Castles of the Loire Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 10 of 10

 

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Sheri A. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Make sure you bring layers in case of rain

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Gerald M. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best memory of the trip was a spectacular meal at Auberge de la labourer in Chenonceaux. They were fully booked but set up a table in the bar and gave us the full restaurant menu. It’s a great restaurant and the extra work the staff put in added to the experience.

    We had two complaints. First, neither of our odometers worked so we had no way of measuring distance. This meant constantly stopping and checking to make sure we were on the right way.

    Second, the directions to get to Cour Chevigny had one massive error. When we came off the trail and onto Route 52 the directions said to turn right, go to the roundabout, and follow the sign to Route D102. There is no such sign. The only sign to Cour Chevigny is for Route 52, the road we were already on. So, thanks to some help, we turned around, followed route 52 for five kilometres and came right to our hotel. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED.

    Countries: France

    • Castles of the Loire
      by Carla from Tripsite 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Gerald - thanks so much for taking the time to submit your feedback.
      We really appreciate the advice about the misguidance on the route descriptions. We will certainly have it fixed! I also wanted to mention we have GPS tracks for this tour and many other tours, in case you want to avoid the adventure of getting lost in the future.
      Lastly, regarding odometers, I am so sorry they did not work for you. Did you call our local shop to have them fixed? They normally have 5-star service when it comes to fixing bikes.
      Thanks again for your feedback!

      Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Mik L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Loire was wonderful, Jon the guide was wonderful and Lunch in Adon was Magnifique!

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Linda H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent routes, well marked and the Châteaus are breath taking. Make sure you have a rain coat.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Ann S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have enjoyed the Castles of the Loire bike trip in France very much. This was my first organized bike trip. The scenery was beautiful, and the architecture was stunning. The meals were delicious. I have recommended this trip to my friends. I am looking forward to my next bike trip in France.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Rod C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The amazing all inclusive 3-4 course dinners at the end of the day were great. The castles were great to see.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Tim Stoepker 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. We loved the country-side, the villages, the vineyards, small country roads with no cars, easy to read maps, the wonderful restaurants and chateau. We had no problem without having a guide and the people in the towns and staff at the hotels were very friendly and always willing to help. This was our second Trip-Site bike trip and it was great. Thanks.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Gai Jordan 7 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did Castle of the Loire 3rd week of sept 2012. The weather was nice though we did get rain on our first afternoon. No complaints at all. We picked the 2 star option and were more than happy. All hotels clean and comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. Food was fantastic. Bikes were also fabulous and the intinery/directions easy to follow (even when we got ourselves a little lost, easy to get back on track). We are 50 and of average fitness, the bike riding was not too hard. We will definately look at another tour soon. Thanks for the memories!

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Brian Surgenor 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did Castles of the Loire with another couple. No complaints. Bikes were great. Meals were great. Accommodations were great. Weather was great (didn't rain at all !). Only glitch was the lack of an in-house meal on the monday (Oct 17) at Auberge Du Centre in Chitenay.

    Countries: France

PWPC