France Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 545

4.7 out of 5

 


James C R.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

The route was well planned and paced, the hotels perfectly fine and the sights were tremendous. What beautiful scenery! A few tricky spots, but some must be expected on a bike tour. Highly suggest using the app, suppled by Tripsite, for each day's itinerary; would not have wanted to follow the route using paper maps. A word to the wise on e-bikes: the last three days were very hilly, so care must be taken to conserve the battery when possible. Even being cautious, I ran out of juice on two days. It was not fun peddling these heavy bikes the last 4-5 miles. On the whole, highly recommend this particular tour, the third one we've taken with Tripsite.

Jonathan H.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Castles of the Loire
France

The garden festival at Chaumont-Sur-Loire was probably the nicest surprise visit for us all tho there were lots of high points and each person of our group would have slightly different takes different.
Quality of routes and ease of following was wonderful.
Canoe and wine experiences could have been better.
Better indications of facilities for coffees and sandwiches en route would have been helpful as well as advising impact if weekends and bank holidays.
Hotels quite variable - one excellent, two good albeit rooms not great, one disappointing - I had to generalise in giving rating below but Amboise for example would be very satisfied on all and Cheverny ‘neither’ apart from food which would be ‘satisfies’
All in all a great trip

Diego Z.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

Great Trip,
All the places were very nice.
The service was very good
It will better if yousay who little town is worth to go inside (if you have time) and which is better for lunch, etc

In the hotels.
The Hotels Mais d Agret in Les Baux is really very COMPLETE and GOOD
The Hotel du poete is good but need Manteinance, pinting, etc
The Hotel Ibis in Avignon os maybe the less..

Thanks for everything,

Pablo Adrian V.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Famous Villages of Provence
France

The coverage of the company is excellent. They fulfilled everything they offered. The bikes are new and of very good quality. Le Baux de Provence is a beautiful place

John V.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Wonderful trip. Great crew with Sarah and Joseph as cooks, Willy as captain, and Michaela (?sp) as our guide. I have some dietary restrictions which they handled very well. Cabins are a little small but not inadequate given the small boat size. The stairway is somewhat awkward but manageable.
Michaela was a good informant about historical facts about the area. She is also a very good bike mechanic, having worked in a bike shop recently during the pandemic.
Good tour mates from multiple countries. Everyone got along well. Would definitely recommend this trip.

georgia p.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Great crew
Great food
great guide
awesome captain
wonderful eclectic group on board ... only 16
did i SAY unbelievable food ..... themed to the regional herbs .....which transformed food into a cultural lesson on the region
and Michaella the guide what a great trip she road us through or we road her through!
the camaque ride is a ride through the french wetlands - through the history of the crusaders and Knights Templer - the salt trade - then you get in the other side of Provence with its chic chic villages - fields of flowers and lavender and poppies .... a few hills that were daunting - but on the whole we had great bike paths minimal traffic and just a whole lot of wonderful vistas and aromas as we rolled through this beautiful part of the world ....(in this covid world being able to smell the flowers and fields was also a good daily litmus test ...) its a great trip a great experience with a great crew - i would happily do this ride again....

Susan Q.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Wonderful trip start to finish. The Fleur was cozy and comfortable. Terrific crew. Delicious food. We biked roughly 30 miles per day through forests, small towns, the countryside. Be sure to pack bike shorts. The bikes were in great shape. We were a group of 19, at least 6 people used Ebikes. We were fortunate to have 2 terrific guides which made a group of that size much easier to navigate. If you plan to do this trip you want to be able to comfortably bike 30 miles with some hills. Not unmanageable for people who cycle. This is a great trip for those who enjoy cycling through the countryside, stopping at cafes and historical points of interest . One day I decided to stay on the barge. I cozied up with a good book and watched the world go by. So enjoyable. Sailing into Paris and seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time was pretty special too. This was our first bike and barge and we are already thinking of our next.

Brian O.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

French Riviera
France

The weather was perfect and the food out of this world. Just be aware that off season means just that. While not a huge issue but some of the restaurants etc were on reduced hours.

Stephen R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Intimate barge and delightful crew that quickly became friends. We loved the two week itinerary and everyone looked forward to another day on the bikes exploring. Many highlights but the riding onto the terrace above Paris and viewing the Eiffel Tower and skyline was enchanting. The entire group became one as we enjoyed each other’s company.
The Tripsite staff were a great resource; extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend beginning the vacation with them. Their guidance in choosing the right vacation was superb.

Joanne K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

All of it was wonderful. Guide Michela was fun and a great leader. There was a nice mix of stops for tours and riding. Scenery was beautiful. Also Liked the boat cruises from the deck. Hills and wind made it a little more of a challenging of a ride. Crew and cooks took good care of us. Would recommend.

Anne H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Beautiful area. The small towns were charming.

The hills were a little more difficult than I anticipated. Suggestion for others would be to prepare for a lot of hills.

Great staff. The staff went out of their way to make all guests comfortable. Our group of 9 fit in well with the 11 others on tour. The close quarters make this necessary. The Staff works hard at making sure that all feel welcome.

Kathleen D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Riding through the French countryside and small towns.

Rita W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Riding through the fields of fruit trees, medieval villages, sipping beverages in the little outdoor cafes, tasting olive oil in the factory, learning to use the bike to it's potential, and enjoying the ambiance back on the boat with spectacular meals.

Robert K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Staff and food were wonderful. Caprice barge has nice upper deck and dining facility. But cabins are beyond tiny, which we could have been happy with (and given 5 stars) if not for the following: Each guest is issued one towel set to be changed only once during the 8 night stay. The problem is during a humid or hot athletic trip, there's no way to dry the towels or to wash or dry athletic clothing, no place to hang them in ventilated area. We packed light with intent to wash, and couldn't. Clothing was "toxic" by end of trip! On an active trip, there needs to be laundry available, even if guests do it themselves. We found out on last day of trip there was full size washer/dryer on boat, but not accessible to guests.

kathleen (Casey) hunter
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

This was a phenomenal tour! Our tour guide, Andre was the best! He is Great organizer, very skilled crew and rider leader and an especially a very knowledgeable and inspiring historian! Unfortunately, he was also unusually busy as a bike repairman. We really hope to book another tour with Andre! (last name?)

Connie P.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Our tour guid was amazing (Melanie) She made sure everyone was safe and I believe everyone enjoyed themselves it was just a lot of fun what a great time with good friends and Melanie

JoAnn D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

I loved the integration of sight seeing and bike riding. The visit to the olive oil producer was very interesting. Also loved the opportunity to see the Cezanne Immersive theater. Melanie was a wonderful tour guide and made the trip very fun.

Anni H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Mosel Bike Tour
Germany, France

Cycling along the river, the journey

James D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Looking forward to another one next year.

Laurie A.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The setting, the sites, the views, the experiences... it's all memorable. But what was most memorable for me was being able to have a packaged vacation and not have to worry about my food or lodging. I have a food allergy, which makes travelling a challenge - especially in group tours. I usually have to bring my own food, make sure we stay where there is a kitchen, visit a grocery store, etc. The cook and other crew on the Quo vadis made sure that i was well-fed with healthy, appetizing food. On some other types of tours i have been accommodated, but the food was just basic (or awful). This was the first trip i have ever been on where all of my dietary needs were met - i did not have to worry at all about getting sick (which can ruin a vacation). So while it was all absolutely wonderful, for me the "icing on the (gluten free) cake was that i was able to eat so well!
Also great: the information sent ahead of time was extremely useful. It was hard to go through it all at Read More

Angela T.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Our original trip was cancelled due to Covid and we took the Camargue trip in its place. It turned out to be a lovely replacement. I had felt this covered ground I previously knew but seen from the perspective of biking round places previously seen the trip added such a new and fresh layer, as well as previously unknown places, that it was like seeing things for the first time.
The boat was comfortable and the food really excellent thanks to the innovative hands of chef Sara.
Highly recommended.

Sonya G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

There were so many memorable experiences on this trip. The Moselle River area is spectacularly scenic, and fortunately we had perfect weather days to enjoy the river, the towns, the castles, and the vineyards. We also loved returning each day to our "home", the Quo Vadis for yummy dry Riesling, exceptional food and social gathering with our trip mates. Highly recommend this trip!

Robert K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The crew was very helpful and engaging.

Jennifer B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Avignon to Cassis
France

The whole trip was fantastic. The variety of terrain was great. The GPS was invaluable and steered us just right. I would suggest stopping at a market before leaving for the day to get lunch to take on the ride and then stopping at patisseries or glaciers in the towns for treats.

Mary Patricia C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The boat, staff and passengers were a delight. They were very COVID conscious. We loved the meals, and relaxation time on the deck. I would totally recommend the Quo Vadis! Hope to do another tour with them next year?

Jeanne H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The bicycle riding and scenery while pedaling is most memorable.

Steve B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

For me it was the first time I saw the Quo Vadis and met Captain RJ and the crew. They were warm and friendly and the boat was beautiful.

Barry B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Compared to our other trips, the Caprice felt very cramped i.e very limited on deck room for groups. Probably should add a Caprice clothes line to dry clothes, minor but very handy
breakfast was ok but repetitive, other trips had a buffet and especially cooked hot items
suppers were hit or miss, I thought ok but most of our group thought mediocre
guide was excellent as were bike stops, especially the Aqueduct-Pont du Gard, Palais des Papes, swimming in the med, light show. Probably should add a visit to a winery. Consider precharging for some events i.e. colosseum, light show kamisky and Cezanne) , museums,--Palais des Papes, Van Goughs asylum etc) rather than make them optional as some folks are tightwads and really miss out on a fuller experience.
Cycling guidebook is excellent

Good crew

Rebecca H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The Ponte de Guard, the landscape and great food.
Great bicycles and charming and efficient staff.
The boat could use a wash line

Keith R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loire Valley - Châteaux Country (based in one hotel)
France

This was an excellent trip. Our first trip in almost two years. The hotel was lovely, excellent service and restaurant. The bike riding itself was also very good. The routes were well organized and on very quiet roads and bike paths. We had zero issues with traffic. The terrain is relatively flat with only the climb and descent to the Loire river posing any kind of difficulty. The area was relatively quiet due to the pandemic however most restaurants were open as well as the various chateau. We were able to create the pass sanitaire with our Canadian vaccine certificates so entry into restaurants and attractions was a non-issue. They do scan at most restaurants and often times on the train.