Croatia Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 211

 

 Country: Croatia • REMOVE

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Carla from Tripsite 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Krystyna,
    I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your tour!
    I am sorry you were not pleased with my service, however I do not feel your description of our correspondence is accurate. Please review our email exchanges again. I never told you that Croatia was not aware of gluten free meals. We had recently become aware of a serious issue with gluten intolerance, and hence, emailed you regarding your request. I informed you several times that the boat COULD accommodate gluten free meals, however if your disease was serious enough that separate pans and cutlery must be used to avoid residue, we could not accommodate that request.
    My intention was only to be safe and take care of you the best way possible.

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Krystyna s. 1 week ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was well organized once we got there. The guides and staff on the boat were great. The booking agent for Tripsite was extremely poor. I had a gluten allergy (I'm a celiac) and I informed her of this allergy 8 months prior to the trip. The month before the trip it became a huge concern that the boat could not accommodate my allergy when your website claims differently. The agent told me that Croatia is not aware of gluten free food and it would be near impossible to help me. As a result I purchased a huge amount of food to bring with me and had to check extra baggage to accommodate this $75 each way. When I got there, I noticed that virtually every food store had a huge selection of GF food, even the smallest ports had GF items. The agent clearly did not know what she was talking about, I am very dissatisfied at the huge grievance she caused me, the extra baggage I had to bring and the hassle and cloud she put on me. I did not appreciate this at all. It is curious to me Read more… that on your rating form you do not provide me with any place to rate the booking experience. That's what needs the most attention.

    Boat: Kapetan Jure

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Richard R. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The use of e-bikes allowed us to make this trip. As "flatlanders" we were able to enjoy the magnificent scenery and majestic views as we traversed the extremely hilly islands. Croatia is a very beautiful country and the availability of fresh seafood is wonderful. The guides were more than helpful and knowledgeable. They had a great sense of humor. The crew was friendly and attentive and the food was plentiful, excellently prepared and presented..
    The only disappointments were that there wasn't any shower gel provided which made for a last minute purchase before departure. The other being that have been on many bike-boat tours and coffee, tea, and water(hot and cold) have always been provided at no charge. It is not so on the Harmonia. With the exception of breakfast, all had to be purchased. Despite this, we had a wonderful time.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Norma T. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Dalmatia as yet unspoiled, clear water harbors with exception of Old City Dubrovnik few tourists, but even there clean beaches, shoreline, city streets. We have taken 6 European bike/barge with TripSite, Harmonia was first on open sea, boat spectacular, crew, guides, as Dalmatia, spectacular! Biking was exhilarating and challenging. Local city guides informative, a highpoint for me was visit and lecture at 2/4 year college in Pucisca where stone mason skills, sculpture was being taught, student lecturer was inspiring.
    Do not miss this bike/barge.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Paul L. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our Croatian cycling cruise was fantastic. Well organized,excellent your guides and a clean and well appointed ship. Would highly recommend. It was an active,fun filled vacation.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Linda K. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bicycling was fabulous. The rides were thoroughly planned, well paced, varried and beautiful. The ebikes made the routes easy to navagate.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Malcolm H. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I are biking enthusiasts and found this trip very exciting. But be forewarned it is a challenging ride and if your not riding a lot I'd recommend an e-bike. The guides were great, food was also great. We upgraded to a top cabin and found it very comfortable. Late Sept. weather was in the low 80's and sunny most days. My only negative was the bar bill and water bill were collected at the end of the trip and no credit card was accepted, cash only. I'd wrap the water bill into the price of the trip and collect the bar bill on a credit card. We also signed up for the "extension trip" which was two additional nights. We found this part of the trip poorly planned and a real disappointment.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Istria
    by Joseph T. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyday's ride was fun and full of beautiful sights led by terrific guides. The routes took us along the incredible Adriatic coast and to charming interior villages where we mingled and laughed with local folks while enjoying delicious food both on and off the boat.

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by HELEN S. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic trip - guides and crew were professional, helpful at all times. Ebikes the way to go, making cycling around the islands enjoyable.
    Food on board was excellent - great variety and well presented.
    Would recommend this trip to anyone.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Istria
    by Kenneth S. K. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was rated easy to moderate! I would rate it moderate to hard! If you do this boat trip- get an electric bike! Parts of the bike riding were on roads with traffic and on gravel roads!

    The guides were great and fun! The scenery and town were wonderful!

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Slovenia by bike
    by Heather H. 4 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    From the US it was very difficult, time consuming and costly to get to Radenci, Slovenia and from Lendava back to the airport. Except Lendava, the villages had little to offer for additional tourism and places to eat. The Mineral Spas were mainly full of elderly and some families. Not really an exciting place for 30-40 year olds without kids. The countryside was pretty but in my opinion not worth the extensive travel. I would like to go back to Slovenia but to the west side of the country.

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Joseph S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As always, Croatia excels!! The towns, the people and the unbelievably clean, warm waters were great!! Our guides and boat crew were also wonderful. For us, this trip had too much boat time and not enough bike time. For others, they enjoyed the ride and the scenery. We would also recommend stopping at the old penal colony rather than the mile walk into a state park as it was very pretty but no more so than most of the coast lines we had already seen. Thanks for a great trip - we will be back for a different tour next May.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Richard L. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the Boat Romantica was wonderful.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by MARIA JOSE R. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip with some room for improvement.
    As positive:
    1. Bike guides were kind and always trying to fulfill all of our requests.
    2. Waiter was really helpful, efficient and nice with all of us
    3. Meals on board were tasteful
    As 'not so positive':
    1. All the the bike routes run 100% by car roads
    2. We just were able to take a swim from the boat 2 or 3 times during the full week
    3. Captain had to change the itinerary, that initially it did not sound as a problem until we finally spent 24 hours with the ship docked beside the garbage containers in a city with absolutely nothing to visit or to do... while enduring flies and really unpleasant smell...
    4. Captain and part of the crew far from 'nice behavior' during the full trip until the last moment that they started to open the tip envelopes and count the money in the dining room with all of us still on board

    As a summary, this National Park 'bike & Boat' trip Read more… was far from expectations.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Slovenia by bike
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Jim,
    I am sorry to hear about this, especially because we didn't hear from you while you were on your tour. We provide emergency numbers (both of the local partner and Tripsite) to use if you run into problems while on your tour. Surely we cannot help it if a ferry is closed but we could have certainly helped arrange another transfer if you reached out to us.
    I hope despite this issue you still found the trip enjoyable.

  • Istria
    by John C. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Istria trip was excellent with beautiful seascapes, winding roads through the unfolding countryside. The attitude varied from sea level up to a max of 420m and was very manageable, as the bike were in good working order.

    Our guide Ina was very informative and attentive and provided updated advice on eating options. The crew of the Taron was friendly and the meals were delicious.

    Boat: Tarin

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nicky P. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Melody boat was absolutely spectacular- the crew, the food, the rooms and our outstanding tour guides, Toni and Willi. The riding and the islands were fabulous. Ensure you take the advice for an e-bike. The KMs may not seem high, but they have a lot of long steep hills, which I loved and it gave everyone a great workout to enjoy the delicious food.
    We had lots of great daily swim stops, with the ability to dive in off the back of the boat.
    I highly recommend this trip!!!

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • Multi-Adventure Tour from Trogir
    by Rob H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Multi-Adventure tour was amazing.Everything from our arrival to departure was very well organized.
    The Princess Diana ship that we were on was spectacular with comfy large cabins & the food that came out of the small kitchen was unbelievable.
    Every day there were options of things to do so it kept everyone as busy or as relaxed as they wanted to be.
    The cycling through vineyards to a beach for a swim was one of our favourite days but we also liked the option to go for a walk explore the towns after dinner.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Anne Yael B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful boat, views, trails, staff, guides. Everything was perfect. The food was outstanding. Delicious and varied. Every meal was so good. Especially the vegetarian. Very special attention to every detail. ( never twice the same dish!). The guides were so well informed and specially paying attention to every participant. We lived Croatia, the sea, the landscapes, the cities and villages. Very beautiful. Thank you

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nicky P. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What an amazing trip, boat and crew!!! This is a high end boar with great cabins and dining experience. It is most suited to people over 16, and the cycling has quite a lot of climbing at 10% incline. The company recommends e-bikes for this trip. Whilst I completely rejected the idea of an e-bike before I left, but by day 3, I had to use one due to the terrain and heat.
    The highlight apart from everything above, was our two tour guides, Toni and Willi. I have done many similar trips but both guys were beautiful, humble, informative about their country, and do passionate about their customers. If you get the opportunity to do this trip, I say - Just do it. Thanks, Team Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Mei R. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our family had a wonderful time on the Harmonia! We were reuniting to celebrate two of our 60th birthdays and couldn't have had a better time. The common areas of the Harmonia were all lovely; our cabins were cosy, but comfortable and clean; the food was good, plentiful and healthy; our guides, Senad and Karlo, were very knowledgable, great fun and safety conscious; our e-bikes were efficient and easy to ride; and the Croatian islands are just stunning! We felt very well looked after and would definitely join another such tour in future. One of our party was not a keen rider initially but by the end of the tour was planning to do a bike tour herself! My only comment is that we didn't do quite as much riding as was advertised online, but understand that at times changes have to be made for various reasons (weather, scheduling etc). In total we rode just under 200km over six days of riding. A warning too—without an e-bike, this would be rated a difficult ride. Make Read more… sure you're fit if you don't get the e-bike as the islands are very hilly. It was easy and enjoyable on an e-bike, and you could still get a good workout by using one of the lower settings (you can ride it with the e feature turned off, on Eco, on Tour, on Sport or on Turbo). Using Eco most of the time still gives you a very good workout. We were also very appreciative of the crew giving us a special birthday dessert on our birthdays, as well as a lovely gift!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Slovenia by bike
    by Jim S. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The support and coordination by tripsite was awful. The directions they provided were more like Escape Room Clues rather than directions. Tripsite directs us to a ferry across the river Muir which was closed which no alternative route. I would never use Tripsite again

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Lola R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The biking was delightful and the electric assist was fun. Unless you are used to and competent riding long and steep hills, do not order a regular bike. With the E-bikes you'll still get plenty of exercise and for more you can stay in the lowest mode, but unless you are a super-biker, don't opt for the regular bikes.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Annie W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? The rides!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Phil M. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were extremely knowledgeable and personable.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Del P. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlight: The cycling and the swimming off the back of the boat.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Robin,
    We understand that difficulty ratings can be somewhat subjective. To help we provide a detailed description of the mileage, elevation profile, and route difficulty in the Skill Level section on this page. Glad you had a great trip!

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Robin C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome trip. Biking was way harder than "moderate", but otherwise was great!

    Boat: Kapetan Jure

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Sandra C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Pedaling through the small towns on the islands off of Croatia was refreshing. Church bells ringing, respectful children playing with each other and not a cell phone in sight.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Jennifer H. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There is no singular moment because it was such a rich experience day to day. Our boat captain docking the boat like a ballerina, our guides finding the perfect balance between activities and history, and our boat crew preparing perfect meals and drinks was incredible. The multi-national make-up of the guests only enhanced the on boat environment. I could not have anticipated such a perfect experience!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC