Portugal Bike Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 169


Willem C.
8 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Each day of the ride was fantastic. My only suggestion is that the beginning and end could be better organised. At the beginning we were not met at at the hotel as advised and we did not receive the promised tour of Lisbon . At the end the GPS did not take us to the finish and it was not clear where we could obtain our certificates .

Gary Eake & Jo Sawicki
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Our entire experience was way beyond our expectations. The city, seaside and countryside route allowed for a great snapshot of Portugal and Spain, the service provided by the guides and the amazing lodging where 2nd to none. And we were fortunate the other 18 attendees from Brazil, Canada and the USA were fun and courteous. No matter your bike skill level you will have a more enjoyable experience if you select E-Bikes.

Denise S.
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

We had a wonderful trip from beginning to end. We decided to trust that it would all be good so we didn't research anything ahead of time so that we could be surprised. Every day was a pleasant surprise. We chose E-bikes and were very glad. We were all E-bike snobs and this trip totally changed that perspective. The routes were split between paved roads and dirt roads. The dirt roads were rugged and we loved them. The paved roads were well chosen. The side trips were well thought out and truly worth doing. We used the provided GPS device and the Ride with GPS device. We found the Ride with GPS easier to use and cross-referenced it with the GPS device for accuracy if we ever got off course.
The hotels were great. Each one was different and represented the region/village we were in. Part of the fun was seeing what would be for breakfast every morning. We were always greeted warmly and they accommodated the charging needs of the bikes. The hotels were Read More

Rachel H.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Sergio was an excellent guide. The accommodations far exceeded my expectations - extremely high end/luxury hotels. We had a large and diverse group - many from Brazil, Canada and US - with no language or riding skill barriers to making our journey an absolute blast.

Susan S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

This bike route was wonderful…so much variety. The cycling was very enjoyable with a few challenges along the way to keep things interesting. To experience the El Camino by bike was an amazing experience. The tour guides did everything possible to make our journey safe, interesting and fun. The accommodations were top notch including two outstanding hotels. With the help of the guides we experienced wonderful local food. This trip is a must do…..and would recommend using an e-bike.

Pat D.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

My kind of adventure, exercise, Europe, great food, fun people, and challenges.

Marian A.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

Portugal is beautiful, food fabulous, lovely hotels and a challenging ride on the Camino.

Gayl G.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I never knew there could be so many different types of trail surfaces, and on this trip, you could go from one type to another without warning. That made it a bit challenging but it also made it interesting.
The other thing that made it both challenging and interesting in doing the self-guided tour, was figuring out where the path went as it meandered through backstreets of towns. GPS was definitely necessary, but there were still times when you wondered, a little, where to turn. I noticed that signage did get more abundant as we got closer to Santiago, which made it a little easier.
There were also a variety of hotel types, which also made it very interesting.

Agata W.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

Everything! One of ours best trip ever. Our tour guides were very caring and supportive. Sergio and John (sorry, I am sure I didn't spell your name in Portuguese) were always available and provide us with everything we needed including adventures and great crafted tour. They were very professional and always available. We had fantastic time and plan to travel with them again. We biked through beautiful and diverse landscape, we visited beautiful towns and villages, enjoyed great food and fantastic atmosphere a small group of people who loved active traveling.

Janet R.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

North Portugal
Portugal

Visiting historical towns. I would build in some rest days to explore the towns.
I also enjoyed trying to navigate and stay on track. Some of the dirt tracks were a bit much, however. I think the routes should stay on more well-used tracks, even if they are dirt.

Teri A.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

Loved the staff! Charming location on a farm outside Evora. Bikes were great - easy to ride and shift.
Map was confusing through Evora on the monolith tour

Elizabeth (Betsy) S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

North Portugal
Portugal

This trip was fabulous. It was great arranging everything through Tripsite as they were very easy to communicate with and answered all my questions quickly. The bike tour itself was great. We rented E- bikes and they were excellent almost new mountain bikes with great gears and power!! Could handle anything!! We hardly ever had to pedal on National roads but rather were routed on mud paths, cobblestone roads, wooden walkways and many many earth roads. It was fabulous winding our way through the countryside and staying off most tarmac roads. A bit challenging at times to find our way, but it was a great adventure.

Sandra W.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

This 13 day tour from Porto to Lisbon took us through rural villages, forests, farmland and quaint countryside as well as absolutely incredible coastal views. Stopping along the way at little local cafes for lunch was one of my favorite parts of the day. Between the scenery, the food, the routes, the wine and the bikes, it was one of the best European tours we have experienced. Sergio and his staff were excellent in taking care of every detail to ensure our trip was amazing, and it was.

Christina F.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

My husband and I are in our late 60s/early 70s. We selected the Vicentine Coast & Algarve trip (self-guided) to celebrate our early May 30th wedding anniversary. It was our first visit to Portugal, first tour with Tripsite, and first time riding e-bikes. Our expectations were exceeded in every aspect of this trip! The route was spectacular and almost exclusively off of busy roads. We rode mostly on pavement or dirt farm roads, with occasional gravelly/sandy paths. I found the paths to be challenging in some locations and chose to walk, affording more time to enjoy the delightful views and fragrances of the region. Our accommodations and food options were terrific and varied. We only needed to contact Tripsite a few times during our stay, and each time Sergio was very responsive. We added extra days in Lisbon on both ends of the bike-touring and were so happy we did. And one more thing, early May is an excellent time to visit this part of the world - sunny and in the 70s, fresh ocean breezes, and not too crowded. All around, an excellent adventure.

John Whitney
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

Great bike tour! Sergio at Top Tours Portugal did a really solid job with the bike rentals, route and shuttles! Fantastic views, accommodations and food! Fun riding with a varied and well-planned route. We were ready for another week after 11 days of riding!

John D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

I think everyone else's review of the trip cover it well. Unbelievable postcard views every 100 meters.
I would however, really really suggest bringing a GoPro with a chest harness. So many things to take videos and pictures of and GoPro will do this with voice commands. I could kick myself for forgetting my GoPro. "GoPro start recording", "GoPro stop recording", "GoPro take a picture". Instead I would have to reach in whatever pocket and take an iPhone picture/video with one hand.
I am planning on signing up for their Fisherman's Trail in October.
Joao Natale was very cool guide. Busted his butt to make things happen. Got us a ferry across the river from Portugal to Spain as a special surprise.

Paul F. T.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
Portugal, Spain

We had a fabulous trip on the Camino de Santiago with Tripsite. We had a small group, a fantastic guide, Joao, brand new e-bikes and the hotels were 5 Star or better. Terrain was mixed. Paved roads, cobblestones, gravel, sand, boardwalks and some washed out areas we had to navigate around. All in all, can’t say enough about Tripsite and their partner in Portugal TopBikeTours. We are already looking to do another European guided e-bike tour. Thx a million!

Christa C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

This was one of the BEST trips I have ever taken. The routes were amazing, very few buy roads. The views were breathtaking. Accommodations were very nice.
Sergio and his team were very responsive and always helpful.
Well organized!
Good job tripsite!

Sandra Whitney
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Porto to Lisbon
Portugal

Just finished up a fantastic 11 day self-guided tour from Porto to Lisbon. Sergio was super supportive to ensure that we had an awesome trip. We loved the variety of scenery and road types. Portugal is wonderful with all their well maintained bike paths, and lovely little paths through the country side--some more wild and unexpected. The route was so much fun with lots of variety, and very little riding on or near the national roads. We loved riding through the old villages, and then amazing riding along the most scenic coast line! The accommodations were all superb! We have done several self-guided tours in southern Europe and this was definitely one of our favorites! Did i mention the wonderful food and wine!

DeDee T.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

The most memorable part of our trip were our 3 hr lunchs and the amazing people we met along the way! The hotel accomodations were also top notch, hard to pick a favorite but if I had choose Herdade Do Touril in Zambujeira do Mar and Casa Fajara in Carrapeteira were quaint and secluded and the staff were top notch! The breakfast at each of the hotels were fantastic, much more than we had expected. The Top Bike Tours Portugal did a great job with the bikes, gps and roadside assist for a flat tire. Definitely plan to get lost along the trail at some point but honestly getting lost just added more fun to the journey. I would suggest that the leader and the biker at the end of the group use mirrors... to keep track of everyone and at the end of the group to watch for traffic. This was our groups first bike trip and we all thoughly enjoyed it! We really enjoyed being on our own schedule, unlike other tour company's that schedule events and meals we appreciated being able to come and go as we pleased and ate meals at small local restaurants which was really enjoyable. We have shared Tripsite with many travelers along the way and can't wait to book our next trip!!

Brian O.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

The scenery was spectacular, on the edge of the cliffs overlooking the Atlantic...words and photos just can't do it justice. All the of the accommodations were excellent and the equipment provide by Sergio and team was of the highest quality. If you enjoy breathing taking views and unlimited sunshine then this is the tour for you!!!

Lori M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

This was a truly exceptional trip! The most memorable part was the scenery. The route included many different terrains, some quite challenging, and I was very thankful for the e bike. The rider should have some experience with trail riding and be prepared to encounter some steep ascents and descents on gravel roads. The accommodations were so lovely. I would highly recommend this trip.

Diane A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Paradise in Portugal
Portugal

The entire trip was memorable! The staff at the farm made us feel at home, with a wonderful gift of hospitality, beautiful surroundings, excellent food, rooms with everything we needed. The wine of the area is so good, the restaurant recommendations spot on. Riding through the area was amazing. Guides took time to be sure our bikes fit well, explained the day, and we're so informative about the area and history. The tours were each very well done and enjoyable.
There are definitely hills, and I was grateful for an ebike - it made all the difference for me. Highly recommend this trip!

Guðbjörg Erla
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

North Portugal
Portugal

A very good trip, fun and varied cycling routes, the best rental bikes we have had during many cycling trips, the guide for the walking tour of Porto and the drive to Melgaco absolutely fantastic. Portugal and the people in the country are wonderful. accommodation in all places very good

what we thought was the most fun was how varied the cycle path is and how fun it is to cycle on forest paths not just on asphalt

beautiful views, lovely beaches, great surf and beautiful countryside

Suzanne R.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Douro Valley Wine & E-Bike Tour
Portugal

The views from hilltops, through patches of red poppies, looking down, down to row upon row of vineyards under cultivation.
E-bikes are a must.
In April be prepared for COLD weather at the high elevations.
Taxi ride shortened the first day (70 km) and made every day a wonderful adventure.

ROSEMEIRE DE PAULA B.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Alentejo Vineyards
Portugal

I would like to say a huge thank you for finding the TripSite website to organize our trip.

Everything happened very precisely, from arrival, where our flight was delayed by 04 hours and even so the transfer was waiting for us.

The bike we chose came brand new and without any problems during the entire 310KM journey in 05 days, it was possible to enjoy everything without any problems with the bikes.

The transport of luggage from one hotel to the other left us free for our adventure and was very safe, our luggage was very well taken care of.

I read some reports of problems with the routes, but for us the routes were perfect, we used both the software indicated by TripSite and we also downloaded the routes in Briton, so it was very safe and when the software lost the signal we used Briton to take us to the destinations.

Well, talking about Alentejo is very easy, we love the trails, side roads, very wooded, with pastures of sheep, cows and other animals. We Read More

Phyllis Lynn M.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

Bikes were great. The tour group was accommodating in all our requirements. Hotels booked were very nice. Tour operator checked on us daily to see how it was going. I would be pleased to recommend this tour to others.

Lynn mowbray
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Silver Coast of Portugal
Portugal

We are just finishing our trip in Coimbra and wanted to put in a review while the trip is still fresh. From the airport pickup to the briefing and all through the tour John and Sergio demonstrated that they really did care that we had a great time - and we did. The hotels they selected for us are top notch and the bike route gave us easy riding and great views of Portugal’s Silver Coast. The bikes were in top shape and performed well. Our second visit to Portugal and there will be more, the people are friendly and the country so wonderful.

Verónica P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

North Portugal
Portugal

I enjoyed tremendously the trails that were chosen in this itinerary! I liked the variety of them not only in terms of scenery but also in terms of complexity.
One moment I was riding by beautiful eucalyptus forests, the next I was side by side of peaceful rivers or agricultural fields to, my very favourites, riding along side the Atlantic ocean.
The attention to details and support received by the Top Bike Tours team (the owner, Sérgio, and Miguel) was truly outstanding! As a solo rider I never felt left alone or on my own; they were always there whenever I needed them and provided efficient support and guidance.

Anne S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Portugal’s Vicentine Coast & Algarve
Portugal

We took this trip as a self-guided tour in late January/early February in order to get a break from the cloudy, dreary weather in central France. We were a little worried about the weather conditions, but it turned out to be perfect - and no crowds! I started each day in a ski coat and double pants, but by the early afternoon would be down to just a light jacket. Ideal biking weather - never got hot, not very windy, and yet the sun was bright. Sergio had the trip set up perfectly - the bikes were top-of-the-line and worked well, the multiple GPS systems were accurate and useful, and he was always just a text away. A mix of accommodation types which were all good in their different ways, and a couple of them were just outstanding. The scenery and countryside were by turns fascinating and breathtaking. The coastline had spectacularly scenic rocky cliffs with interesting birds (including nesting storks). All the people we met were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. I would highly recommend including some extra days in Lisbon and Sintra.