France Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 477

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Susan 21 hours ago     Verified Reviewer

    My husband & I are taking this tour in September . Do you have any recommendations for places to stop along the route ? Wineries !pubs! Sights !etc.
    Thanks

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Susan thomson 21 hours ago     Verified Reviewer

    I am going on this trip in September with another couple . Do you have any recommendations for stops along the way ? Wineries ,pubs , sites not to miss etc
    Thanks

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Libby Stupak 4 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    I did the Cochem to Metz boat bike tour on the Quo Vadis August 3-10, 2019. The boat itself exceeded my expectation, as did the captain (owner of the boat), his family and the crew. Out bike guides, Ferry and John, were exceptional and so personal. Their knowledge of the area was great. I'm an avid biker for both recreation and commuting so the bike provided took a little getting used to. Also I'm quite short so could have used a bit smaller bike, but it worked out. Daily mileage was perfect which allowed us to see the sites and make stops. The food was fantastic, the scenery along the Mosel so beautiful. The stops we made each day were perfect and the time we were able to spend in Saarburg, Trier and Metz was great. I felt the attention paid to our having a great trip was exceptional. I booked my trip through Eurosail, and there were many blips in that process with that company, but in the end it all seemed to work out OK.

  • Elizabeth S. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? Stopping along the bike route to have a coffee or beer and seeing some of the historic and memorable sites in the quaint villages along the way!

    Have an ice coffee at one of the lovely little cafes!

    Boat: Iris

  • Dean S. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The crew was second to none. Everyone took great pride in their work, especially the cook, who prepared meals to die for. We wanted to take her home with us. The guides went out of their way to make everyone happy. We really appreciated the guided tours in town each evening after dinner.

    This trip was great for a wide range of abilities. Folks who were not as strong of bikers used e-bikes which were great equalizers.

    My wife and I agree that this was one of the top vacations we've ever taken. We can't wait to go again.

    Boat: Iris

  • Joseph (Joe) S. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the Iris were all very knowledgeable and welcoming. By the end of the week I felt as though I knew each one personally and would welcome them all to my home should they travel my way. They made the trip more than worthwhile, especially when we had to ride in 100 plus degree weather. If I am to do another bike and barge trip it is this group of people that I would want as the crew.

    Boat: Iris

  • Jeffrey A. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Antonenella, our guide was awesome, as was our two helpers! We loved riding through the countryside of both France and England, it was so beautiful. This trip is highly recommended. Our group was made up of 16 people from different countries, so it made for a fun group. If you are not used to biking up hills, we recommend renting the e-bikes, because they really make this trip wonderful. There is time to enjoy the sites and sounds around you. Half our group wore biking shorts and the other half wore shorts and t-shirts. American tennis shoes are fine. Bring a padded seat cover and padded shorts, because it will help a lot. We all met for dinner each night, so bring a few nicer clothes. Bikers are provided with one small pack wit maps per couple, that attaches to handle bars. I put sanitizer, gum, money and my phone in the pack. Everyone is provided with a side pack to go on their bike. We put an extra bottle of water, lunch and jackets in the bags. Make sure you have a phone that works Read more… in Europe. Our group got split up in Paris and the sweeper, last person had to call the leader. We had one road rash incident the first day and one flat tire four days in. Our support guys picked up the couple, fixed his bike and met us up ahead. One of the ladies who did the self guided tour hit the ground with her face, but she was a trooper and finished too. My husband and I have traveled a lot, but this is the best trip ever!

    Countries: France, England

  • Chris B. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful adventure with great surprises on the journey. This is hilly territory but very rewarding for the challenge. With a spectacular wine museum, vineyards, chateaus, prehistoric cave paintings - what’s not to love.

    Countries: France

  • Joe B. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Riding through the forest grounds of Napolean's estate.

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Debra King 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Thinking about a first trip. Which ones have you been on, and if you don't mind, please list with your favorite first.
    Thank you so much!

    Countries: France

  • Julie S 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Denne turen var helt fantastisk! De som står for service og transport av bagasje er helt supre og veldig hyggelige mennesker. Ved bruk av en egen app, går turen som en lek! I de større byene er det lett å navigere seg frem og kjempe fint landskap å sykle i. Kan anbefale denne turen til alle! :)

    Countries: France, England

  • Sharon D. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    What a great way to see so much of Germany! We cycled almost 200 km along the Rhine and enjoyed every minute! Then when we went back to the boat, we enjoyed a top quality three-course meal! Overall it was a fabulous bike trip and riverboat tour on the Rhine. The bikes were top quality, and the nice part biking was our ability to stop off at the different biergartens along the way of our own choosing; We loved seeing the swans on the Rhine (even a black swan!) and also enjoyed visiting historic churches, and seeing wondrous half-timber cottages including one house with a pair of storks nesting on the chimney! I will definitely be booking another bike riverboat tour!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Julie W. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful travel experience for our first time on a barge. The staff were helpful, friendly and fun to be with, the food was first rate and the scenery and biking experiences were fabulous!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Janet L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the day that we visited Les Baux de Provence and went to Carrieres Lumineres. We also visited the asylum in St. Remy where Van Gogh spent a year and produced many paintings. We rode through so many beautiful landscapes and villages in Provence and many times it felt like we were part of a Van Gogh painting. My other favorite part of this trip were the meals with everyone on our boat. It was so nice to have wonderful food and wine and sit and talk to people from all over the world. This was my first bike and barge experience and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. All of the guides and staff on the boat were great as well!

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Pat C. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Provence is a great area to cycle in and with the exceptional guide we had it made it even more enjoyable. The crew worked well together and could not of been more accommodating. This was our 6th trip with Tripsite and that in itself should be a solid endorsement for this company! A must do!

    Countries: France

  • Carl B. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    I couldn't pick out one specific thing. It was our first trip to Europe, first bike trip. From the moment we met the crew from chef to guide we could not have been more pleased.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Mik L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Loire was wonderful, Jon the guide was wonderful and Lunch in Adon was Magnifique!

    Countries: France

  • Tom D. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling, food, and staff were great. Lots to see and it was fun!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Marc L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The mutual congeniality among the group was especially memorable and was facilitated by every element of the trip! Antonella, our cycling guide from Avignon to Aigues-Mortes, was the glue which brought us all together - she was a delight! The accommodations, with several locations for socializing in comfort, encouraged us to relate to each other in multiple group configurations. Finally, the variety of daily itineraries gave us many options to enjoy beautiful scenery and cultural highlights.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Inga M. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    I booked this first-time adventure for my husband and myself and another couple based on the location, itinerary, boat size, and online reviews. Ultimately it came down to my decision so I was feeling some anxiety regarding the success of the trip. I needn’t have worried! We had a fabulous time. Everything was well organized and on time, the boat was clean and efficient, the bikes were well maintained and any problem quickly looked after by a very friendly onboard bike mechanic, the food was mostly excellent (one night the steak was chewy), the staff was fabulous -never tiring of our endless requests or questions! We met likeminded people from all over the globe and made some lasting friendships! The biking distances sounded daunting but the pace was surprisingly leisurely with stops along the routes to visit wineries or beautiful old structures in many quaint little villages. And to top it off we had a rousing farewell party on the last night complete with champagne and Read more… dancing! We’d definitely do this again. Biking and boating is the ideal combination of exercise and relaxation accompanied by beautiful surroundings - what more could one ask for!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • William B. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful way to see Northern Europe, leisurely experiencing a diversity of landscapes, towns, and scenic attractions.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Rick C. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery on the Provence trip was amazing.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Geraldine D. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really liked the MS Arkona, the staff and our F&B head mgr. Routes were Ok, but need better route descriptions esp for English speakers. Electric bikes were excellent! Def the better way to really enjoy the ride!

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Susan F. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Avignon to Aigues-Mortes bike-barge trip was terrific. Our guide, Antonella, was knowledgeable about the area as well as about the route. She did an amazing job of ensuring our safety and making it a really fun ride. We would have loved to stop at a winery or two!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Amy B. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our bike/barge trip from Brugge to Paris cannot be summed up easily into one moment. I enjoyed the bonding of a group of people from various backgrounds and countries. The group worked as a team making it possible for my husband and me to thoroughly enjoy the amazing scenery, historic sites, cities, onboard dining, and even the tough rides. The staff cannot be overlooked as they were the backbone of the entire amazing experience!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Allen L. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Paris to Brugge on Zwanntje 5 stars is not enough to describe the barge and crew.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Jane B. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first barge supported trip after a number of Hotel and Van supported trips. I loved the combination of bike and barge will keep doing this for sure. Highly recommend the Zwaantje for its captain, crew, meals and general comfort. I’ve already booked another trip for next year.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Barbara W. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Normandy bike trip was fantastic! The route descriptions were confusing at times but we were able to figure everything out. The route took us through beautiful areas of Normandy, through small villages, scenic small roads, to the beaches of D Day and each day ended in a charming city in which we retired for the night. The accommodations...ESPECIALLY THE ONE IN BAYEUX!!! were great. Stephon, the owner of the B and B was friendly, helpful and made our stay in his town enjoyable. Bayeux was an interesting and beautiful city! TripSite's choices for accommodations each night was outstanding. Great locations so we could walk to anything we desired to see. Another day or two of biking on this trip would have been wonderful...we had so much fun! Highly recommend this trip.

    Countries: France

  • Pauline Jacobs 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    I did the Paris to Bruges last year. It was the most amazing trip. Aboard the Feniks with a small number of fellow travellers. This is the only way to go, looking to 2021 as my next cycling/barging trip. A great way to see Europe, and my favourite country was Belgium.A gem of a country and most of all a cycling paradise.

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Jacqui Eger 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Just completed the inaugural tour of the Elodie from Maastricht to Paris. This was our fifth barge and bike and was certainly one of the best ever. The Elodie is a charming barge, spotlessly clean and well maintained with a comfortable salon where we had our meals, sat drinking, reading or playing games. The crew of Captain Chango, Chef Hans and guide Nina were outstanding in every respect. Our meals were amazing and the weather forecasts from Chango always entertaining. We were lucky enough to enjoy some nice weather where we could sit out on deck under the largest umbrella I have ever seen! A wonderful itinerary but being new the first couple of days we had a few miss turns but no one minded and we always called it an adventure. Our guide Nina made it all so enjoyable. We are already looking forward to another trip on the Elodie.

    Boat: Elodie

PWPC