Netherlands Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 1555

4.7 out of 5

 


Letitia K.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The crew was amazing. The boat very comfortable. The scenery outstanding. The food excellent. Even the weather behaved. Our Guides Andre and Franklin provided historic information in addition to keeping us all safe. It was great to be on a trip with people of the same interests. One suggestion would be if you are sensitive to insect bites bring repellant!
A great experience overall. So glad we checked it off of our to do list!

Leonard D.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

It was well organized. Ari was excellent as were the rest of the staff. We really enjoyed cycling in the outskirts of cities and stopping for coffee in small villages

Margaret D.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We loved this trip! The boat is lovely and the state rooms were a good size with excellent storage, a comfortable bed and nice private bathroom. The crew was very friendly, extremely attentive and accommodating. The Captain was very fun. The food was solid and plentiful with a good amount of choices. The dining room was lovely and comfortable. We did think it odd that we had to pay for water at dinner but other than that we felt it was a very good value.

The biking is absolutely beautiful! I can't say enough about how lovely the scenery was. We used regular bikes but would recommend e-bikes to future customers because of the high winds that you can experience. The bikes were in good shape and had 7 gears which was enough since the majority of the trip is flat biking. The e-bikes can be shut off and used as a regular bike if you want more exercise, but can be turned on to go up hills and fight the wind. I borrowed and e- bike for a while and found it easy to ride when the Read More

Daniel E.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

Holland is a beautiful country and a cyclist's dream with all the bike trails. We loved the vibe of the trip and our group on the Gandalf became a family. The food was excellent and the hospitality of Hans and his team aboard the Gandalf were fabulous and fun. The barge had to adapt to several canal locks being closed, and change the route for us. The tour guide was great considering all the changes in the route he had to accommodate. And the evening tour of the towns was really fun and well thought out. And it was my 60th birthday aboard the ship and everyone celebrated with me.

William B.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

A fantastic trip. There were so many great town and villages along the way. The bike routes and hotels were very good. Unfortunately there was a strong prevailing wind from west to east. If we were to do this trip again we would go from Bruges to Amsterdam.

Anthony Y.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We enjoyed our trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. The Magnifique IV was very comfortable. The food and service was terrific.

Our tour guides (Corrie and Mariah) lead us through the countryside and small towns. The gave us history lessons and local insight on our rides and after dinner walks, making the journey much more enjoyable.

Over the week we rode each date for a total of 278km. There was very little elevation change and we were fortunate to have the wind at our backs for much of the trip. Be sure to pack a raincoat. The weather conditions were variable, affected by the proximity to the ocean.

We can't wait until we do this again.

Gregory G.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Tour leaders were great.
Always very helpful and knowledgeable.
They knew the territory and landscape and brought us to the most beautiful sights.

Paul N.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

We have done many biking trips in Europe, most self guided. We did find the pace a little slow, but got into the groove with the group on the very good hybrid bikes-thanks Coene. Cristina's hospitality and food was wonderful and both her and Coene are very good hosts. Their staff were also extremely good.
The boat was very comfortable, cabins big enough to not feel claustrophobic, beds comfy, appreciated the heated towel rail to dry washing.
For us the best part of a trip is seeing the countryside, smelling the roses and taking time to look at the scenery.

Robin F.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Our bicycle tours led us through beautiful countryside, small seaside towns, farm land, medieval fortified towns, and city centers, all on designated bicycle paths. I loved the custom, belt-driven bikes, the cultural tours, the scenery, and back on the boat, the food was amazing! Co-captain and chef extraordinaire Christina fed us a wide variety of gourmet dinners, complete with a reasonably-sized, fabulous dessert. People with birthdays received whole, hand-made cakes to share. I felt thoroughly well-taken care of at all times. Also, the new bathrooms were quite nice— and the entire ship was cleaned to a fastidious degree every day!

Tom R.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Bikes allow a good level of immersion into local culture. The Netherlands provides a great example of a prosperous, healthy and environmentally aware society. My observations are purely anecdotal but we in the US could learn a lot by following the example set by these kind and thoughtful people. I would recommend the Tripsite unguided bike tour from Bruges to Amsterdam to anyone. All arrangements and accommodations were fabulous.

Diane T.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Heart of Holland
Netherlands

I really enjoyed rolling through the countryside and stopping at small towns and villages. The city tours were an enriching cultural experience.

Donna
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We just got off the Magnifique III today. What a wonderful trip despite some inclimate weather. Our biking guides Peter and Edith were fun, knowledgeable, encouraging and brought us to some very interesting local places on our very scenic ride through countryside, fields, forests and towns. We had very full days eating breakfast at 8, on the road by 9:30 and back on the boat by 5 ish, depending on how many miles were covered , or if you took the long or short routes offered. The meals cooked by Chef Steven were magnificent-steak, seafood, fish and lots of veggie option- way beyond what I expected. Meike and Annika kept us very happy on board and took care of rooms and provisions. Captain Hank and first mate Jarre were experts at what they do, made themselves available for questions and occasional tours of the boat and kept us informed of our routes and sights along the way.
We had morning and nightly briefings, and Peter gave lots of history, tours and background info.
I Read More

Paul N.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
Netherlands, Belgium

Loved the Merlijn boat , Coen & Cristina were wonderful hosts , Cristina was a fabulous cook & hostess, so accomodating. Coen very knowledgeable & helpful.
Might be helpful to have 2 cycling guides as we found the pace very slow at times , even though we were on the hybrid bikes. Francine did let us go ahead at times. Bedrooms were very comfortable, heated towel rails great for drying biking shorts overnight.
We would consider going again but probably a week trip.

Martin R.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Scenic Coastal Route from Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The tour was very well organized. Pieter was waiting for us at the Abcoude train station when we arrived and he took the time to thoroughly explain everything about the bikes, the equipment, safety rules and tips, hotels, etc. Most of the pedalling is through the country side and small and quaint villages. The scenery was beautiful and relaxing. All hotels were excellent, with well appointed rooms although a few were on the smaller side. Nevertheless, all hotels had their own unique charm and all breakfasts were excellent.

Before starting, we thought we could average around 18 km/h but in reality, we were closer to the 15-16 km/ average pretty much every day. Main reasons for that were :
1. Head winds (sometimes quite strong) more than half of the time which slow you down
2. Stopping/starting to take pictures, admire the scenery. Every time you stop, you have to get back up to speed.
3. Cycling through towns and villages, you can't go very fast as there are Read More

RICHARD E.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

A note and not a review. Some colleagues returned to the Fluvius a few minutes after midnight and the sliding glass doors on either side of the main deck were locked. These doors were locked with a key on both the outside and the inside. My concern is that if there were an emergency and crew were not available, passengers could not open the sliding glass doors from the inside. I think this is a safety issue and those doors should have an emergency inside lock that can be opened by any passenger or crew without a key or without specific training.

Overall, a great trip. Excellent meals - thanks to Mirka and her staff. Carla and Laura were great tour guides and I hope Carla recovers from her accident soon.

Another suggestion - review mirrors on the bikes would make keeping groups together a bit easier.

Betty G.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We were on the boat "Sailing Home" and we went from Bruges to Amsterdam. We've never done a Bike & Barge trip before and this trip far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we stepped on board, there was a warm welcome from the 5 fantastic crew members. These 5 could not do enough for you to make your trip a trip to remember. There were 22 travelers on board and having breakfast and dinners with them was so much fun. The food was 5 star every night, the captain was awesome with our boat... smooth and easy travel. Our bike guide was outstanding. We went to so many different places, learned about the history in the villages, she personalized the trip by taking us to a cheese farm and was calm under pressure! The biking was incredible... it was so beautiful everywhere! The rooms were cozy and it was so nice having a bathroom in each room! I highly recommend this trip. It was spectacular!

Willem S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The route is carefully planned to include as much rural bike paths and beautiful country side. As someone who grew up in the Netherlands, I am very impressed in the careful planning of green and agricultural area versus urbanization. The route led us via these green parts of the Netherland I hadn't experienced before. The cultural aspect in the selection of stop=over cities is also noteworthy and admirable.

All in all a great trip and highly recommendable.

Cindy B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The staff aboard the Magnifique IV were fabulous. We had great bike tour guides. The people we met on the ship were from all over the world and we all became friends. I would highly recommend this tour and we will be doing this again

Margi B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The biking routes were excellent! The recommended paths of the self-guided tour were well chosen, easy to follow, gorgeous and fun.

Kirsten M.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The itinerary for this trip was very scenic with a good mix of countryside and small towns. The hotels were nicely located and appointed.

Route: nice combination of countryside and small towns. The GPS tracks that were provided worked great on our Garmin device. Getting into Amsterdam was a bit unnerving so not sure if there would have been a little less busy route to the hotel.

Hotels: all were located near city center and within walking distance of town sites and restaurants. The Hotel Mondragon in Zierikzee was wonderful; the host at Hotel Loskade was very helpful and accommodating. The NH Bruges was an ‘upgrade’ and while the location was very good, the hotel itself was worn and in need of maintenance and upgrade. All hotels provided nice buffet breakfasts.

Bikes : the hybrid bike was comfortable and well maintained. The e-bike was comfortable and the battery had a very long charge time. The hybrid bike came with handlebars Read More

Laurel J.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Nassau Authentic Holland
Netherlands

We really liked exploring the old towns in the NL while biking but wished there was more time to do so as there were so many interesting things to see. Having some additional information on each was nice.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we enjoyed their kindness and willingness to serve & make our trip comfortable & enjoyable. (Thanks to Jeremal, Christina, John, Stani and the other deck hands.) The beds and rooms were comfortable and the dining room/bar were well appointed. The food at dinner was excellent but the quantity was not enough for the ‘bigger’ eaters in our group.

We found the distance to bike on some days was more than we wanted and had hoped we could have options to go off or on the boat part way. (Though having the opportunity to change to an ebike helped…thank you John!.)
We were disappointed that we could not purchase any snacks in the evening and that the only ones provided during teatime were sweets. Then Read More

Marie W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Nassau Authentic Holland
Netherlands

Cycling through the farms and along the rivers and canals was beautiful. The villages were historic and lovely. More recommendations of sights along the way would have been helpful.

Brenda S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Your website should warn people if they choose a tandem bike, that only one pannier is provided for two people. No handle bar bag is provided.
An additional very low cost tool that should be included in every pannier is a bike multitool. You are riding a bike in the countryside and most times not near a bike store, let alone one that is actually opened when you need it. We had parts fall off bikes (e-bikes and tandem) that were not able to be fixed unless you had a multitool. A pedal fell off while riding, and of course no town in site for miles. We happened to have a bike multitool so we could continue on our ride.
The hotel provided in Willemstad was not satisfactory. We had low angled ceilings that you can easily bump your head on when turning around. The sky light leaked. The room had a bad smell.
The tour instructions for Amsterdam could have been updated to reflect all the bike path closures in the city. These paths had been closed for a long time, so alternate instructions to maneuver around the city would have been very helpful.

Barbara L.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Authentic Holland
Netherlands

The entire trip was memorable in every way. There was really nothing that I could improve upon other than perhaps the weather, which is not controllable. The staff the boat and the itinerary were incredible. I particularly liked the Museum visit to the Kröller-Müller Museum which is otherwise not very accessible on the regular tourist itinerary.

Deborah B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Cochem
Netherlands, Germany

Visiting the Dome and biking along the river. The food was excellent and the boat was beautiful.

Deborah D.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Another biking trip of a lifetime and this time on the beautiful Magnifique III. What a beautiful ship, terrific crew, great chef and awesome bike guides. Biking from Bruges, Belgium to Amsterdam was just fantastic.

Karen W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Tailor-Made Bike Tours in Holland
Netherlands

A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands! The towns and countryside are great to explore by bicycle. This being my first trip to the Netherlands, it was interesting to see so many varied landscapes when my pre-trip impression of the country was just canals and flat land between cities. It was so much more....beautiful forested areas full of songbirds, huge sandy beaches, interesting agricultural regions....and the TOWNS! So much history and charm. Wonderful people too.

My one suggestion for others would be to navigate the bike paths and lanes in the same way you would in your car on the road: Keep right unless passing, pay attention at intersections, make sure to know the signage and lane marks, look both ways before pulling out into traffic, etc.. Netherlands is truly heaven for bike riders, but you do need to pay attention because there are so many riders everywhere.

Grace V.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland’s Venice & Hanseatic Towns
Netherlands

Our trip was excellent. Everything was well set up. One thing, the height of one our bikers was not correct. I sent the info in ft. and inches. It was changed into cm.
Way off. Thank goodness tulip cycling had another bike for one of our gentlemen.

Vic K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique IV Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Although the guided tour had its frustrations and the rainy - windy weather didn’t help, the experience was worth the trip. However, it was frustrating that more attention/instruction was not given to novice bikers. Firstly, they needed to understand the e-bike, specifically to understand the function of gearing down and powering up when needed. Secondly novice bikers didn’t understand NOT to crowd other bikers and to keep a safe distance. Also your marketing should be clear state that they shoukd be experienced bikers. Some areas were highly trafficked - bike auto and train - therefore novice bikers are at great risk. The guides were unfamiliar with the trail and particularly in the first days were getting lost. Your selection for lunch stops were poor. We ate our sandwiches (which got really boring after the second day) outside in the rain. Suggest you add some lunch stops at some local sheltered restaurants with enough time to enjoy and experience the local fare.

Kevin F.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

My most memorable part of the trip was the barge and crew. It was a pleasure to be on the barge.