Serbia Tour Reviews — 1 to 19 of 19

 


R Lynn B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Wonderful trip through 7 countries with breathtaking scenery. Biking most days about 25-30 miles on mostly excellent bike paths.Fun day stops in Vienna and Budapest. Most excursions for dinner or entertainment well worth it!
Be sure to ride prior to going otherwise get the electric assisted but also need to ride and have cycling shorts/gear.
Great trip!!

Anne B.
12 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

All staff went out of their way to do anything for us. The bikes were comfortable and the organization was amazing.Loved being in a big group because there was always someone to talk to. The boat was not what I would call a barge!First time in Europe. This Trip changed our lives, only couple from NZ. Great way to celebrate 50 years marriage. Thoroughly recommend

Brian O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Germany, Serbia, Austria

The boat and staff were nice.
Food was plentiful and good
Our hotel the night before did not have our registration, very difficult to get anyone on a phone
The people we picked up the bikes from were surly and just plain painful
The bike was the same weight as a Sherman tank
The boat was poorly equipped for handling bikes although the crew worked hard to make it less painful
We never had enough time to ride and see the sights, we were always under the gun to get back to the boat
Really thought we were going to be able to sit and have lunches and drinks and see all the sights during our rides
As it turned out there was only one day where we weren’t in a deadly hurray and even that day we had 20 minutes to drink a beer at a local outside bar
Came back in the dark often, dangerous
Directions we revived sucked! Language interpretation was always an issue
The boat was often not where we expected it to be when we returned
Still enjoyed my vacation but it could have been so much better

Darren B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Touring on bike different areas of the Danube and meeting new people that were enjoying the same sites.

kirk g.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Best Parts: cruising, dining, kitchen, bar, admin, cleaning staff - wonderful, friendly, helpful. couldn't be better
food - very good variety and quality. lunches especially good
cycling and tour director and staff - excellent every day with information, quality equipment, attention to questions
ship public facilities - quite adequate quality and quantity. updating on decor is needed
hotel staff - very nice, accommodating and efficient
hotel - needs cleaning, air conditioning was not working every day, which was a problem. air quality was not great. updated decor is needed.

Ida L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Best Part: Dancing the polka with local croatians. Thank goodness a fellow tripster took a video

Dennis E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Most Memorable Part: The black mold (or something) that had many people coughing in their rooms. I had to take allergy pills each night.

Lloyd M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

-we called Tripsite several times before the trip with 2 questions. Calls were not returned or when they finally were returned, the concerns were not addressed.
-the advertising for the boat was misleading. Stated as recently refurbished with a/c in every cabin. The lower deck had no a/c and some windows would not open, while another room could not shut the window and it leaked. The carpet at our door was loose, which I tripped on several times. Some rooms had mold in the showers. Our mattress was filthy. The linens were tattered and worn and need to be replaced. The bathrooms sometimes have a sewer gas smell. The overall feel of the ship was that it was not clean.
-the water onboard was terrible tasting and smelled bad. The cyclist received bottled water for the days they rode, but if non- bikers wanted anything but tap water, ( coffee, tea, bottles of water) there was a charge.
-there was no consideration in the timing of shore time for non cyclists.
Read More

Scott S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

The Cycling and travel along the Danube River. Still more markings on the Bike routes.

Robert W M.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

The crew & food were great & acceptable respectively. There were very few vegetables served. The ship was terrible, moldy, poor lighting nonexistent waste baskets except in private rooms. The ship had a strong sewer odor which our cabin boy could not remedy. This problem involved several rooms. We would not return to the The(odor) Körner.

Roger P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Most Memorable Part: Food & last day of riding + Vienna

Wendy R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read More

Anna F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Germany, Serbia, Austria

Primadonna was superb. We had a very relaxing holiday. Crash between boats in Budapest happened the night before the start of our trip so any delays because of this perfectly understandable. The fact that the Danube was very high was again outside the control of the trip personnel and we appreciated the effort put into making our trip so enjoyable.

Alex Zucosky
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

Gayle D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

Deirdre S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

Fantastic experience...staff could not have been better....the food was unreal!....everyone of the staff went out of their way to help... even through a surprise birthday celebration for me.

Mary R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

Jim S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

Mike W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Danube Experience
Austria, Croatia, Hungary, Serbia, Slovakia

The trip was well run and organized. The bikes were in excellent condition and easy to ride. The selected routes were easy to follow and offered many sights and excursions. Would highly recommend this trip.