Bruges to Amsterdam Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 322

Grote Markt in Bruges, West Flanders, Belgium. ©Hollandfotograaf

Bruges to Amsterdam

8 days from €1265

4.7 out of 5

Bruges to Amsterdam

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Belgium, Netherlands

A bike and barge tour beginning in Bruges and ending in Amsterdam showcases the best of both Belgium and Holland. The motto in Bruges is, "Feel the past under your feet," and you surely will! Or…

4.7 out of 5

 


Betty G.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

We were on the boat "Sailing Home" and we went from Bruges to Amsterdam. We've never done a Bike & Barge trip before and this trip far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we stepped on board, there was a warm welcome from the 5 fantastic crew members. These 5 could not do enough for you to make your trip a trip to remember. There were 22 travelers on board and having breakfast and dinners with them was so much fun. The food was 5 star every night, the captain was awesome with our boat... smooth and easy travel. Our bike guide was outstanding. We went to so many different places, learned about the history in the villages, she personalized the trip by taking us to a cheese farm and was calm under pressure! The biking was incredible... it was so beautiful everywhere! The rooms were cozy and it was so nice having a bathroom in each room! I highly recommend this trip. It was spectacular!

Cindy B.
2 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The staff aboard the Magnifique IV were fabulous. We had great bike tour guides. The people we met on the ship were from all over the world and we all became friends. I would highly recommend this tour and we will be doing this again

Deborah D.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Another biking trip of a lifetime and this time on the beautiful Magnifique III. What a beautiful ship, terrific crew, great chef and awesome bike guides. Biking from Bruges, Belgium to Amsterdam was just fantastic.

Wendy S.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The countryside was extremely beautiful. The meals were extremely delicious and the dinners were exceptional. The boat was clean and updated with very attentive and positive staff. The bikes were in very good repair and we found the directions to each site/city and the boat generally very clear.

Communication from bike tour leaders was not great. Also, we had major engine problems on Day 1-3 necessitating us to miss 1 day of riding. The communication around the mechanical problems was very poor and initially we found out about this by accident. Once rectified the tour continued as promised.

Bonnie P.
3 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

Our Bruges to Amsterdam trip was a spectacular! From the moment we boarded Magnifique 1 we were blown away by the beautiful interior of the ship, the warmth of the crew and the organization for the bike trip to begin the next day. Each day ended with a short meeting outlining the next day's route and particulars. The riders were split into two groups that remained with their wonderful guides for the week. We always felt safe on our rides and the pace was very manageable. We stopped for a morning and afternoon break and lunch. The food on board was delicious and varied and the presentation was beautiful. Probably our most memorable part of the journey was the consistently beautiful scenery and the making of new friends from several different countries. This trip was so much more than a vacation, it was an experience we will always remember! Thank you crew of the Magnifique 1 for all the incredible memories!

Peggy H.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The biking was amazing. Can’t believe how good the bike paths/trails are! And flat

Alison S.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

THE RIDES ... we loved the options for self-guided daily rides - the GPS system for the rides was fantastic and the tour guides were so awesome in supporting us to do the self guided rides when there were issues with the trails and/or tips for the day. We like to go at our own pace and stop when/where we were ready for a break. The ability to use the GPS off data was an amazing benefit and a big PLUS for this trip.

The tour guide(s) and the staff on the Magnifique 1 made this trip memorable as well - they went above and beyond to ensure the trip was MAGNIFIQUE!

Janice R.
4 weeks ago

Verified Reviewer

The Bruge to Amsterdam trip was great! It was wonderful to see parts of the Netherlands and Belgium that you wouldn’t see just touring by train or car. Using the ride with GPS App made the self-guided trip seamless and the odd time some unexpected construction appeared on the pathway, the always pleasant tour guides managed to be there to redirect.

Kathryn S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery was very picturesque. It was amazing to witness the incredible bike infrastructure and culture, which made for some relaxing rides.
Kinderjik was a highlight. Ghent was beautiful. It would have been nice to spend a little more time there. If possible, plan to spend extra time in Bruges and Amsterdam. Both cities have a ton to offer. The service onboard the ship was excellent, as was the food. Chef Mikkah did an amazing job!

Unfortunately, the conduct of our bike tour leaders, Tom and to a lesser extent Laura, was disappointing. Communication was poor. Tom seemed bored, and uninterested in the wellbeing of the guests. Laura guided a group of two, and had very little interaction with the rest of us. When they took us on a guided tour of Antwerp, neither guide could give us much information. In future, it might be useful to hire a professional guide for the walking tour.

It would be helpful in there was a fully stocked first aid kit on board. One passenger had a crash into some stinging nettles, and no one seemed to know how to help him.

Gail B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

That it was PERFECT !
My advice to others would be to book specifically the Magnifique II

Dennis K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Great professional staff. A top notch experience. I highly recommend this trip.

Cynthia S.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent, tasty dinners! Chef (Meeka?) prepared delicious, well-displayed meals

Lee B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

The food on the barge was amazing. Our tour guides were attentive to our needs every day. I definitely would recommend an e-bike. It was a game changer on windy days.

Nina R.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Most memorable was the stunning countryside along the Dutch canals-- grass waving in the breeze, sheep grazing all around, wildflowers, and the occasional swan swimming by. Bonus: not a hint of litter anywhere. Honestly, I kept asking myself if it was all real.

Barbara B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

There were so many memorable parts of our trip from Burges to Amsterdam. The gorgeous countryside we rode through, the fantastic accommodations on the Manifique II and of course the outstanding crew and guides. We have done similar trips before but this one topped them all. The offer of two different length rides each day , the stops in the countryside to sightsee, traveling through locks, riding our bikes on to ferries and generally feeling like a local. The meals that the chef offered us out of his small kitchen were 5 star. The enthusiasm of the crew added so much to this rich experience. Upon returning to the boat each day they all made us feel like we had won the Tour de France! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone looking to ride through the beautiful countryside of Belgium and the Netherlands and to have a great time doing it!

Carol K.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful countryside and small towns; our guides were knowledgeable and helpful. The boat was beautiful and comfortable. Staff on the boat were friendly, accommodating, and professional. Oh--and the food was 5 star delicious!

Doreen C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Incredibly warm, friendly and extremely customer-focused crew, all 7 of them!

Jacque W.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding our bikes through the countryside and small towns. The staff and food on the Fluvius was spectacular. Renting e-bikes was definitely a plus

Effie H.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Fluvius May 5/24 - 8 day bike trip

Unfortunately our barge had major mechanical problems ( thrust motor) from Day 1. As a result our first 4 full days of biking were changed, shortened significantly and day 4 spent almost entirely on the boat going to Antwerp with mechanical engineers working to fix it. We are very disappointed to lose this much biking on what was supposed to be a wonderful biking journey.

To add to our disappointment our biking tour guides, Tom and Laura, gave us very little information on what was wrong with the boat and what changes to expect. Generally they were not very communicative about our daily itineraries.

On the positive side, the barge crew were mostly fabulous. Mieke, the chef and her staff were very personable and hard working. The bartending staff were also very good. The food was excellent and the boat in good condition .

Overall we enjoyed the trip, especially the last 4 days once the barge was repaired.

Margaret C.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Trip was a good value but communication was not very good . The chef and the food and waitstaff were very good . There was a huge engine issue and we lost a day of biking . This was out of your control but the communication about what was going on was really poor .
Meike the chef should be the standard , she was terrific .

sonya s.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

A trip of a lifetime. The best way to see the small cities of Holland and Belgium at a leisurely pace with like minded people. Our North Star our guides Hester, Ester were amazing. They had very good understanding of the routes and the history of each city. Drum roll for an amazing crew on the barrage. The food and service was spectacular . If you want a slow, luxurious bike tour this is the trip to do!

Philip M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed the cycling with expert guides through this Low Countries. I became very emotional at the Canadian memorial cemetery and finding headstones from his regiment.seeing historic sites at Kinderdyck was fascinating. Our accommodation was top notch and was great being with like minded travellers . The bikes were comfortable and perfect for this tour.we had ebikes which were great for the Dutch mountains (wind)!We enjoyed the Netherlands. Amsterdam is a lively city for tourism and easy to manoeuvre.

Knut R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was being with friends and meeting new friends from Australia!
Pack clothes for both extremes hot and cold!
Food was just okay

Small suitcase, rooms have little storage
Super nice shower
PLEASE have Tripsite reflective vests available at the START of the trip NOT mailed to us. That would make us a more safe and cohesive group on the roads and especially in crowded cities

Tricia M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a fantastic time! We met wonderful people from all walks of life, biked and cruised through amazing countryside and towns, learned the fascinating history of Belgium and The Netherlands, and ate delicious food! Sietsa, was the kindest, most energetic and enthusiastic gentleman and bike guide one could ask for. He truly went above and beyond! The captain Frank was not only beyond capable but fun and knowledgable. The chef Craig blew us away with the most delicious meals and kept us well fed. Marcel the host had all of our needs met and was incredibly easy going. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in biking and cruising.
I really hate to point this out because the trip was one of a lifetime but the air conditioning was not functioning and we had 90 degree days. That was very uncomfortable but beyond that we truly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.

Daisy S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

There was no “most memorable “ part of the trip because it was all memorable. The crew was amazing and each one added something special to the trip. I loved the variety of the landscapes we rode through and all the sites we got to stop and explore. I have already recommended this trip to multiple friends.

Claudia Ann P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Brussels to Amsterdam Bike and Barge trip was great! All the staff were friendly and helpful. The meals were very good and generous. The staff were available for repairs and blockages on route. The first day practice tour was difficult to follow and we had a volunteer local bicycler who took us on a beautiful tour of Brussels. Be aware: the small lower barge rooms are stuffy and humid.

Francine P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was truly awesome! We were on the Fluvius biking from Bruges to Amsterdam. The biking was great and made easy with the gps they provided for us and the help of our bike coordinators Linda & Hans. They were the best, always there when we needed them, helping us reroute when we encountered road obstruction. My husband had a flat tire and they were right there helping. always making sure everybody was having a good time. The Fluvius provided me with an e-bike, even though I hadn't asked for one, to accommodate me, as they couldn't find a regular bike for my size. I was very thankful for that, making me appreciate the trip even better. All the Fluvius staff were superb. Even the captain made a point of talking with everyone, making sure things were to our liking. The food was excellent as well. The entertainment was a lot of fun and it brought us all together in spite of our language differences. It was a great night.

If we had any criticism whatsoever it would be the moisture challenge for the lower cabins. They would greatly benefit from moisture extractors.

Thank you for a truly wonderful and memorable trip.

Amy G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ship’s crew on the Magnifique IV was outstanding. Hardworking, pleasant, efficient and the ship was very clean. The food was very good.

The tour guides failed to give clear instructions and some times were rude to the passengers. They did not follow the ride GPS even though they insisted on us downloading it. One time they would not allow us to enter a museum because we came “late” even though the museum was opened for another hour. They were not a highlight of my experience.

David B.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Most of the route was post-card perfect and the camaraderie felt as the group worked together moving across the land was satisfying. Joining the captain in the wheel house in the morning as we passed through the locks and ports was fascinating.

David Z.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was seeing actual Archimedes Screws in the Netherlands that are still in use!!