Slovakia Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 421 to 450 of 527


Pat L.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was Day 6 Rossatz - Pochlarn was the most scenic part of the trail. Magical small villages - wish the whole route could have been like this. Most of the trail was uneventful, some of the trail was in poor shape and rough riding.
Unfortunately, there was a language barrier between the Americans and the tour guide, so instructions were not always clear, and we needed to fend for ourselves most of the time. Certain sections of map were confusing and trail was not well marked. We made it though, and enjoyed the adventure!
Beautiful cities and villages to visit - wish we would have had more time to explore! All in all very good trail ride and good trip!

Mike W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Danube Experience
Austria, Croatia, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia

The trip was well run and organized. The bikes were in excellent condition and easy to ride. The selected routes were easy to follow and offered many sights and excursions. Would highly recommend this trip.

M. Linwood
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We found the boat comfortable and the staff really helpful and friendly. The trip was most relaxing and a good insight into the Danube countryside.

M. Mander
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part: The staff on board the ship, our guide, the beautiful sights and most importantly the people we met in the countries we visited. They were warm, welcoming and really made you feel like a special visitor.

Mark Mander
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Started our tour July 17th. Things went smoothly after they had gotten the engine fixed which caused a change in our first days agenda. They really came through in making up for the inconvenience. Staff on the ship and Stephan our Rad and Reisen rep were great.

All in all it was an excellent vacation, very well organized. All the ships staff were friendly and willing to go that extra step to make it a great experience. The food was wonderful, accommodations great.

I thought our Rad and Reisen biking guide Hugo did an excellent job navigating our group from spot to spot. Despite having quite a large group( English, German and Dutch speaking) he was able to spend time with all of us making sure we had a great experience. He was very personable and got our group from point A to B safely, making sure we had time to see and experience the many special places communities along the Danube.

He even went above and beyond to make my experience extra special. Having MS Read More

L. Schmidlin
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Was a great trip. Boat and tour guide were outstanding. Some of the staff were a bit stand-offish, but within reason. Just didn't make you feel 100% welcomed all the time (made you feel more of a guest than family) but again, well within reason. Got lost a few times so perhaps the maps could be a bit more directed, but again, not bad. Overall, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it. Thanks - Larry

J. Lockwood
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Only bad was some hills and a very long bridge (wife is afraid of heights and had to walk the over mile long bridge).

M. Collins
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The boat was not in location we were told it would be. But once there the boat was good. The tour guide didn't seem to know the route as well as he should have. The directions on the maps could have been a lot better But we did have a great time but would recommend a different route next time.

Tripsite was great. Would highly recommend booking with them.

S. Woodhouse
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

We very much enjoyed coming back to the Theodor Korner each afternoon and the camaraderie on board this boat. Previously we have been on hotel to hotel cycling trips, which we have also enjoyed, but this time we enjoyed not having to pack up each morning. The staff were all delightful, the meals excellent and the cycling / sightseeing just right for us. Even the rain a couple of days didn't dampen our spirits. The only thing to mention that Tripsite had wrong on the info we were sent was that we were told that credit cards could not be used for purchases on board. In fact we were able to use a credit card.

S. Irwin
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The details of the transfer from Munich Airport to Passau was not described in the online information, but detailed in the updated information leaflet found in the cabin once aboard (too late). The online leaflet needs to be updated with details of where the transfer desk can be found at Munich Airport.

S. Burwell
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The plan changed from recommending biking in Budapest...to it not being recommended - and therefore no briefing/description of the route was provided. While the stickers on signposts helped to guide the way, the book could have been more fully annotated. The boat was too full, there were not enough dishes for all passengers, dinner took 3 hours (2 hours too long). Bikes were generally in good repair and available when promised. Although the food was very good, bottled water was not provided every day as contracted.

A. Roebelen
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The bike path signs were sometimes hard to follow and we got off course a few times.
The staff of the boat, The Normandie, was fabulous. The food was better than we expected and they were very accommodating with our lunches. The wifi was very disappointing.

V. Assis
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was better than I could imagine! Thank you all.

K. Thibodeau
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We found this to be one of our best trips ever!

S. Garson
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I know that there was a mid cruise change of cruise directors and neither were particularly helpful. We basically did the routes ourselves and there could have been better instructions. We had a wonderful trip though.

J. Gellerd
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

This has been one of the greatest vacations for my husband and I, due to the luxury quality of the ship-hotel and the superior quality of the staff/services. The "Very satisfied" has to have 5 more stars! Thank you very much! We fervently advertise it among friends and beyond!

B. Burwell
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking - generally excellent. There is one day - Budapest - that is described as a biking day in most of the material we saw but when we were on the boat the tour director tried to discourage us from biking that day. There was a good reason for that - the route was confusing and included a VERY busy road for a few km. It should be removed from the promotional material as a biking day,

Boat - another boat broke down and several people were transferred to empty cabins on our boat. I think as a result there was more people on board than could be handled at dinners. Dinners went on for 2-3 hours just because the staff couldn't deal with all the guests. The good itself was fine when it finally arrived.

R. Bass
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a problem with sewage odor in our room - which they boat crew was unable to fix - Also room was hot and we had to use a fan. When we complained to Rad and Reisen about the temperature they denied that the AC was not working. We complained to Rad and Reisen and they issued us a 10% refund which Tripsite matched. We appreciated your concern attentiveness to these problems and you willingness to offer some compensation.

Despite these problems, overall the trip was great - good people, great rides and beautiful scenery and points of interest. We would definately book another trip with your company, but not with Rad and Reisen.

K. Sattler
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Only thing missing was quality wifi on the boat. The trip more than met our expectations

J. Wagemakers
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This adventure was more than we expected. The boat was very well equipped, and our cabin was comfortable and larger than we expected. The staff was very friendly and dealt with all of our needs, and the meals were fabulous. Our bikes were well maintained and were well suited for the route we rode. The scenery was amazing and we come home with a collection of pictures and memories.

K. Kehrberg
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The itinerary was excellent. A nice blend of bike routes and city site seeing along the way. We spent a couple days in Vienna before the trip and then used our Vienna day to bike on the island. Glad we didn't have to cram Vienna into a few hours. It was our cruise director's first trip and his enthusiasm was greater than his organizational skills in his presentations.

R. Hennigan
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Our Normandie trip from Passau to Budapest was spectacular! The weather, the boat, the food, the fellow bikers, the countryside and the bikes were all a delight. We were also pleased to learn that our guide rode each day. He was very knowledgeable; however, under stress was verbally contentious and short with guests. It became almost comical and so we learned to stay out of his way during certain times of the day. Nevertheless, the trip was a dream and we thank-you!!

Vivien Watts
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Overall great trip, really loved it. Did feel the duration and arrival time in Vienna was disappointingly limited - nowhere near long enough to see sufficient in daylight hours.

Unfortunately one major problem became apparent. The tour director was charming and affable when presenting to an audience, but his manner often vacillated (changed) when talking with individuals. On many occasions he was rude and dismissive, including sometimes making derogattory comments. Due to his public persona (welcoming and friendly), I was really shocked by this. At times he gave the impression that he was putting on an act, that he really did not like or enjoy his job and the guests were an infuriating annoyance to him. Even allowing for tiredness and stress, I do not think there is any excuse for rudeness to friendly (and paying) customers. I was not the only one to observe his changeable attitude or bear the brunt of his dismissive rudeness. As it wasn't possible to pick what his response Read More

Judy Lucas
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

As this was our 1st bike and boat experience, we did not know what to expect. We are recreational cyclists, not cycling fanatics, and were very happy with this trip and look forward to saving up to do another similar adventure.

I do have 2 comments. The meal situation. It was disappointing not to have the opportunity to mix with more of the passengers as we were at a table by ourselves and had to stay at this table for every meal - even breakfast - every day. As it was a breakfast buffet and not everyone arrives for breakfast at the same time, being free to sit wherever, would definitely encourage more socializing amongst all passengers. Also, some nights, even though the staff was definitely hustling, it took more than 2 hours to be served our main course. It would seem that a few more staff members could help with this loooong wait after a long tiring day.

Also, there was a definite, obvious bias each day towards the larger group of German speaking passengers when it Read More

Deborah Waldo
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Food was not we are accustomed to on trips of this type.

Anna Brasier
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Ship broke down and we were bused to Budapest vs cycling in, that was disappointing, but not to be helped. Jurgen our guide was very good.

Susan Oman
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I liked the ease of being in a larger boat vs a small barge. There was plenty of room in the lounge and other public places so we could get some quiet time. Also a little more anonymity on the larger boat and self guiding was fun.

Leslie Kerluke
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Enjoyed the trip fully but thought there could have been a little better information on riding and expected timeline for rides, as we often rode faster than necessary and didn't know we could stop along the way for sight seeing etc. Our cycle guide was very nice but did not have all the information to answer our questions or help us to maximize our sight seeing experience.

Elise Manners
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The whole trip was fantastic! I have already recommended it to many of my friends and one group have already booked a trip for next year!

Susan Martin
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

There was a mixup checking in to the cabins on the boat. The boat staff assigned us different rooms than the vouchers from TripSite indicated. Glad I had my voucher, otherwise we wouldn't have been placed in the upper deck room we paid for. I think the mixup affected everyone in our group of 12, and unfortunately some people were not as fortunate as we were and ended up in lower deck cabins when they reserved upper deck ones.