Romania Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 14 of 14

 

 Country: Romania • REMOVE

  • Scott S. 2 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Cycling and travel along the Danube River. Still more markings on the Bike routes.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Roger P. 2 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Food & last day of riding + Vienna

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Wendy R. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    This is a great way to see four capital cities (Bratislava, Belgrade, Budapest and Vienna as well as get in 10 days of cycling! It's also fairly low mileage (less than 35 miles per day) but training to prepare is still a must. The scenery is very nice and it is about half on roads - mostly slower village streets. The group of people we dined with and rode with were all terrific and we all worked together to find our way since our tour was unguided. The days when you visit the cities can be a little overwhelming - so my advice is to pick one or two things you really want to see beforehand and focus on getting to those. At least in the summer the crowds were large in Vienna, Budapest and Bratislava. As for boat living - the dinners were tasty and served by a friendly staff each evening but I'm vegetarian so I had much more of a struggle with getting any protein. I would have also appreciated a little variety with the breakfasts and lunches. My advice also is to avoid Read more… the hotter weather months like July or August - we had days of over 90 degrees which made cycling tough - but the Theodor Korner is not well air conditioned either. Overall it was a nice trip and certainly the staff was terrific!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Alex Zucosky 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Niemn R. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part was the visit to Sighisoara and the bike trail (mostly single track through a forrest) to Viscri. Memorable cultural experience and a fantastic guide named Szabi Tyukodi.

    Countries: Romania

  • Gayle D. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Anne E. 10 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Seeing a sea otter cross over the track 10 metres in front of me.

    Countries: Romania

  • Deirdre S. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic experience...staff could not have been better....the food was unreal!....everyone of the staff went out of their way to help... even through a surprise birthday celebration for me.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Nancy L. 11 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The barge accommodation and the staff are fabulous. Guides were fantastic. Everyone aims to please. Food is plentiful. We didn't see many birds but wind and weather are not controllable. I would have liked more biking and less on rocky paths. The days riding on roads through villages were great but the dike path not so good. I would travel with this company again for sure.

    Countries: Romania

  • Wendy 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Mary,
    Thanks ever so much for all of the useful information you provided. We have booked next June and are quite excited. We love the bike and boat combination. It’s a great opportunity to have a nice mix of travel/touring and exercise. We did Brussels to Bruges last year and loved it. Mantova to Venice is booked for this fall.
    Again thanks much. Who knows. Maybe our paths will cross on some trip.

  • Mary R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wendy - This tour was a little different than our first bike and barge which was on the Mosell in Germany. On that tour we rode bike trails almost exclusively and we were not traveling such a great distance on the river so our rides were quite leisurely with not having to really be back to the boat until dinner time. However, because of the long distance on the Danube to get to the Iron Gate and back, many of the ride had to be completed in a much shorter time frame so were more about the bike ride and less about the villages and towns in between. Two or three of the days were primarily on bike trails but the rest were either on the road or a couple times across dikes that were long and boring. However, overall, we enjoyed the experience, especially crossing into the various countries and the time in the capitals. There were only six of the 110 that were from the US so we really enjoyed the diversity of the 10 countries represented on the boat. As far as the weather, I would check the Read more… average temperatures for the area for both April and June. Our temps of 90 degrees F during the day were quite unusual for the area. The average temperatures in June were supposed to be comfortable in the low 70's during the day and low to middle 60's at night. I haven't checked April but it might be quite cool then and not sure about rain.

  • Wendy 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    Did you just do the trip? I am seriously considering this trip with my husband. Would end of April or mid June be better? Those are the 2019 dates offered we are considering.
    Any other tips/advice or details you can add would be appreciated. Thanks

  • Mary R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise through the iron gate was a highlight of this trip. Cruise director did a great job throughout the cruise. Weather was much warmer than average and many days of biking were at 90 degrees F on roads and trails with little cover or shade so were somewhat more difficult than anticipated. It was a great experience but people need to be aware that most of the riding in the Eastern European countries are on the side of roads sometimes without a bike lane and there was some traffic.

  • Jim S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

PWPC