Ireland Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 15 of 15

 

 Country: Ireland • REMOVE

  • John K. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was a lot more challenging than I had anticipated. The scenery was amazing! It would be helpful if the bikes were equipped with an odometer so that including distances to the next turn in your self guided instructions would help in making the turns without getting lost and having to backtrack to see where we went wrong. The bikes were great! The lodging was good. We have done several bike trips and I would rate this one the best of them all. You rated this trip as easy, I would say that it was the hardest one we have done, but I loved it!

    Countries: Ireland

  • Karen R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful scenic cycle routes with well-planned stops and comfortable accommodation

    Countries: Ireland

  • Gretchen S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our rest day in Glendalough was simply amazing. So much to see and explore. We were there on Mother’s Day and it was such a perfect day.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Kendra W. 4 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    As my family of five and I embarked on an 8-day bike tour. We started in Dublin. Landed in Enniskerry, Aughrim, Laragh (Glendalough) and back to Dublin. I would have to say the Irish emerald green countryside is the most beautiful I have seen. Our favorite place would have to be the stop in Laragh. We walked to Glendalough a whopping 10-minute jaunt. We were awestruck by the amazingly preserved Monastic City. This city was founded in the 6th century and what a sight to behold. There was St. Kevins cathedral, tower, cemetery, and an old copper mine. These were all nestled in between two mountains with a lake at the edge. Worth the trip.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Richard S. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The ferry to the Aran islands, over night in a surprisingly modern hotel with an excellent kitchen and the ride around the island was the culmination of a very pleasant and interesting 5 days of riding.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Laurie C. 9 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our Connemara trip was a wonderful experience! This was our first bicycle trip outside of the US- I would highly recommend it. The guides were knowledgeable and attentive-the scenery was beautiful and the food was great! Don’t hesitate to sign up for this tour.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Jehiel, Tour Specialist 2 years ago     Staff

    Thanks for the feedback, Mark. Our local partner has since changed bike outfitters.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Whitley G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Stunning vistas, terrific staff, and the weather was spot on in the Dublin area 2nd week of June 2017.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Lynne 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    In my view, the overall route rating of this itinerary should be at least be at the "Moderate/Difficult" level, and certain sections "Difficult" because of the "gaps" or mountain passes to overcome. Also, the route to Ballaghbearna Gap has unpaved, rough roads with long, steep climbs; this area is in a very remote part of Ireland as there are no cars, no one else around except sheep all around the mountains, and no cell phone reception. Fortunately, when we were there, the weather cooperated.
    Coupled with the climbs, this tour can easily turn to "Difficult" if the weather is windy and/or rainy.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Lynne 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The itinerary right up to Glendalough is great, except cycling along Dublin's coastline is not much fun having to pass by many parked cars. Take time to enjoy some easy hikes in Glendalough looking out to gorgeous views. From Day 5 onwards, the route is boring -- just riding as there's not much to see and do.
    GIANT-brand bikes were in excellent condition as they were supplied from the base of Irish Cycling Safaris in Dublin (Belfield Bike Shop).

    Countries: Ireland

  • Mark R. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The person who dropped off the bikes did not have the tools to adjust the handle bars, so the bikes did not fit well.
    The saddle (bike seat) was the type that would be commonly found on a road bike and not on a touring bike.
    The gears were not aligned correctly, so it was extremely difficult to shift gears. Sometimes, in order to shift gears, it was required to repeatedly shift the gears up and down before the bike would shift into the lower or upper gear.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Cely de Souza Freitas 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Fiz esse passeio de bike, sozinha, de 08/08/2016 a 15/08/2016, com uma pequena alteraçõ pois terminou em Galway. Foi INCRÍVEL, uma experiência MARAVILHOSA, a empresa prestou um serviço PERFEITO, PRECISO E IMPECÁVEL. Minhas surpresa e satisfação motivaram iniciar preparação para mais uma aventura, desta vez, na Alemanha, que já conheço, mas, desta vez, farei de bicicleta. Muito obrigada por tudo e até breve.

    Countries: Ireland

  • K. Hatcher 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the scenic route along the Burren and the Wild Atlantic Way. It was 22 km of beautiful ocean views and incredible landscape. It was also amazing to see the Cliffs of Moher.

    Countries: Ireland

  • Erica Periman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was great....really just an amazing and wonderful trip. One bike had a problem and Patrick the bicycle guy brought us a new one the next day (we just ended up switching our rest day, so worked fine) and one of us got sick with fever and you covered the cost of the extra cab ride..thank you! Very nice company to work with, we feel we can count on you to find the good trips and we will continue to take advantage of that....going to Scotland in 2016!

    Countries: Ireland

  • Lynn Tindula 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We went in July, two years ago. The Irish people were delightful. Everywhere we stayed was great!The Irish homes (B&B's) had all been updated and bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and modern. All of the hosts were just wonderful; so accommodating and fun to talk with! Irish breakfasts were great in the B&B’s. The food was delicious almost everywhere!

    You do a fair amount of riding on the road with cars in Ireland. The drivers are very nice and respectful of bikers, but I do like a dedicated bike path better. Also, some of the rides were a bit more challenging than our previous trips but you can take it at your own pace and they usually give you can easier option. The scenic beauty of the west of Ireland is spectacular!

    LOVED the Irish people - friendly, accommodating, with a terrific sense of humor. We ended our trip by staying four days in Dublin. I would recommend the trip! If you haven't been to Europe before and/or don't speak another Read more… language, Ireland is very easy to navigate and everyone is very helpful!

    Countries: Ireland

PWPC