Slovakia Bike + Boat Tour Reviews — 391 to 420 of 527


Charlene B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip was the wonderful friendships made being a part of the guided tour group. There were six English speakers and seven Germans including the guide. Truly a remarkable experience. Budapest was also a memorable location. One tip we could recommend would be a portable hot spot. Wifi was not very good because it is satellite feed. Which caused issues with paying for some trips with a credit card.

Joella D.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip was an excellent opportunity for travel with our mother who could stay on the boat while my sister and I biked through the countryside - meeting back up for meals and comparing experiences. Tripsite was very helpful and we got to know one of our Tripsite staff as she joined our trip to learn more about the tour and help others in the future. She couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Laurie S.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Wachau Valley is breath taking. Austria and Bavaria are absolute gem locations. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Tripsite made it easy to book, offer very reasonable prices and answered all our questions.
My only complaint was our German bike guide. We were the only primarily English speaking riders in a group of 14. The rest mostly spoke German. Our guide explained the vast majority of what we were seeing in German. This is somewhat understandable given that we were in the minority, but we felt that we missed out on so much historical explanations. In addition, he admitted that he didn't really know much about all the areas we visited and often deviated from the guide book. We ended up leaving the guided tour and going solo the last 2 days.
We rented e-bikes, which we loved, but had to figure out how to use them as we went along.

Antonina G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the ship-the Primadonna. We liked it that the servings were not big and that you could ask for seconds. Appreciated the lunches they prepared. It was a great trip. Staff was helpful and efficient.

Charles H.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking through the Wachau valley and the small towns was most memorable. Staff/guides could be more customer focused and less argumentative with guest/customers. First day of biking was too rushed to complete prior to boat departure ... ride did not accommodate leisurely stops. Guides did not provide enough information on daily routes to assist with historical sites, lunch/rest stops, places to visit or provide assistance on route to ensure guests made it back to the ship. This trip did not meet the standards that previous (5 trips) Tripsite trips offered in the past that we booked.

Clare C.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I don't know how I could possibly pinpoint one part of the trip as the most memorable as it was all so absolutely fantastic. I was expecting it to be good but is was beyond my wildest expectations.
Take a day in Passau either before or after the trip to walk around the beautiful historic town. The cathedral is so worth a visit, it's absolutely magnificent with an organ that has more pipes than any other in the world.
The boat was excellent, accommodations better than expected, the food was amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Remember to book your spa time as you will have that privately for an hour. There is nothing quite like sitting in the hottub while cruising down the Danube after a days ride.
Visit the Trappist monastery before you ride on your first day and see the reliquaries in the church-pretty weird, and don't forget to stop for refreshments before you take your bike across on the ferry at the Danube bend. Read More

Beverly C.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best part was seeing the countryside by bike.

Steve C.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

While the scenery was wonderful, I don't think that I could recommend this type travel to someone who would like to take more time to see the sites. This tour, just in my opinion, is much better suited for someone prioritizing cycling over site seeing. I (and some others in my group) discussed how there was a "rushed" feeling to the trip. That being said, the itinerary is posted online for all to make an informed decision. Lastly, there was almost a sense that we, the customers, were an inconvenience to many of the staff until the second to last day when there was an announcement that a tipping envelope would be left in each cabin. Staff personalities completely changed for the better on the last day and a half. This opinion was quietly shared by most of us who had done this type of tour numerous times before.

Frank V.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part was cruising down the river during dinner.

Robin T.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My first Tripsite vacation, first bike/barge trip, first trip to the 4 countries.....loved it. Somewhat poor attitudes of hotel manager, Peter and the guides did not spoil my trip...in fact, became a bit of a joke to us. I would not let it stop from booking another trip.

Jennifer Formolo
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The food and scenery were magnificent. The boat was better than I had expected. Don't pay extra for the upper deck cabins on the Normandie because they are identical with the exception of being able to open the window on the upper deck. Our tour guide was rude. He spent a lot of time talking to the Germans and very little time talking in English. He scolded us if we asked questions that could be found in our book or were only relevant to the next day's bike trip. Peter at the front desk was also very rude. He made you feel stupid for asking any questions. He is in the tourist business and should expect questions and answer them gracefully. I wouldn't tell someone to avoid this trip, because of the beauty, but don't expect a lot from the staff. The rest of the staff were quite nice, but there were three men that should not be in this business!!

Molly S.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Having a guide for the biking. He was terrific. We had a route change which led to a boring day biking. They do not give you water at the table. Too many people on the boat. Lining up for things to buy tickets. Did not like having to buy a drink package. Too expensive.
Staff was very pleasant. Our guide was fabulous.

Elisabeth P.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was since every bit of it was exceptional: the scenery, the friendly staff, the other guests, the food, all were above expectations. Add to that the fact that we had perfect early Fall weather, sunny but not too hot, we felt like we had spent a week in heaven.

Gordon M.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of exercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

Susan D.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Wachau Valley was our favorite!
Our only complaint is that the toilet in our room was backing up sewer gas. Would have really welcomed a bathroom fan to duck it away or an improved sewer trap to prevent this.

Roger H.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

There were many memorable parts of this trip. The vineyard/bike trails around Melk were very nice.

Rollie B.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The people I was on the trip with we all had a just terrific time. A truly wonderful trip with a great staff great a wonderful trip.

Harry L.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip was very nice. Everything was nice. If I can figure a route will do it again next year!

Rebecca V.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Biking thru Wachau valley. Our guide, Hugo, was not real informative. We had to drag info from him. He was better later in the week when we kept asking. Wine tasting was fun. Loved quaint villages.

Sandra L.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everyone was amazing: Welcoming; friendly; accommodating; delicious food and informative.

Mele M.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I organized a trip with 20 friends and family to take the boat and bike trip up the Danube. I was a bit concerned because my co-travelers varied in age and fitness. I was delighted to find that with the option of the electric bikes and choices of long or short bike paths, everyone was accommodated. The entire group had a magical time. They loved the boat, the staff, the food, and particularly enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment after cycling through gorgeous towns and scenery.
I have organized many group trips in the past, and this one allowed me to enjoy myself more fully because I knew that the crew was taking care of my friends and family's needs, and I didn't have to be dealing with questions or problems. Because we had such a large group, we could all break up into smaller groups and enjoy the sights, knowing that we would all converge later on the boat and share our stories from the day.
Even though we already had a large group, we all made new friends on the boat.
I take an international adventure trip every year, and I would put this one among the top of my list!

Gordon M.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of excercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

Shannon P.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The incredible countryside through which we traveled both by boat and on bike as well as the wonderfully hard-working, pleasant and attentive staff who made my trip so memorable. Lastly, the food was fantastic!

Elizabeth G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

All of it was memorable - the scenic routes through lovely towns, stopping at wine tasting, castles, cathedrals, the day in Vienna. Lovely wait staff, house keeping and front desk!! Top award goes to the extraordinary chef -- who listened attentively to my request for whole foods, plant based and each evening created an extraordinary delight of color and tastes -- wonderful food combinations, spices, herbs.

John F.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The ride through the Wachau valley was by far the most memorable. We were happy with the overall trip. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. The one disappointment was with the info from the cruise director on the trip. At times it was inaccurate. This trip could be improved by updating the notes in the bike route, providing information and maps on side trips to the villages we biked through. Many bikers were concerned to vary from the route to find other attractions for fear of getting lost. One section of the trail was on a small sidewalk yet the cruise director and the printed information did not mention this. A lot of bikers were confused. It seems like the cruise director never biked the route or it has been too long ago.

Ross M.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sometimes we were unsure if we were on the route or not. Maybe could have had some additional signage along route.

Craig M.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna (old version)
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Great trip but two minor issues
Room - hopeless shower curtain meant water went all over the floor. Other rooms had screens so why not all rooms?
Ride into Bratislava is ugly - need to find a better to arrive at this lovely city. A real low point in an otherwise fantastic itinerary - last 3 days were sublime.

Saul L.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip overall was great. The boat is showing its age, and the cabins are adequate but not overly comfortable.
The route descriptions provided by the cruise director could have been much better. Simply using visuals to indicate map directions would have helped a lot. There was some unnecessary confusion on our trip. A friend who took the trip two weeks earlier on the same boat with the same crew made the same comment.
Overall the lovely scenery, the interesting people on board and the beautiful cities we visited made this trip very worthwhile.

pam
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Two ladies and I ( all in our 60's) just finished this tour on My Story. Having no experience with bike/barge I was not sure what to expect. What we got was a fabulous trip through some of the most scenic and beautiful country I've ever seen. Our tour guide, Stephan, was charming and informative. This tour was run by Rad and Reisen. They did a great job of marking the routes, although a few times we did get a little turned around. The food was top-notch and the staff did an excellent job of entertaining the travelers. I was impressed by the over-all professionalism. The riding was easy and on mostly asphalt with very few inclines. Only draw back was the size of the cabins. The pictures are a little misleading. When the second bed was lowered there was almost no room to walk by each other. You needed to be a contortionist to use the bathroom. But, since you really didn't spend a lot of time in the room it was tolerable. All in all would highly recommend this trip.

Vicki H.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I loved every moment of the trip. The boat and the meals were far better than I had expected, the staff was super friendly and the fun activities were great. I look forward to booking another trip. I recommend that people read their information prior to daily outings as there is a lot to absorb. Also, take time on the first day to be sure your bicycle is a good fit. It was a magnificent adventure!