Belgium Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 627

 

 Country: Belgium • REMOVE

  • Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
    by Debora Z. 15 hours ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip even though we had a far amount of rain. We enjoyed the challenge. So many memories. Going thru the Dutch country side and how clean and neat all the houses looked. Out in the middle of nowhere in a field a cow was giving birth to two calf's. My husband and I were self guided and we had fun finding all the little water crossing. Riding into Amsterdam on our last day was intense but now I feel I can ride anywhere. All our accommodations were unique and wonderful. This was our second trip with Trip site. Thank you.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann S. 3 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was all fabulous - the route, the people, our guide and the food!

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Shelley O. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was memorable! The crew were amazing, always attentive and happy! Our guides were great - every ride had the perfect stops along the way, meeting some of the locals!
    Chef Michel created great meals for us and our group was great!
    The bikes were easy to ride, and the daily rides didn’t seem as long as they are!
    I’ve never done anything like this before, and it exceeded all expectations!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by john c. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the 1st tour for Jeannie and me with Tripsite. We have been on several (many) tours a of similar nature. Most of these tours were wonderful experiences. VBT was one that was particularly memorable, but in our opinion, this Bruges to Amsterdam with Tripsite was the best sofar. Our guide Tom was incredible. His knowledge and attention to detail was quite amazing. He kept us not only safe but entertained. The accommodations were extremely comfortable and the food served on board, outstanding. All in all, a "do it again" kind of experience. Thx., Jeannie and John

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
    by Zachary S. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable is simply the experience of riding through beautiful countryside and getting a feel for the landscape, towns, farms, etc. One suggestion for others/the trip planners - we loved all of it but would have enjoyed a layover day now and then to really explore a particular city or area (like Gouda). Overall, fantastic trip and well organized.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Mary Lee L. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Magnifique III is a newer luxury barge that was very comfortable, kept immaculately clean, and managed by a most capable crew. There was plentiful food that was artfully prepared by Michael. We marveled at how he was able to pull off such cuisine daily. It is hard to mention any one crew member, though, as all were very friendly, well-trained, and efficient. Everyone worked well together like a family.

    My husband's health prevented him from biking, so we opted to rent a car and meet the barge each afternoon when it docked. For those unable to bike, this proved to be an enjoyable alternative.

    My tip is to secure an upper suite. While our friends were happy with accommodations on the lower level, we enjoyed the larger window and the extra space with 2 chairs.

    My suggestion is that the breakfast buffet is arranged so the smaller plates of food are spread out. Because they are placed together in the corner of the counter, only 1-2 people can serve themselves at a Read more… time, which makes the line take a much longer time.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Patricia Ann S. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire crew on the Anna Antal was superior. They all contributed immensely to the overall experience. The cycling was amazing - always felt very comfortable on the bike paths and roads.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Gene C. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The charming villages and the crew on the boat.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Eileen M. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking everyday and our tour guide Jack. Amazing. Also loved the night tours of the towns. Jack was so knowledgeable

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kathy M. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was absolutely beautiful and thankfully the weather was the same. If I had to make one suggestion it would be to improve the food on board. I don't think that can vegetables are a great reflection of the fresh vegetables that were all over the countryside. I also think that there should be more options for vegetarians.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jeanne A. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well organized, high quality experience.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carol T. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have visited Amsterdam 3x so was well acquainted with the City, but for someone who has never been there before I would strongly recommend they plan extra time before or after the trip to Explore

    I loved Brugge and had never visit before I wish I had allowed more days there

    Packed smartly but the key is layers & several bike shorts/capri's as the weather is changeable

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Meg C. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was when we got close to Amsterdam and were cycling with the canals on one side which had gorgeous beautifully maintained gardens and farmland on the other. This was a spectacular view which offered us the quietness of the country road to cycle on with just beauty to take in.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kathryn C. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hard to say what was the best part. The route we took was beautiful - along rivers and canals, through rural areas, stopping in places of interest. The weather happened to be perfect. Our guides were wonderful and really did take extra steps to show us some special places. The boat was very comfortable and captain and crew were great. It was my first bike tour and I am really looking forward to the next.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Judy C. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew were amazing! The food was absolutely delicious. The people on the trip with us were great! Very well organized. The cycle tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the countries we toured in (Belgium and Holland) and took extra time to ensure that we saw a variety of sites.

    The only thing I would suggest is a way for the guide cycling at the front to communicate with the person at the back.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Howard J. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Gandalf has a great crew and captain, excellent service great meals clean and tidy. You must remember where you are you are on a barge not a 5 star hotel. Cabin cleaning was done regularly and clean towels were available when ever needed. Patrick our tour guide went out of his way to accommodate everyone, even taking us for walks in the evening. His knowledge was amazing. Bikes were well suited and maintained. It is hard to say what was the most memorable part of the trip as we saw and enjoyed everything. We would definitely look at another trip especially on the Gandalf.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by marilyn L. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trip, everything from the biking, accommodation and the food.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Dane G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did the Amsterdam to Bruges bike & barge tour on the Tijdgeest. My wife & I had a great experience. Arje was a great guide & the entire boat crew made it a fantastic trip. The riding was quite easy & the evening city tours fun & informative. Would recommend to anyone
    Thanks All
    Dane & Kim

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Nick and Sharon G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the biking! We realized very quickly that with the 'junction points' identified for us by the cycling guide, we were able to venture off on our own. That allowed us to stop when we wanted and still get to the boat on time. The meals on the ship were outstanding as was the crews' attention to detail! The owner of the boat was very personable and had history to share, which we really enjoyed. Getting to know 20 people by sharing breakfast and dinner was also very enjoyable. Paperwork provided prior to the trip was thorough. Payment efficient and accurate.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Raymond C. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The self-guided cycling was, for us, the best item of a great trip. We were provided with an excellent, hard-wearing map which had the daily routes clearly marked. The bike paths were accurately sign posted with numbers corresponding to those on the map. Self-guiding meant we could go at our own pace and it also means that stronger riders can be accommodated, eg, if they wish to ride faster or to do more than the scheduled distances. The bikes were heavy but comfortable, quiet and well maintained. The ride leaders were always willing to provide guidance.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Michael B. S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience on the Magnifiquell. Everything about the trip was great. The staff including the ship crew and guides were fantastic. This was a well organized and efficient trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Paul K. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were very knowledgeable & helpful............ The crew went above & beyond...........

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by John B. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was terrific always (one of us is a chef, so that’s a big compliment). The guides (Corrie and Nel) are both amazing—really perfect at what they do. Their patience and positive attitudes and exuberance overcame little quibbles and challenges that were occasionally encountered (weather, construction). The bicycle routes were always interesting and the trip from Brugge to De Haan was especially memorable. The crew were always friendly and helpful, especially Sigrid.

    If we changed anything, it would be to NOT bring our helmets; the helmets on board seemed more than adequate.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thought the most memorable part of the trip was going to be the scenery and the bike riding, but most of my memories are of the people I met and the connections we have made sharing our stories with each other. The trip was very well organized and our guide Arie did his best to make sure each day had the best bicycling experiences. The accommodations aboard the Magnifique were wonderful and the staff exceptional. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in exploring and learning about the area between Amsterdam and Bruges and having some easy physical activity along the way. Each day had new things to see and learn.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by James J. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff and guides Comfort of boat, the daily tours and the scenic bike paths

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathy C. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the barge was amazing! We had strong winds for the bike but our leader made modifications to give people options for shorter routes. Amazing trip!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Brussels to Bruges Bike and Boat Tour
    by Karen 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    How many cyclists were on the trip?

    Countries: Belgium

  • London to Amsterdam or Amsterdam to London Bike Tour
    by Cindy S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
    What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kathleen S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a magical evening on the magnifique II when one of our guides "Hester" performed an Oboe concert for all of us. Hester is a professional musician & shared her amazing talent with all of us. It was a beautiful night on the water, the boat was lit with candles & we all listened with awe & appreciation as Hester performed for us. We were in this intimate setting, with new friends, listening to live, gorgeous classical music. We looked around & thought wow- This is truly "Heaven on Earth" "A pinch me moment" What a memorable night!!! We can't wait to go another Magnifique adventure with Tripsite.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • London to Amsterdam or Amsterdam to London Bike Tour
    by Ed Carroll 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did this "guided" bike tour from London to Amsterdam. There are many areas where improvement is needed.

    We weren't given a map or App of the biking route as promised. We rode through many villages, resorts and towns from Dunkirk to Amsterdam but were not told the names of the towns, or the history of the towns - and we stopped only for "coffee breaks". When we asked what town we were in for the coffee breaks the guide was unable to tell us. We either used google maps or asked strangers where we were. Also, we biked past notable places of interest like the beach in Dunkirk where British troops were rescued during WWII - and the Dover Castle - but never stopped - even to take pictures. It was all about getting to the next hotel in time for dinner.

    We weren't told the hotel we were staying in until we arrived at the hotel. We usually arrived at the hotel around 6pm and had little time to turn in our bikes for the night, get our Read more… luggage, unpack, shower, change clothes and get ready for dinner by 8pm which usually lasted over two hours. And then we started early the next day - to get to our hotel for the next night.

    Overall it is a "forced march" from London to Amsterdam. If you want to bike 344Km then I suggest you just go and bike 344Km for the exercise on a route most convenient to you because that is what this is. Or, take the self-guided tour which is cheaper and includes maps and the App and you can sight-see and take time to enjoy the country-side you are biking through.

    The online website says "You will receive a code to download the maps, itinerary, points of interest, services and GPS position on your smartphone or GPS device. The App provides GPS tracks to be used offline. Paper copies of the route are available with supplement of €15." When I asked for the map or the App I was told they were only available to self-guided participants and that I should use GPS to figure out where we were at any given point. But that is not what the website says/said. As it is, we have no map or record of the route we biked or the towns we passed through. I would not recommend this "tour" to anyone.

    PS. Do not interpret this critique as a criticism of the people who guided this tour. The people who guided us were patient, kind, personal, friendly and professional....in my opinion they had/have no impact on how this tour is/was deigned.

PWPC