Belgium Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 691

4.8 out of 5

 


Gary H.
7 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

This was our first bike and barge tour. We travelled on the Gandalf, the captain and crew aboard are wonderful, friendly. Daily up-dates and briefing from the captain and our guide were very informative. Food AMAZING, can't say enough about that.... Our guide Ron was also amazing, friendly, very well informed and full of historic information...
Bikes worked very well. We enjoyed every minute of this tour. Travelled with a great group which made for an excellent adventure. 5 star's thanks to the crew and people.
Thank you Tripsite for all assistance navigating the pandemic.

Marie G.
10 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Seeing all the sights, travelling with friends and also meeting new ones. The crew and guides were very helpful.

Fernanda D.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Cycling from Vianen to Schoonhoven, and the walk through Bruges beautiful historic city. Bring cycling waterproof gear and be ready to take lots of pictures…

Jayne B.
5 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We loved seeing the beautiful countryside, small quaint towns and unique places away from the usual busy tourist sites. It was so fun to get to know our fellow passengers and the staff on the ship was excellent, to include our outstanding guides!

Barbara G.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Biking through the gorgeous country side - stopping at the cheese shoppe - the attentiveness of the staff and the camaraderie of the fellow bike riders!

Tips - do as many activities as you can - yet if that doesn't work for you - spend a lovely day on the barge- reading , writing or simply enjoying the gorgeous scenery.

Really loved the trip - biking was flat, fabulous and scenic!

Nancy W.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip was fantastic! The ship itself was comfortable and offered flexibility in seating with the upper and first decks, lounge area and dining room. Cabins were nicely done with storage room and comfortable beds. The crew was wonderful making sure every need was met. Having self guided before, we loved the guided option which led us through lovely villages, to coffee shops, picnic stops, and in through larger towns and cities without a worry. It was nice to have the option of not biking, and enjoying cruising the river or even to self guide as you wanted. The bike guides were fantastic engineering safety with a bounty of beautiful sights and history and facts of the sights. Having an after dinner stroll led by the guides was an unexpected treat. Hightly recommend this beautiful, relaxing, carefree yet full of activity vacation.

Susan Q.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Wonderful trip start to finish. The Fleur was cozy and comfortable. Terrific crew. Delicious food. We biked roughly 30 miles per day through forests, small towns, the countryside. Be sure to pack bike shorts. The bikes were in great shape. We were a group of 19, at least 6 people used Ebikes. We were fortunate to have 2 terrific guides which made a group of that size much easier to navigate. If you plan to do this trip you want to be able to comfortably bike 30 miles with some hills. Not unmanageable for people who cycle. This is a great trip for those who enjoy cycling through the countryside, stopping at cafes and historical points of interest . One day I decided to stay on the barge. I cozied up with a good book and watched the world go by. So enjoyable. Sailing into Paris and seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time was pretty special too. This was our first bike and barge and we are already thinking of our next.

Debra D.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The guides were wonderful, the staff on the boat was so friendly and attentive, cabin accommodations were lovely as was the boat itself, and the biking itself was fabulous! We met lots of really great people and ate lots of good food. ALL of these things made it equally memorable.

Stephen R.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Intimate barge and delightful crew that quickly became friends. We loved the two week itinerary and everyone looked forward to another day on the bikes exploring. Many highlights but the riding onto the terrace above Paris and viewing the Eiffel Tower and skyline was enchanting. The entire group became one as we enjoyed each other’s company.
The Tripsite staff were a great resource; extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend beginning the vacation with them. Their guidance in choosing the right vacation was superb.

Paul A.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Crew and both guides were professional, knowledgeable and very friendly throughout the trip. Our chef Wendy was superb and prepared wonderful dinners...also prepared crispy bacon and delicious scrambled eggs to start of out day. Our guides shared interesting stories and history about relevant sites we visited...all in all a great trip!!

Kenneth B.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Fourteen strangers came together for 11 days of cycling, with lots of laughing, good food, and camaraderie. We learned a lot about the places we saw and by the last day we were all friends.

Mary Jane O.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

An excellent biking experience through beautiful countryside and on top of dikes allowing views of the sea and dunes. Then on to the boat for delicious food and an after dinner tour through picturesque towns and cities. It's my favorite way to visit a country.

Barbara S.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We lucked out with the most gorgeous weather and didn't need to break out any of our raingear. We enjoyed meeting our fellow travelers. The meals were fabulous and our tour leaders were knowledgeable and informative. Others may find some extra comfort if they bring added bike seat cushion (memory foam or gel). The tour leaders adjusted our itinerary when changes had to be made due to high winds and we still had a good time. Most memorable was seeing Kinderdijk, swans nesting on the polder, and storks on their nests.

Diane H.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was great. The evening events on board were really special - the barbecue with the toast for the 30th anniversary couple, the beer and chocolate pairing with Peter and the farewell dinner with the toast for our 50th anniversary and Hester’s wonderful oboe concert. The whole crew was terrific but our guides were outstanding. The atmosphere was always convivial and we made many new friends.

Ingrid F.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The attentiveness of Christina and Koen and all the rest of the staff on the boat. The only comment i have is that with 24 riders and quite a varying degree of riding abilities, I think two guides and divide the group into two would have been better.

Gloria A.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Visiting the beautiful cities of Bruges and Ghent

John J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Since this was our first Bike and Barge experience we have little to compare it with, but found we enjoyed the total package. The accommodation on the Gandalf was clean and the crew made it feel more like at home instead of just a place to sleep. Can't say enough about our guide, Simon, who spent many hours insuring the biking portion was smooth and profession. Even when the unexpected happened he calmly got us up and running again. The little personal touches he added gave the group a great deal of comfort in navigating in a foreign country.
Suggestion: If you are not use to riding 40 km a day, the e-bike option goes along way to improving the enjoyment level. A purchase of a local "SIMM CARD" that has data is very reasonable and give you a local phone # to communicate with the guide and/or the boat. TIP: call your guide on the first day so that he has your phone number registered on his phone.

Jack Johnson
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

My wife and I have just completed our first Bike and Barge tour. Amsterdam to Bruges on the Gandalf. From the Captain Hans, crew and Nishka (the dog) they made a very comfortable and enjoyable trip. We spent a lot of time with our guide, Simon, and I can't say enough about the profession way that he handled his job. Planning of the daily routes, briefing, finding a wonderful spot for lunch break, the evening walking tours(for us that had enough energy), providing city maps and all the little extra personal touches added a great deal to the overall experience.
Since my wife had not been on a bike for a few years, the rental of the e-bike was a very welcomed. The tour is on flat ground but there overpasses and distance that the option of the e-bike should be considered.

Lovelady J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The fellowship on the Magnifique IV was wonderful. However, several of our fellow travelers tested positive for COVID right after leaving the ship. More options for testing and keeping the travelers free of COVID need to be provided.

Mark N.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

There were too many memorable moments to really list. What I think was most memorable of the trip was the kindness of all the passengers. It seemed like we all had been friends forever. The other was the professionalism of the entire staff. They were all so KIND, COURTEOUS and POLITE. The entire staff was nothing short of true professionals. They really went above and beyond to make us feel very comfortable. Actually, so comfortable I didn't want to leave. CHEERS to the crew of the Magnifique IV.

Brian K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn, the captain, chef, crew and guides were absolutely fantastic - our third bike and barge with Tripsite and by far the best. The most memorable part for us was riding into Ghent where we lived 15 years ago as a family for a year - spent the afternoon with the group showing off our home away from home.

Greg S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Riding in the countryside was wonderful, the ride in the urban parts was much more stressful. Our barge was divided into two groups which had significantly different experiences. Group one (which we were not in) had 2 guides while ours which was the same size had only one which meant that one of us had to take on the role of sweep. Our group leader did not stop or explain anywhere near as much as the other. Our group leader was unwilling to wait to make sure everyone was accounted for. For one example he took part of the group to a canal tour and said it should return on time. When I asked if he would wait for us if it was a few minutes late he said "I don't know, maybe" and when we were still getting our bikes out of the racks, he left with the rest of the group and was out of sight. luckily we were able to catch up but this incident seemed to characterize our whole experience with this guide.

Cecilia s.
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved how beautiful and open and green the landscape we biked thru was. Picturesque towns, lovely houses farms and gardens.
The most polite people when it comes to cycling and everyone in the Netherlands does it!

Jeremy B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I did the Bruges to Amsterdam tour on the Magnifique III. The staff was fabulous -- all of our needs were catered to -- Janneke and Anneke worked amazingly hard to take care of all of us. The boat is incredibly luxurious! The arrangements with Tripsite were seamless -- very professional. I will be traveling with Tripsite again, most definitely.

Jan V.
6 months ago

Tripsite Staff

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My friend and I took this trip in early September of this year. Everything about taking this excursion on the Magnifique III is glorious. The staff, accommodations, food, Tom (our guide), and the glorious cycling routes will not disappoint. On top of everything else, our fellow passengers were a joy ride and chat with. Pandemic travel wasn't a big deal and naturally filters for the intrepid traveler. A big shout to everyone for making this trip happen. I hope to see you all again sooner rather than later!

kathleen (Casey) hunter
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

This was a phenomenal tour! Our tour guide, Andre was the best! He is Great organizer, very skilled crew and rider leader and an especially a very knowledgeable and inspiring historian! Unfortunately, he was also unusually busy as a bike repairman. We really hope to book another tour with Andre! (last name?)

Margaret H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved our barge Magnifique III. The staff and food and accommodations were excellent. Of course our biking was beautiful!

Eric W.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

It would very difficult to limit it to ‘the most memorable part’! The entire trip was magical!
The staff and crew of the Fluvius were super kind and friendly and always willing to help. Big shout out to Robi, Tara and Anita and chef Astrid’s meals were delicious and all beautifully prepared.
What amazed us, coming from the States, was the incredible biking system throughout Belgium and the Netherlands! Our guide, Tom, laid out and explained each day’s planned journey but with the excellent maps and Ride with GPS app, it was almost impossible to get lost, even taking alternative routes or detours into other towns or sites.
Although every cycling day brought new experiences, the last day cycling from Breukelen to Amsterdam was particularly picturesque. And the e-bikes were fantastic!!
We would highly recommend this trip to any one of any age and will most likely plan another bike and barge trip in the future.
Thank you!
Eric & Annie

DAVID GRANT G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The crew was incredibly nice, caring, helpful, well informed and wonderful to deal with. And the food was outstanding.

Prosper B.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I’ve used Tripsite for 9 bike/barge tours in the past 6 years. From Italy to France to tours of 5 countries along the Danube.
As a result, I’ve come to consider that the boat and it’s crew are the most valuable entity of any tour. The memory of bad service cannot be overcome the joy or beauty of travel.
With this in mind I am pleased to say the service on the FLUVIUS was superb! Every member of its crew invested themselves in our comfort safety and well-being. They took the time to provide excellent service to all of the passengers and left me looking forward to my next Tripsite tour.

TIP: Take your time and read the reviews of customers well before you hit the “Book This Trip” button.