Bruges to Amsterdam Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 302

Grote Markt in Bruges, West Flanders, Belgium. ©Hollandfotograaf

Bruges to Amsterdam

8 days from €1265

4.7 out of 5

Bruges to Amsterdam

Easy Bike + Boat Tour in Belgium, Netherlands

A bike and barge tour beginning in Bruges and ending in Amsterdam showcases the best of both Belgium and Holland. The motto in Bruges is, "Feel the past under your feet," and you surely will! Or…

4.7 out of 5

 


sonya s.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

A trip of a lifetime. The best way to see the small cities of Holland and Belgium at a leisurely pace with like minded people. Our North Star our guides Hester, Ester were amazing. They had very good understanding of the routes and the history of each city. Drum roll for an amazing crew on the barrage. The food and service was spectacular . If you want a slow, luxurious bike tour this is the trip to do!

Philip M.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We enjoyed the cycling with expert guides through this Low Countries. I became very emotional at the Canadian memorial cemetery and finding headstones from his regiment.seeing historic sites at Kinderdyck was fascinating. Our accommodation was top notch and was great being with like minded travellers . The bikes were comfortable and perfect for this tour.we had ebikes which were great for the Dutch mountains (wind)!We enjoyed the Netherlands. Amsterdam is a lively city for tourism and easy to manoeuvre.

Knut R.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was being with friends and meeting new friends from Australia!
Pack clothes for both extremes hot and cold!
Food was just okay

Small suitcase, rooms have little storage
Super nice shower
PLEASE have Tripsite reflective vests available at the START of the trip NOT mailed to us. That would make us a more safe and cohesive group on the roads and especially in crowded cities

Tricia M.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

We had a fantastic time! We met wonderful people from all walks of life, biked and cruised through amazing countryside and towns, learned the fascinating history of Belgium and The Netherlands, and ate delicious food! Sietsa, was the kindest, most energetic and enthusiastic gentleman and bike guide one could ask for. He truly went above and beyond! The captain Frank was not only beyond capable but fun and knowledgable. The chef Craig blew us away with the most delicious meals and kept us well fed. Marcel the host had all of our needs met and was incredibly easy going. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in biking and cruising.
I really hate to point this out because the trip was one of a lifetime but the air conditioning was not functioning and we had 90 degree days. That was very uncomfortable but beyond that we truly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.

Daisy S.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

There was no “most memorable “ part of the trip because it was all memorable. The crew was amazing and each one added something special to the trip. I loved the variety of the landscapes we rode through and all the sites we got to stop and explore. I have already recommended this trip to multiple friends.

Claudia Ann P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Brussels to Amsterdam Bike and Barge trip was great! All the staff were friendly and helpful. The meals were very good and generous. The staff were available for repairs and blockages on route. The first day practice tour was difficult to follow and we had a volunteer local bicycler who took us on a beautiful tour of Brussels. Be aware: the small lower barge rooms are stuffy and humid.

Francine P.
5 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our trip was truly awesome! We were on the Fluvius biking from Bruges to Amsterdam. The biking was great and made easy with the gps they provided for us and the help of our bike coordinators Linda & Hans. They were the best, always there when we needed them, helping us reroute when we encountered road obstruction. My husband had a flat tire and they were right there helping. always making sure everybody was having a good time. The Fluvius provided me with an e-bike, even though I hadn't asked for one, to accommodate me, as they couldn't find a regular bike for my size. I was very thankful for that, making me appreciate the trip even better. All the Fluvius staff were superb. Even the captain made a point of talking with everyone, making sure things were to our liking. The food was excellent as well. The entertainment was a lot of fun and it brought us all together in spite of our language differences. It was a great night.

If we had any criticism whatsoever it would be the moisture challenge for the lower cabins. They would greatly benefit from moisture extractors.

Thank you for a truly wonderful and memorable trip.

Amy G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The ship’s crew on the Magnifique IV was outstanding. Hardworking, pleasant, efficient and the ship was very clean. The food was very good.

The tour guides failed to give clear instructions and some times were rude to the passengers. They did not follow the ride GPS even though they insisted on us downloading it. One time they would not allow us to enter a museum because we came “late” even though the museum was opened for another hour. They were not a highlight of my experience.

David B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Most of the route was post-card perfect and the camaraderie felt as the group worked together moving across the land was satisfying. Joining the captain in the wheel house in the morning as we passed through the locks and ports was fascinating.

David Z.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The most memorable part was seeing actual Archimedes Screws in the Netherlands that are still in use!!

Andrew A.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The boat was fabulous and the crew exceptional. The guides were great. The whole experience exceeded my expectations

Martin K.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The last two days of biking

David K.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

When my wife became ill the captain checked on her while I was off the boat. When a doctor was needed the captain phoned and a doctor appeared in our cabin 45 minutes later. One of the tour guides road his bicycle in the middle of the night to buy the needed medicine. The two service women anticipated our needs before I asked. Amazing and unforgettable service.

Ron L.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Our bike tour from Bruges to Amsterdam was stellar in every way possible! First, the boat: It was awesome! Our cabin had plenty of room for the two of us and the shower was unexpectedly nice. Second, the crew: AMAZING! All of the crew on our boat were just excellent. The food was so good! Koen made sure that we were all well fed in preparation for our rides everyday and well fed when we got back with lots of snacks and a yummy dinner. Marianne and Tessie were so nice and very helpful around the boat (Marianne is a great dancer too!). The captain of the boat, Xander, was great and very funny. Last, and definitely not least, is our tour guide Wieger. He was such a nice man and so much fun. I really can't say enough about him. Third, dealing with Tripsite: In a word... Easy! They were very helpful and answered all our questions (no matter how silly) without delay. Fourth. the bikes: They were perfect. We used electric bikes and even though there were days that we rode with the power Read More

Hannah S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Zwaantje, Captain Martijn, and his crew were among the highlights of this trip. We had an amazing time exploring the different cities. The routes were easy to follow and the guides were great, friendly and personable, though I would have loved more history/information during our rides. We enjoyed the variety of scenery, the option to go off on our own, and the opportunity to socialize with many other adventurous people :)

Margaret M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Always the staff and fellow passengers are the highlight of bike and barge trips. We loved the rides through the countryside and tiny towns, visits to the windmills, the dairy, the vending machines sporting fresh strawberries, the food on the barge, and so much more.

Antoinette M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was truly my favorite vacation. Such an amazing way to experience Belgium and the Netherlands. The crew was top notch, The food was gourmet, The barge was luxurious, the bikes were very comfortable, and we really enjoyed meeting new people. Sign up for this trip. You won't regret it!

Carol F.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The scenery

Kurt A.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The Magnifique IV is as comfortable and roomy as a canal barge can be. The crew and guides were caring and attentive, performing their roles perfectly. The meals were lovely, excellent, beautifully prepared and presented.
The daily routes were delightful, with a dramatic scenic build as we entered The Netherlands and approached Amsterdam.
Bring a strap-on water bottle cage for easy and frequent hydration during the day.

Bryce C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Loved all the beautiful scenery and being able to see it by bike. We particularly liked being in a small group (9 couples) who we got to know quite well and had fun socializing with. The crew and guide were very attentive and made the trip extra fun.

Deirdre D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

I appreciated all of our stops in small towns or villages and getting to patronize some local businesses. Each day was a different type of experience in terms of scenery as well as the type of paths we rode on and the distances traveled which I thought made it wonderful. I loved getting to ride near different people each day and getting to know all the members of my trip. Our guide Anita was great at modifying our route as needed based on issues with the barge and weather.

Carol F.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through the countryside and small villages was beautiful.

Gail F.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This trip was truly enjoyable. The accomadations on the barge were comfortable and very clean. The staff was knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was great and because I was there for the bike ride, the organization of the leaders and the routes planned each day were exactly as presented, plus there was always time for exploring the destination cities/towns.

I will definitely be planning another bike and boat/barge trip soon.

Amy B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Riding through the countryside. Historic buildings.

Janette K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The daily bike rides! With our group of 26 it would have been nice to have had 2 guides for 2 groups.

Kathy G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Biking through the countryside and villages of Belgium and the Netherlands is just a wonderful way to really "see" these countries and their people. This trip was well organized, provided an excellent dining experience, and camaraderie of fellow passengers. Bikes were comfortable and in great condition, and our guide was informative and fun. Tip for others: clothing layers!! Also, utilize the e-bikes if you are not routinely biking 20-30 miles beforehand.

Susan G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

The interaction with your wonderful crew and guides. They made everyone and every day special.

Pamela G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

This was such a special experience to visit small towns and areas we would never see otherwise. Using e bikes was a breeze and allowed us to focus on the scenery.

Marc M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lots of most memorable parts of the trip - biking the countrysides and quaint towns throughout Flanders and Holland and the food and service on board Magnifique II.

SheilaSheila P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Excellent tour. I would recommend this to any biking enthusiast. The countryside was idyllic, the tour leaders very knowledgeable, and the boat and staff were awesome!!