Switzerland Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 90

4.6 out of 5

 


Bob M.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

This trip reaffirmed by previous experiences that dealing directly with a local provider is the best way to go for overseas bike tours. Although Tripsite was excellent in their pre-trip work, their local partner -- EuroBike -- left a lot to be desired. And, once you are at the site of your trip, Tripsite has nothing to offer, so you are in the hands of their partner. The problems with EuroBike start with this unsolvable fact: They are NOT located in Switzerland. As their name implies, they run trips all over Europe. So when we needed an extra ebike, they couldn't come through. When we had problems with the ebikes we did have, they couldn't come through. The bike mapping they supplied was in German; we speak English. More unacceptable was the fact they were not aware of several sections of the Inn River Bike Trail that had been closed since the huge spring snow runoff had wiped out two bridges and closed several kilometers of trail. Their mapping notes provided NO alternate Read More

Chris A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Riding up towards the on the water stage in Bergenz was amazing. You could see it from quite a distance which built anticipation. We walked around the seating area and read all of the informational signs (presented in German and English) and took lots of photos.

Michael F.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We started in Thun on the Aare Trail which ends in the city of Konstanz, where the Around Lake Konstanz tour begins. The memories I have of this trip are of how beautiful the scenery was. Also, for attractions along the way, vouchers were provided so we could visit them at no extra cost.

Russell S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
Overall, a great trip.

Ginny S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Geneva to Lyon
Switzerland, France

It was all beautiful, but Pérouges was a real highlight. A well preserved medieval town, the accommodations and spectacular food reflected the history of this special place.

Corrine G.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance to Interlaken Bike Tour
Switzerland

The views and the people were fantastic! Our luggage arrived before us every time! Hotels were fantastic! Bike people were very informative!

Stan and Nancy H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
France, Switzerland

This trip was fabulous, very scenic and the ebikes were perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip although we went at a time when the vineyards were mainly closed for harvest. We made our own picnic lunches along the way or stopped at local pubs and restaurants for lunch and wine. The written directional instructions were very helpful, as were the gps tracks. Julian, our local coordinator was very helpful in resolving a small glitch with our first hotel. All the hotels were great, and the restaurants and food were generally quite good, even though our dinner selections were limited to a few choices. Of the towns we stayed in, Colmar and Kayersburg were the best! The dessert in the Colmar Grand Hotel Bristol was memorably fantastic. The restaurant we were sent to in Basel was rather mediocre and disappointing given what we had pre-paid, especially the horrible cup of fruit cocktail we were given for dessert ( not even on the menu!) The vineyards ended before Mulhouse, which seemed like Read More

Susan P.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I loved biking though the country side and seeing the small towns along the way. I wish I could have spent a little more time in the small towns. I kind of felt like I had to keep moving. The bike trail itself was very well marked and I really didn't need to use the map much. Just looked where I was going next and how far it was that was really all I needed to get around. The people were lovely. We enjoyed meeting other bikers on their bike trip many from England and having a beer with them at our destination. The hotels were all great, most in historic buildings that have been redone to modern standards. This was my first bike trip would defiantly take another one, but would pay the extra money to get an e-bike.

Donna L.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The beauty. Flowers were in bloom, the orchards were full of apples, the green hillsides were gorgeous.
The booklet we received would have been more helpful if received beforehand. The directions could have been much clearer, especially to the hotels.

Scott A.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

Chris S.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

Donald K.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!

Rhonda G.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This cycling tour was amazing. I would have to say the Rhine Falls were spectacular. Riding into the Stein am Rhein village was simply breathtaking. To see how people live and still live in this village was simply amazing

Therese Z.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

My husband, son (16), nephew (17) and myself did the 7 day Lake Constance tour in Germany in August. It was an awesome experience from the booking, payment, tour, and hotels. We travelled from Canada and stayed in Zurich the night before tour. We took an Uber from Zurich to Lake Constance (approx 1 hour). The train was also available and the station in Lake Constance was directly across from our first night accommodation, Hotel Halm. The Hotel was quite nice with a beautiful dining room and incredible breakfast. All the hotels were clean, easy to ride to and had super friendly staff. We stayed in 3-5 star hotels as we wanted to be close to town centers.
The bike tour itself was mostly flat with a few hills. You must pay close attention to bike signs as we got lost a few times. Even with this, it was easy to get back on track. My husband had google maps that showed bike routes. Although I am an avid road biker my family is not. They had no problem biking 40km to 65km Read More

Susan B.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We loved the trails that ran close to the sea shore, as well as passing through the small towns. It’s really important to watch the signage along the way in order to stay on course. It’s sometimes challenging to locate the overnight spots based on the descriptions in the tour materials. They would be better if they provided more detail.

Sitaraman R.
11 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Travel agent was very helpful with late booking.
Hotels were excellent.
Bike company was excellent and helpful.

Gordana L.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Very recommended for beginners and intermediate cyclists. Beautiful sights as well as great accommodations in quaint towns.

Larry F.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Overall, the Lake Constance tour was excellent - wonderful scenery, good bike paths, and we were fortunate the weather cooperated so well (sunny days throughout). I think we pushed ourselves to do the full lake tour in just five days, because this, in effect, meant only three days of actual riding, so the distances were a bit long, and this constrained our ability to stop and see more of the many interesting sites and just take our time moving across the breathtaking landscapes. The bikes were excellent - first class touring bikes and well maintained. The hotels were decent three-star options, and the breakfast buffets were a perfect way to start the day. All in all, a memorable experience, and we are already talking about a more extended bike tour with Tripsite next year.

Gail A.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Aare Trail
Germany, Switzerland

The Aare Trail tour was lovely! A very nice balance of urban and rural, city and village, streetscapes and countryside. Switzerland is a breathtaking country, with pristine rivers and lakes and mountains always in view. This route gave us some time in the Berner Oberland region before starting our ride to experience the Alps up close in the high country. Then, Bern is an interesting mix of natural beauty, history and government. As we worked our way further north, the Rhein River became our companion as we cycled through farm fields. The sound of cowbells was ever present. Bicycle travel provided us the perfect pace to immerse ourselves in our surroundings. Traveling through the countryside and villages along the Aare River let us interact with locals in a way that we couldn't have if we'd limited ourselves to staying in the major cities. The hotels varied from romantic boutique to modern and sleek. Very clean and with fast wifi. Breakfasts were provided at each and Read More

valmira
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Fiz este trajeto em setembro de 2018 foi maravilhoso ,um trajeto fácil ,hotéis muito bom ,cafe da manha excelente e atendimento ótimo, mesmo sem falar a língua não tive dificuldades ,o trajeto e bem sinalizado passando por lugares lindos ,a bike também e boa ,não e uma mtb como estou acostumada mas respondeu bem ao trajeto ,enfim vale a pena conferir ...adorei.

Sue S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We biked around Lake Constance in August and can’t speak too highly of this great cycling adventure! Mostly on well- marked, dedicated, flat bike trails winding through apple orchards, vineyards, sunflower and strawberry fields with stunning views of the lake. We loved exploring the pretty, small towns, castles and churches and savored lots of local delicacies. We swam in the clear, blue waters, soaked up some sun on pretty beaches, and enjoyed lots of art - interesting statues, an international sandcastle building competition, and an art exhibit at the top of Pfander Mountain. The joy of this type of trip is that you go at your own pace and get to spend time doing whatever appeals! We got lost almost daily, but somehow this added to the adventure... directions to hotels in bigger towns were poor, with maps often leaving out many road names. Accommodations were varied - some basic hotels and some charming family owned inns. Breakfasts were generous feasts and hotel staff helpful and friendly. This was our second Tripsite adventure and we will certainly be back for another!!

Laura Z.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

I have to say the whole trip was amazing! We biked around Lake Constance! The hotels were clean and the breakfast at each hotel was delicious!

Nancy M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Loved going around Lake Constance. We experienced three different countries and loved the food in each one.

Laura M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Biking beside Lake Constance, stopping for a beverage along the way and the complete satisfaction of a great week! And as always spending time with great friends!

Susan J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Lake Constance to Interlaken Bike Tour
Switzerland

Unfortunately left a jacket and pair of arm warmers in the pannier and when we contacted the tour company they said they’d check and get back to us but they didn’t and had to be chased several times and then they eventually said they couldn’t find them. This also applied to my partners pedals, they said there would be someone to remove them at our final destination and there wasn’t. We did eventually get these back but not the coat or arm warmers. Panniers must be emptied and checked for tools, locks etc so surprised these weren’t put in lost property. Lack of responses etc was disappointing after what was a good and well organized holiday.

Janis B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The scenery, hotels and food were great. People were very friendly. The maps for this self-guided trip around Lake Constance were not detailed enough, did not provide information for intersections and turns. We had many times that we did not which way to go. Definitely need better maps.

Lise H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Pearls of the Alsace Wine Route
France, Switzerland

First of all we had spectacular weather on our 8 days of riding on the Alsace Wine Route, from Strasbourg to Basel in late September. +/- 30 miles a day was perfect. It allowed us to get to our destination in the early afternoon, rest up and then go and explore the villages. The scenic beauty was off the charts. It was early fall and the grapes were still on the vine with the leaves turning an autumn yellow color. That with a backdrop of the green hills set us up for some beautiful photographs. The backroads that we took were frequented by locals out for a walk and when passing by, everyone would say bonjour to each other. We loved that! We are already looking at other trips through Tripsite. Great memories.

Jane M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The scenery was beautiful. The extra excursions were popular with our group. The breakfasts were great.

Melody S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

St. Moritz to Innsbruck
Austria, Switzerland

We decided to have our honeymoon on the St. Morritz to Innsbruck self-guided bike tour. We are so happy we did as the scenery was beautiful and the people we met along the way made it memorable. I recommend staying an extra night in St. Morritz so you can take the gondola up the mountain (free from the hotel when you stay 2 nights) to hike and enjoy the views. The bikes were sturdy and had the gears necessary for the hills. Bring your own helmet for this tour as they are not available to rent.

Brenda A.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

French Alps Lake
Switzerland, France

Thoroughly enjoyed! Hotel staff were a wealth of knowledge and so friendly!