Portugal Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 236


C G.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The landscape, ocean paths and excellent hotels are the best of this trip. I love cycling and do that regularly. This trip is classified as “easy” but I actually think it is very challenging. There is a variety of terrain, some parts are easy but others are very challenging with rocky hilly roads, passing streams and among walkers that do El Camino. The mountain bikes are great and I would not have been able to complete it without an electric mountain bike. Be prepared for many challenging hills. This is definitely not a trip for beginner or occasional cyclists.

Danny C.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Wild Coast
Portugal

We did the Wild Portugal 11 day trip on ebikes. Tripsite was top notch. Organization of trip and all communications were flawless. The bikes were great as were the accommodations and luggage transport. Everything ran like clockwork. It was our first trip like this and totally impressed us.

In retrospect, it would have been good to request a day off in the middle of the 9 days of biking which would have been easy to arrange---we just didn't think of it in advance.. At least for us old folks, a day off the bike would have been refreshing. Ride with GPS on our iPhone worked great. Thanks to the tour operator for that suggestion. The off road segments on ebikes were worth doing as there was very little traffic, generally scenic and with the exception of short stretches of deep loose sand very ridable. The ebikes were REALLY worth the extra expense to us. Dan and Melissa, June 2024

Anna Dagný
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

We were a group of 6 from Iceland in beginning of June 2024. Wonderful trip. Excellent professional and personal service. Would warmly recommend and use their service again.

Debra L.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal Cycling & Cooking E-bike tour
Portugal

Our Two tour guides Mario & Paulo especially Paulo since he really tried to make our trip informative and comfortable for each of us and that definitely added to our trip!

Gary J.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

Going through the smaller places of Portugal at a more leisurely pace.

Susan S.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The hotels were wonderful, we navigated better with ride with gps app. We had an amazing experience

James C.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

First of all, the bikes were outstanding. My wife has used many e bikes and she loved this one. The mountain bike I was given was also excellent. The three Paradors, (Santiago, Baiona and Pontevedra) were each outstanding. The path was extremely varied. Everything from smooth pavement to loose gravel. Some walking is likely. The shore-side or through wooded paths or through small villages sites were great.

Craig R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

The rugged coastline and the castle at Baiona as well as the hotel on the rushing River Torro de Oro.

Douglas C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

Staying at Quinta De Sao Tome. Great place to stay, great food and very friendly Hosts.

Melanie H.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

The most memorable part of the trip was the beautiful scenery of Portugal and seeing it from a variety of vistas. Also, we had a terrific group of people that was led by Joao and Telmo. Both guides provided excellent service, moving bags, as well as replenishing water and snacks. Joao was very informative about Portugal and as well helped us selecting menu items etc. Telmo has an infectious personality who kept a close eye on the group when guiding, was highly communicative during the rides and cheered us on. The guides did an excellent job of providing great stops, surprises (fada), and additional tours (distillery, wine tasting etc.) It truly gave us a glimpse into the culture of this beautiful country.

In terms of suggestions, I would upgrade sections of this trip from moderate to difficult. We encountered deep sand, rough, rocky terrain and a deep drop off a mountain that led to some dicey moments and a few spills. As well, I would suggest prior to getting into busy Read More

Christine L.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

We had a great small group with our guides Telmo and Jian. Jian was very knowledgeable and Telmo took excellent care of us all. He is an exceptional guide. We had a wonderful time and really challenged ourselves. We had some great stops enroute and really enjoyed these side trips and surprises. Very well planned.
I would upgrade the difficulty of parts of this trip as Moderate to Difficult. We had one extremely long day with some very challenging climbs and descents on rough terrain with a sheer drop on one side. The soft sand and deep ruts in some areas could be difficult to manoeuvre as well.
Our accommodations ranged from excellent to unsatisfactory. Four beautiful, and three not so nice. An alternative choice would have been nice for the three substandard ones.
One suggestion would be to have an easy first day to get used to the bikes and the terrain. Maybe it was but it took a couple of rides for me to feel confident on the EBike.
All in all I would highly recommend this trip. The scenery is spectacular!

Tim M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

The scenery was amazing, the food was outstanding, and the group of riders and guides we were with really made the trip special. The roads were a mix of paved and dirt, hilly and flat, some, especially on the first few days, were bit sandy, enough to have to walk it in some short sections, but overall a good, well-planned route. I highly recommend this tour, it's one of our favorites!

William N.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

the bike rides were great. The service was good and the staff was wonderful. We can't wait to return next year.

Todd C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

This is a wonderful trip and you definitely need e-bikes. The scenery is really nice and the bikes we had were simply amazing. We have e-bikes at home and the Scott e-bikes were far superior to ours. There are steep up and downs and easily half are on paths. Also, you come across a lot of walkers and you’ll need to work your way past them but you just have to be patient at times when the path is wet or narrow. Everyone was super nice in allowing us to pass. You do need more than basic riding skills for this ride. The hotels were great, the people along the way were awesome and locals are super. There are plenty of places to stop and get something to eat or drink along the way. The bike shop that sets up everything did a great job with the daily check ins, transfers to/from the airport and the GPS maps. They gave us a small GPS that proved very valuable and the routes took us to the hotel each day. The cathedral in Santiago was jaw dropping. To get in (free) it’s around the side.
We loved this and would encourage anyone to consider it. We did the 9 day and we were really glad we did as the 40 mile day would’ve been too much with the trails.

Janis B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

The farm house was a beautiful environment, the small group made for cozy chats in the evenings. We enjoyed the daily rides through small villages. A special treat was a day to kayak on the lake. The staff were all friendly and wonderful.

Mary B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

The farm inn and surrounding countryside and aqueduct were lovely. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. The antique car museum and Pedro were a real highlight for my husband and exploring the walled city of Évora was very enjoyable.
The 1st day of biking was frustrating because of recent rains, the gravel path was muddy at times with deep ruts. Following days the paths were greatly improved. Since we were on a self guided tour, it would have been helpful to have the individual segments of the tour labeled with their distances so you could tell how far each different loop would be.

Colleen M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Really enjoyable trip, beautiful scenery, from quiet fields to cliffs over the ocean and groves of trees. I appreciated that much of the riding was off the busy roads. The off road terrain required quite a lot of focus and energy as we road on gravel, thick sand, rocky paths, and some mud. At some point each of the four of us fell on the ride due to terrain. The distance and the elevation were in line with my ideas of the riding though the terrain was more challenging (I am not a mountain biker). I would rate this bike trip as moderate due to the terrain.

The hotels were adequate to very nice and comfortable. Two of hotels which were several kilometers out of town. They were my favorite hotels yet made dinner arrangements more challenging.

The support from the Portuguese crew was outstanding, they were quick, kind and helpful when we needed them. The bikes and gear were great. Instructions and directions were right on (and part of the adventure).

The four of us had a grand adventure!

hw d.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Wild Coast
Portugal

The scenery was unbelievable. I came up over a rise and caught a salt breeze in my face and was in tears of joy.
The bikes were amazing and reliable. Very challenging terrain and routes.

Elsbeth M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

We had a fantastic trip. Riding along the coast of southern Portugal was absolutely breathtaking. The route was clear and the app and GPS made navigating a breeze. We felt fully supported by Tripsite when two members of our group got sick and needed to take the day off riding. Tripsite made sure we had transportation and checked in to make sure we were satisfied. The route was at times challenging for us, a group of 60+ year olds, but it was enjoyable. Many days the rides were more like mountain biking than street biking. The bikes we were given were more than adequate for the task but there were some rough patches of sand, gravel, steep ups and downs that made the adventure challenging a bit beyond what we had expected. Overall, we absolutely loved the trip and look forward to another Tripsite supported adventure in the future!

Denise A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

North Portugal
Portugal

The places where we stayed overnight were beautiful towns and villages. The staff who ran the transport were amazing and kind.

Cheryl M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

The coastal views we accessed on our ride were stunning. The routes we took gave us access to an insider view of Portugal’s agriculture and small town charms. The hotels we stayed at were 5 star and the breakfasts were world class!

Garry L.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

Everything was memorable! The bike paths were empty and spacious, the views were phenomenal along the ocean , the hotels and breakfasts were great, bikes were comfortable and high quality and the staff went above and beyond to ensure our comfort from beginning to end.

Kathleen Wendy M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

The route was great, the bikes were great, good hotels and weather was challenging. We would definitely do this trip again.

Brenda P.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

This was our first trip with Tripsite and we had such an amazing time that we have already booked another one. The coastline was beautiful, the accommodations were unique, the bikes were in excellent shape. Our guides Miguel, Berto and Pedro were awesome and by the end of the trip felt more like friends than guides. We rented E-bikes which I am glad we did. There was a nice mix of trail and country road biking with some sections that were a little challenging but that is all part of the fun. I would highly recommend this trip and would encourage E bikes.

John A D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

If someone asked me which tour to do I would say this was on of the top Portugal trips to do.
Super full of cultural and historical facts and experiences.

Bradley Scott P.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Very good trip, views ,mix of road and trail cycling.
All accommodations were top notch.
Guides were very friendly and eager to assist.
I would probably rate the tour as moderate to say the least, loose sand and rocky trails can make it challenging.

John A D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Douro Valley Wine & E-Bike Tour
Portugal

The guides are serious about making everyone happy. I should have brought my Tabasco sauce. I would do this trip again. One of the guides was an olive oil expert and since we were in olive oil country it was a treat to listen to him. Wine country too. We learned all about Port wine and how they still crush it with their feet in huge granite tubs.

Janet M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Douro Valley Wine & E-Bike Tour
Portugal

Fantastic route and scenery! The Douro Valley is spectacular! Our hotels were special and for the most part very comfortable. We even stayed in a
Medieval castle! Our weather was a challenge with endless rain - not sure October is the best month to take this tour? Guides gave some interesting country and landmark history and bikes were good.

David K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

Beautiful scenery along the coast of Portugal. This trip was rated as easy and if certainly was not. We were on regular bikes and there were quite a few very steep hills on rough terrain. People in our group had to walk their bikes up.

John A D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Douro Valley Wine & E-Bike Tour
Portugal

The people in the group and the guides.

Bring Tabasco and pepper.