Czech Republic Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 77

 

 Country: Czech Republic • REMOVE

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Phil M. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well organized tour led by personable, knowledgeable, and competent guides. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by May B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great traveling companions and great boat and food!

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Maria O. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing holiday, easy cycling along the banks of the Labe/Elbe. Wonderful scenery, tasty cake and coffee stops and fabulous boutique hotels.
    Everything was pre arranged by Tripsite and the local agents.
    Would do this again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Horst K. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was well organized and we were put up in great hotels. Meals were very good and the tour operators provided water and healthy snacks along the route everyday.
    I was more than pleased with the whole trip and will consider another tour with this organization.

  • Prague to Vienna
    by George W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Krumlov, Telc and Znojmo are truly heritage towns, and worth more time than we had to explore them. Moravia in general is a great biking area, with more and prettier villages and squares.

  • Prague to Vienna
    by Katherine G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every moment was memorable. From the moment Vitek appeared with my wonderful bicycle and a pile of maps..... to my arrival in Vienna - it was a great adventure from beginning to end. And I could NOT have asked for anything more.
    I felt very well cared for by your staff and it was reassuring to be provided with multiple ways to handle problems along the way - although none came up.
    The countryside of Bohemia and Moravia was glorious, fall is a great time of year to travel. I loved the flexibility to doing a self-guided trip. My hotels were perfect and welcoming, the route easy to comprehend with extra ideas of what to see and do at every turn.
    I cannot thank you guys enough for a 'trip to remember'.
    Sincerely, Kathy Greene

  • Prague to Vienna
    by Leonie R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Lovely countryside, getting lost a lot. I would strongly recommend that the company heavily promotes the trip ap, as directions often were not clear and we got lost a lot. Due to type of hybrid bike and being lost there was not time to fully explore the region - so I would recommend the use of e bikes or shorter days.
    Also reminding people that nothing is open on Sundays and most small towns did not have any shops for food/drink.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Teresa I. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling was a fantastic way to experience and travel threw the Czech Republic to Germany. A big thank you to our tour leader Vítek and his crew for taking such good care of the group.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by John C. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was a joy.

    Our guides Vee Tex, Harvel and Jara were both enthusiatic and knowledgable about the route, the landscape and the history.

    The accommodation on the trip was great, varying from a former manor house, country village hotels and more contemporary funky locations.

    My fellow cyclists were companionable and talkative with people from Canada, USA , Australia and Germany.

    The route was managable, and consisted of around 80-85% level/easy inclines along old toll paths or the old rail track, and usually 5-6 hours per day ranging from 25 to 50 klms per day.

    Highlights for me were Prague, Litmorvice, Terezina, the mountain hike to the stone bridge - (worth every upward step!), plus I spent two nights in Dresden - and encountered striking buildings, excellent food (think pork knuckle in dark beer), easy of movement through a well organised transport system.

    Would I recommend this trip? Yes, and if apprehensive about the length of the daily Read more… rides - there are e-bike available at reasonable prices, a boon for perhaps the less experienced and those allied to cycling devotees so they can join the fun.

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Greg T. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and crew and guide were all top notch

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Lavonne B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My onboard experience was wonderful. The staff was awesome, very helpful and accommodating. The biking was quite an experience, a bit challenging at times due to some unpaved paths, however it was rewarding.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Kathleen S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat was very clean and spacious. The crew very friendly and accommodating. The food delicious and a good variety.
    The trails we rode on were not very good, however. A lot of pot holes and very narrow. We could not look around and enjoy the scenery as we had to keep our eye on where we were riding.

    It was a good experience for all of us.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Paula G. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The history and the countryside was fantastic. Need work with maps - took us over an hour to find the hotel in Dresden as we were never given a city map of Dresden with hotels marked as other cities. Do not recommend dinner package as fixed menu at some of restaurants was not very good.

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Lia P. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Visiting Prague. What a magical city. The bikes on our trip were very nice. I rented an ebike and my husband had a regular bike. We love biking in Europe but I would not recommend this trip. Lots of the paths were dirt paths that were rough to ride on. The trails were not marked very making it easy to miss a road sign because you had to look where you were riding due to the rough terrain. The towns were small and poor. Not many places to stop for a lunch or beer. The villages were very boring to our group of 12. The MS Florentine was very nice and the food was good. The restaurant manager provided excellent service. Our tour guide Frank was very disappointing. His English skills were marginal (he is German) and he wasn’t very friendly. We hated to ask him questions, he always acted put out by us bothering him. The map and written description of the daily route needs improving making it easy to get lost. I was grateful we were traveling with 10 friends since most of the guests Read more… were German and we never connected with others on the ship. I will do another bike and barge trip but I will pick a more interesting itinerary.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Cynthia Y. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was nice just to boat and bike along in the river, seeing the Czech people relaxing and enjoying life along the riverbanks.

    On the negative side, we had an uncomfortable experience when we first arrived at Prague train station, needing to get on the bus. The email that Tripsite sent us said to wait on the side of the train station OPPOSITE the car park - near the restaurant inside (restaurant name has changed, so did not agree with the name given in the email). Well, the bus was parked on the OTHER side of the street for at least a half hour. I did not notice it over there, as I was focused on the station/restaurant side of the street, checking every bus that arrived, but none said "MS Florentina". Well, eventually the bus did drive to the side of the street we were on, but when we got on board there were not enough seats for us! We were willing to stand, but the driver would not allow that. The tour guide didn't bother to come on the bus, so no one was in Read more… charge. Eventually, four of our friends exited the bus and took an UBER. I think they were reimbursed for that expense, but not right away. This was very uncomfortable for us! All the German speaking people on the bus must have thought we were idiots, and holding up the entire show!
    Later in the week when two buses drove us into Prague, they told us repeatedly that the bus would return to the boat at 4pm. When we arrived in Prague and were exiting the bus, the driver told us 5pm!!! There really seemed to be a breakdown in communications between the bus driver and the boat.
    I also didn't like the markup on the drinking water. You can buy a big bottle of water for about 75 cents, but the boat charged the equivalent of $3.00. When we booked this trip were had no idea there would not be potable water. Then to have that kind of markup seemed petty.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Nancy Q. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We booked this tour last fall with 10 friends and unfortunately the route had to be changed in Jan due to repair work done on one of the rivers that prevented the boat from departing from Prague. Unfortunately miss directions were given to us about where to wait for a bus that would pick us up at the main train station and drive us to the new location of the MS Florentina. This caused much confusion as we were waiting on the wrong side of the street. Once we boarded the bus there was not enough room for everyone to be seated. The driver did not speak English nor was there a representative on board from the MS Florentina who could direct us. Four of our friends had to take an Uber. This set the trip off on a very disturbing note and delayed our arrival.
    In addition our guide, Frank seemed condescending when asked questions about our activities and often times gave us miss information about the routes. Our bike paths often took us past areas that were not scenic and quite Read more… bumpy.

    Although we enjoyed being with our friends on this journey the logistics of the trip were less than satisfying.

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • The Elbe River and Prague
    by Emily H. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was actually the time spent with friends. We had five couples join us on this trip. They were all new to bike and boat, and it was our fifth. They all enjoyed their experience. Since we were the only group of Americans on the trip, we were happy to be joined by friends who spoke English!

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Peter L. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour encompassed countries that had been behind the Iron Curtain post WW2. It was interesting seeing the remnants of this society that had been left unused and decaying since the fall of communism in the late 80s.There were castles perched on rocky outcrops,canal water locks featuring white water canoe courses,trains, chateaux, historic towns and an opportunity to do some bush walking.Just wonderful.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Margie H. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part of the trip was expert guides who worked tirelessly to make our trip the best it could be!

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Heather W. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I think the most memorable part was Bad Shandau and our extra day there for hiking.
    The route map and instructions leaving from Prague were missing the first several kms. So we had no idea where we were going.
    The first hotel after Prague had a dirty shower and was missing several lightbulbs. The meal and restaurant in that town was wonderful.
    We loved the whole trip and highly recommend it.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Rebeca I. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trails with magnificent views, lots of hills though! The tour guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. All the hotels were extremely clean and nice. The places where we ate were delicious. Our group consisted of 20 wonderful and fun people. thank you all for a great bike ride!

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Con D. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 12 had a terrific guided trip around Prague with Lukas, we cycle every year and this was the best for scenery and accommodation along the Elbe from Prague to Dresden

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Christopher Patrick O. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The sheer amount of interesting things to see and do along our route, so much so that we did a lot of hiking in wonderful scenic countryside. My tip for others is that this is a cycle route that you must do! We plan to revisit it again in a couple of years. It was that good.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Trevor A. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable parts: The guided cycle tour around Prague and then the Elbe Sandstone Mountain Range and the region around the border between the state of Saxony and the North Bohemian region.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Barry R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts? The spring landscape & scenery. The mix of sights and history along the route.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Cody D. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Prague guide was fantastic, was very interesting and could not do enough for us

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Andy 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    How many people were on your trip in the whole group? And what month did you go? Was wondering about the weather.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Lyudmila S. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was lucky both with guides and a group. The programme and route were done really well too. It was amazing experience I would recommend to everybody and I already done it and I continuing recommend tripsite.com too.

  • Golden City of Prague
    by Philippe R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip was overall multidimensional satisfying, boat, food, drink, bike, route descriptions, local colour, culture, language, guides, value for money (ten factors).

    Boat: MS Florentina

    Countries: Czech Republic

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Sue & Fred H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were on the bike trip from Prague to Dresden. The biking was really enjoyable. I had worried I wouldn't be able to go that far but the kilometers just slipped away. There was always a break with something interesting to see or a time to eat a snack or lunch. We were very lucky that the weather was so perfect for riding.
    Vitek and Stepan were excellent guides and kept us informed as to what to expect on each day's ride. They were very helpful and excellent company.
    The scenery along the rivers was so picturesque that it seemed we were traveling in a post card!
    The breakfasts and dinners were always very enjoyable and delicious. Food and drink for mind and body!
    I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys biking and seeing
    beautiful places. We loved it!!

PWPC