Ireland Tour Reviews — 1 to 23 of 23

4.5 out of 5

 


Kathy B.
1 month ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

This was my first overseas cycling adventure. What a wonderful way to see a country! Our trip was very well organized, our Irish guide was wonderful, our fellow cyclists were interesting and fun, and the scenery was fantastic. Since riding on e-bikes is a relatively new concept, I would suggest spending a little more time up front with the features, especially the installation and removal of the battery, prior to taking off. We worked it out and the Irish Cycling company was very accommodating! Also, the most difficult ride, in my opinion was the first day...maybe consider reversing the trip and ending with the more challenging day when we are not jet-lagged and in good cycling shape. But, really, the trip was fabulous. Thank you, Hennie, for organizing it. I would definitely be interested in another one!

Barbara W.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

The people we traveled with and the shared adventures as well as the beauty of Ireland

Doug K.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Loved the off day in Clifden. Ireland is beautiful and the people could not be more warm. But do not recommend biking in Connemara. Many, many hills make it moderate at best, and there are no shoulders on very narrow lanes.

Mary C.
3 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

We only had 6 in our group so we were self-guided. From day 1, we felt the tour was incorrectly rated as easy-moderate. All 6 of us are seasoned riders but the hills, especially Day 1 were in the “difficult “ category. Four of the riders had been on previous tours with other companies. The directions for each day were lengthy and confusing, often requiring us to stop often to reread them. Some of the restaurants suggested we’re out-of-the-way only for us to later come across a nice one on our route. Caused us to question whether the person writing the directions had ever taken the trip. Luckily, we had a rider who would use his GPS which proved more helpful than the written directions. It was a fantastic trip because of the riders and the beautiful countryside. The ranking of difficulty needs to be changed as a novice biker would not be able to complete this tour.

Kirsten D.
4 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Favorite Part: The fantastic landscapes of Connemara.

Mohammad Z.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry
Ireland

Amazing trip. The tour guide, Danny, was truly spectacular and it wouldn’t have been the same without him.

Ziad Z.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry
Ireland

Nature was spectacular and varied. Tour guide Danny was excellent and accommodating complemented by a positive attitude.

Alan G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Amazing riding with different terrain each day. Wonderful scenery. Bikes good. Company good. Food good. Guide very good. Best cycling trip I have been on and I have been on a few. Can't wait to go back to Ireland.

Alan G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Highlights: The scenery. The guide. The route. Loved it.

John K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

It was a lot more challenging than I had anticipated. The scenery was amazing! It would be helpful if the bikes were equipped with an odometer so that including distances to the next turn in your self guided instructions would help in making the turns without getting lost and having to backtrack to see where we went wrong. The bikes were great! The lodging was good. We have done several bike trips and I would rate this one the best of them all. You rated this trip as easy, I would say that it was the hardest one we have done, but I loved it!

Karen R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

Wonderful scenic cycle routes with well-planned stops and comfortable accommodation

Gretchen S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

Our rest day in Glendalough was simply amazing. So much to see and explore. We were there on Mother’s Day and it was such a perfect day.

Kendra W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

As my family of five and I embarked on an 8-day bike tour. We started in Dublin. Landed in Enniskerry, Aughrim, Laragh (Glendalough) and back to Dublin. I would have to say the Irish emerald green countryside is the most beautiful I have seen. Our favorite place would have to be the stop in Laragh. We walked to Glendalough a whopping 10-minute jaunt. We were awestruck by the amazingly preserved Monastic City. This city was founded in the 6th century and what a sight to behold. There was St. Kevins cathedral, tower, cemetery, and an old copper mine. These were all nestled in between two mountains with a lake at the edge. Worth the trip.

Richard S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

The ferry to the Aran islands, over night in a surprisingly modern hotel with an excellent kitchen and the ride around the island was the culmination of a very pleasant and interesting 5 days of riding.

Laurie C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

Our Connemara trip was a wonderful experience! This was our first bicycle trip outside of the US- I would highly recommend it. The guides were knowledgeable and attentive-the scenery was beautiful and the food was great! Don’t hesitate to sign up for this tour.

Whitley G.
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

Stunning vistas, terrific staff, and the weather was spot on in the Dublin area 2nd week of June 2017.

Lynne
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsula
Ireland

In my view, the overall route rating of this itinerary should be at least be at the "Moderate/Difficult" level, and certain sections "Difficult" because of the "gaps" or mountain passes to overcome. Also, the route to Ballaghbearna Gap has unpaved, rough roads with long, steep climbs; this area is in a very remote part of Ireland as there are no cars, no one else around except sheep all around the mountains, and no cell phone reception. Fortunately, when we were there, the weather cooperated.
Coupled with the climbs, this tour can easily turn to "Difficult" if the weather is windy and/or rainy.

Lynne
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dublin & Wicklow
Ireland

The itinerary right up to Glendalough is great, except cycling along Dublin's coastline is not much fun having to pass by many parked cars. Take time to enjoy some easy hikes in Glendalough looking out to gorgeous views. From Day 5 onwards, the route is boring -- just riding as there's not much to see and do.
GIANT-brand bikes were in excellent condition as they were supplied from the base of Irish Cycling Safaris in Dublin (Belfield Bike Shop).

Mark R.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

The person who dropped off the bikes did not have the tools to adjust the handle bars, so the bikes did not fit well.
The saddle (bike seat) was the type that would be commonly found on a road bike and not on a touring bike.
The gears were not aligned correctly, so it was extremely difficult to shift gears. Sometimes, in order to shift gears, it was required to repeatedly shift the gears up and down before the bike would shift into the lower or upper gear.

Cely de Souza Freitas
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

Fiz esse passeio de bike, sozinha, de 08/08/2016 a 15/08/2016, com uma pequena alteraçõ pois terminou em Galway. Foi INCRÍVEL, uma experiência MARAVILHOSA, a empresa prestou um serviço PERFEITO, PRECISO E IMPECÁVEL. Minhas surpresa e satisfação motivaram iniciar preparação para mais uma aventura, desta vez, na Alemanha, que já conheço, mas, desta vez, farei de bicicleta. Muito obrigada por tudo e até breve.

K. Hatcher
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Clare & the Burren
Ireland

The most memorable part was the scenic route along the Burren and the Wild Atlantic Way. It was 22 km of beautiful ocean views and incredible landscape. It was also amazing to see the Cliffs of Moher.

Erica Periman
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsula
Ireland

It was great....really just an amazing and wonderful trip. One bike had a problem and Patrick the bicycle guy brought us a new one the next day (we just ended up switching our rest day, so worked fine) and one of us got sick with fever and you covered the cost of the extra cab ride..thank you! Very nice company to work with, we feel we can count on you to find the good trips and we will continue to take advantage of that....going to Scotland in 2016!

Lynn Tindula
8 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Connemara
Ireland

We went in July, two years ago. The Irish people were delightful. Everywhere we stayed was great!The Irish homes (B&B's) had all been updated and bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and modern. All of the hosts were just wonderful; so accommodating and fun to talk with! Irish breakfasts were great in the B&B’s. The food was delicious almost everywhere!

You do a fair amount of riding on the road with cars in Ireland. The drivers are very nice and respectful of bikers, but I do like a dedicated bike path better. Also, some of the rides were a bit more challenging than our previous trips but you can take it at your own pace and they usually give you can easier option. The scenic beauty of the west of Ireland is spectacular!

LOVED the Irish people - friendly, accommodating, with a terrific sense of humor. We ended our trip by staying four days in Dublin. I would recommend the trip! If you haven't been to Europe before and/or don't speak another language, Ireland is very easy to navigate and everyone is very helpful!