Allure boat/barge tour reviews — 1 to 11 of 11

4.6 out of 5

 


Chris Pavich
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

One problem became evident at the time of the one significant incident when one client while riding her bicycle down a sloping gravel road ineptly/incorrectly applied her front brake only, and somersaulted, leading to a serious leg injury. The group problem as far as I am concerned was only the lack of easy communication between the cycle group leader and the last riders in the group. The designated last rider needs a device such as a small UHF transceiver, or where mobile phone coverage is a certainty a tested/checked cellphone link, to be able to immediately alert the leader of any problems behind.

Susan Donnely
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The journey was well organized. The crew were fantastic, friendly, obliging and fun. The food was world class delicious and beautifully presented at all times. Our guide was very nice and did her utmost to adapt to the differing expectations of individual riders. We loved that she also took us on evening walks after dinner.

Ivy Higgs
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

We were a bit late in the season so weather not great. Food brilliant.

Charles Coggins
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Excellent staff, excellent food. Very professional.

Dorothy Kenyon
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

I loved your barge/bike trip!! Would do it again to somewhere else, but I need a travel companion!! Thats the only thing holding me back.

Gregory Robinson
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Everything about the Allure and holiday was just amazing,a holiday we won't forget in a long time. The staff just so helpful and nothing was ever a trouble, bikes and our leaders just great. Thank you.

Cheryl New
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

While I was totally satisfied with everything, I had to ask for a change of sheets after 2 weeks. Our cycling guides tried their best but our 1st had a little communication problem. Our 2nd was great. Overall I would go back tomorrow if I could. The food was great and plenty of it. The crew marvelous. In all a great holiday. Very easy cycling.
"

Angela Rayner
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Amsterdam
Germany, Netherlands

We had a lady guide, who was very quiet and we had a large group (20) which made her job difficult as the people at the back could not hear her. Some of her instructions were not clear and maybe there should have been an instruction on road usage in Europe eg keep to the right hand side of the road (coming from Australia) . Understanding the various traffic lights was also a bit of an issue as we come from a relatively small country town with NO traffic lights and no cycle paths we had to be extremely careful negotiation some of the busier roads as there were 2 sets of traffic lights to negotiate while crossing the roads. It was a wonderful trip and greatly enjoyed by all. The only thing that marred the experience was an unfortunate accident on the very first day which resulted in a serious leg injury.

Cheryl New
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Amsterdam
Germany, Netherlands

Our 1st guide was not quite as good as our 2nd. She wasn't as clear on her instructions as she could have been.
On the barge we had to ask for our sheets to be changed after 2 weeks. Everything else was clean and well run. Ours may have been an oversight. This in no way stopped us from having a great holiday. Loved everything from start to finish. Would love another trip on the same boat.

Dennis Milling
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Walked onto the Allure at Koblenz in Sept 2014 and immediately knew that the week ahead would be enjoyable. Skipper Martin's smiling face was ever present and the crew were simply obliging. Our cycle guide was a scream...we lost her regularly as we stopped off for the occasional German ale. It was with heavy heart that I left the Allure in Merzig 7 days later.

FRED
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Miltenberg to Koblenz
Germany

Good trip, crew great, not one meal however with a German main dish!

The guide needs to get off the Dutch bias. We were in Germany so we would have liked to see some things from the German point of view not the Dutch "bias" to say it nicely!