Ireland Tour Reviews — 1 to 30 of 33

4.6 out of 5

 


Karen K.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

Ireland is a beautiful country and we enjoyed our trip very much. Our bikes worked well. Thomas, the bike guy, was exceptional. The trip itinerary changed a bit from the time we booked, one less biking day and shorter distances, but it allowed us to stay in Doolin for 2 nights as well as Ballyvaughan for 2 nights. We used the extra day in Doolin to take the ferry to Inis Mor, which was wonderful. The biking map and directions were a bit hard to follow while riding, so we opted to use Google Maps, which sometimes routed us different ways than what was provided, but it meant we could hear and see directions from our phone. Providing GPS tracks would be a great improvement. The hotels and B&B’s were great.

Dennis B.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

The cliffs of moher and Aran islands. The narrow roads were very fun as well

Marie Elaine C.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

Riding along the Atlantic coast. Views of the Atlantic Ocean were stupendous. It rained daily so it was a difficult ride at times. When the sun came out and a rainbow appeared it was heartwarming.

Barbara S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

The scenery was spectacular. I was happy to have some time to explore the area off the bicycle as well as on it. We were forworned to not hug the side of the road, and be respectful of the cars by not bunching up while riding. This was really helpful so that when a car needed to move around us, we didn’t feel like we were in danger.

Maria E.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

This trip was amazing. Everything, from the accomodations to the luggage transfer worked perfectly. The routes were wonderful, especially the part between Westport and Leenane with the amazing mountains around us and the quietness while passing lakes and a Fjord made us love this beautiful country. Thank you for the wonderful trip!

Liz C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

The ride from Spanish Point to Doolin was spectacular. We loved seeing the Cliffs of Moher and then whizzing downhill to the Wild Atlantic Way and peddling along the coast to the beautiful town of Doolin. The craic was had there!!

Bjarte G.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

We cyckled Ennis-Doolin-Kinvara-Ennis. Bikes arrived in Ennis at the scheduled time, and our suitcases was always ahead of us an waiting for us as we arrieved the next stopover. We enjoyed every place we spent the night, wether it was a cottage, a gutesthouse, a B&B or at hotel. Especially Ballyvaughan Lodge, the hosts Pauline and Gerry gave us a warm welcome and the best breakfast of the trip.
Before we got so far we visited Inisherin, recomended! and we saw The cliffs of Moher.
In Ballyvaughan we visited Burren Destillery, and got a very educational tour of the place. We enjoyed the dinner in Hylands Burren Restaurant very much.
On the way to Kinvara we split up, and took two different routes, so we got to see New Quay, Burren Perfumery, Corcomroe Abbey, and Hazel Mountain Chocolate factory.
We had a nice trip going back to Ennis from Kinvara.
The roads are narrow but the traffic is not bad, so cycling is fine. The bikes were very good, incluing helmets and bags.

Louise C van Vonno
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsula
Ireland

My husband and I completed this tour in June 2023. (ages 63 & 73) was one of our all time favorite tours and we have done many over the past several years. It was absolutely stunningly beautiful. We were super lucky with the weather. They called it a heat wave and a drought, we called it no rain for 7 days! The last day we rode downhill in a cooling mist of rain. We stayed an extra night on the front end in Killarney so had time on our own to explore the surroundings. We met some walkers who were walking the Kerry Way and ran into them again in Sneem. The Irish people are so friendly and helpful! The lodging for the most part was great with one exception because it was on top of a pub and therefore hot with the windows closed but really noisy until 3am with the windows open. It was unusually warm and most places do not have A/C but under normal circumstances that is not an issue. We never had to put on the warm clothes we brought but very comfortable in our regular cycling Read More

Robyn V.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

The scenery was amazing and everything I have ever hoped for! The hills were beautiful but would have been difficult to enjoy without the help of the e-bikes.

It would be helpful if the bikes were equipped with an odometer so that including distances to the next turn. In addition or instead of a 15 page direction packet with paragraph instructions on where to turn maps of each days recommended rides would have been extraordinarily helpful. Without google gps and our own planning we wouldn’t have reached each destination in our self guided trip without getting lost and having to backtrack to see where we went wrong. The first day was frustrating without knowing we just needed to use google instead of the provided information. In addition a plastics zipper bag to carry the maps was less than adequate in a country with so much rain. We took several wrong turns and didn’t feel directions telling up to look for a blue barn where helpful. A positive is that the locals are Read More

Lawrence F.
10 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

This is a wonderful tour of a unique part of Ireland - County Clare and the Burren, tha extensive limestone karst plateaus of western Ireland. The tour was memorable for its distinctive landscapes, including the Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands, the lovely little towns, and the many ancient historical sites along the way. The cycling wsa excellent - good paved roads, great routes, rolling hills, and those lovely scenic views. The lodgings were all quaint and charming - comfy rooms, kindly, generous hosts, full, fresh, healthy breakfasts. We added extra days in Ennis and Doolin, both good decisions, and probably should have further extended the trip in some places. The music definitely added another great element to the tour, as we spent virfually every evening visiting different pubs, listening to traditional, informal Irish music sessions that are common in this region.

Kathy B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

This was my first overseas cycling adventure. What a wonderful way to see a country! Our trip was very well organized, our Irish guide was wonderful, our fellow cyclists were interesting and fun, and the scenery was fantastic. Since riding on e-bikes is a relatively new concept, I would suggest spending a little more time up front with the features, especially the installation and removal of the battery, prior to taking off. We worked it out and the Irish Cycling company was very accommodating! Also, the most difficult ride, in my opinion was the first day...maybe consider reversing the trip and ending with the more challenging day when we are not jet-lagged and in good cycling shape. But, really, the trip was fabulous. Thank you, Hennie, for organizing it. I would definitely be interested in another one!

Barbara W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

The people we traveled with and the shared adventures as well as the beauty of Ireland

Doug K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Loved the off day in Clifden. Ireland is beautiful and the people could not be more warm. But do not recommend biking in Connemara. Many, many hills make it moderate at best, and there are no shoulders on very narrow lanes.

Mary C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

We only had 6 in our group so we were self-guided. From day 1, we felt the tour was incorrectly rated as easy-moderate. All 6 of us are seasoned riders but the hills, especially Day 1 were in the “difficult “ category. Four of the riders had been on previous tours with other companies. The directions for each day were lengthy and confusing, often requiring us to stop often to reread them. Some of the restaurants suggested we’re out-of-the-way only for us to later come across a nice one on our route. Caused us to question whether the person writing the directions had ever taken the trip. Luckily, we had a rider who would use his GPS which proved more helpful than the written directions. It was a fantastic trip because of the riders and the beautiful countryside. The ranking of difficulty needs to be changed as a novice biker would not be able to complete this tour.

Kirsten D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Favorite Part: The fantastic landscapes of Connemara.

Mohammad Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry
Ireland

Amazing trip. The tour guide, Danny, was truly spectacular and it wouldn’t have been the same without him.

Ziad Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry
Ireland

Nature was spectacular and varied. Tour guide Danny was excellent and accommodating complemented by a positive attitude.

Alan G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

Alan G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Highlights: The scenery. The guide. The route. Loved it.

John K.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

It was a lot more challenging than I had anticipated. The scenery was amazing! It would be helpful if the bikes were equipped with an odometer so that including distances to the next turn in your self guided instructions would help in making the turns without getting lost and having to backtrack to see where we went wrong. The bikes were great! The lodging was good. We have done several bike trips and I would rate this one the best of them all. You rated this trip as easy, I would say that it was the hardest one we have done, but I loved it!

Karen R.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

Wonderful scenic cycle routes with well-planned stops and comfortable accommodation

Gretchen S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

Our rest day in Glendalough was simply amazing. So much to see and explore. We were there on Mother’s Day and it was such a perfect day.

Kendra W.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

As my family of five and I embarked on an 8-day bike tour. We started in Dublin. Landed in Enniskerry, Aughrim, Laragh (Glendalough) and back to Dublin. I would have to say the Irish emerald green countryside is the most beautiful I have seen. Our favorite place would have to be the stop in Laragh. We walked to Glendalough a whopping 10-minute jaunt. We were awestruck by the amazingly preserved Monastic City. This city was founded in the 6th century and what a sight to behold. There was St. Kevins cathedral, tower, cemetery, and an old copper mine. These were all nestled in between two mountains with a lake at the edge. Worth the trip.

Richard S.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

The ferry to the Aran islands, over night in a surprisingly modern hotel with an excellent kitchen and the ride around the island was the culmination of a very pleasant and interesting 5 days of riding.

Laurie C.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Our Connemara trip was a wonderful experience! This was our first bicycle trip outside of the US- I would highly recommend it. The guides were knowledgeable and attentive-the scenery was beautiful and the food was great! Don’t hesitate to sign up for this tour.

Whitley G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

Stunning vistas, terrific staff, and the weather was spot on in the Dublin area 2nd week of June 2017.

Lynne
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsula
Ireland

In my view, the overall route rating of this itinerary should be at least be at the "Moderate/Difficult" level, and certain sections "Difficult" because of the "gaps" or mountain passes to overcome. Also, the route to Ballaghbearna Gap has unpaved, rough roads with long, steep climbs; this area is in a very remote part of Ireland as there are no cars, no one else around except sheep all around the mountains, and no cell phone reception. Fortunately, when we were there, the weather cooperated.
Coupled with the climbs, this tour can easily turn to "Difficult" if the weather is windy and/or rainy.

Lynne
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

The itinerary right up to Glendalough is great, except cycling along Dublin's coastline is not much fun having to pass by many parked cars. Take time to enjoy some easy hikes in Glendalough looking out to gorgeous views. From Day 5 onwards, the route is boring -- just riding as there's not much to see and do.
GIANT-brand bikes were in excellent condition as they were supplied from the base of Irish Cycling Safaris in Dublin (Belfield Bike Shop).

Mark R.
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

The person who dropped off the bikes did not have the tools to adjust the handle bars, so the bikes did not fit well.
The saddle (bike seat) was the type that would be commonly found on a road bike and not on a touring bike.
The gears were not aligned correctly, so it was extremely difficult to shift gears. Sometimes, in order to shift gears, it was required to repeatedly shift the gears up and down before the bike would shift into the lower or upper gear.

Cely de Souza Freitas
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

Fiz esse passeio de bike, sozinha, de 08/08/2016 a 15/08/2016, com uma pequena alteraçõ pois terminou em Galway. Foi INCRÍVEL, uma experiência MARAVILHOSA, a empresa prestou um serviço PERFEITO, PRECISO E IMPECÁVEL. Minhas surpresa e satisfação motivaram iniciar preparação para mais uma aventura, desta vez, na Alemanha, que já conheço, mas, desta vez, farei de bicicleta. Muito obrigada por tudo e até breve.