Bike tour reviews with boat/barge Wending 1 to 19 of 19

 

 Boat/Barge: Wending • REMOVE  About Wending

  • Maryanne W. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the tour from Bruges to Amsterdam. We had a great guide who read the weather and the group well. The food on the barge was wonderful and varied. The staff did their best to accommodate everyone. Next time I would not bring my own helmet. The helmets provided seemed to be very good and no one who used them had a complaint. I would recommend this trip to those who want an easy cycling trip.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Cynthia S. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    My adult daughter and I enjoyed every minute of our bicycle/barge trip. Our barge was the Wending and the guide, barge captain, cook, and deckhand were all excellent. Our 24-speed hybrid bicycles were in great shape and the cabins were comfortable and clean. The meals were delicious, gourmet, and tailored to meet the different nutritional needs of our group. Cycling through Belgium and the Netherlands was beautiful, generally flat, and fun. There were frequent stops, historical, cultural, and/or entertaining. 22 bicyclists from throughout the U.S. and Canada became good friends by the end of our tour. If you are uncertain about riding a bike for 15-40 miles a day for 7 days, you can do it. Go for it!

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Frederika H. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a fabulous trip by bike and barge from Brugge to Amsterdam booked through Tripsite.com. The accommodation was intimate, quaint and very clean. The staff were true professionals and the food delicious. We highly recommend this tour!

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Kathleen P. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Oh, to see the Netherlands by bicycle. No better way. This was my first biking vacation and it won't be my last.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Adele S. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Biking on paths that were mostly not too crowded. The architecture was so different from the U.S. I really enjoyed seeing the neat homes with lots of flowers still in bloom in late Sept. The small towns full of beautiful old buildings and churches. Our guide did a great job of teaching us the history of the area.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Scott P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip through south Holland was a history lesson with activity all in one. We had the day to enjoy countryside, beautiful gardens, canals and the old brick homes and cities along the way. Each morning we had fresh local baking to start our day and pack a lunch. We enjoyed a wonderful three course supper every evening experiencing different cuisines and fresh local produce. Many evenings a history walk was included after supper, finishing the day with some information on the city we were near. The week went by too quickly. ( I would recommend bringing earplugs to help sleep as some of the mooring places were noisier than where we live.) All in all a very wonderful holiday, we would do it again.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Marion B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: How well everything was organized for each day - even when weather was challenging (very rainy), being able to re-accommodate the trip itinerary in such short notice.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Brenna B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    All of it was memorable, especially Keukenhof Gardens at the height of bloom season. Loved the Netherlands.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Alene G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first time at a bike & barge trip and it was a great adventure! Staff was amazing and the other guests all gelled - we all worked together to have a fun experience. Getting to see various areas in Northern Holland up close was amazing. Be prepared for weather changes! Layer and bring clothes for rain! But most of all be prepared for a great vacation!

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Doyle S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The trip to kinderdijk was fantastic.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Ruth K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome experience...I just would liked for the guide to pedal slower so that I could enjoy my surroundings more.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • C. Abernethy 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The small tour group was perfect for my 12 year old son and I. The biking was awesome - we both loved cycling through the farms and along the canals. Although it was rainy and windy for majority of the time - we still enjoyed it very much. The food was fantastic!!

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • J. Caffrey 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We have been on 4 barge based bike trips plus 3 hotel based bike trips, all in Europe and this was the best. There are simply not enough superlatives to use to praise this trip. From the guide to the cook to the quality of the bikes and the barge we add the wonderful route and great scenery.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • S. Eitnier 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • M. Dries 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Although we had a week of rain and cool temperatures, the attitude and spirit of all on the boat was upbeat and lively. We biked in all kinds of conditions and still had a great time. Our guide was informative and accommodating. The scenery was beautiful from one location to the other and the food on the barge was top notch and delicious. I thoroughly enjoy the whole trip from start to finish.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Lynda Vera 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip, guide & staff. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Only downside was the cabin or perhaps the pillow was a bit musty - had allergic symptoms/ loss of sleep during the night but was fine during the day.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Jeffrey Douglas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip is excellent and we are now booked for our third time. However, and I know this is out of control of anyone, but our last trip was affected because of the crane accident near Gouda. This caused a rerouting of half the trip and because of that, we missed half of the sites that we wanted to see. On another note, the country should really make it illegal to dump raw sewage from the boats. This is disgusting and makes the waterways unclean. One would think that the government should do something about this and set up pumping stations. Otherwise, we really enjoy the bike/barge rides and will continue to go on them in the future.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • John Ummels 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling a wee bit fast. Most people were in fifties & sixties and I was seventy-nine.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Beth McGinnis 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We were overall extremely pleased with our trip! The only downsound was the infestation of bedbugs... The staff had bites and my husband I had bites as well. The staff took this very seriously and called a Pest Control Company ...they had their rooms treated and ended up treating our room as well. We ended up having to treat our luggage and all personal items upon our return home to Canada.. To make sure we didn't bring any into our home.....Which was quite a chore and inconvenience.

    Other than this, it was an awesome time.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC