Netherlands Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 1157

4.7 out of 5

 


Ed Paquette
2 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Amsterdam to Bruges was our first bike and barge experience in 2016. The experience of small group travel, seeing villages and countrysides at 12-14 mph, and the coziness of barge life intoxicated us. We have since done six more tours. Everyone unique, quirky, full of beautiful vistas, and future friends from all over the world.
If you are considering this type of travel adventure for the first time, this tour is for you. AND for you stubborn Americans, there is absolutely no stigma attached to e-bikes. In fact, they are prolific throughout Europe.

Eric P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

Excelente cicloviagem, paisagens muito bonitas, vias super seguras e uma ótima organização pela tripsite!

William O.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

The bike routes were the best and our tour guide Klaas exceeded our expectations

Elaine W.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

What a wonderful week biking Maastricht to Amsterdam. Riding through beautiful countryside every day with our knowledgeable leader made this trip a memorable one. The staff on board the Sarah were top quality and we would consider another trip again.

Bobby H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Too many memorable parts to decide. The staff aboard the quo vadis, the food, the beautiful scenery both on the bikes and barge. All were superior.

Leslie H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Cycling through the countryside and then returning to the comfort of our boat. The staff were accommodating and considerate. By far the best cruise that I have experienced. The meals were exceptional and the small group setting provided an opportunity for both socialization and relaxation. The crew also provided a variety of opportunities which enhanced the experience .

Timothy P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The boat, crew, dining, site seeing and and itinerary were fabulous, buy the most memorable was the bike tour guides, who- "with a little luck" was able to time our rides and routes through the many predicted rain showers and keep us dry and entertained.

Bronwen D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Mare fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Frisian Sea
Netherlands

The people - the Food - the boat.

Even MORE sailing time would be even better! :-)

Nicholas C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland - Past & Present
Netherlands

Cycling along dykes near Amorongen and through huge avenues of ancient beech trees in the woods

Tahnee R.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

This is our second TripSite tour and we love the combination of bike/hotel/luggage transport support and being on our own and without the added cost of a guide. We have recommended Trip Sites to many friends.

A few of the positives and suggestions...

Pros

Great bikes. High quality, both the regular and e-bikes.

Friendly, responsive and helpful staff. When a few of our group asked to exchange for e-bikes after a first very windy day, the local company (Dutch Bike Tours) was very friendly and drove them to us within a couple of hours (for a cost but that was expected).

The Netherlands is amazing for biking. Flat, accessed by a huge network of bike paths (seemingly every roadway), very well signed, drivers unexpectedly respectful to cyclists (compared to the U.S.), and so scenic.

Some lovely towns: we especially loved Gouda, Willemstadt, Zierikzee, Middleburg and Bruge.

Suggestions

Information: While we had contact with the local Read More

Joseph S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Tailor made bike tours in Holland
Netherlands

A memorable trip right in the heart of nature.. easy and relaxed cycling whereby the one can enjoy nature and heighten ones senses. So much to see and explore and yet so calm and relaxing.

Well done tripsite, a truly memorable holiday with great friends. Service was exceptional.

Betty C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Slow Travel & Tulips Holland
Netherlands

We were astonished at the small hidden trails that Peter found for us to discover on our self guide journey. The terrain was so diverse. One minute you are riding in a small village, the next you arrive at the sea cruising along the coast, then entering the national park and the beautiful sand dunes. Just when you think you can top what you have just seen you come to the end of the sand dunes, and across the street are the beautiful fields of colorful flowers. Pinch me, is this all real?

Deborah M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Mare fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Tulips
Netherlands

I loved seeing The Netherlands by boat. After all it's a country surrounded by and defined by water. With the tulips in bloom, it was a perfect time to learn the history and experience so many towns. The cuisine and beer are a terrific part of the immersion into a Dutch life.

Justine F.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff on the Merjlin were fantastic
The bike seats were a bit uncomfortable but overall the trip was great. The tour guides were were great unfortunately they did not explain the route prior each day

DEBORAH D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Outstanding trip. The Merlijn is a first class ship. The owners and the crew were just out of this world accommodating. The food was delicious, maybe too delicious. My bike was fantastic. Can’t say enough good things about the ship and the people that own it. Liked it so much, I’m going back on it for three weeks next year in Germany.

Julie A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The Merlijn and their staff were excellent! The food was fabulous too! The only reason I am giving this trip a 4 out of 5 stars is the tulips were on somewhat dying on May 11th. We booked this trip in 2019 for April 2020 and then COVID took over all of our lives. Then we rebooked for 2021 and had to change 1 week later. Then 2021 was still not safe to travel so when booking again for 2022, we had to switch to start May 3 in Bruges with the tulip part at the end of the trip. I loved Bruges and thoroughly enjoyed biking in Belgium. I developed a cough so unfortunately I missed a lot of biking in The Netherlands. But I did enjoy the river views while on the boat and got to experience locks also. When cruising into Rotterdam, I saw one of the super yacht builders' ship yard (Oceanco) and that was exciting for me as we sell to the super yachts.

Carol S.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Great meals, excellent organization.
More substantial lunches would be good.
The tulips were finished by the time we got to the fields. I don’t think the May 2 trip should be advertised as a tulip tour.

John P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Villages & Beaches of Holland
Netherlands

Starting and finishing at the Hotel Mitland was great. The tranquil setting in the park was very relaxing.
We were just lucky to hit Gouda on a Thursday and see the traditional cheese market.
The GPS was not worth getting.
We had issues with an open seam on my wife’s front bag, but we switched it out at the Art Hotel.
I would check the bags and panniers more carefully. Perhaps leave a few extras at the starting hotels.
I would add a narrative on the guidebooks about entering the city to find the hotel. Especially Amsterdam as there were road closures.
Trip advisors should also be aware of school and national holidays and closures ie. Sundays, when helping plan trips for people with a flexible itinerary.

Carl M.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

The food was very good, the accomodations were fine, the crew was very helpful and friendly. The route was less scenic than i had hoped for. Holland is prettier than Belgium (for what we saw) and the dutch bike paths are awesome.

Jayne B.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Rural Holland - Gelderland & De Hoge Veluwe Park
Netherlands

De Wever hotel was so lovely and the staff was most accommodating! Special thanks to Sven!

Gary H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

This was our first Bike and Barge tour, it was great. The stay on the barge was what I expected. The captain and crew were wonderful. Captain (Hans) gave daily briefings, chef (Marcel) created a wide range of meals throughout the week that were excellent, desserts by Maria were also excellent. We enjoyed the whole experience on the barge.
Cycling with a guide was also wonderful, Ron (our guide) has a great knowledge of the history and facts of the areas we cycled, is very friendly and personable. He found hidden gems. We laughed and had a great time with him. Our group was friendly and made some new friends by the end of 11 days. It's a great experience. Cycling was easy, flat but winding in places.
I would recommend this ride.

Silvia Susana D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The bike trip from Amsterdam to Brujas was excellent! The fisrt day was a little bit difficult to follow the maps and GPS but we made it :), the gps was very usefull , and the maps that they gave us too, using both things was perfect not to get loss. It is only a matter to get use to the signs and maps and GPS, but if you could I suggest to pay a litlle extra money and ask for the gps.
The hotels were beautifull and confortable, the only one I would take out of the route is the one in Papendrecht, not because of the hotel, the hotel was very nice, but the area is not really nice. I suggest that night to stay at a hotel in Dordretch. Dordretch is beautiful :).
The routes were so nice, I really enjoyed the tour, we didn´t have any problems with the bikes. Our luggage was always on time in our next hotel. so everything was perfect!

JAMES J.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elizabeth Bike & Sail the IJsselmeer
Netherlands

The crew was great and our Chef meals were excellent!
It’s was a beautiful area to bike in and the sailing on the Elizebeth, a1913 cargo ship converted to accommodate 20 guest added a interesting and fun experience

MaryJane A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

Best trip ever. It would be nice if the crew did not smoke on board but that is the only negative thing. Everything else was fabulous!

Bonita T.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Heart of Holland
Netherlands

We had a fantastic time on our recent "Heart of Holland" tour, aboard the Gandalf. The scenery every day was varied and interesting and we enjoyed the evening walking tours in each town. Our tour guide, Fred, was alot of fun to be around and it was obvious that he enjoyed his job!

The barge was comfortable and had everything we needed. Hans, Rosanna and crew were professional, warm and friendly and made you feel as if you were part of the family. We enjoyed the family style dining and the food was excellent.

If/when we book another tour, we will definitely make sure we're on the Gandalf again!

Karen D.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Leafde fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Frisian Sea
Netherlands

Our week long bike boat trip on the Leafde fan Fryslan was an absolute success! Every aspect of the trip was excellent. The boat was lovely and super fun to stay on, the crew was fantastic, the food was delicious and plentiful, and our bicycles were comfortable and easy to ride. Exploring this area was a real treat as we had never been to the Netherlands before and the tour gave us a wonderful opportunity to see landscapes, seascapes and the Dutch culture..

Dennis E.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Leafde fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Frisian Sea
Netherlands

Everything about this trip was great! The 5-person crew on the Laefde fan Frysland went out of their way to make us all feel comfortable.

Lynn A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Although my South Holland Tour was canceled and rerouted to North Holland, it was lovely. The tour guides, captain & staff were terrific and despite weather related complications, made the trip memorable. I will definitely be doing another - hopefully the Southern route...

Rodney H.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip was very enjoyable. The scenery and bike paths were great. The staff and cook were excellent.
Suggestions:
The bike groups should be split up into smaller groups (6-8 riders), especially when using busy routes.
The strong bikers should not be grouped with the more leisurely bikers.
The guides should have good skills in GPS navigation and/or riders could use an app such as "Ride with GPS".

Keven A.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Just a great experience. The food and views were wonderful and the guide was excellent.