Belgium Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 897

4.7 out of 5

 


Kari T.
21 hours ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved the scenic routes through multiple towns every day. Take some time to stop and walk around in some of the along the way each day. The hotel accommodations far exceeded my expectations. They were all fantastic and in great locations. The staff at each were very helpful.

Be prepared for any weather. The weather can be unpredictable, so it's better to be prepared for anything!

David S.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Great to be able to see the sites at a manageable rate and to cover a lot of ground in doing so.

Ashley D.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

My husband and I chose a bike trip from Amsterdam to Bruges in September 2023 for our Honeymoon! We had an absolutely fabulous time! Each hotel was delightful, breakfasts were fantastic! We were happy with our bikes, and the bike storage that was provided was ideal. We couldn't have been happier with our route, and each town along the way. We prepared for picnics each day, and that offered a nice rest in a beautiful place, giving us the energy to head to the next stop. We felt that we had time to explore and see the sites, and also relax as we went along. Make sure to get the GPS! Highly recommend, and hope to do something again in the future.

Nicolas R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The ease and convenience of returning to the ship every afternoon to share experiences with the rest of our group was the most noteworthy comment I could make. However there were many other hiighliights.
Riding through the Dutch countryside on the first day was a highlight.
Both guides and the bikes were great and the varied nature of the cycle paths on this tour was terrific.
Food was varied, good quality and well prepared. Rooms were efficient and comfortable as advertised.
Onboard staff from Croatia were terrific – friendly, hard working, accommodating and very nice with our grandsons.

sonya s.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

A trip of a lifetime. The best way to see the small cities of Holland and Belgium at a leisurely pace with like minded people. Our North Star our guides Hester, Ester were amazing. They had very good understanding of the routes and the history of each city. Drum roll for an amazing crew on the barrage. The food and service was spectacular . If you want a slow, luxurious bike tour this is the trip to do!

Philip M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We enjoyed the cycling with expert guides through this Low Countries. I became very emotional at the Canadian memorial cemetery and finding headstones from his regiment.seeing historic sites at Kinderdyck was fascinating. Our accommodation was top notch and was great being with like minded travellers . The bikes were comfortable and perfect for this tour.we had ebikes which were great for the Dutch mountains (wind)!We enjoyed the Netherlands. Amsterdam is a lively city for tourism and easy to manoeuvre.

Knut R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The most memorable part was being with friends and meeting new friends from Australia!
Pack clothes for both extremes hot and cold!
Food was just okay

Small suitcase, rooms have little storage
Super nice shower
PLEASE have Tripsite reflective vests available at the START of the trip NOT mailed to us. That would make us a more safe and cohesive group on the roads and especially in crowded cities

Deirdre R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The Magnifique 11 promised luxury, and they most certainly delivered every step of the way! The welcome from the captain, chef, tour guides and assistants was outstanding. They established a comraderie among the guests who were sharing the experience. Our rooms were immaculate, the food tasty and beautifully presented, fantastic 24hour coffee machine too. The first two days of biking were brutal with the head winds, but getting an e-bike was a saver, one I would recommend, even as a seasoned biker! We’ve come home with new friendships - so how rich is that! Thank you so much for another grand experience tripsite! (My 4th)

Lorraine R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The bike and barge was amazing,
The group of 21 related well and had many happy times, riding and chatting after the day.
The ride leaders did a great job, especially with the changes necessary due to the lock closures.
Great adventure, recommend this highly.

Carol P.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We had a wonderful time on our trip. The Boat ,room, staff, and meals were excellent. All the staff work very hard to make sure all have a great trip.
One thing I would recommend to others is to bring light rain gear and gloves for riding

Don S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The people on board. And the food. Stella was great, too. I liked the open windows in the upstairs rooms. Also, coffee or cappuccino, espresso 24/7.

Ronald B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The overall organised week-the daily presentation of our next days excursions. On top of biking through beautiful routes , we also benefited from nightly activities and presentations of local cultural products such as chocolaterie,beer and cuisine.
The warm and welcoming reception of the whole crew, especially our two experienced and knowledgeable guides : Peter Van Avermaet & Tom Stout ,their camaraderie and sense of humor made the whole group feel at ease !
The chef was very accommodating as I had requested a gluten and lactose free diet. Many thanks !!!
Tips - In order to fully enjoy this wonderful adventure ,when booking a Bike & Barge ,you should be ready ,comfortable and expecting to be biking !!!!

Glen H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Excellent staff, from the Captain on down through the chef, support personnel and the two knowledgeable tour guides on the very comfortable and well appointed Magnifique 11.

Tip: the pendulum has swung strongly towards the use of E bikes on this tour. Suggest you put the miles in ahead of time, if you plan to go with a hybrid bike so as to comfortably keep up with the e bikers.

Andrew H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The quality of the boat's amenities, the cuisine and the areas travelled through were exceptional.
My last bike and barge was more than a decade ago. Since then the growth of e-bikes has accelerated. On this tour, 24 of 34 riders were using e-bikes. I'm not convinced that mixing e-bikes and regular bikes is viable.

Kenneth V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Riding through the Belgium and France country-sides on our bicycles..

shelley R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was amazing!! But the one thing that sticks out is when we we stopped at the Canadian war cemetery…. And after touring around… Peter our guide stood proud in front of us and read the Poem “Flanders Field”. It brought tears to most of eyes.
Tips& suggestions… please make sure you know how to ride a bike! Being a bike tour… this is very important, as our tour guides did have to make the decision to have one couple stay back as they were not confident on the bikes. It is an easy ride but we did ride in towns and over cobble stone road ways. But they had to make that decision for the safety for them and others and I know it was a hard decision, but for that we thank them.

Martine O.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was memorable and the guides made it even more special. They was so funny and very informative. Always wanting to help you if you needed it and always so approachable.

Richard F.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Lena Maria Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The tour guides, the boat captain, the chef and the kitchen manager were all extremely friendly and helpful. They made the trip a pleasure. My only suggestion is for the tour guides to pay attention to rush hour bicycle travel times and not have out group on the road in and around cities during rush hour.

Pete Duyker
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

I just did this tour from Paris to Bruges. It was awesome. At 80 I was the senior participant. Marius(Captain), Henk ( Mate), Barbara(Chef), Harm (Guide) were the highlight for me as I could converse with them in Dutch and they were most accommodating of my age. Meals were awesome, daily laundry service was a life saver and the guide, Harm was informative and entertaining with a great sense of humor. The accommodations were very comfortable. Marius obviously took great pride in his boat and the experience he provided to his clients. I would certainly sail with him again.

Maya H.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Lena Maria Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

All of it was memorable- cycling by farms and canals, how old the towns are, and how beautiful the cathedral of Ghent is inside, Bruge at night…

Tricia M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We had a fantastic time! We met wonderful people from all walks of life, biked and cruised through amazing countryside and towns, learned the fascinating history of Belgium and The Netherlands, and ate delicious food! Sietsa, was the kindest, most energetic and enthusiastic gentleman and bike guide one could ask for. He truly went above and beyond! The captain Frank was not only beyond capable but fun and knowledgable. The chef Craig blew us away with the most delicious meals and kept us well fed. Marcel the host had all of our needs met and was incredibly easy going. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in biking and cruising.
I really hate to point this out because the trip was one of a lifetime but the air conditioning was not functioning and we had 90 degree days. That was very uncomfortable but beyond that we truly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.

Alice T.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Good trails, good food and the app “Ride with gps” was the best.
The bikes were good, seats comfortable.
The bar on the ship had reasonable prices.
The Fluvius boat needed updating. The room smelt musty and the air conditioning didn’t always work.
The first day something made us late so we were given our bikes at dusk to try them out and get adjustments made. Not enough time before it was dark.
It was pretty bad to run out of water numerous times.
The ice machine didn’t work so occasionally they bought ice.
The staff turn over was incredible. None of the staff seemed to be with the company very long.
The guides were excellent. We did self guided and we think that had GPS on us as everytime when we weren’t sure which way to go a guide would show up and help us out. The app was very good to tell you when you were off course.
This was my first bike and barge trip so I can’t compare it to another.

Daisy S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Antal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

There was no “most memorable “ part of the trip because it was all memorable. The crew was amazing and each one added something special to the trip. I loved the variety of the landscapes we rode through and all the sites we got to stop and explore. I have already recommended this trip to multiple friends.

Ray C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It was a amazing trip, the crew of Liza Marleen was a great crew. The guide for our trip (Sietse) was the main reason that the trip was exceptional for us all as he was a very hard working member that tour with us all day and then led a tour each evening ashore. His knowledge of the Netherlands was very informative and entertaining. Each day he always had a plan of the day on where we were going and plans of what we would visit.

If you are looking to do a biking trip of the Netherlands, look no further than the Amsterdam to Brugge you will thoroughly enjoy the whole trip and have a wonderful time

Kathleen P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Biking in the Netherlands is any cyclist's dream. There are numerous paths that are in excellent condition and well marked. Plan to bring layers to adjust to the climate. The few motorists in the countryside are respectful of cyclists which makes for safe and fun ride.

Claudia Ann P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Brussels to Amsterdam Bike and Barge trip was great! All the staff were friendly and helpful. The meals were very good and generous. The staff were available for repairs and blockages on route. The first day practice tour was difficult to follow and we had a volunteer local bicycler who took us on a beautiful tour of Brussels. Be aware: the small lower barge rooms are stuffy and humid.

Francine P.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our trip was truly awesome! We were on the Fluvius biking from Bruges to Amsterdam. The biking was great and made easy with the gps they provided for us and the help of our bike coordinators Linda & Hans. They were the best, always there when we needed them, helping us reroute when we encountered road obstruction. My husband had a flat tire and they were right there helping. always making sure everybody was having a good time. The Fluvius provided me with an e-bike, even though I hadn't asked for one, to accommodate me, as they couldn't find a regular bike for my size. I was very thankful for that, making me appreciate the trip even better. All the Fluvius staff were superb. Even the captain made a point of talking with everyone, making sure things were to our liking. The food was excellent as well. The entertainment was a lot of fun and it brought us all together in spite of our language differences. It was a great night.

If we had any criticism whatsoever it would be the moisture challenge for the lower cabins. They would greatly benefit from moisture extractors.

Thank you for a truly wonderful and memorable trip.

walkiria b.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

A wonderful trip! From arrival in Amsterdam to the end of the trip, the support provided by Tripsite was perfect. Revised bicycles, comfortable hotels and a well-planned itinerary. I recommend renting a GPS, the trails are saved and it makes the trip more peaceful. If possible, go by e-bike, there are so many opportunities to stop for photos and enjoy the beautiful cities along the way that we end up spending a lot of time on the journey.

Lilach L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Romantic Bruges
Belgium

The B& B was very comfortable, good service and in a great location, the routes were also very scenic.
The main problem was the quality of the bike that was below average. The regular bike were essentially city bikes with technical problems and uncomfortable.

Amy G.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The ship’s crew on the Magnifique IV was outstanding. Hardworking, pleasant, efficient and the ship was very clean. The food was very good.

The tour guides failed to give clear instructions and some times were rude to the passengers. They did not follow the ride GPS even though they insisted on us downloading it. One time they would not allow us to enter a museum because we came “late” even though the museum was opened for another hour. They were not a highlight of my experience.