Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest Tour Reviews — 1 to 15 of 15

4.7 out of 5

 


Hugonette M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking along the Danube river is very beautiful and visiting all the small towns we never heard of before is very special.

Juan Pablo B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent bikes maps and coordination including luggage transfers

Ed D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Each city or town visited was a treasure. Lot's to explore. The hotels were good, many in excellent locations. Breakfast was large. The bike riding was pleasant.

Paula P.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We very much enjoyed this trip but it was a real adventure. At times I felt we were filming an episode for the Amazing Race! The maps we were provided with were very confusing. For example, we were not made aware that we had to make a detour as portions of the National Park were closed. Google Maps wasn't much help as they do not provide bicycle routes for Slovakia and Hungary. Fortunately, other cyclists told us to download the MAPS.ME app and this was a real life saver. I would advise anyone doing this trip to use this app or have some sort of GPS. We encountered other cyclists that were travelling with other companies that were provided with far more detailed maps, yet they too had difficulty. A GPS is a must.

We were dismayed that on a couple of occasions our luggage left unattended in the lobby area of hotels. I feel the luggage should always be stored in a secure area.

Patrice W.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved the convenience of all the planning and coordinating by Tripsite which allowed my party to really enjoy the biking, hotels and experience of the trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality and care of the bikes which could make or break of this trip. Working with Tripsite was easy and pleasant.

Claudia B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

My favorite portion was the path from Vienna to Bratislava (and both cities were awesome to visit). We were mostly on the Danube and there were interesting sites along the way. My one suggestion is to let people know that most of the ride through Hungary is not along the river but includes long flat stretches of farmland. The final day going into Budapest was great with 3 ferry rides and a boat trip into the city.

Alana B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

One of the most memorable parts of the trip were all of the absolutely gorgeous roses we saw growing everywhere! It was a fairly easy ride although wish more of the route had been along the Danube! In a couple of spots, the signage was poor or nonexistent so that was a little challenging but overall it was delightful!

Marisa C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was awesome. The bike trails were excellent and we were so much in contact with nature that we couldn't believe it. Everything was very well organized and the villages and cities we visited were great. No complaints except for the Flamenco Hotel in Budapest, which was not as expected. We had to have our breakfast in the lobby sitting on a sofa because there weren't enough tables for all the guests. They didn't refill the breakfast buffet and no one took care of the spills on the tables. Besides the rooms were old and smelly.
But it was just a hotel and we will definitely do more of these trips in the near future because it was a great adventure and a memorable experience! I really recommend Tripsite.

Terence W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Favorite Part: A short cycling day through quiet, autumnal countryside, took us to Bratislava leaving us with oodles of time to spend exploring colorful backstreets and the rise to the impressive castle.

Ron Zauski
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

A great adventure... We found the trail well marked throughout the journey; several times, at moments of confusion, we found discreet signs or stickers from a biking organization pointing the way. Budapest was exotic. Vienna was ultra-clean and organized. Bratislava had quaint, old-European, windy roads to explore. But my favorite parts of the trip were smaller towns and villages of Gyor, Bad Deutsch, the castle at Hainburg, the Hotel Bow Garden in Komarno, Slovakia (it is an old synagogue with a bowling lane at the reception desk!), and the jewels in the basilica in Esztergom. This is my third trip with Tripsite in 6 years; I am already seeking ideas for the fourth.

Michael Jenks
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

WOW!!!!
Everything was outstanding. All my fears were for naught...
Hotels knew to expect us, knew where to store our bikes, and knew our names!

Bratislava, as someone mentioned, was under construction, but should be ok by summer 2016.

18 thumbs up! Will do this exact trip again and again if I could!

Mary Sandra Duggan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed the trip very much and are planning another. We enquired about the the free shirts for repeat customers but haven't gotten them. The website is not clear about ordering them.

Lee Ann Gee
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike route and description was really good except on 2 occasions. First, riding out of bratislava is confusing. There is trail construction and NO sign saying where to turn for detour. The second poor section was the last 5 ish miles riding into Budapest. Route poorly marked. We ended up just asking how to get to our hotel since we couldn't find any signs.

Nilton Araujo Alves
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ja conheco Budapeste e Praga.Em Budapeste(cidade linda e agradavel)fiz um tour de bike e agora gostaria de conhecer tmbem Viena,entao,gostaria de informaco sobre preco completo saindo de salvador,porem me deixando livre quanto a aida e retorno

Diane Knight
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

What a great tour! Beautiful scenery, easy riding, wonderful accommodations