The North Sea ride was gorgeous. Gouda is as beautiful a city as I've ever seen. Swans everywhere, hardly any hills; Bruges is captivating; Willemstaad is idyllic; Zierkzee is quaint and beautiful; Middelburg is bustling and brimming with life. Unreal.
Lowlights: I can't really say there were. Papendrecht is an oddity here, Dordrecht across the river is much much cooler and worth wandering around. I will say that the hotel in Dordrecht and their lovely staff made it Read More

Elena P.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Seeing all the old buildings along the canal, seeing the North Sea, eating authentic stroopwafels, and having mussels in Belgium. Honestly the entire trip was amazing.

My only tip would be to rent an e-bike! We didn’t and encountered strong headwinds that significantly slowed us down, so we didn’t get to explore as much as we wanted to. Also, spend two nights in Bruges!

David D.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

What a lovely 6 day bike trip. The hotels, routes, and towns along the way were all special and memorable in their own way. My wife and I and our two teenage children loved it. I recommend doing it from Bruges to Amsterdam because by the time we reached Amsterdam, we were prepared to bike around that bike crazy town with the locals. Having my own GPS using the pre-programmed routes was incredibly useful in navigating the sprawling Netherlands cycle system. We loved that there was a protected/designated bike path often removed from cars for the majority of the time. Would absolutely do it again.

Norah and Dave
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Romantic Bruges
Belgium

Did this tour in August 2019. Had an incredible time. Benny is an amazing host. The B&B is so comfortable and the food is incredible. Our breakfast lasted us most of the day. Benny oriented us to the routes and gave us great advice on what to expect. Almost the entire route is on cycling/pedestrian paths so no worries about fighting traffic. The scenery is amazing. Lots of places to stop for refreshments on the way. The only advice I would give anyone is make sure you stay a few extra days in Bruges. It is so beautiful we would have loved to spend some more time just enjoying the town..

Malina C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The accomodation was excellent. The Netherlands are a wonderful place to explore on a bike, it looks like a natural park in whixh a few people live. I have rarely seen such respect and care for nature and animals, it was breathtaking.
Bike lanes are also in a very good shape.

JUAN CARLOS M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Excelent experience. All was Anna tell us.

The hotel & bikes woooow!!!

The only why, the Tulipanies was cut 1 week before. We don’t see this espectacular view.

All right. Great travel.

Marko J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Beatiful scenery, nice people, windy whether :)

Eric P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Excelente cicloviagem, paisagens muito bonitas, vias super seguras e uma ótima organização pela tripsite!

Tahnee R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

This is our second TripSite tour and we love the combination of bike/hotel/luggage transport support and being on our own and without the added cost of a guide. We have recommended Trip Sites to many friends.

A few of the positives and suggestions...

Pros

Great bikes. High quality, both the regular and e-bikes.

Friendly, responsive and helpful staff. When a few of our group asked to exchange for e-bikes after a first very windy day, the local company (Dutch Bike Tours) was very friendly and drove them to us within a couple of hours (for a cost but that was expected).

The Netherlands is amazing for biking. Flat, accessed by a huge network of bike paths (seemingly every roadway), very well signed, drivers unexpectedly respectful to cyclists (compared to the U.S.), and so scenic.

Some lovely towns: we especially loved Gouda, Willemstadt, Zierikzee, Middleburg and Bruge.

Suggestions

Information: While we had contact with the local Read More

Silvia Susana D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The bike trip from Amsterdam to Brujas was excellent! The fisrt day was a little bit difficult to follow the maps and GPS but we made it :), the gps was very usefull , and the maps that they gave us too, using both things was perfect not to get loss. It is only a matter to get use to the signs and maps and GPS, but if you could I suggest to pay a litlle extra money and ask for the gps.
The hotels were beautifull and confortable, the only one I would take out of the route is the one in Papendrecht, not because of the hotel, the hotel was very nice, but the area is not really nice. I suggest that night to stay at a hotel in Dordretch. Dordretch is beautiful :).
The routes were so nice, I really enjoyed the tour, we didn´t have any problems with the bikes. Our luggage was always on time in our next hotel. so everything was perfect!

elke k.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

We are from Mexico and this is our second time with tripsite. And definitely looking forward to do it again.
Amsterdam to Brugge is magic!!
The sites, the routes, the lodges and great food!!
We decided to do it on ebike and was an excellent choice.this way we could enjoy the road with the right effort.
The bikes were excelent and all the experience with tripsite is the best!
Looking for for our next trip!

Andrew M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Here are a few suggestions:

1. Offer a less congested route out of Amsterdam. The route we were given took us through the areas with the most traffic and a lot of confusing turns. An alternative route could easily be offered and would have made the first day's ride a lot less stressful.
2. Several of our bikes had problems with shifting and other things. My bike often would shift down and up with no input from me other than pedaling. Two other bikes in our group of four had shifting issues. Also, my seat kept tilting forward on the seat post, despite the fact that I had a multi-tool and would crank the Allen bolt as tight as I could. Unbelievably, there was no interest from Dutch Bike Tours in identifying which bikes had problems.
3. Although most hotels were nice (we had the upgraded package), a few were very disappointing. In particular, the Woerten Best Western and the Vlissingen Hotel Piccard were quite bad and depressing, with tiny rooms and no charm at all. These were unacceptable.
4. The ride was scenic and very pleasant-- the bikes themselves and a few bad hotels were the only bummers.

Norman F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip was excellent begging to end overall. We made it a day longer as offered. If I was offering suggestions to the tour operator it would be as follows. Have somebody explain how the electric bike works, including the locking system, locks, and battery removal. We had the aid of the hotel employee who came down and helped us out. I would also highly recommend the GPS as many signs or markers are missing, especially getting in or out of Amsterdam and some of the towns along the way. All hotels were great except Vlissingen (that one was a huge let down). The breakfasts at all the hotels were good as were the staff in all of them including V. I would pay more if the all hotels were like the Zierikee location, hotel names are alluding me. The tracks chosen were excellent and we did the long route each time. Some great little towns for a beer or lunch along the way. The rides are extremely easy and relaxing. Never a busy trail. Will be booking another one ( take the better hotels if offered). The whole trip was memorable.

Vinícius G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Country
Netherlands, Belgium, Germany

Wonderful tour ! Amazing views that changes from the flat cycle paths in Netherlands passing trough the Cousy villages in Belgium and reach the mountains in Germany! It was my first experience with TRIPSITE and I would recommend for others!
One suggestion to make this tour more incredible would be to spend a night in Monschau. That city was the most of the trip!

Cecilia s.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved how beautiful and open and green the landscape we biked thru was. Picturesque towns, lovely houses farms and gardens.
The most polite people when it comes to cycling and everyone in the Netherlands does it!

Lawrence F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip From Amsterdam to Bruges is a wonderful cycling experience - lovely scenery, charming towns full of history, great, fresh food, and easy cycling over the flat lowland terrain that defines the Netherlands. One has to accept the wind and rain as part of the experience, but we were certainly lucky this time with the weather - mostly sunny or lightly overcast days, with occasional drizzles and gusts of wind, particularly near the coastal areas. A highly recommended tour that provides a great introduction to the region.

The only concerns/suggestions I would offer are these: a) would prefer hotels located in/close to the town center, not in the suburbs; would also prefer locally owned hotels rather than chains,2) the maps were
Generally unhelpful - they are virtually microscopic, and certainly difficult to follow on a bike - suggest getting the GPS option, or just using the GPS on your phone, and 3) if wind/rain/distances are a concern, would suggest opting for the excellent and very efficient ebikes that are so common here in the Netherlands.

Don H.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The accommodations were perfect. All of the lodgings were comfortable, clean, and well appointed. They were located in the heart of the community. Our luggage was transferred from place to place in a timely manner. The bikes were comfortable and the bags easily fit everything we needed on the route.

Kim F.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Every day was an adventure. The bike paths were lovely to follow and every town was beautiful. We enjoyed riding all day and walking the towns at night before selecting a restaurant for dinner. The history was endless and the daily map book provided good advise for sightseeing in each town. Generally the ride was easy until we got to the coast where the wind presented a challenge. Amsterdam and Brugges proved to be the perfect bookends for the smaller towns we visited in between.