Bruges to Paris Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 92

Medieval Gothic City Hall in Oudenaarde, Belgium. ©TO 50.839096201858254, 3.605947725100881

Bruges to Paris

15 days from €1315

4.7 out of 5

Bruges to Paris

Easy–Moderate Bike + Boat Tour in Belgium, France

This incredible Bruges to Paris bike and boat tour (or Paris to Bruges) goes along rural country roads, towpaths, paved forest trails, and, occasionally, a short distance on the quintessential…

4.7 out of 5

 


Lorraine R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The bike and barge was amazing,
The group of 21 related well and had many happy times, riding and chatting after the day.
The ride leaders did a great job, especially with the changes necessary due to the lock closures.
Great adventure, recommend this highly.

Kenneth V.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through the Belgium and France country-sides on our bicycles..

Pete Duyker
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I just did this tour from Paris to Bruges. It was awesome. At 80 I was the senior participant. Marius(Captain), Henk ( Mate), Barbara(Chef), Harm (Guide) were the highlight for me as I could converse with them in Dutch and they were most accommodating of my age. Meals were awesome, daily laundry service was a life saver and the guide, Harm was informative and entertaining with a great sense of humor. The accommodations were very comfortable. Marius obviously took great pride in his boat and the experience he provided to his clients. I would certainly sail with him again.

STEVEN D.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was an amazing tour for several reasons. Firstly, there were 7 (rather than a full complement of 14) experienced cyclists over the age of 60, none of whom used an e-bike. This allowed the guide to change the cycle route to reflect our abilities, to show us some special sights and to give us a special experience. Harm, the guide, did this with ease. Secondly, the crew of the Feniks was excellent. This includes Fiona, the captain, Rainier, the assistant and Hilde, the cook. Thirdly, the laundry service was a game changer. If we had understood what this service involved, we could have packed considerably lighter.

Anne K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew was the best! A definite ten + in every way. Dinners were excellent and crew always available to us. Nelleka lent us her fan at night! Harm great guide. Fiona excellent skipper and Reinier always helpful. Great atmosphere. It would have been nice to have some special stops, maybe a cooking class, winery and more info about special sites would be good. Tour description clearly stated that barge has Wi-Fi and air conditioning. It was very hot and ac very spotty and not available at night. No wifi.

Howard J.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a wonderful experience on this trip. The owner of the barge and his crew were just like family. lovely meals from our wonderful cook and the first mate was always there to help and a plush was him doing washing every day for all of us. Our guide was very experienced and was always available. Our captain was unbelievable. This was our second bike, barge trip, and crew could not be faulted. my only suggestion would be if you are not a real good cyclist consider using an electric assist bike France has a lot of hills. On the hole a wonderful two weeks. Thank you. FENIKS

Bruce T.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The best part of our trip was the crew! Our captain, guide, cook and cabin staff made this trip special. From the first day we were welcomed, encouraged, and accommodated. After 600km of memorable cycling it was indicative that the entire group chose to “sail” the last 20km. into Paris with our new family. A fabulous ending to a great two weeks.

Bruce T.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We particularly enjoyed the four crew members who took care of us. The guide, captain, cook and cabin leader couldn’t have better. They cared for each cyclist in every way. We all chose to ride the barge into Paris on our last day and it was a very special day.

Alan L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking from Noyon - Compiègne, the Compiegne forest was very beautiful to bike through.

As we neared Paris, the biking was sometimes more difficult due to traffic on some sections of the route.

Edward M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Comfortable lodging, excellent food (especially the soups- thanks Frank) knowledgeable guide and unforgettable landscapes - what more could you ask for?

John M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

OK. So we weren't expecting luxury at this price and on a barge trip. The rooms took a bit of getting used to but we really only slept there and mostly ears the comfortable common areas. Loved every minute of the biking and every bite of the food. Chef was amazing. The crew worked their butts off looking after us and the bike guide was everything one would want. Knowledgeable competent careful and patient. My only wish would be for a larger room and a bigger window but hey I got what I paid for and more

Debra S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The captain and crew were wonderful! The boat was very comfortable. The food was amazing. The bicycle route was beautiful with interesting stops.

Sandy P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The crew, the guides and the scenery. The stops at historical places was a really nice bonus.

Alan C.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

The trip was well organised, we saw lots of interesting new places, loved, the rides through the forests and the food was amazing! The most memorable part of the trip was the way the entire crew worked together to give us all a wonderfully enjoyable trip.Highly recommend a trip on board Feniks!

Dee (DIana) S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

It was so amazingly organized. The tour guides were exemplary, the rest of the staff absolutely wonderful and so personable, the food was totally extraordinary, the bikes were really well maintained and wonderful.

And three of my colleagues on the trip - who had been, between them, on no less than13 other bike and barge trips - all said whole-heartedly that this particular July 23rd, 2022 was the best by far that they had ever experienced. Was I ever lucky as it was my first!!

Susan Q.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful trip start to finish. The Fleur was cozy and comfortable. Terrific crew. Delicious food. We biked roughly 30 miles per day through forests, small towns, the countryside. Be sure to pack bike shorts. The bikes were in great shape. We were a group of 19, at least 6 people used Ebikes. We were fortunate to have 2 terrific guides which made a group of that size much easier to navigate. If you plan to do this trip you want to be able to comfortably bike 30 miles with some hills. Not unmanageable for people who cycle. This is a great trip for those who enjoy cycling through the countryside, stopping at cafes and historical points of interest . One day I decided to stay on the barge. I cozied up with a good book and watched the world go by. So enjoyable. Sailing into Paris and seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time was pretty special too. This was our first bike and barge and we are already thinking of our next.

Stephen R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Intimate barge and delightful crew that quickly became friends. We loved the two week itinerary and everyone looked forward to another day on the bikes exploring. Many highlights but the riding onto the terrace above Paris and viewing the Eiffel Tower and skyline was enchanting. The entire group became one as we enjoyed each other’s company.
The Tripsite staff were a great resource; extremely knowledgeable and friendly. I recommend beginning the vacation with them. Their guidance in choosing the right vacation was superb.

kathleen (Casey) hunter
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a phenomenal tour! Our tour guide, Andre was the best! He is Great organizer, very skilled crew and rider leader and an especially a very knowledgeable and inspiring historian! Unfortunately, he was also unusually busy as a bike repairman. We really hope to book another tour with Andre! (last name?)

James C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Barge trip out of Paris was special. Great way to begin trip and see Paris on Sunday morning. Biking through back roads and trails of France and Belgium was great.

Blaine L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip was great.
Crew treated us to a very friendly and efficient environment. Food was amazing, dinners each night had a theme from different countries. It was a highlight of each to have this kind of dinner waiting.

Bike ride started in Bruge with great trails and welcoming towns. As we moved to France a few days of rolling hills with interesting stops during the day.

Our guide had his hands full with 24 riders but he was professional, organized, well informed and was just a great person to sit and talk with.

A great trip with a great crew looking after us.

Blaine Larsen

Richard J.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Zeaantje barge is very nice. Crew was great. Our guide, Andre, was the best we have ever had—very knowledgeable about the route and special sites to see/visit, adjusted our route a couple times to accommodate the rain. Frank, the cook, was really outstanding—creative meals, good variety. My only, minor, complaint is that the barge’s lounge can be very noisy when a group is in it, especially at meal time. Bikes were ok but could use some TLC; we had a lot of flats, and some brake issues, but everyone pitched in to make repairs.

John M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Every biking day was a new adventure which culminated in our finding our barge (Zwaantje) as if by magic; but in reality through the skill and navigation expertise of our fearless guide. Beautiful countryside, lovely quiet towns and the bustling town hall squares of the larger cities. Absolutely loved it. Our chef on board was a delight and the food was excellent featuring both local produce and an international flair. Very well looked after throughout.

Kinne H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Terrific sights made better by great group of cyclists.

James C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent trip. Two weeks wasn't even enough. Barge was great... super clean, great food. Small cabins, but really nice common areas. Staff was awesome.

Kent H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

The whole experience was just tremendous. Cruising on the Feniks, peddling through the countryside of Belgium and France, stopping at cafes and chateaus. The sail into Paris was unforgettable. We thoroughly enjoyed our fellow cyclists, our guides, and our on board chef Nelleke was a great cook and a valuable resource.

Doug L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Each day was a new adventure. We saw some great scenery, visited some beautiful towns and cities, learned much about the history of WW1 and enjoyed the company of friends aboard the Zwaantje. It was nice not having to decide which meal to order every day. Frank, our chef, did an excellent job of choosing for us and prepared superb dinners. Two views were particularly memorable: "The approach to Chantilly Castle" and "The view of Paris from St. Germain en Laye". The cruise into Paris on the final day was the icing on the cake. What a great way to see the north of France. Oh wait, Belgium was great too. I think Bruges is now one of my favourite Cities.

Joe B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Most Memorable Part? Riding through the forest grounds of Napolean's estate.

Carl B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

I couldn't pick out one specific thing. It was our first trip to Europe, first bike trip. From the moment we met the crew from chef to guide we could not have been more pleased.

Tom D.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Cycling, food, and staff were great. Lots to see and it was fun!

William B.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a wonderful way to see Northern Europe, leisurely experiencing a diversity of landscapes, towns, and scenic attractions.