Luxembourg Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 65

 

 Country: Luxembourg • REMOVE

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Carol M. 6 hours ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was one of the best holidays I have ever taken - being active, seeing history and meeting new friends. Highly recommend.

    I have already booked another trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol B. 2 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike tour was immensely enjoyable. Even though it rained 6 of 7 days, it was still a highlight of our vacation in Europe. Thanks to Tripsite's instructions, we were well prepared for various weather from rain to warm and cool weather. Taking a barge is a great way to travel without unpacking each night, returning to the same room and delicious meals served on board. I hope to take a bike trip again trying out another river.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Janice C. 2 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, so hard to pinpoint to one memorable experience; there were so many. Our first impression of the boat and crew was wonderful. The boat was very clean, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. All the crew members were welcoming, kind, fun and efficient. The Captain, RJ, was one on the crew, always on, active, involved and always with a smile. I loved that by the end of the trip, all 24 of us knew each other well after eating, biking and watching out for each other after the 8 days. Bike riding along the Moselle River in the fall with the colors changing was breathtaking. Every turn was equally as beautiful and everyday the colors became more vibrant. We broke off into 2 groups of 12 every morning; each group having one of the two guides. I was very happy to see there were two guides. We came across another bike/barge tour in one of the towns and there was only 1 guide for a group of 24. I think that was pushing it a bit. The villages, towns, castles, history, wineries Read more… and food on board were all exceptional. The pace of the daily ride was not difficult. The only suggestion that I have would be to separate the e-bikes from regular bikes. I found at times, the e-bikes would interfere with the momentum of the rest of us trying to pedal up the hills. It might just be the need for a little more training with the riders on the e-bikes, there was none that I saw, and a better understanding of an "etiquette".

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Luis 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took this trip on Oct 6, 2019. It was my 6th trip with Tripsite. the ship was the Zwaan. The landscape is stunning. The staff was super friendly without beig intrusibe. The distances are doable. The ship is excellent and the programmed group size is great, only 12 to 14 people. I have recommended these tours to dozens of people. And they continue to be one of the most fun things I have done in my life. Go!

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Gloria M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The adventure of biking through beautiful Luxembourg, Germany, and France. One can view scenry in a different manner compared to driving a car or viewing as a passenger. Biked thru small villages, metro cities, and rural countries.

    The delicious gourmet dinners at the end of each trip will always be treasured.

    The route instructions need a lot of improvement. It should not take 6 hours to bike 22 miles!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Prosper B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, the fellow riders the entire experience was so rewarding.
    The boat however left a lot to be desired. The dining room windows were small and you felt confined. The food was below what i’ve experienced on my 6 other tripsite bike/barge tours.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Suzanne F. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful with the steep vineyards on either side of the Moselle River. We loved the Quo Vadis boat and the staff were all so professional, yet friendly and fun. Cabins were nicely appointed and the food was delicious. It was also great to have the option to try out an e-bike for the day, even if you hadn't reserved one for the week. A memorable day was finishing off the cycle part to attend a wine tasting night at Leo Schwab's winery...very entertaining. I feel totally comfortable recommending this particular cycle trip to anyone who is interested. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jennifer S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was perhaps the star of this trip with gorgeous views of vineyards and quaint villages all along the Mosel River. But also we had a wonderful group of staff on the Quo Vadis who were lots of fun and thought of every detail. Meals were amazing. This made this trip probably our favourite trip ever. We travel with a group of friends and have done several other barge and bike trips.
    The daily biking was longer than some other trips but most enjoyable with stops for points of history or picnics, coffee etc.
    It will be hard to improve on our Metz to Cochem experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Nancy B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was really wonderful. Being from North America, we don't have paved bicycle paths on both sides of our rivers, especially out in the coutnry side. As a result, I was just amazed at the fact of being able to ride beside the Mosel River through the vineyards and be able to soak in the atmosphere without having to worry about traffic or rough roads. The Quo Vadis was a treat. The cabins were a decent size, the crew was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun and the food, prepared in the relatively small galley, was fabulous. All that were highlights for me.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sheila S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: How Saunder, Els, and Rola were all so committed to making sure we had a great trip with terrific cycling, fantastic food, and comfortable accommodations.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Janet Zimmerman 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our week on the Quo Vadis was fantastic. The Captain,crew and cycling guides were all wonderful. The served up tasty, beautifully presented, filling and nutritious meals. Our cycling routes were interesting and fun. I’d do another trip on the Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Peter B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Allen,
    Thank you so much for sharing this feedback. The bikes used on this trip are serviced every week to ensure each bike is fit for the road. Our local partner would have gladly repaired or replaced the bike for you if it was brought to their attention. I hope that despite this issue, you still had a good time.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Libby Stupak 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the Cochem to Metz boat bike tour on the Quo Vadis August 3-10, 2019. The boat itself exceeded my expectation, as did the captain (owner of the boat), his family and the crew. Out bike guides, Ferry and John, were exceptional and so personal. Their knowledge of the area was great. I'm an avid biker for both recreation and commuting so the bike provided took a little getting used to. Also I'm quite short so could have used a bit smaller bike, but it worked out. Daily mileage was perfect which allowed us to see the sites and make stops. The food was fantastic, the scenery along the Mosel so beautiful. The stops we made each day were perfect and the time we were able to spend in Saarburg, Trier and Metz was great. I felt the attention paid to our having a great trip was exceptional. I booked my trip through Eurosail, and there were many blips in that process with that company, but in the end it all seemed to work out OK.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Allen A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge and crew were amazing as were the bike guides. I would not change a thing.

    However . . . the bikes were horrid and it was a bike trip! They were dated . . . poorly maintained . . . and dangerous. I had a piece of my front fender break and get stuck between my spokes in the front tire. I could have been badly injured if not going so slow through construction. I would think a "bike" trip would offer much better bikes in the future. I would not recommend this trip to friends because of the bikes . . . everything else was top notch . . . the food, the staff, the rooms, the bar . . . too bad about the bikes not meeting expectations.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Donna Martin 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the Quo Vadis could not have been more accommodating,
    Helpful, or fun. Our two bicycling guides, Ferry and John, were excellent and went out of their way to make this trip enjoyable for all. I wholeheartedly recommend this boat
    and this trip.

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Angie 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on the Quo Vadis welcomed us with open arms. The food was outstanding, gourmet at every meal. Our guides John and Ferry made the biking part magical, both were so knowledgeable about the sites we stopped to see. The scenery was just breathtaking, the castles and vineyards and cathedrals. The rooms were very comfortable, especially the beds. Great showers and air conditioning! Would do this tour on this barge again in a heartbeat!

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Elizabeth S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? Stopping along the bike route to have a coffee or beer and seeing some of the historic and memorable sites in the quaint villages along the way!

    Have an ice coffee at one of the lovely little cafes!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Dean S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew was second to none. Everyone took great pride in their work, especially the cook, who prepared meals to die for. We wanted to take her home with us. The guides went out of their way to make everyone happy. We really appreciated the guided tours in town each evening after dinner.

    This trip was great for a wide range of abilities. Folks who were not as strong of bikers used e-bikes which were great equalizers.

    My wife and I agree that this was one of the top vacations we've ever taken. We can't wait to go again.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Joseph (Joe) S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the Iris were all very knowledgeable and welcoming. By the end of the week I felt as though I knew each one personally and would welcome them all to my home should they travel my way. They made the trip more than worthwhile, especially when we had to ride in 100 plus degree weather. If I am to do another bike and barge trip it is this group of people that I would want as the crew.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The preparation and presentation of the meals, especially the evening meals was outstanding. And the fellowship with the other passengers was also a great highlight aided by the small number of guests.

    Boat: Iris

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol E. 12 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on our trip from Bruges to Amsterdam, everyone was so friendly and helpful...we have booked another trip next Sept.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Brenda H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Staff on boat, people traveling and the scenery.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Margaret Molineux 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We didn't know what to expect on such a small barge/boat: however it was very enjoyable Our hosts were great and always helpful even when we knew it was a busy time for them. Being a small group and despite some language differences, we all bonded and managed to communicate well. Our leader Anna was particularly competent and took us through some interesting situations without a glitch. We will be known as the group who loves limericks as one guy in our group started by writing one for each cyclist...then of course we all started to write them. The last dinner was quite hilarious. You can't beat these tours for economy, traveling through history and spectacular scenery and commaradorie. I left off one star as the rooms and bathroom were super small and hard to manouver in. Everything else, including the meals, were something to write home about.!

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Stuart A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the staff, the group we met and the overall tour. I got to visit a part of France I might never have seen. Really enjoyed the champagne bottling winery the last day.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Brain F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

    Boat: Iris

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Elizabeth C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took the Lorraine Tour this September. I was happy I chose to go Toul to Wasserbillig direction since it ended in a greener, more rural area. I love the countrysides and small villages best so this ended my week on the most positive note for my personal taste. There were interesting towns/cities to see along the way but this was also a bit more industrialized in some areas than tours I have taken in the past. If you are from the American midwest (I grew up in Ohio) you will swear you have been transported home many days it looks so similar. Others on our tour found it quite beautiful however. I was very impressed with the WWII memorials along the way. Even though I prefer a self guided tour I found our tour guide to be very pleasant and considerate of our physical abilities. I was disappointed with the conditions of the path one (our longest) day since I have been accustomed to fully paved trails on all my other tours. That day was exhausting due to the conditions of the route. Read more… They say this will eventually be fully paved at some point though. The La Belle Fleur was an excellent, clean, comfortable, and well maintained boat. The staff took good care of us and the food was fine. I especially enjoyed the camaraderie of the very small group. Having taken both large and small bike-boat tours I think this is one of the best aspects of a small tour. If I were traveling solo this size group would definitely be my preference. Overall, another wonderful week doing what I love and loving what I did.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Leo R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Excellent group that interacted very well from the onset.

    Boat: Iris

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Anieta W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and the bikes were good, the food was good and sufficient, the crew was friendly and helpful. The scenery was not always beautiful, part of the tour leads through industrial area.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Barge Iris was outstanding to say the least. 24 guests were the perfect number, not too many, not too few, the crew was over and above terrific, the food was something we looked forward to each day and the whole experience was memorable.

    Boat: Iris

PWPC