Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 60

4.6 out of 5

 


Henk G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Nature, food, organisation
Only BIG problem was engine trouble which delayed arrival in Passau by 5 hours and complicated the next part of our vacation

Marcia Regina L.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I and my husband loved the tour. Everything was perfect, the barge, the meals, all the staff was kind and we had now new friends that we knew in this tour.

Karen P.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved bike riding along the Danube, through the little towns and country. We had a great guide who biked with us, although lots of people just followed the daily maps. Very well organized! Our boat was a nice size, just over 100 people so it felt cozy. The workers kept the bikes perfectly maintained and organized too. Hope to do another ride next year!

Mary P.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent trip on the Theodor Kondor. Great staff, great food, great scenery. Juergen was the perfect goodie for the Comfort Package.

peter b.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was changed as the boat had a broken rudder and not able to be fixed by the time we started. The people involved int he tour then changed it to a bike and hotel trip which was great.
Memorable part of the trip was seeing all the small towns along the way. The bigger towns were ok but the smaller ones were better

Rick C.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

All of the biking was fantastic. The time in Vienna was a close second.

Susan L.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was memorable. Great scenery, small towns and villages, very friendly people. It's great meeting new people from varied countries and backgrounds. Having a guide and local tours really enhanced the experience.

Our only complaint is that our travel agent was very unresponsive to our communications. We had to call the company several times to get information. We booked transportation from airport to the hotel through Tripsite and were taken the wrong hotel. We had to find the correct hotel and get there on our own.

Don D.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

Michele C.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We very much enjoyed our guided cycling tour. We have done several self guided cycling tours, it's just very pleasant to never look at a map or gps. Will definitely repeat that kind of experience.

Ronald B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We thoroughly enjoyed our cycling trip , the sceneries were absolutely beautiful.
We were disappointed to learn , three days prior to our departure from Canada, the MS Arlene 11 was in repairs and not be ready for our departure date.Trip Site offered alternatives,using the same route the group were accommodated in hotels along the way .The group did NOT have any representatives at any hotels from Trip Site except a very brief meeting on our very first night.We were basically left on our own , with somewhat mediocre instructions to and from city hotels.
Allowing for a scénario that was beyond their controls, we would have appreciated TripSite going further to assure the comfort and reliability in this unfortunate incident.

Margaret E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part: The biking and comradery of the other bikers on the trip.

Robert L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

We had never done a Bike & Boat tour before so were hoping it would all work out. And it did fantastically! Ours was a family trip and even our 9-year-old son completed the entire bike route no problem. Such a pleasure to be in the country biking through fields, along the river, even on narrow roads through the small towns and villages we passed through. It was an amazing way to really see the countryside and interact with local people to briefly get a glimpse of their way of life. And the scenery was beautiful and peaceful. An amazing experience for our family and we look forward to doing more trips like this in the future.

Karen F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike and barge tour was great! The bike route along the Danube was easy to follow but sometimes the days seemed repetitive. We found the last day of riding the most picturesque. The boat crew was awesome- everyone spoke English well except for the tour guide who struggled with communicating the day to day instructions. The food was very good and plentiful.

Susan E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike/Barge was a great way to spend time with family and see the sights of the Danube. Accommodation on the boat was comfortable, staff friendly and it certainly made for a very relaxing & easy holiday.

Lynn F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our second trip ( the Danube to Vienna) was different, but equally as nice. This time the “barge” was a huge river boat (a la Viking), but that was OK. The scenery was lovely, the little towns quaint, they could have done better with the information about our route, but I guess it was OK. A bit different in that the boat traveled at night and moved us up the river to our next starting point. Again, the food was great, the passengers friendly... only one rainy day that time... not bad! I’ve told friends about this company and I look forward to our next trip with Tripsite!

Martin K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable part? Biking the Danube with castles on the hills

Brent F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bikes were in terrible condition. My while broke down with 10 miles left on the first day. My wife’s bike had a flat that the crew was just going to fill with air. My sister-in-laws bike broke down 5 miles out on the third day. Food was poor. Very few English speakers among the crew. Directions and maps for the rides were poor or non existent. When we complained we were told. “Well you made it back didn’t you?”

Allison B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Quaint towns, lovely countryside, old world charm. Our trip will linger in our minds.

Jeanne L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Great family reunion and scenic vacation. E-bikes made it easy for less experienced bicyclists to keep up with trained cyclists. Nice to hear all 8 of us laughing while riding!

David R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Hard to pick one part...The cycling and scenery each day was stunning. Vienna must be experienced. The staff and the food on the Arkona was outstanding.

Mok L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The Danube / bike path was wonderful , My bike was a red girls bike that clunked “hate it”, my wife’s ebike was great, the food was good except the hair in couple of dishes, the tour dir and the hotel mgr were friggen rude (not just us to about 14 others ) would Never take a SE tour again. The people we met on board were great, Austria was very nice. Omg Austria wine was fantastic. thx Mik

Ps
Still like Tripsite’s

Michael S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

There were so many great memories, but I really loved the town of Melk and all the little towns in the Wachau area that we passed through our last day. It was like biking through fairy land. Fall is the perfect time for sampling the local new wines. And our guide, Regina, was tops!! Can’t imagine a better tour guide!

Cheryl H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery and the boat staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Phyllis C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Very pleasant trip. The route included portions along the river as well as through picturesque villages, farmland, and vineyards. Daily mileage was perfect for us casual riders. The last day of riding through the Wachau area was the most enjoyable; we wish there would have been more time to explore the tasting rooms and shops in Dürnstein.
There was only a minor problem in communication with the tour director over the the time of an optional paid activity that several members of the group did not get to attend. I didn't feel the problem was addressed well.

Deirdre R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? The biking, totally. It’s ok if your friend chooses not to ride, there are others en route who make it pleasant. The staff were overly attentive! So helpful

Lois K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The entire trip was greater than expected! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate. The gorgeous Danube!

Lynn F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was along the Danube to Vienna. It was a wonderful trip, the scenery was lovely, and we were lucky with the weather... it only drizzled one afternoon! The little towns we went through were really cute & charming. We felt the tour guide could have done a better job by telling us the distances between start and finish in terms of time & kilometers. We managed quite well, but it would have been nice to know. Otherwise, the whole trip was fantastic!

Barbara H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of our trip was getting on our bikes daily and biking next to the river with lovely towns and countryside. Quite free!
Our meals were just wonderful! We requested vegan meals and were delighted with each and every meal! This whole trip was special!

Robert L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We loved this trip! The best way to experience Europe’s beautiful rivers and countryside is over the handlebars!

Mari H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We thoroughly enjoyed our Danube Bike and Boat trip. It was a perfect balance of freedom and guided travel. The pace was perfect and the crew and staff on the ship were great. We can’t wait to book another bike trip through you.