Portugal Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 138


Kevin D.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The paradors were incredible! And riding along the coast of Portugal and Spain... magical.

Gordon Shaw
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

My best bike trip ever. The route has some challenging sections but exciting. Will definitely go again.

Darla Q.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Alentejo Vineyards
Portugal

You will love, love, love the quiet days on the road, the accommodations, the sights and the breakfasts. You may not love the instant coffee in some locations or the fact that the gps system stops talking to you in the towns where you most need it. The Evora loop day was a bit of a disappointment due to travelling on a highway for a good part of it, especially after having so many glorious days prior to that.

Celine O.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

scenic views.great accommodations and enjoyable group dinners. Guides were friendly and helpful.

suggestions- rating it as " easy" was not accurate. the varying terrains made it more challenging. hill durations might be described better. I would give participants a branded water bottle as a take away.

Alessandra Melo
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Passeio fantástico!!!
Recomendo a todos que pretendem ter essa experiência de pedalar em Portugal e poder aventurar - se por caminhos que são uma verdadeira maravilha! Foi tudo muito gratificante, os guias, os hotéis!!! Muita a agradecer!!! Maravilhoso!!

Alessandra Melo
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Passeio fantástico!!!
Recomendo a todos que pretendem ter essa experiência de pedalar em Portugal e poder aventurar - se por caminhos que são uma verdadeira maravilha! Foi tudo muito gratificante, os guias, os hotéis!!! Muita a agradecer!!! Maravilhoso!!

Louise V.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Beautiful beaches. The coast of Portugal is truly remarkable

Valerie K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

The trip was outstanding. Sergio is the ultimate trip leader. Some in the group were not expecting as much off road dirt and stone trails, but they managed. Just know this will be part of the route. Until Portugal, and perhaps other countries, eliminate the currency exchange surcharge, I’d recommend bringing Euros with you. AAA is currently exchanging dollars to Euros with no fees for members. And pack lightly! Many had too much clothing.

Christina C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Traversing by bike through the Vincentine Coast and Algarve was an unforgettable experience! The scenery was breathtaking at each turn...just when we thought we had seen the most beautiful view we rounded a corner and came upon yet another gorgeous view. The varied surfaces that we biked on kept things interesting but we were well guided by our fearless leader Sergio. We completed the ride on hybrid bikes but the majority of our group were on ebikes. We were able to visit many small towns along the way, a stop at a dairy farm with a tour of their cheese making and tasting, a wine tasting at a vineyard and opportunities to jump in the ocean! All of the accommodations were wonderful. We loved the trip and would do it again in a heartbeat!

Ann M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

It was the trip of a lifetime! On top of our own fabulous group of 20 and lots of sunshine, our tour guides, Sergio, Miguel and Pedro,were phenomenal! They were patient, kind and fun and very knowledgable. We had a tour of the back roads and coastlines of Portugal that included visits to ruins, wineries, cheese farm, beaches & many small towns. They always had water and snacks available at each stop. Our guides were always flexible to accommodate the needs and wants of the group and worked very hard to keep everyone happy. A few minor technical issues with the bikes were resolved promptly. The accommodations along the way were all very different and each wonderful in its own way. I highly recommend this trip without reservation!!

Corinne V.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Riding along the coastline was incredible. The hill climbs and the terrain was more challenging than expected and some places I had to carry or push my very heavy bike through sand. I am so glad that I had an electric bike for the hills! All of the hotels were amazing, but the hotel de rio was so breathtakingly beautiful I wish we had spent 2 nights there. a suggestion would be to have some videos of the difficult sections on your website, and more detailed descriptions about the daily rides and the types of terrain.

Andy Z.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

This was an excellent experience for my first time visiting Portugal. What a truly fantastic way to explore and discover the historic attractions. I couldn't have been more impressed with the tour guides, and overall the service was first class. Thanks to Mario and Jorge for making this such an enjoyable trip. My only complaint was that I didn't have more time to spend, two days of riding was not nearly enough. I will be back to fix that as soon as I can!

Gabriel E.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Wild Coast
Portugal

I booked this tour in 2019 for late February and early March of 2020 - yes, difficult times.
Nevertheless, It was fantastic!

I had the privilege to start the tour and enjoy an incredible experience. I had high expectations but it was much better. The local partner picked me up at the airport and even took the time to drive through the first day of my route with me. Instruct me on all the equipment, fit the bike for me, and they even gave me a local cell phone with credit to call them - or anyone, during my time there. It was much better than any other similar cycling solo trips that I have booked before in the US and Asia through different partners. Then, sadly I had to cancel half of my 11 days trip because of the coronavirus crisis. However, they were super diligent in making sure I could leave safely and they provided some credit for when I can come back- and I will!

Gilberto M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Alentejo Vineyards
Portugal

This was a wonderful cycle tour through rural areas and medieval cities of Alentejo! For us one of the best spots was the city of Evora! And if you like wines this is the right region!

Rony L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

Surving the rain. Seriously.... SINTRA.

BRENO C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

every day was very special

Ivan M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

We did the self-guided tour. My wife took the e-bike, and me and my daughters took normal bikes. It was an excelent combination.
The support was excellent, hotels are amazing.
We loved the tour.

Sue G.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Douro Valley Wine & E-Bike Tour
Portugal

The self guided e-bike trip in the Douro valley was spectacular and went off without a glitch. Planning and communication with Tripsite was spot on and we especially appreciated the guidance and support from Sergio for the bike tour. Accommodations were excellent. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience and would certainly recommend this trip.

Lori O.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Our trip was fabulous.
The coastal roads were amazing.
We felt like Sergio was available anytime we needed him.
The hotels were mostly perfect.
We would recommend this trip to all our friends!

Gregory F.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Atlantic Route
Portugal

First 2 days along the Atlantic beaches is great.

Linda P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

Riding along the Atlantic coastline was magnificent.

Sarah k.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

The trip was more of a bike ride than informational tour of the country. We thought we would learn more about Portugal.

Lynda R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

Riding along the ocean. I would've liked to top and embrace the first view of the ocean after riding through all the traffic the first day.

I really appreciated Sergio making arrangements for my early return to Porto before the last day of trip. John was funny and liked his humour. Paul was great to be there when seriously needed for flat tires, chain disconnects, snacks and such. A wonderful time!

Mark M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

It was an easy ride with great bikes. Our group was large and our guide handled us well. We were disappointed in two coastal towns being shut down so very few shops or restaurants were open. Hotels were great.

Janellen H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The memories of cycling along the Atlantic coast past long white sand beaches and through charming seaside towns remain long after the trip’s end. This route has incredible scenery. The experience of meeting other walkers and cyclists on route to Santiago enhances the feeling of a pilgrimage. The trip was well organized, the guides knowledgeable, and the accommodations and food exceeded my expectations.

Theresa H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

North Portugal
Portugal

This was a beautiful tour of northern Portugal. We rode through vineyards, along beautiful rivers and the Atlantic coast. The accommodations were excellent and the suggested restaurants gave a great example of classic Portuguese food.

marybeth h.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

North Portugal
Portugal

The trail was beautiful. Loved going thru the eucalyptus forest the aromas lovely. Being next to the rivers and ocean was great. Most of the trail was covered with shade making the hot days most enjoyable.
Hotel accommodations were nice. Liked having different styles of hotels - each had their own character.
Recommend to have a couple more food recommendations for lunch as some restraints were closed Mon & Tues due to being late in the season.
All our bike were new models- well maintained. Our host made sure several times during the trip that everything was working ok.

ELIZABETH T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

This was the best cycling trip ever! A total exhilarating adventure!! The vistas, the terrain, the food , the accommodation were absolutely perfect. It really was a trip of a lifetime. As we rounded every corner there was another adventure. There was a smile on the groups faces constantly as it was a fun and somewhat challenging ride. The e bikes were really appreciated on the steep hills. However it still required hard pedalling,
I cannot give enough praise to Sergio and the crew. They took excellent care of us every minute. The group dinners were very enjoyable. This tour fills fast and I can now understand.
Sign up for this as the spots go very quickly and I can now say I understand why it is so popular

Melissa S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

There were so many memorable aspects of our self-guided cycling tour from Porto to Santiago . . . too many to list. It's easier to list the negative parts of the trip because there were NONE, except for wanting to stay even longer! I really have to give a shout-out to Sergio and John at the bike shop in Porto because every aspect of this self-guided trip was extremely well organized and the trip went off without a hitch from the GPS and app directions, the daily luggage transfers, and the wonderful hotels . . . everything was perfect. Thank you for an amazing trip!

Chris s.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Wonderful trip! We were a party of eight, ages 55 to 72, and did the 8-day self-guided tour. The scenery was spectacular, the e-bikes were almost new (two of them were brand new), the GPS route finding was excellent, the hotels were all very comfortable, and the baggage handling was flawless. Most of the riding was on dedicated bike paths, backroads, or elevated wood paths. There were a few short sections of sand that required pushing the bikes and a few busy stretches of road (all with good shoulders). Two memorable hotels are Parador de Baiona in Bayona which is inside a castle, and Torre do Rio in Caldas Dos Reis which is in a remodeled 18th century textile mill featuring a waterfall pool and spectacular gardens.

The GPS guidance takes you from door-to-door of each hotel on the tour. We got off track at least once a per day with the GPS it is easy to get back on route. I recommend using both the Garmin GPS provided by Top Bikes (the tour operator) and the "Ride with Read More