France Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 773

4.6 out of 5

 


Christiane Q.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique I Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Boat, bikes, Crew, food, cabins, and service were fantastic. Memorable was the villages visited. I just wish we had more focus on the history of the places visited as well as the wines of the region. We had to do that by ourselves, I was glad the GPS app used work great and we could ride on our own.

David H.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The trip was a lot of fun. The day trips were well planned and with fun stops to eat and see attractions. The food was excellent every day! Our guide Helmut was great. It is all about the people you meet and the trip you enjoy together.

Sarah E. (Lizz) C.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

This tour was a 10 out of 10 from the crew to the food. The routes were spectacular with a lot of variety and levels for all. I am an experienced rider, but not long distance. Since this was my first bike vacation, I rented an e-bike. By the end of the trip a few others switched over to e-bikes. I wanted to enjoy the tour and also be able to walk at the end of the day. From seeing the white horses of Provence to the wine and olive oil tastings, every day was memorable.

Jerri H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Champagne Tour
France

The crew was supportive, professional, personable, friendly, and quick to respond. The meals were delicious and better than most restaurants ! Our bike guide was knowledgeable, supportive, funny, and adaptive to our needs as cyclists. It often felt like we were a family. The scenery from the bike and barge was beautiful. I often felt Mersey in the culture of the small villages we passed though.

Therese M.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

Very fun tour. The entire crew and guides were amazing, friendly , fun, and very helpful!
Saw some great sights I’m sure I would not have seen otherwise.
Also met great people from all over the world.
I would recommend this trip to anyone thinking of doing it.

Gerilyn K.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

The guides were very good. Some of the bikes needed to be replaced Definite bike problems

Alberto T.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux Wine Country
France

All was perfect.
Bike traveling was among the vinhards and Chateaux on Pontilac.
Best city was Saint Emilion.

The only less satisfing was the size of the room I got in Best Western hotel. It was too small.

Congrats to you all

Eduardo G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux Wine Country
France

Great scenery; safe ridding;
We should have stayed an extra day touring around St Emillion.

Aron Y.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

French Riviera
France

Bike and ferry to Porquerolles Island. Nice riding, fun ferry ride and beautiful island.

Jorge G.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

The site that inspired van gogh’s stary night.
We didn’t see as many lavender fields as thought

Denis E.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Olympia Mainz to Strasbourg
Germany, France

Ability to make last minute decisions based on flooding conditions and unpredictable weather

Saw the usual number of castles and coffee shops

Virginia V.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

This was my first bike and boat tour. It was wonderful! From the daily biking through the countryside of France, the delicious, healthy meals provided on the boat, and the friendly, helpful staff and tour guides, I totally enjoyed the experience. Our last afternoon and evening was spent in Lagny-sur-Marne where the summer solstice was being celebrated - Fête de la Musique. We had our own private viewing/listening area on the sun deck and were able to wander the streets and enjoy the festivities.
Remember to take rain gear (including waterproof pants). Cycling in the rain is its own unique experience!

Susie W.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Classic or Luxury Famous Villages of Provence
France

The Provence region of France is exquisitely beautiful, and biking is very much a part of French life. Everywhere we went, we saw beautiful medieval villages and gorgeous countryside. However, my strong suggestion would be to encourage E-bike rentals. Although we are strong bikers, the hills we encountered made it very difficult to get to some of our destinations. Also, the App we used in order to access our daily riding maps was not user-friendly and we had a difficult time following it.

Jim M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

Travelling through the countryside of France and the champagne house tur

Brenda A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

the tour guide and her wealth of knowledge and her surprises.

Susan H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The crew was great and the food was excellent. The bikes were good.

The route, due to detours had its challenges

Christine M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Southern France Canal du Midi Bike Tour
France

The loveliness and peacefulness of biking by the canal. The GPS tracks were spot on as was the support from Robert. The bikes were outstanding and the accommodations were perfect!

Alejandra F.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

The scenery was spectacular and the barge crew was excellent

Barbara O.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Champagne Tour
France

We cruised with the crew of the Zwaantjze from Epernay to Paris. The captains (Barry and Eric), the chef (Frank) and first mate, Brendo were friendly and highly competent. The cabins are tiny, but comfortable. The quality of the bikes was excellent to poor. My bike was fine, however, the bike my husband had, which was a large frame, had no rear brakes. Even though there were only 7 guests, there was not another bike available for him larger than a small. The small bike had faulty electric assist, it did not work consistently. He was not happy about that. Our guides were wonderful people, but we do not understand the decision your company made to assign three people who were not familiar with the route or the history of the area. On two previous tours we have taken with your company, the guides offered extraordinary insights about the history and architecture of all the towns we visited. That info was not offered on this tour. We suggest you prepare a short video to be shown each night describing the towns and the types of roads that will be ridden on the following day. That would greatly enhance the experience.

Cyndi B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

The daily rides were wonderful. We saw lots of the French countryside plus the use of the canal locks. Advice: be sure you are comfortable on a bike, touring or e-bike. We left the boat at 9:00 and returned by 4 or 5, so we're riding all day. Some in our group hadn't ridden in decades and it was rough. There is always an option to cruise the canals on the boat, which is great!

Joseph M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Clair de Lune Loire Valley Bike & Boat
France

We recently completed the bike and boat trip from Briare to Nevers , it was an excellent vacation. The Claire de Lune was the perfect size, very clean and Captain Marco did an outstanding job navigating the boat through the locks and canals. The bicycles worked perfectly and our guide Annita led us around for 165 miles through the French countryside seeing farms, small villages, castles and chateaux's. There was a surprise stop every day and we even visited a small goat cheese farm. The food was excellent every day, breakfast and dinner were well prepared and we had fresh baguette's daily with ample cold cuts and condiments to make lunches and the kitchen also provided a nice container to carry the lunch on our bikes. Every morning we had an optional yoga class from our hostess Dita and we also did outdoor stretching before we started our ride The tour slightly deviates from the itinerary because some places are closed on certain days and there can be road issues. Sancerre Read More

Karin B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Its May; pack for all weather, it'll happen within your 4 hour ride, yes there are hills - spend the money, get an ebike! Such great guides McEel & Marcel. So glad to be lead by them, their knowledge, trail guidance was reassuring, you felt safe with them knowing where the group was going and looking out for you. Stopping to enjoy coffees and "should see" items. Steffie; owner of the boat and also our chef made such delicious dishes; duck, salmon, sea bass and lovely bought the day of vegetables...did I mention the the morning cheeses and breads, yum, yum. It would be nice to know the name of the cheeses...sadly, can't remember them now.
We hesitated taking a smaller boat but thoroughly enjoyed learning how canals work, river tunnels, felt like we part of the water system way, not knowing where the Fleur was going to park added to the excitement of finding her.
Absolutely loved it. Great way to experience the waterways of Europe as they did hundreds of years ago, though with a shower and warm bed...

bruce w.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Food on boat (ship ) as they refer to it was wonderful. Chef was full of energy and very creative

Janet P.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Cycling through farmland and so many small towns and villages, stopping at a bar/cafe, this is a great way to see a place. The other cyclists were kind and friendly, the staff was attentive and lighthearted.

georgia p.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

We love this region and this trip so we decided to do the trip again with friends and ride from Avignon this time .... It is a pretty easy ride except for a few huge hills - but so worth the effort to get to the top and see the town the quarry and the show - so worth the effort....just saying ....This trip takes you through many little villages filled with jasmine - stopped for quite a few pastries and beers and coffees and pain au chocolat.... besides all these sensory overloads of jasmine and and fields of poppies - you are riding through so much history ...... the camaque - Aiges mortes - the crusaders - the roman ruins everywhere - and then the marshes the salt flats and flamingos - great ride - great barges - the food always amazing

christie s.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

Beauty of the Dordogne region. Great pull-offs for picnicking every day. Lascaux caves and museum, brilliantly well done!! Don’t miss it. Also, a last minute side trip to Les Eyzies prehistoric museum! Also fantastic!

Francis C.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

Great Crew
Group
Guide
Bikes
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

arnita p.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

Lascaux Caves were unbelievable, as were the cliff dwellings and Natural History museum in Les Eyzies. Sophie was inccredible, always responding in a timely fashion with our questions and concerns. My bike seat kept sliding down, and I had to stop many times a day to raise it again. The biggest dissatisfaction was not having audible cues with our road navigation system. And it wouldn’t tell you that you were off course right away, so often we found ourselves turning around. The food was very difficult if you were a vegetarian and after riding bikes all day, we would have liked to have eaten before 8 o’clock at night. I know you don’t have control of that, but, just saying…

Claire K.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bordeaux to Sarlat Wine and E-Bike Tour
France

The biking itself and the dinners and stay at L’ostal de Pombonne
We were glad we took an e yea day in Bergerac.
We would have liked to receive the detailed booklet with information about sites to see on the route much earlier than our arrival in Bordeaux! We would have planned differently
For others: be aware you have to reserve a spot at each Lascaux cave. We didn’t know this, and unfortunately we’re not able to go to any of them.

Julian S.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Caprice Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
France

1. The excellent, cheerful leadership by Helmut
2. The meals
3. The many fine trails, especially around Avignon. Wonderful biking.