France Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 532

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Antonina (Ena) G. 3 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery loved the old towns. The bikes were great

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Paul M. 3 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Further to my previous review I wanted to add the service, courteousness and responsiveness of the Tripsite Representatives in answering multiple questions and following up on the many details of our group was much appreciated. A customer focused company which is a novelty today.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Carol M. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was one of the best holidays I have ever taken - being active, seeing history and meeting new friends. Highly recommend.

    I have already booked another trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Auxerre to Paris and Paris to Auxerre
    by Cecilia C. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was beautiful but I don’t know if there was a misunderstanding in communication I had believed the bike riding was mild rides and not so advanced. I suffered grave pain in my body after our first bike tour. This not recommended for elder persons with any arthritis problems. Thank you.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Margaret E. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful scenery and great bike routes planned for us. Only difficulty with the routes was navigating Libourne the last Friday in rush hour afternoon traffic. Perhaps a longer route, going around Libourne, could be investigated

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by James C. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip. Two weeks wasn't even enough. Barge was great... super clean, great food. Small cabins, but really nice common areas. Staff was awesome.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Sheilagh M. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the south of France along quiet country roads with the occasional stop to learn about the history and people of the place.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol B. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike tour was immensely enjoyable. Even though it rained 6 of 7 days, it was still a highlight of our vacation in Europe. Thanks to Tripsite's instructions, we were well prepared for various weather from rain to warm and cool weather. Taking a barge is a great way to travel without unpacking each night, returning to the same room and delicious meals served on board. I hope to take a bike trip again trying out another river.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Janice C. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, so hard to pinpoint to one memorable experience; there were so many. Our first impression of the boat and crew was wonderful. The boat was very clean, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. All the crew members were welcoming, kind, fun and efficient. The Captain, RJ, was one on the crew, always on, active, involved and always with a smile. I loved that by the end of the trip, all 24 of us knew each other well after eating, biking and watching out for each other after the 8 days. Bike riding along the Moselle River in the fall with the colors changing was breathtaking. Every turn was equally as beautiful and everyday the colors became more vibrant. We broke off into 2 groups of 12 every morning; each group having one of the two guides. I was very happy to see there were two guides. We came across another bike/barge tour in one of the towns and there was only 1 guide for a group of 24. I think that was pushing it a bit. The villages, towns, castles, history, wineries Read more… and food on board were all exceptional. The pace of the daily ride was not difficult. The only suggestion that I have would be to separate the e-bikes from regular bikes. I found at times, the e-bikes would interfere with the momentum of the rest of us trying to pedal up the hills. It might just be the need for a little more training with the riders on the e-bikes, there was none that I saw, and a better understanding of an "etiquette".

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by John C. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the boat Caprice was wonderful. Each crew member did their utmost to make the trip perfect for everyone. The food was outstanding, our compliments to the chef Joseph who prepared a gourmet meal every night. The tour guide Alessandra was wonderful and kept the group moving along together. The size of the tour was perfect, 20, the route was ideal and that part of France was beautiful. Highlights were the Ponte du Gard, the villages in Provence, Avignon and the tour of the winery and La Moulin d'Huile. We also enjoyed the company of the others on the tour very much.

    Suggestions: bring raingear if it's the rainy season, stop in the cafes in the little towns along the way for beer, wine, french fries or desserts.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Kent H. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole experience was just tremendous. Cruising on the Feniks, peddling through the countryside of Belgium and France, stopping at cafes and chateaus. The sail into Paris was unforgettable. We thoroughly enjoyed our fellow cyclists, our guides, and our on board chef Nelleke was a great cook and a valuable resource.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
    by Anette Lie B. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful landscape in the Loire Valley and the picturesque towns of Chinon and Azay le Rideau made this trip a wonderful experience that I would warmly recommend everyone! The bikes had high quality and the hotels were all great.Everything went smoothly and everyone was very helpful. I will definitely come back some day.

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Shelly B. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My friends and I had a wonderful time on the Bordeaux Bike and Boat Tour! The bike rides were like riding in a postcard! The boat was very comfortable. The meals were delicious and based on the region! There was a wide variety of wine available at a very reasonable price! The crew were all extremely polite, pleasant, and helpful! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to do a boat and bike tour!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Tom E. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was perfect - the biking, the people, the food and the sites.

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Diane F. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took the Bordeaux bike and barge trip the first week of September 2019. I am comparing it to the Danube bike & barge trip I took in October 2017 via Tripsite. The Danube trip was great all the way around, good food, nice dining service, white linen, well cooked and good variety of food. Excellent value for the money. The itinerary, guides, and crew service were great. The Bordeaux trip on MS Bordeaux held great expectations. The itinerary and scenery were fantastic. The quality and variety of food needed a lot of work. The morning coffee was dreadful each day, and there were no proper coffee mugs, teacups or teapots. Paper placemats did not add to the breakfast atmosphere. We were offered the same overcooked eggs each morning. One morning garlic carrots were on offer. Our make yourself lunches were exactly the same ingredients each day. The dinners were often overcooked with a complete lack of fresh greens or fresh market cheeses. In fact, the cheeses on offer each morning were Read more… pre-sliced cheese. This is not what one expects in France.
    So the food was very disappointing for the price we paid for this trip. The food servers were very friendly and worked hard to please. The bike mechanic was great and solved any issues we had with the bikes. The captain of MS Bordeaux was always impatient and gruff with passengers as we disembarked each day. On the Danube trip, the staff ensured the bikes were on land for us each day. The GPS's in Bordeaux did not work most of the time and the maps in the books need updating - this is a comment that has been in the Bordeaux reviews for several years now. A team discussion and group effort allowed us to find our way.
    The most disappointing aspect of the trip is that my concerns were expressed to Tripsite and left unanswered for over a month until I called Tripsite back, and nothing was resolved for me. Just be sure to evaluate if the quality of food and customer service are an important part of your trip - otherwise, enjoy the great rides!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Michel D. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our second experience with Tripsite. Our first was in the Netherlands and the second in France. Everything has been positive from the time of booking to the end of the trip. Great food, great cycling, comfortable ship, scenery and most importantly, the other guests on the trip. We have already booked our third trip for May of 2020!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Doug L. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Each day was a new adventure. We saw some great scenery, visited some beautiful towns and cities, learned much about the history of WW1 and enjoyed the company of friends aboard the Zwaantje. It was nice not having to decide which meal to order every day. Frank, our chef, did an excellent job of choosing for us and prepared superb dinners. Two views were particularly memorable: "The approach to Chantilly Castle" and "The view of Paris from St. Germain en Laye". The cruise into Paris on the final day was the icing on the cake. What a great way to see the north of France. Oh wait, Belgium was great too. I think Bruges is now one of my favourite Cities.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Charlotte A. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the countryside and small villages, visiting Arles and Les Beaux.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Andrew O. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is impossible to single out a single most memorable time. The food was delicious, the tour guide wonderful, the cycling routes took us to a variety of historical, cultural, and geographical places. We saw castles, an abbey, art, old villages, wildlife, walled cities, mountain top views, and took several short cruises on the river, The days were full, we had downtime when needed but were always kept busy if desired.

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley - Tours to Angers
    by John M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bikes supplied were fantastic. The maps and directions were easy to follow, and the route was spectacular. We were very happy with all of the hotels chosen by Tripsite. All in all, we had an extremely enjoyable 5 days, and we will be definitely doing another bike trip with Tripsite the next time we visit Europe.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Sheri A. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Make sure you bring layers in case of rain

    Countries: France

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Luis 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took this trip on Oct 6, 2019. It was my 6th trip with Tripsite. the ship was the Zwaan. The landscape is stunning. The staff was super friendly without beig intrusibe. The distances are doable. The ship is excellent and the programmed group size is great, only 12 to 14 people. I have recommended these tours to dozens of people. And they continue to be one of the most fun things I have done in my life. Go!

  • Geneva to Lyon
    by Ginny S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was all beautiful, but Pérouges was a real highlight. A well preserved medieval town, the accommodations and spectacular food reflected the history of this special place.

    Countries: Switzerland, France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Gloria M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The adventure of biking through beautiful Luxembourg, Germany, and France. One can view scenry in a different manner compared to driving a car or viewing as a passenger. Biked thru small villages, metro cities, and rural countries.

    The delicious gourmet dinners at the end of each trip will always be treasured.

    The route instructions need a lot of improvement. It should not take 6 hours to bike 22 miles!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Mary P. 2 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    The castle tours were amazing. Sophie (coordinator on the Anna Marie IV) was adorable. Really enjoyed her and her nightly meals. The trip was not the Loire, because of water levels and sorry to say that it was just OK, but not much more. The main thing missing that I had expected was a trip to a vineyard. That would have made a big difference.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Stan and Nancy H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was fabulous, very scenic and the ebikes were perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip although we went at a time when the vineyards were mainly closed for harvest. We made our own picnic lunches along the way or stopped at local pubs and restaurants for lunch and wine. The written directional instructions were very helpful, as were the gps tracks. Julian, our local coordinator was very helpful in resolving a small glitch with our first hotel. All the hotels were great, and the restaurants and food were generally quite good, even though our dinner selections were limited to a few choices. Of the towns we stayed in, Colmar and Kayersburg were the best! The dessert in the Colmar Grand Hotel Bristol was memorably fantastic. The restaurant we were sent to in Basel was rather mediocre and disappointing given what we had pre-paid, especially the horrible cup of fruit cocktail we were given for dessert ( not even on the menu!) The vineyards ended before Mulhouse, which seemed like Read more… a very industrial city. And although the scenery into Basel was lovely with rolling hills (ebikes saved the day!) Basel itself was just okay. We would probably skip the Mulhouse-Basel part of the trip if we were to do it again. We would prefer in future to spend more time in Colmar and smaller villages like Kayersburg.

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Carla from Tripsite 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Gerald - thanks so much for taking the time to submit your feedback.
    We really appreciate the advice about the misguidance on the route descriptions. We will certainly have it fixed! I also wanted to mention we have GPS tracks for this tour and many other tours, in case you want to avoid the adventure of getting lost in the future.
    Lastly, regarding odometers, I am so sorry they did not work for you. Did you call our local shop to have them fixed? They normally have 5-star service when it comes to fixing bikes.
    Thanks again for your feedback!

    Countries: France

  • Normandy
    by Michael C. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a truly outstanding tour. Excellent routes found for cycling and gave the chance to see the beaches and really understand the way the Normandy Invasion unfolded and how big the area involved in this incredible event in history was.

    A seemless trip where our biggest concern was where to get our next cup of coffee as we meandered across the countryside.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Gerald M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best memory of the trip was a spectacular meal at Auberge de la labourer in Chenonceaux. They were fully booked but set up a table in the bar and gave us the full restaurant menu. It’s a great restaurant and the extra work the staff put in added to the experience.

    We had two complaints. First, neither of our odometers worked so we had no way of measuring distance. This meant constantly stopping and checking to make sure we were on the right way.

    Second, the directions to get to Cour Chevigny had one massive error. When we came off the trail and onto Route 52 the directions said to turn right, go to the roundabout, and follow the sign to Route D102. There is no such sign. The only sign to Cour Chevigny is for Route 52, the road we were already on. So, thanks to some help, we turned around, followed route 52 for five kilometres and came right to our hotel. THIS SHOULD BE FIXED.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Catherine Ann H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through historic monuments and the Camargue wilderness was magnificent!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

PWPC