Bruges to Amsterdam Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 272

Grote Markt in Bruges, West Flanders, Belgium. ©Hollandfotograaf

Bruges to Amsterdam

8 days from €970

4.7 out of 5

Bruges to Amsterdam

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Belgium, Netherlands

A bike and barge tour beginning in Bruges and ending in Amsterdam showcases the best of both Belgium and Holland. The motto in Bruges is "feel the past under your feet" and you surely will! Or should…

4.7 out of 5

 


Timothy P.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat, crew, dining, site seeing and and itinerary were fabulous, buy the most memorable was the bike tour guides, who- "with a little luck" was able to time our rides and routes through the many predicted rain showers and keep us dry and entertained.

Irene P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

It was an awesome way to see Belgium and the Netherlands. I can't wait for the next trip to Croatia. A bike is the only way to "fly." The food was surprisingly good and varied despite being served on a barge and to a group. Our bike lead, Carla was wonderful. On the down side, the smell of mold in our room on the Fluvius was disgusting and the attempt to fix it with bleach was just as bad. But even worse was the denial by the manager that I told her about it. The staff did their job and nothing more.

Christine L.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The reservation process was so professional with no hitches along the way. The trip was amazing, the guides especially Franz were so good, informative and always present. The barge itself was quite a pleasant surprise to everyone as it was hard to imagine what it would be like, clean, modern with all modern conveniences. Our weather was perfect which was a surprise also as the prediction was rain every day!!! Food was wonderful as well as all the staff. Each tour was different with unique stops along the way and the countryside is so beautiful. Every one was pleased with their bikes, we had e-bikes which we loved.
Thank you Tripsite for an amazing trip.

Michelle M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Visiting the windmills

Leslie H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I liked seeing the windmills. Also 2 full days of pouring rain were memorable; glad my rain gear held up.

Jana H.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was a very pleasant trip through pretty country. We had two guides, Carla and Tom, who alternated leading the e-bike and non-e-bike groups. Carla is an excellent guide, who obviously researched the areas she was guiding us through, and pointed out interesting sights and historical details. Tom, on the other hand, seemed mostly focused on getting the day over with. (Unless there was a good lunch to be had!)
One thing I didn't realize before the trip was that the guides automatically divided the groups into e-bike and non e-bike sections, and assumed that the e-bike group would go faster and farther. This put people who could have gone farther into the "slow" group, and people who could barely ride a bike into the "fast" group.
The barge itself was quite comfortable, and the food was excellent!

Tamara R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Bike Tours with Carla were fantastic. The e-bikes were terrible, poorly maintained and were breaking down daily. Tom, the other tour guide from Bike and Boat tours didn't stop for anything unless you made him. He would fly past beautiful pictures, areas of interest, and historic sites without a word of explanation. By the end of the trip, people were switching groups daily to ride with Carla instead of with Tom. Back to the e-bikes...The first one I had was not shifting properly nor was the battery working properly. They changed it out for another bike. That bike worked for a few days and then the brakes went out. All I had to slow me down was a tiny bit of front brake and to drag my feet. (felt like I was in an episode of the Flintstones!) This happened with 10 miles to go on the ride. I reported it to Tom upon arrival and the "the bike mechanic", Rabi, was going to fix it. It was clearly an adjustment that needed to be made and that was it. I was informed Read More

Allison S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was one of the best vacations I’ve ever had! The Magnifique IV is gorgeous and comfortable, and every single staff member was super helpful and just absolutely lovely! Our cycling guides, Hans and Wilfred, we’re wonderful - fun, knowledgeable, well-organized. Seeing bigger towns and cities, and all the countryside and ‘regular’ towns in between by bicycle is such a good way to explore. I highly recommend this trip!

Sonya V.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The team (captain Paul, chef Michael, sailor Albert, Hostesses Annika & Ingeborg and tour guides Hans & Wilfred) on Magnifique IV is amazing. They are always cheerful and are so hardworking. Every meal was exquisite and the warm and delicious snacks offered after a long (wet) bike ride were so appreciated. The barge is beautiful. It is clean and well appointed. We appreciated the 2 usb ports to charge our phones in our large suite. We were conservative with water so had lots for a hot shower after a day of cycling. The scenery was gorgeous. If we had stopped at every place for a beautiful picture, we would still be in Gent! Our tour guides were very knowledgeable about the area. They easily answered our questions with enthusiasm and humour. Our daily route was tweaked according to the groups' abilities, interests and, of course, the weather.

Tips
Pack light. We avoided long lineups at every airport because we had only carry-on luggage.
Don't Read More

Manfred S.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

When we road past all the windmills

Fred P.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding in our bike entourage through the scenic Flemish and Dutch countryside, from one hamlet to the next village with the beautiful backdrop of peaceful fields will be seared into our memories forever. We did encounter some blustery rain, which makes us regret not having packed better rain gear.

Maria K.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The wow factor of the trip was riding our bikes in an underground tunnel under the River Sheldt in Antwerp. We took the elevator down. Unfortunately, the elevator to go back up was broken, so we had to take 2 escalators up which was a challenge with our bikes. We later found out that there is a ferry. I’m glad we didn’t know about the ferry!

It was a wonderful trip. The barge accommodations were good, not luxurious. The crew was excellent. They were cheerful and efficient. The food was good. There were no choices for dinner.

Gordon M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The visit to a working grain windmill.

Julie G.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part of the trip was creating new relationships and the beautiful canals and gardens!
I would consider booking another bike and barge through tripsite in the future.

Ray T.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Bike and barge was amazing! We were on the Fluvius, staff there were great! Pre-trip planning with Trip site and Anna was stress free and informative! We have already recommended tripsite and bike and barge trips to our friends. We will probably book another one next year!

Frank G.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ebike trips through wonderful countryside and lovely small towns en route were great. Dinners were excellent on board but I would try a better quality boat. The Fluvius is old, tiny cabins, no bathroom hooks, towel racks; shower head falls, dangerous 6” high step which caused a fall, unresponsive captain to requests to fix shower. Crowded buffet in a tiny space for 40 people. Bikes and staff excellent except captain. Tripside is doing a disservice by choosing such a downgraded boat. Surely there are better choices.

Elizabeth A.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved riding through the farmlands leading to Gent at the beginning of the trip. Beautiful scenery and so peaceful! Our boat tour up the canal was magical.

I would rate this trip excellent and well beyond my expectations. The staff were always cheerful and accommodating. Guides were informative and all of the days were well paced and eventful.

Karoline L.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

It was a fantastic trip. The magnifique 2 was classy with a hard working and friendly crew from the chef to the captain and beyond. We enjoyed everything about the trip. Cycling everyday through farmlands, quaint towns, along dykes and rivers was a truly memorable experience.
We plan to book another bike barge adventure soon. We felt very well taken care of. We highly recommend it !

Gillian P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

All was very well done.. food, tours, boat. Great trip.

Bruce F.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Meals were delicious. E-bikes turned the trip into sightseeing rather than difficult exercise. Great way to see the countryside. Rooms were clean, comfortable and air conditioned. Bathrooms were clean and big enough. Crew and guide were friendly, open and accommodating.

Given that the climate is warming it is time to air condition the upper deck.

Loyd and Faith H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our Ship's crew was the highlight of our trip. What a wonderful collection of people! The salon staff were always on duty to see to our needs regarding meals and bar service. Both Jeanine (sp?) and Alexandra always had a smile for us at all hours. John was the hit of the ship with the excellent meals that were never the same twice. We saw him riding his bicycle laden with fresh foods and wares and marveled at how hard he worked. Sailor Michael was tending to the ship day and night and his smile never dimmed. He will be the Captain next summer. Captain Andreas was an outstanding captain and is known in the region as a training captain. He even welcomed a couple of us to the ship's bridge to see the operation of the ship. Everyone worked as a team to get our bicycles ready to ride and then our two excellent guides took charge. Guides Arnold and Maria-Jose kept us safe and dealt with a widely varied caliber of cyclists. I will truly miss each of our crew members, as they worked together to make our trip unique and enjoyable.

Angela H.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We really overall enjoyed our bike & boat cruise from Bruges to Amsterdam taken July 2-9, 2022 on the Fluvius boat. But there are few comments that I would like to make in hopes that Tripsite finds them useful.
First of all, we worked with Anna Zdancewicz at Tripsite and she was an amazing communicator. She provided clear and detailed answers to any questions we had and was very timely in her response to us via email. We also spoke with her on the phone a few times and enjoyed the conversations as well as the information. We would definitely use Tripsite again for another booking and we often recommend Tripsite to others.
The upside of our trip was Jack, our bicycle tour guide each day. He was great and very knowledgeable of the sites we rode to and also he gave a few evening guided walking tours which were also excellent. We really enjoyed Jack and his helper Johan, who was the “Sweeper”…taking the rear positon of all bike riders keeping us all Read More

Julie S.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The guides were excellent (Hetti and Jacqueline) and I was impressed with the quality of food and accommodations. It surpassed my expectations for the price. Great value.

Carolyn R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I loved all the experiences, from the boat ride through Ghent, the exploration of the various towns along the way, the Kinderdijk windmills, sitting in the hot tub and cruising along the rivers, learning the history of the area and enjoying the great food and company of our tour group and guides. Great trip!

Janet D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The tour went through amazing neighborhoods and towns, so much beauty. The bike was comfortable, but wish I had a gel seat cushion! It would have been a plus to have that added to the things to bring on the trip. The tour guides were very personable and knowledgeable.

My biggest room for improvement would be the food. It was so carbohydrate based, too many sweets for breakfast, it was a challenge for the chef to keep up with eggs in the mornings. Surprising we never had a salad or greens. I can only believe it is due to refrigeration on the boat, but that was a disappointment.

Overall, I would do this tour again.

Jodee T.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I had a great time! I didn’t ride as much as I thought I would, but I have a shoulder issue and it wasn’t cooperating. But I loved just sitting on the top deck watching Belgium and The Netherlands go by. The crew was outstanding, and very cooperative. And everyone of them could do most anything.
Although the routes each day were flat, this is not as easy as it might seem. It does require some training. The bikes are heavy, and not in the best shape. In the future, I’d choose an e bike, although they are very heavy also. Our guides were great, and worked with me, and my shoulder, to enable me to do the most riding I wanted to do.

James M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Almost everything. Boat and staff were both wonderfull. Scenery was magnificent, got lucky with great weather.

Diane D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Great staff and fun traveling and experiencing this with a large group of friends! Scenery was spectacular and we had great weather.

Lynne B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking through the country side in Belgium and the Netherlands. Very beautiful villages, and the open fields in the countryside. And of course the people we shared the trip. with.

Benjamin D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The barge crew and the bike guide were fabulous. Friendly, accommodating, informative, flexible, and knowledgeable.