Belgium Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 657

4.8 out of 5

 


James C.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

Blaine L.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Trip was great.
Crew treated us to a very friendly and efficient environment. Food was amazing, dinners each night had a theme from different countries. It was a highlight of each to have this kind of dinner waiting.

Bike ride started in Bruge with great trails and welcoming towns. As we moved to France a few days of rolling hills with interesting stops during the day.

Our guide had his hands full with 24 riders but he was professional, organized, well informed and was just a great person to sit and talk with.

A great trip with a great crew looking after us.

Blaine Larsen

Eileen M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The biking and our tour guide Jack amazing and so knowledgeable!

Richard J.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Zeaantje barge is very nice. Crew was great. Our guide, Andre, was the best we have ever had—very knowledgeable about the route and special sites to see/visit, adjusted our route a couple times to accommodate the rain. Frank, the cook, was really outstanding—creative meals, good variety. My only, minor, complaint is that the barge’s lounge can be very noisy when a group is in it, especially at meal time. Bikes were ok but could use some TLC; we had a lot of flats, and some brake issues, but everyone pitched in to make repairs.

Eric N.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Fantastic value! Ship accommodations, food, bikes, tour routes exceeded our expectations. Most important crew and guides were the best!

Bobby H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Amsterdam - 10 days
Belgium, Netherlands

Too many memorable parts to decide. The staff aboard the quo vadis, the food, the beautiful scenery both on the bikes and barge. All were superior.

Carol M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Very well organised. Beautiful scenery, brilliant guide, lovely food, good company, fantastic weather. Have booked to go on another one!

Michael F.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We’ve traveled widely over the years, and this trip was among our favorite vacations. Most memorable was just the intimate sense the trip provided of the various cities, towns and villages along our route. That sense was amplified by the after-ride walking tours led by our guides. Good stuff, all.

John M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Every biking day was a new adventure which culminated in our finding our barge (Zwaantje) as if by magic; but in reality through the skill and navigation expertise of our fearless guide. Beautiful countryside, lovely quiet towns and the bustling town hall squares of the larger cities. Absolutely loved it. Our chef on board was a delight and the food was excellent featuring both local produce and an international flair. Very well looked after throughout.

Don H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The accommodations were perfect. All of the lodgings were comfortable, clean, and well appointed. They were located in the heart of the community. Our luggage was transferred from place to place in a timely manner. The bikes were comfortable and the bags easily fit everything we needed on the route.

Glenn S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Its hard to single out one thing that was most memorable. The whole experience was really nice from the fine dining, excellent service from all members of the crew including our great tour guides Gus and Hans.

William K.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Cycling through the countryside of the Netherlands and Belgium. The biking is on level terrain but occasionally you will be traveling into the wind. Be prepared to ride 25 to 32 miles per day.
The dinners on the ship are wonderful.

Rob W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Beautiful and comfortable ship accommodations, fabulous meals, warm hospitality and excellent service staff. A wonderful trip!

Claudia B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The boat (Manifique III) was wonderful - as were the staff. I enjoyed all of the rides, however I do think an additional guide (or 2) would have been beneficial. 20 people per guide is not manageable and we did have some issues with that.

Johannes S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It was a pleasant trip with great memories. The food on the barge was excellent and so were the people that ran the ship and tours. I can highly recommend this trip. It is nice that the barge only holds a limited number of people, which made it easy to interact with everybody on the boat.

Sandy H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was truly the trip of a lifetime. We met so many nice people and saw the real countryside on this tour. Every day was a new adventure. We went in October and planned for Fall weather and rain and we got this but we were pleasantly surprised with a couple of really warm days as well. There are just the right amount of people on board to make some real connections. The barge crew was amazing and friendly and we felt very safe at all times. I'm pretty sure that we never once locked our cabin door. The cabins were better than we expected and the biking was awesome. I truly planned on getting in shape for this but didn't really get around to it but managed to cycle every day and go on all of the nightly walking tours. We enjoyed it so much that we most likely will do another.

Tred M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The two tour guides were great, food and accommodations were wonderful.

Patricia D.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Windmills in the mist, cherry beer, lunch with cows, fairy tale villages, and lovely flat bikes paths are memories I’ll treasure forever.
We loved breaking off from the herd for a day of discovery. The bike app made this so easy. Dinners were scrumptious! Highly recommend traveling Brugge to Amsterdam to have the wind at your back along the polders.

Kinne H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Terrific sights made better by great group of cyclists.

Lauren W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My son and I bonded while exercising and seeing the world. We had an amazing experience on our Bike and Barge trip from Brugge to Amsterdam, had the most awesome tour guides and met fabulous people. The sites, the accommodations and food were top notch. Not many teens would brag about traveling with their moms but mine did! Thank you!

Georgia P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

All the thatched houses (amazing) the incredible gardens in the Netherlands and Belgium - how amazingly house proud these nations are and what incredible Gardner’s they are also!! On a bike you get to see all these delights on the back roads and along the canals - counting the windmills - trying out new beers at little pubs along the way - checking out the bakeries - then relaxing on the barge in the evening with a lovely wine and amazing food chatting to people from all around the world!! (And getting to know them as there are only 30 odd or so on the boat ) best vacations ever!!

Maurice W.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was a most excellent way to explore the county, with most excellent service on the boat, Sailing Home. We liked the small size of the group (23 riders, 1 tour guide, the captain, the chef, and 2 assistants). And the chef was amazing. She served superb dinners from different regions or counties, each with a guided explanation of what the foods represent. After dinner we had well paced guided tours of the cities we were docked at. Ghent, Belgium was my favorite. The guest quarters were top notch and we’ll maintained. I would love to sail with them again.

Rob H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Bruges was outstanding, boat crew very nice.

Dan M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The crew and guides were awesome and all the equipment (barge, room, bicycles) were in great shape. You don't realize how much stuff they take care of for you to make your trip as simple and memorable as possible.

The best part of our trip was finishing in Bruges.

Denyse V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The most specifically memorable moment was the sighting of three sandhill cranes on a wheel on A chimney on our first day out in the spectacular countryside of Holland. But overall the memories were about the actual biking experience. The people on the trip all had an underlying purpose that provided an immediate unity on board the ship. The crew were all fabulous and food and accommodations superb. Everything was meticulously organized allowing one to be detail free, while there was also ample time to explore on ones own. We were actually 3 adults in a suite; the other spaces to relax on board assured that we had ample room to unwind after each days awesome ride. The entire trip was an A plus!

Peg H.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
Netherlands, Belgium

I always love the Merlijn and the new owners were great! However, this is the least favorite of my Tripsite tours I didn't find the stops very interesting and when we did have an interesting place to visit, our time was very limited. Fun group, great food and pleasant weather but very short days of cycling. I will do another trip next year but do suggest some changes to this itinerary.

Renee R.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Make sure you buy trip insurance. My father died unexpectedly and it reimbursed me to go home from the embarkment site before I even got on the barge.

Brenda A.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The tour guides were marvelous, very knowledgeable. Food was amazing. Highly recommend

Jane S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

The overall concept of being able to bike daily, sleep in the same bed every night and socialize with great people during the 11 days both on the boat and on the daily rides was a fantastic way to experience our vacation time. Anyone can go to a city and be a tourist. Cycling allows you to experience so many other places along the way in a less busy format. Countryside, quaint villages and towns, beautiful homes and churches, the scenery all the while chatting with your new friends about what you are seeing. I would do a bike and barge again any time.

Sue M.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We so recommend this trip. We cycled mostly on cycle paths or quiet country roads but when we occasionally had busy roads or intersections our guide Bart ensured we were safe. Everything was well organized crew were great. Meals were very good. Our guide Bart set a good pace and gave us a lot of information.