Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 32

Biking Bratislava!

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest

8 days from €773

4.6 out of 5

Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest

Easy Bike Tour in Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Following the Danube Bike Path, along the flow of the Danube, an indescribably beautiful and varied scenery surrounds you through three countries and three capitals. Between the Austrian and…

4.6 out of 5

 


Philip C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a great time! As a bike guide in the US myself, I know how these things work. You cannot foresee every situation. And as a guide, we know to be flexible. And because of that we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Here are some thoughts for improvements for your next guests. These by no means took away from our enjoyment and are meant for future trips.
-- The hotels in general were nice. A few issues here and there (mostly normal stuff).
-- In Hainburg - Altes Kloster - there was no individually controlled AC. It was fine for us because the night was cool.
-- The breakfasts at all the hotels were excellent
-- In Esztergom, the Portobello Hotel was not so great. The hotel room actually smelled bad. My wife says it smelled like old shrimp. They sent someone up with a spray can which they left for us. That "hid" the smell for a while, and you got used to it. But when you stepped back in the room from outside you could clearly Read More

Moira T.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Vienna, Budapest and gyor. There wasn’t much to see along the ride.

Ruth O.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our party of 4 had an amazing time on this tour. We loved the cycling and each day was different. The accommodations that we stayed in were all comfortable and had amazing breakfasts!
You will need some extra Euros for ferries and we crossed the Danube 3 or 4 times and it was not always covered. Also, the stairs at the train stations can be challenging with your bikes, especially for heavier e-bikes. We managed though and had a great time!

Mary B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The fall weather made for a beautiful ride along the Danube. The GPS was excellent at guiding us down the bike lanes and thru the lovely villages and cities. The route has impressive paved off road trails most of the way with occasional packed gravel trails. The hotels were excellent and our bags were always awaiting are arrival. We have taken other trips with Tripsite and they have all been well organized and fun.

Ken C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The biking was perfect - equipment worked well and was as promised

Gabriela C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour was so well-thought and prepared I only had to cycle and enjoy the ride. Since I was on my own, I joined other groups which made it all the easier and funnier. The towns we stayed were all breathtaking and Im back for more.

Barbara T.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

For the most part, the trail was paved and easy to ride. It was a great trail to do. The Iron curtain monument on the way to Bratislava by Devin Castle was moving and should not be missed. Take some time to visit Budapest at the end if you have never been there, it is a beautiful city.
There was one glitch: one of our hotels from the final list that we had gotten from Tripsite changed shortly before we left. The representative never mentioned this when he gave us our package the night before we started. On the fifth cyclin day, we were supposed to stay in Esztergom but had to stay in Visegrad that night which meant we had to take two trains that day. The tickets for the first train were in our package, but not for the second train. We had to called about this. The tickets were supposed to be with our luggage one day and they weren’t which meant another call. The tickets did come the day before. Suggestion-when you get your package carefully look at the list of hotels and compare it to the list you had received. It would have been better and we wouldn’t have had to waste time calling when we wanted to sightsee.

Pete H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The overnights were great. I would recommend you arrive early as the overnight towns were all great to visit.

Maggie M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Easy to follow direction, mostly, cycling on designated bike paths so no worries about traffic. Great scenery.

Tracy W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking through the countryside of Austria, Slovakia, and Hungary offers an experience you can get no other way. Our group experienced an "insider's view" of these countries, towns and cities you can't get by car. If you want an immersive experience that leaves you fulfilled at the end of the day, biking is the way to go.

John G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip organisation was excellent. The hotels were comfortable and interestingly varied; everything from a pleasant boutique hotel in the centre of an Old Town to a rural hotel with tables and umbrellas on a riverbank in an idyllic setting.
Some of the towns/cities were buzzy and some very sleepy. Additional time - perhaps an additional day - in Vienna and Bratislava would be great, providing rest days and opportunities to explore - and perhaps avoiding some of the quieter destinations.
The cycle trails were, by and large, excellent; some long drags with somewhat uninteresting scenery, but balanced by superb tracks in beautiful countryside.
The bikes were sturdy but heavy and very solid, and this marred the cycling experience somewhat, the most disappointing part of the trip.
Overall definitely four stars.

Anna-Karin B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a lovely trip Vienna to Budapest! The organisation with bicycles, maps, app, and really great hotels were outstanding! We had extra nights in Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest and that was good to get rest days and also more time for cultural things. Luckily we brought swimsuits and towels in the saddlebags - Danube has great beaches and calm fresh water to cool down in. Hungary was a great positive surprise. The small towns Mosonmagyaróvár, Györ, and Esztergom was as taken out of a fairytale. Great food to good prices.
We had three days in Budapest and with the bikes we could easily discover all corners of the city. Magical evenings along the river in Budapest. The bustransfer back to Vienna went as smooth as everything else. We will surely come back!

Jennifer G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was great but we were disappointed our room configuration requests were not included in our hotel bookings. When we followed up after the first night the Tripsite employee suggested we follow this up. We didn't think this was very good customer service.

Jeffrey O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The lodging and breakfasts were terrific, especially in Vienna, Bratislava, Gyor and Budapest. The bikes were very good; in excellent condition with good features. We have biked all over Europe along the main rivers, including the Danube. We expected to ride along the Danube more on this trip, but realize that Eurovelo does not have bike paths close to the river, for most of the trip from Vienna to Budapest. We did the Athletic tour which was good for us, but we did have challenging weather (rain, wind, cool temperatures) on one day.

Eitan G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The magical moments were riding in avenues of trees along the Danube, on paths in the villages in northern Hungary, the old city In the stunning giyor and in all of Hungary it is a complete surprise in the landscapes and the historical cities.

Habib R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Great trip. I was hurt on the first day and had to ride to my destinations with my luggage in the van. The van drivers were kind and helpful. I appreciate Tripsite making this possible for me.

One suggestion: travelers are required to pay the city tax when they check out. If would be good if this were included in the cost of the trip.

James R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Hi….really a great trip and well organized, thank you so much ! The only confusion was day 7, you list the ride is 51 miles, yet maybe clarify that the ride is only 34 miles and the ferry ride from Szentendre to Budapest in 15 miles for then a total distance of 51 miles, with 34 miles of riding. Is there an option for a better bike ? Look forward to riding again with Tripsite, Good Luck ! Jim Ruble.

Hugonette M.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking along the Danube river is very beautiful and visiting all the small towns we never heard of before is very special.

Juan Pablo B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent bikes maps and coordination including luggage transfers

Ed D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

Paula P.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We very much enjoyed this trip but it was a real adventure. At times I felt we were filming an episode for the Amazing Race! The maps we were provided with were very confusing. For example, we were not made aware that we had to make a detour as portions of the National Park were closed. Google Maps wasn't much help as they do not provide bicycle routes for Slovakia and Hungary. Fortunately, other cyclists told us to download the MAPS.ME app and this was a real life saver. I would advise anyone doing this trip to use this app or have some sort of GPS. We encountered other cyclists that were travelling with other companies that were provided with far more detailed maps, yet they too had difficulty. A GPS is a must.

We were dismayed that on a couple of occasions our luggage left unattended in the lobby area of hotels. I feel the luggage should always be stored in a secure area.

Patrice W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

Claudia B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

My favorite portion was the path from Vienna to Bratislava (and both cities were awesome to visit). We were mostly on the Danube and there were interesting sites along the way. My one suggestion is to let people know that most of the ride through Hungary is not along the river but includes long flat stretches of farmland. The final day going into Budapest was great with 3 ferry rides and a boat trip into the city.

Alana B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

One of the most memorable parts of the trip were all of the absolutely gorgeous roses we saw growing everywhere! It was a fairly easy ride although wish more of the route had been along the Danube! In a couple of spots, the signage was poor or nonexistent so that was a little challenging but overall it was delightful!

Marisa C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was awesome. The bike trails were excellent and we were so much in contact with nature that we couldn't believe it. Everything was very well organized and the villages and cities we visited were great. No complaints except for the Flamenco Hotel in Budapest, which was not as expected. We had to have our breakfast in the lobby sitting on a sofa because there weren't enough tables for all the guests. They didn't refill the breakfast buffet and no one took care of the spills on the tables. Besides the rooms were old and smelly.
But it was just a hotel and we will definitely do more of these trips in the near future because it was a great adventure and a memorable experience! I really recommend Tripsite.

Terence W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Favorite Part: A short cycling day through quiet, autumnal countryside, took us to Bratislava leaving us with oodles of time to spend exploring colorful backstreets and the rise to the impressive castle.

Ron Zauski
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A great adventure... We found the trail well marked throughout the journey; several times, at moments of confusion, we found discreet signs or stickers from a biking organization pointing the way. Budapest was exotic. Vienna was ultra-clean and organized. Bratislava had quaint, old-European, windy roads to explore. But my favorite parts of the trip were smaller towns and villages of Gyor, Bad Deutsch, the castle at Hainburg, the Hotel Bow Garden in Komarno, Slovakia (it is an old synagogue with a bowling lane at the reception desk!), and the jewels in the basilica in Esztergom. This is my third trip with Tripsite in 6 years; I am already seeking ideas for the fourth.

Michael Jenks
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

WOW!!!!
Everything was outstanding. All my fears were for naught...
Hotels knew to expect us, knew where to store our bikes, and knew our names!

Bratislava, as someone mentioned, was under construction, but should be ok by summer 2016.

18 thumbs up! Will do this exact trip again and again if I could!

Mary Sandra Duggan
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed the trip very much and are planning another. We enquired about the the free shirts for repeat customers but haven't gotten them. The website is not clear about ordering them.

Lee Ann Gee
9 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike route and description was really good except on 2 occasions. First, riding out of bratislava is confusing. There is trail construction and NO sign saying where to turn for detour. The second poor section was the last 5 ish miles riding into Budapest. Route poorly marked. We ended up just asking how to get to our hotel since we couldn't find any signs.