Switzerland Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 85

 

 Country: Switzerland • REMOVE

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Gordana L. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Very recommended for beginners and intermediate cyclists. Beautiful sights as well as great accommodations in quaint towns.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Larry F. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall, the Lake Constance tour was excellent - wonderful scenery, good bike paths, and we were fortunate the weather cooperated so well (sunny days throughout). I think we pushed ourselves to do the full lake tour in just five days, because this, in effect, meant only three days of actual riding, so the distances were a bit long, and this constrained our ability to stop and see more of the many interesting sites and just take our time moving across the breathtaking landscapes. The bikes were excellent - first class touring bikes and well maintained. The hotels were decent three-star options, and the breakfast buffets were a perfect way to start the day. All in all, a memorable experience, and we are already talking about a more extended bike tour with Tripsite next year.

  • Aare Trail
    by Gail A. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Aare Trail tour was lovely! A very nice balance of urban and rural, city and village, streetscapes and countryside. Switzerland is a breathtaking country, with pristine rivers and lakes and mountains always in view. This route gave us some time in the Berner Oberland region before starting our ride to experience the Alps up close in the high country. Then, Bern is an interesting mix of natural beauty, history and government. As we worked our way further north, the Rhein River became our companion as we cycled through farm fields. The sound of cowbells was ever present. Bicycle travel provided us the perfect pace to immerse ourselves in our surroundings. Traveling through the countryside and villages along the Aare River let us interact with locals in a way that we couldn't have if we'd limited ourselves to staying in the major cities. The hotels varied from romantic boutique to modern and sleek. Very clean and with fast wifi. Breakfasts were provided at each and featured traditional pastries, meats and cheeses, muesli and local fresh yogurt. Most days, we stopped in grocery stores for our lunch, eaten picnic-style. Opportunities to dine al fresco are absolutely everywhere. I would suggest either obtaining cell phone data or using GPS to aid in more easily finding hotels at the end of the day, as the level of detail on the provided maps and street signage are limited. However, the trail signage is excellent. Though we had no guide, it was very easy to find and follow the trails throughout our tour. Similarly, our lack of language skills did not present a problem as English speakers are everywhere. The bikes (one regular and one e-bike) performed very well and were present upon our arrival. The luggage transport was very good. I would suggest keeping a bathing suit with you, as opportunities to swim in the rivers, lakes and swimming pools along this route are everywhere!

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Four Country Tour
    by valmira 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fiz este trajeto em setembro de 2018 foi maravilhoso ,um trajeto fácil ,hotéis muito bom ,cafe da manha excelente e atendimento ótimo, mesmo sem falar a língua não tive dificuldades ,o trajeto e bem sinalizado passando por lugares lindos ,a bike também e boa ,não e uma mtb como estou acostumada mas respondeu bem ao trajeto ,enfim vale a pena conferir ...adorei.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Sue S. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We biked around Lake Constance in August and can’t speak too highly of this great cycling adventure! Mostly on well- marked, dedicated, flat bike trails winding through apple orchards, vineyards, sunflower and strawberry fields with stunning views of the lake. We loved exploring the pretty, small towns, castles and churches and savored lots of local delicacies. We swam in the clear, blue waters, soaked up some sun on pretty beaches, and enjoyed lots of art - interesting statues, an international sandcastle building competition, and an art exhibit at the top of Pfander Mountain. The joy of this type of trip is that you go at your own pace and get to spend time doing whatever appeals! We got lost almost daily, but somehow this added to the adventure... directions to hotels in bigger towns were poor, with maps often leaving out many road names. Accommodations were varied - some basic hotels and some charming family owned inns. Breakfasts were generous feasts and hotel staff helpful and friendly. This was our second Tripsite adventure and we will certainly be back for another!!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Laura Z. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I have to say the whole trip was amazing! We biked around Lake Constance! The hotels were clean and the breakfast at each hotel was delicious!

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by Nancy M. 6 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved going around Lake Constance. We experienced three different countries and loved the food in each one.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Laura M. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking beside Lake Constance, stopping for a beverage along the way and the complete satisfaction of a great week! And as always spending time with great friends!

  • Lakes Trail
    by Susan J. 7 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Unfortunately left a jacket and pair of arm warmers in the pannier and when we contacted the tour company they said they’d check and get back to us but they didn’t and had to be chased several times and then they eventually said they couldn’t find them. This also applied to my partners pedals, they said there would be someone to remove them at our final destination and there wasn’t. We did eventually get these back but not the coat or arm warmers. Panniers must be emptied and checked for tools, locks etc so surprised these weren’t put in lost property. Lack of responses etc was disappointing after what was a good and well organized holiday.

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Janis B. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery, hotels and food were great. People were very friendly. The maps for this self-guided trip around Lake Constance were not detailed enough, did not provide information for intersections and turns. We had many times that we did not which way to go. Definitely need better maps.

  • Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
    by Lise H. 8 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    First of all we had spectacular weather on our 8 days of riding on the Alsace Wine Route, from Strasbourg to Basel in late September. +/- 30 miles a day was perfect. It allowed us to get to our destination in the early afternoon, rest up and then go and explore the villages. The scenic beauty was off the charts. It was early fall and the grapes were still on the vine with the leaves turning an autumn yellow color. That with a backdrop of the green hills set us up for some beautiful photographs. The backroads that we took were frequented by locals out for a walk and when passing by, everyone would say bonjour to each other. We loved that! We are already looking at other trips through Tripsite. Great memories.

    Countries: France, Switzerland

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Jane M. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery was beautiful. The extra excursions were popular with our group. The breakfasts were great.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Annette 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I have found I download the app mapsme and put in the hotels before I leave home. I can still access this by satellite and not needing data when getting near. or can probably do the same with the Google maps app and again use offline...also helpful en route.
    Pleased the trip went well, we are looking into it for next year.

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Melody S. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We decided to have our honeymoon on the St. Morritz to Innsbruck self-guided bike tour. We are so happy we did as the scenery was beautiful and the people we met along the way made it memorable. I recommend staying an extra night in St. Morritz so you can take the gondola up the mountain (free from the hotel when you stay 2 nights) to hike and enjoy the views. The bikes were sturdy and had the gears necessary for the hills. Bring your own helmet for this tour as they are not available to rent.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • French Alps Lake Tour
    by Brenda A. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Thoroughly enjoyed! Hotel staff were a wealth of knowledge and so friendly!

    Countries: Switzerland, France

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Andrea S. 12 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable thing from our Lake Konstanz trip?? How in the world do I pick?? The Biergartens? Picnics in medieval towns? Watching World Cup with locals in small family cafés? The acres of apple orchards? Seeing zeppelins flying over crystal blue water? Feeling the thunder of Rhein Falls? Getting lost and finding amazing parks and kind people? It was the BEST vacation we’ve ever had, and we’re already talking about which one to do next year!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Hi Tama,
    Sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with certain aspects of this tour. As far as the hotel locations, we always try to provide the best hotels possible (location, quality, reputation) but this is based on availability. This region is very popular and hotel development hasn't quite caught up with demand.
    In reference to the Route Book....we strongly recommend that clients also request GPS tracks to supplement Route Books. The tracks are more interactive and tend to be more precise. If requested, these tracks can be downloaded beforehand and used with a GPS or your smartphone. See this Blog to learn more.
    Im glad you still had an enjoyable time and appreciated the beauty of this region. We hope to help you plan your next trip!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Tama L. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.
    Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Peg Hanson 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I did the 7 day Around Lake Constance. This was my 4th Tripsite bike tour. I will list the positive things first.
    I booked the Category 4 hotel package and was extremely pleased with all the hotels. Location was good for all except the Park Hotel in Uberlingen. It is located at the top of a very steep hill and was very difficult to find even after you saw the sign pointing the way!!
    The breakfasts at all the locations were amazing and so beautifully displayed. A wonderful way to start the day!
    The bikes were comfortable and almost brand new. Panniers, front bag and trip meter were all very nice.
    Now the not so positive...
    I had read all the reviews before booking and noticed the negative comments about the bike route directions. Since these comments were from a year and 2 years ago I assumed they had improved this info. NOT TRUE. The book with the routes is almost worthless. Getting from city to city was not always the problem but once in a city the situation changes. It is even more challenging when you do not speak the language. The locals are more than friendly and always willing to help. However they often assume we know more than we do and even their help does not get us to our destination. A suggestion would be to provide the cyclists with GPS or a HOTSPOT so that we could download the routes on our phones. I realize that if the customer is from Europe they can do that easily but those of us from the USA depend on a wifi connection for this service. I stayed recently at a hotel in Madrid that provided each room with a Hotspot at NO EXTRA charge. If a mid level hotel can afford to do this you would think a cycling touring company could do the same. I realize Tripsite does not have control over some of these situations but if they could encourage this company to try some more advanced methods of guiding their clients I am sure everyone would be happier. I had a wonderful holiday with fabulous weather, beautiful scenery and memorable meals. I will be booking with Tripsite for my next cycling tour. Just wanted to raise this issue to help future travelers be aware.

  • Aare Trail
    by Manuel Pena 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wow. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to do something out of the ordinary. Our tour started on June 3rd, and I selected the 6 day tour for my son and I and it was just the right amount of length. By the end of the last leg we were just about beat. This was an easy ride, but if you don't bike much I would recommend the E-bikes to give you a little boost along the way. The standard bike's that were given to us were in excellent condition and we had no issues throughout the trip. All of the hotels we stayed in were adequate for what was needed and were in great locations in relation to the sites of each town. Each time we arrived at our hotel we would ask the attendant for a good place to eat and they always had great recommendations. I would recommend that you ask each hotel if they have a garage to store the bike and if they don't that you definitely lock them up and remove ALL of the saddle bags from the bikes and keep the bags stored in your room for the night. Unfortunately, one of our saddle bags was stolen over night. Aside from that small incident, my son and I had a great time biking through Switzerland. Now, I'm looking forward to my next trip with my other children.

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Alice 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    You have put my mind at ease. My husband and I are are leaving, in a month, on the 10 Tulip Time tour. I have been in "training" but have been anxious about my ability to keep up. I have an ebike reserved and after reading your blog I feel better about the trip. Thank You!

  • Aare Trail
    by Evan C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    As with my trip last year, this trip was a smooth operation. Only a few navigation problems which are part of the adventure. I'll be looking forward to another ride next year. Many thanks.

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Maryann 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I so enjoyed reading this review..You could make it into a book, it is so well recorded. We have been on 3 cycling trips so far and planning our 4th to Italy next summer.

  • Bike and Wine Basel to Strasbourg
    by Sara G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    First day ride and exceptional lunch along the canal. Recommend more info on options to stop, eat, etc along the routes. Also recommend better bike maintenance - both bikes had shifter/derailer issues. Transfer of bikes and luggage went very smoothly. Hotels were all great, except the one in Freiburg - run down and rude front desk staff.

    Countries: France, Germany, Switzerland

  • Four Country Tour
    by The Doeys 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our first bike and barge and we are already looking forward to many more. We are two 60 yr old couple who all love the outdoors, adventure and travel. Our cabins were on the top deck of the Carissma, roomy enough, turn down service each night and big picture windows. Excellent food, especially the dinners. Albert was the tour guide on board and he was organized, knowledgeable and patient! No problems with the bikes or directions - we were self guiding, 21 speed bikes. Easy terrain. We highly recommend the city bike tour of Budapest and Vienna as you otherwise may miss great hidden gems, interesting stories and local guides. We stayed at Hotel Residenz in Passau for one night before departure and highly recommend the visit to this beautiful port city and the hotel! We could not recommend trying this style of vacation more. The staff on the Carissma did everything to make the week comfortable, easy and well organized. Wonderful way to see cities in 4 countries in a week.

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Ronald Z. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The small towns set in the beautiful mountains with it clean air and pleasant residents.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by John and Janet B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was clearly the scenic routes, food, friendly people and cities selected for lodging. Great hotels! Tripsite delivered on services as promised.
    We were disappointed/frustrated with the lack of route details and direction into and out of the cities. Despite the network of paved bike trails/paths, we spent too much time confused asking locals for direction to our destination. Perhaps for persons accustomed to biking in Europe, the vague directions presented no difficulty, but for persons from America not familiar with the signage and more accustomed to turn by turn cue sheets, we were frequently challenged to find our path. Asking directions from local residents did give us an interesting opportunity to communicate across languages. We would recommend you add more detailed directions into and out of cities.
    Thanks for your arrangements to make our trip possible. We really did enjoy our bike tour around Lake Constance.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Larisa L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Biking along the forested area near Minau, biking through cobblestoned streets, and seeing a wide variety of things in such a short distance (orchards, cathedrals, castles, swans, mountains, etc).

  • St. Moritz to Innsbruck
    by Ron Zauski 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wow....this is my fourth trip with Tripsite, this was the BEST natural scenery yet. The views of the mountains and countryside was breathe taking on every day. The hotels were very clean and well maintained; most hotels exceeded my expectations including the free breakfasts. Day #2 was the toughest day especially because the ascent was mostly on an unpaved surface, but the views on day #2 were the best. Switzerland and Austria are impeccably maintained countries; everyone was friendly and welcoming. With the main map in German, I appreciated the additional pamphlets in English in our packet.

    Countries: Austria, Switzerland

  • Four Country Tour
    by Michael R. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Cycling through the countryside, seeing Stein-am-Rhein, the Rheinfalls, taking the boat across the Wallensee, seeing the Schattenburg in Feldkirch, and visiting the Abbey Library in St. Gallen were all highlights.

PWPC