Netherlands Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 1011

4.8 out of 5

 


Diane H.
2 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The whole trip was great. The evening events on board were really special - the barbecue with the toast for the 30th anniversary couple, the beer and chocolate pairing with Peter and the farewell dinner with the toast for our 50th anniversary and Hester’s wonderful oboe concert. The whole crew was terrific but our guides were outstanding. The atmosphere was always convivial and we made many new friends.

Achal J.
3 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

The bicycle ride along the canals and fields of endless tulips! The staff and service was excellent. We highly recommend this trip to everyone.

Maria E.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

It was a magical trip. We learned everything about tulips, chesse, windmills and much more. Try the E-bike, you exercise and also you enyoy the ride in a better way.

Ingrid F.
4 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The attentiveness of Christina and Koen and all the rest of the staff on the boat. The only comment i have is that with 24 riders and quite a varying degree of riding abilities, I think two guides and divide the group into two would have been better.

Janet L S.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Pros:
The tulips were gorgeous, Keukenhof was a highlight and a nice break.
The bike paths were easy, fun and relaxing,
Food was plentiful and the chef did a good accommodating various diets and planned varied and delicious menus.
The other guests were friendly, fun, and interesting.
The crew were all kind and patient.
The hybrid bikes were comfortable.
The guide (Piet) was knowledgeable, and gave historic walks almost every night.

Cons:
Riding in the cities was stressful. There was too much urban riding with many treacherous intersections, bike and pedestrian traffic. It seemed very unsafe.
The e-bikes mixed into the group were a problem. Some of the riders couldn't control the e-bikes. Also, riding up and down hills through the dunes, with a strong head wind was gave the e-bike riders an advantage.
The size of the group (24) was too large for a single guide. He struggled to be present for everyone.
The large gap Read More

Gloria A.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Visiting the beautiful cities of Bruges and Ghent

John J.
6 days ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Since this was our first Bike and Barge experience we have little to compare it with, but found we enjoyed the total package. The accommodation on the Gandalf was clean and the crew made it feel more like at home instead of just a place to sleep. Can't say enough about our guide, Simon, who spent many hours insuring the biking portion was smooth and profession. Even when the unexpected happened he calmly got us up and running again. The little personal touches he added gave the group a great deal of comfort in navigating in a foreign country.
Suggestion: If you are not use to riding 40 km a day, the e-bike option goes along way to improving the enjoyment level. A purchase of a local "SIMM CARD" that has data is very reasonable and give you a local phone # to communicate with the guide and/or the boat. TIP: call your guide on the first day so that he has your phone number registered on his phone.

Annette v.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The biking route was just perfect. The scenery and sights were wonderful. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

The new bikes were so great to use. There were 2 smaller people on our trip that had bikes that were too big for them. One had a couple falls and we were always afraid they might be injured.

Another thing that could be helpful is to have some more road safety tips. The shark teeth at intersections, the red path is for bikes etc. While these were explained to us it might be more helpful to see a video with these actually shown. I loved having Lenny as sweep the one day just reinforcing "you are on the right so he will stop " and "he has shark teeth so you can go".

Thank you for a wonderful vacation

Sheryl K.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The visits to the the lovely villages in our bikes. The great meals in the evening. The great breakfasts in the morning. The wonderful sense of togetherness

Jack Johnson
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

My wife and I have just completed our first Bike and Barge tour. Amsterdam to Bruges on the Gandalf. From the Captain Hans, crew and Nishka (the dog) they made a very comfortable and enjoyable trip. We spent a lot of time with our guide, Simon, and I can't say enough about the profession way that he handled his job. Planning of the daily routes, briefing, finding a wonderful spot for lunch break, the evening walking tours(for us that had enough energy), providing city maps and all the little extra personal touches added a great deal to the overall experience.
Since my wife had not been on a bike for a few years, the rental of the e-bike was a very welcomed. The tour is on flat ground but there overpasses and distance that the option of the e-bike should be considered.

Melanie K.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The guides and staff were extremely engaging and accommodating . The chef selection of food and wine pairings exceeded expectations . The guides were knowledgeable and personable . The tour route had the right balance of cycling , exploring and relaxing .
To improve
Rooms stuffy . Better ventilation needed for sleeping . Suggest a check to set the climate control .
Two members of our group required extra small bikes not available .
Face clothes in rooms .

Theresa S.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The e bike was a fabulous way for me to be able to keep up. It was of superior quality to mine at home and I’d unequivocally say that almost any riding capability would be able to enjoy this trip by requesting the Gazelle e bike offering. For the barge, we really noticed the lack of air circulation in our rooms at night. They advised us when we got there that ac wasn’t working- they worked on fixing that during our time aboard but it was the one thing that prevents me from giving it an absolutely perfect rating.

Niemiec R.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

When thinking about the trip, the biking is what I thought about most. Once the trip began, I realized the "extra" aspects of the trip were the most meaningful:
- visiting a cheese farm to learn about
- walking through the cities with our guides learning about their history
- fabulous meals on board
- friendly and talented staff

Kimberly J.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

This trip had it all great cycling through gorgeous and historic NL with some fun informative guides, delicious meals prepared by chef Ellen, spending time with great friends and meeting new people. Highly recommend this trip. Lenny is an excellent host.

Mark N.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

There were too many memorable moments to really list. What I think was most memorable of the trip was the kindness of all the passengers. It seemed like we all had been friends forever. The other was the professionalism of the entire staff. They were all so KIND, COURTEOUS and POLITE. The entire staff was nothing short of true professionals. They really went above and beyond to make us feel very comfortable. Actually, so comfortable I didn't want to leave. CHEERS to the crew of the Magnifique IV.

John P.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

Friesland 11-City
Netherlands

Had water issues at two hotels. Nothing you could have done. Hotels were great. Anna Caspari the best service.

Brian K.
1 week ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn, the captain, chef, crew and guides were absolutely fantastic - our third bike and barge with Tripsite and by far the best. The most memorable part for us was riding into Ghent where we lived 15 years ago as a family for a year - spent the afternoon with the group showing off our home away from home.

John W.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Friesland 11-City
Netherlands

We recall every day was an adventure the huge success was everyone enjoying riding the e-Bikes which made the trip very rewarding.
We are also very proud of the hotel stays as we were always greeted with joyful hotd and hostesses and the breakfasts were very tasty and delicious.
Upon reflection a two day stay in each of the 11 cities would have made the discovery a little more knowledgeable.the guides for the self guided trip were easy enough to follow but a quick review before entering a city is a good idea as the general direction is important. The generalization for the hotels included in the tour guide can be miss leading if you get disconcerted so make 110% you know the name of the Hotel your staying at.
Thanks for all the wonderful folks who did the research for the 11 city biking trip it was fantastic!

Sincerest regards,

John Wynia

Koba G.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Slow Travel & Tulips Holland
Netherlands

The route was carefully planned to really experience the Dutch culture and natural beauty. We loved every minute!

Jane M.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We loved everything about the trip. Biking was great... Guides were awesome. Loved Yepka... Food was amazing. Thank you Inma. Staff on boat was awesome. Helga and RJ and daughter was so great. Biking was beautiful. Loved the gardens and Yepka's information. Husband loved Seiste's historical information.

Charles B.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

This trip was perfect. The boat was clean, roomy and comfortable. I liked the ride and stay in Haarlem best, but wait the ride to Leiden … really loved it all! Did I mention the Chef and meals, wow.

Dianne H.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The crew, the barge, the bikes, the food, the drinks, the countryside, everything was simply great!

Carol J.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The trip was amazingly organized and fun from start to finish!
My most memorable experience was how the staff made my birthday so very special.
My bike guide Seista bought me chocolates and the staff make a special dinner celebration and sang me Happy Birthday in Dutch!

David J.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The staff of the Quo Vadis went out of their way to make sure every moment of every day of our trip to exceed our expectations!

Juliëtte S.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Finding out that using an E-bike is WONDERFUL (this was our first trip) and allowed us to bike must further and faster than we thought we were capable of. The daily tours were well set up - took us along the unbeaten (bike) paths and allowed us enjoy time with friends.

Camille G.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

This was an amazing trip and experience! It had everything my husband and I wanted. Beautiful boat and accommodations, fabulous staff, and oh the food! Wow! So fresh and tasty. All of the staff were so personable and helpful. We became fast friends! We loved the biking routes and the places that we toured. One of my favorite experiences was eating my sack lunch in an open field next to a windmill. How cool is that! We are already looking into another trip. This will push us to keep our legs bike-ready!

Laura A.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The great itinerary, the Quo Vadis and staff, the tour guides for rides, and the scenic rides near the sea. The food was great as well! We definitely are looking to do another trip with the Quo Vadis! Thank you for a great trip TtipSite!

Sally C.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Excellent bike/ barge trip on the SARAH. The crew was exceptional with gourmet meal, knowledgeable bike leader, engaging captain, first mate, and housekeeping staff. The bikes were better than I had anticipated and each person's bike was customized to their measurements. Some of us downloaded the trip's daily route with the "Ride with GPS" App. Six of us, girlfriends, decided to follow the route by ourselves, separate from the main group. We had a blast and only got off track a few times. The country side was spectacular and the towns charming. The unique highlights for me were our visits to the Tulips festival, Keukenhof, and to a working cheese farm. The weather was chilly. It was in the high 50s low 60s. Definitely plan on packing layers if the weather falls in this range. The only suggestion I would have is for each cabin to have a small fan for ventilation purposes. The two bedroom cabins are tight and with only one window the air does not circulate very well. Other that than I would definitely recommend The TulipTour!!

Christopher C.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

1. Kukenhof gardens was our favorite part of the trip- absolutely gorgeous.
2. The staff was awesome- friendly, cheerful, energetic.

Gloria A.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Amazing rides through the countryside, full of spring blossoms